Customer Reviews
Fly


62 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Listening Experiance
Sarah Brightman is known for her diversity when it come to her music, this album is probably the most diverse yet. Fly starts off with the world famous 'Time to Say Goodbye', which is a beautiful song, but does not fit with the albums electronica feel. The rest of the album is a journey through love in space, which is probably inspired from Sarahs career in the late...
Published on Dec 23 2005 by Leila Kirves

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a baffling album
This album was made before Sarah Brightman finally found her "niche" in classical/popular music. It is an album that suffers from multiple personality disorder. How can you open an album with the sublime, romantic Con Te Partiro, and then spend the rest of it rocking out? Such a strange combination could be labled surrealist or dadaist, but that would be too...
Published on Feb. 12 2001


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Listening Experiance, Dec 23 2005
By 
Leila Kirves (British Columbia, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
Sarah Brightman is known for her diversity when it come to her music, this album is probably the most diverse yet. Fly starts off with the world famous 'Time to Say Goodbye', which is a beautiful song, but does not fit with the albums electronica feel. The rest of the album is a journey through love in space, which is probably inspired from Sarahs career in the late 70's.
Favorites of mine from the album are 'Murder in Maryland Park', 'A Question of Honor', 'I Loved You', and 'You Take my Breath Away', which was later reprised on the American release of 2003's Harem.
The two duets on the album, 'How Can Heaven Love Me' and 'Something in the Air' I absolutley adore. The contrasting vocals are a nice change that should be done more often, even though many people would disagree. The booklet is also very interesting to look at, the intriguing cover of sarah in a cat-woman like outfit draws you in to the bleached, abstract photos of her inside.
If you are a die-hard Brightman fan like I am, your collection will never be complete if you don't have FLY
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Totally original., Aug. 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
You just don't find CD's like this anymore. This is a high quality CD full of beautiful performances, gorgeous production, and truly original dance-pop-techno-ballad songs, individually and collectively. Sarah's voice is strong across the board, even when it's "weak" on purpose ("Murder In Maryland Park"). Note that "Time To Say Goodbye" was never intended to be on this CD, and is not on original pressings or the recent version sold at the "La Luna" concerts. Its exclusion gives the buzzing fly sound much more impact, and it just makes more sense. To me TTSG should never have been included. Favorites include "How Can Heaven Love Me", "Heaven Is Here", and "I Loved You" (Sarah raps a bit!). For those who became Sarah fans in the "Eden" and "La Luna" days, this may be a bit jarring to listen to, as it leans more towards electronic dance sounds, but with the release of the new CD "Harem", this is a necessary component in understanding the breadth of Sarah's artistry. Brilliant stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars "Fly" high, June 12 2003
By 
E. A Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (HALL OF FAME)   
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
Sarah Brightman, one of the most talented singers of the 21st century, took quite a few weird turns before "La Luna" and the exquisite "Eden." But this earlier album, "Fly," both hints at her present mastery and shows off her vocals in one of the most versatile albums I have ever seen.
The hint of more operatic material is in "Time to Say Goodbye (Con Te Partiró)," a wonderful duet with singer Andrea Bocelli. It makes the next track, "Fly," a little more disarming, a surreal dreamlike song that starts off with a fly's buzzing. There is also the whispery, haunting "Murder in Mairyland Park," soaring "Question of Honour," the rather jerky "Something in the Air" duet with Tom Jones, the lovely India-influenced "You Take My Breath Away," rocking "Ghost in the Machinery," and others.
Versatility is something I always love in music, singers and bands who can do a whole range of songs and styles. Sarah isn't always successful, but she wins a lot more than she loses. She touches on opera, pop, techno, alternative music and influence from countries like India and Iceland for this album. The result is that each song is entirely unique. Not one sounds like another.
Even the guys she sings with are very different; Chris Thompson's slightly hammy singing and Andrea's strong operatic vocals suit Sarah's styles quite well. Tom Jones doesn't fare so well -- I kept waiting for him to stop singing so I could hear Sarah again. His voice is nowhere near as good as hers, and he was singing in such a different manner that it was rather jarring. The writing for the music is quite good; the general feeling is very haunting, dreamlike -- whether that dream is a nightmare or a fantasy. And Sarah shows off both her fluting little-girl voice and her soaring operatic voice.
While Sarah has done better albums, she has never done (and probably never will) a more versatile album with a wider range of music. "Fly" is definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oddly enough, my favorite Brightman CD, Dec 30 2002
By 
J. Waters (Planet Earth, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
This CD is not your typical Brightman CD. No arias. No musical theme songs. This CD is a complete turn around from the Lloyd Webber era. Brightman's duet with Andrea Bocelli 'Time to Say Goodbye' opens the CD. I personally never liked this song, even though it was (and still is) the #1 best selling single in Germany. 'Fly' and 'Why' follow, with a very ethereal sound to it, but with a more trip hop/electronica feel. 'Murder in Mairyland Park' is a very odd, and very chilling song. Chris Thompson lends his voice on the rock song 'How Can Heaven Love Me' which is one of my personal favorites. Then Brightman dabs into 'La Wally' (which she later sings in full on her follow up, classical crossover CD 'Time to Say Goodbye') in her smash single 'A Question of Honour', which was dedicated to Henry Maske. 'Ghost in the Machinery' is such a weird song - but I love it anyway. But the major highlight on this CD is the 6:49 song 'You Take My Breath Away'. Starting out with Swahili chants, then climaxing into a beautiful ballad with a fantastic beat. Very well done, Sarah. Legendary Tom Jones helps Sarah to belt out 'Something in the Air', which is not one of my favorites, but it's still decent. 'Heaven is Here' is a lovely ballad, which is so tastefully done - another favorite on the CD. Most of the CD, at this point, is rock/trance/electronica, which may seem like a very odd combination. But it works! But I was not prepared for one of the biggest and best suprises on Fly - 'I Loved You'. 'Heaven is Here' leads right into this rap song, which Sarah pulls off so nicely. Us Americans may not care for the lyrics, because they have such a British flare to them, and they really don't make any sense - but still give it a listen. The CD ends out, like her 'Dive' CD, with a reprise of 'Fly'. This CD is by far my favorite Sarah Brightman CD, which is probably really odd. Download the songs first, to see if you actually want it. It's a hefty price to pay if you don't like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Sarah's pop-rock album makes an interesting blend, Nov. 2 2002
By 
Daniel J. Hamlow (Narita, Japan) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
The original debut of Sarah's best hit, "Time To Say Goodbye," was on this album, and its inclusion here is questionable here, as the rest of the songs do not exactly fit with that superlative
jewel. Rather, there's a thematic futuristic rock soundtrack feel to the rest of this album.
The title track begins with the buzzing of a fly before launching into an ambient synthesizer piece. In terms of sound, this piece can easily belong to the Dive set three years earlier; and she uses her yet undeveloped vocal style as well.
"Why" begins like something out of a futuristic sci-fi video, a song for a Bladerunner or Metropolis with its rock guitars and synthesizers. This could've been a good single.
She covers Swedish popster Stina Nordenstam's "Murder In Mairyland Park" next. This soft Sigur Ros-like ballad is done in a softer and less developed version of the sweet pop vocal characterized best in her future cover of "Here With Me."
The next two songs are the best songs on this album bar "Time To Say Goodbye." "How Can Heaven Love You," her duet with Chris Thompson, sets the pace back up with drums, rocking guitars, and superior, soaring vocals by both performers during the chorus. Yet another singleworthy song which sounds like something Foreigner or Loverboy could have done.
"A Question Of Honour," which begins with a snatch from "La Wally" then goes into a danceable synthesizer beat mixed with more lyrics from "La Wally" before going full force into 90's disco punctuated with wailing rock guitar and later, strings. Those who saw Sarah's La Luna concert on public TV will recognize this as the climactic scene where she flies, suspended by wires. The choir sings "If you win or you lose/it's a question of honour/and the way that you choose/is a question of honour."
The rocking sound of "Ghost In The Machine" continues the pace, with backing vocals reminiscent of the Stones' "Sympathy For The Devil"'s "whoo hoo."
Dreamy Indian-style vocals and instruments introduce "You Take My Breath Away," which is more of a breather after the three rockers before. The "Dai-yeah" from the backing vocals seem inspired from "The Long Ships" by Enya.
"Something In The Air" has two alternating halves, the lighter part where Sarah's pop vocals wrap softly around the words, to the blast of sound where Tom Jones sings. It's an uneven affair in the end.
"Heaven Is Here" is a more even affair, an improved Dive-style song transformed into a power ballad with the choir, and is one of the highlights of the album.
The mid-paced synthesizer number "I Loved You" is rife with 60's and 70's references; song titles by the Beatles, Bob Dylan, the Kinks, Mamas and Papas, Don McLean, the Buggles, Sade, Frankie Goes To Hollywood, Phil Collins, UB40, as well as Richard Nixon(!), even a vocal clip by Reagan, Andy Warhol, and Andy-Pandy.
"Fly" has vocal samples of Neil Armstrong, similar to what she did on "La Lune," and closes the album's spacey theme by repeating the middle lyrics of "The Fly."
The marked contrast between this album and Time To Say Goodbye is jarring to say the least, but it does show Sarah's musical variety. This is the closest Sarah went into making a rock album. One year later, Sarah would make it big, and it was not time to say goodbye, but hello.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ABSOLUTELY WONDERFUL...!!!!!!!!!!, May 17 2002
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
WOW!!!
Miss Brightman's Voice is just Amazing, This time Sarah sings POP!!! And is an excellent pop with an incredible music quality. I love this CD, is one of my favourites, Is a CD to be played at night maybe with friends, at a party or at a Disco!!! It includes fantastic songs like YOU TAKE MY BREATH AWAY (My Favourite One) with a Kind of Indian rythm, very sensual...!!!
Another Song is "Question of Honour", where she combines Techno pop with a few parts of an Opera Aria called "Ebben Ne andró lontana" It is just terrific!!!
And my other Favourite song is "Murder in Mayriland Park", a sad and melancholy song played in the piano by Sarah.
It Also includes Wonderful songs like "I Loved you" (I think it has a hip-hop rythm) Something in the Air, Fly and many others.
If you like POP this is a CD for you.
Miss Brightman's voice is absolutely amazing as always, but this time she is not the Sarah as in Phantom, Surrender, or The Songs that Got Away.
VIVA LA BRIGHTMAN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, early effort, April 23 2002
By 
delovely (Los Angeles, CA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
Back before Sarah Brightman was an international superstar, this was perhaps one of her first recorded forays into finding an international audiance. As an early Sarah fan, I love this album (as I do with Dive). ... Obviously the demand for it as an import exceeded it's original circulation, and thus it was reissued, with Time to Say Goodbye as an added throw in to boost record sales. Unfortunatley, that song sticks out like a sore thumb on this album- all the songs are beautiful, but the essense of Fly is that it is NOT like Sarah's other stuff. If you own La Luna and like it, you will love this CD, so long as you remember that this came first, and La Luna really just repackadged this and sold it as a brand new album, like Sarah's new album, Encore, which is just essentially a re-release of Surrender under a new name. As with Surrender/Encore, if you like the original Import, you will like the new album as well, but you will find it repetitive. I for one am sick of having to sift through supposedly "new" recordings of Sarah's and having them just be recycled. How about something for fans that have been around, and would really like something new...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Unexpected trip through space and time on "Fly", March 5 2002
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
This is actually the repackaged German version of "Fly," with the only addition being "Con Te Partiro" (it was added as the first track after the enormous European sucess of the song). "Fly" was originally released in Germany in 1996 and still has not been released domestically in North America, but it was sold as a 2-CD set during Sarah Brightman's La Luna tour. It is well worth the import cost.
"Fly" is much more techno than Brightman's previous solo effort "Dive" from 1993. Also, there is no common theme linking the songs together, which range from operatic ("Question of Honour," "Con Te Partiro") to Europop/rock ("I Love You," "Ghost in the Machinery," to pseudo-Goth moments on "Murder in Mairyland Park."
There is even a duet with Tom Jones on "Something in the Air" and a duet with UB40's Chris Thompson on "How Can Heaven Love Me." If I had to give this album a genre I would have to say dance, although there some are slower songs ("Heaven is Here," "Con Te Partiro"). Some of the lyrics are truly strange and enigmatic:
("The Fly": Across a harvest of stars and constellations/We'll drink a starjuice on Mars/Coz I don't know why I am a fly)
("I Loved You": They were the living years of stainless steel/ Praying for a time in a fortune wheel/ Smooth operator was where it's at/ So welcome all of you to the pleasure dome/ Of taking the look from the homeless zone/With digital aids in your telephone)
This is an energetic, playful album that showcases a completely different creative side of Sarah that she hadn't shown before. "Fly" is a Europop techno dance album. Fans of her classical works will definitely want to avoid this as there is only one classical song, "Con Te Partiro" which appears on Sarah's other classical collections (on "Timeless" ("Time To Say Goodbye" in North America), and her new collection "Classics"). If you are interested in her operatic/ classical crossover albums, sample "Eden," "La Luna," or "Classics." But if you are a Sarah Brightman fan who likes to listen to new things and ideas, this is a worthy investment. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Heaven Is Here!, Sept. 23 2001
By 
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
My god this is fabulous! Though the high price unnerves me it was well worth the money spent. I have to admit, though, that at first I wasn't all that impressed with Sarah's take on rock, but after listening to the thing five times through I found myself liking it more and more everytime I heard it. Now I can't get enough of it! ... This was sort of a reluctant rating just because I feel that Fly in no way compares to the greatness of Eden and La Luna but in contrary to her other works is unique and homely. A harder version of Dive, I guess you'd say... I must confess, though, that besides "Time To Say Goodbye" with Andrea Bocelli I actually miss hearing her sing more operatic tunes like Nessun Norma and Figlio Perduto. At least I'm happy to report that such songs as the Asian influenced You Take My Breath Away, the alternative Something In The Air with Tom Jones, the subtle, emotional flowing Heaven Is Here, and the rappish Madonna esqued "I Loved You" all but make up for the abscense of such melodies with great enormity.
Many seem to think that Murder In Mairyland Park is too boring but I attest it to be one of the most invigorating songs I've ever heard by her. Agreed it starts off very slow but it only leads to one of the most exhilerating, New Age endings I've ever heard. Much like Eden's pop songs it showcases he gentle side more than anything else, which is rare on Fly. If anything this is contemporary dance-rock, nothing more.
Yes the lyrics are nothing spectacular and the production is often weak and awry (namely in How Can Heaven Love Me with Chris Thompson), but overall this is a refreshing release from all her confining opera. This, I believe, is what she wants to do, so I can't object to that. As long as she keeps doing space opera like "A Question Of Honour" than I'll forever succumb to whatever she releases.
Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars a baffling album, Feb. 12 2001
This review is from: Fly (Audio CD)
This album was made before Sarah Brightman finally found her "niche" in classical/popular music. It is an album that suffers from multiple personality disorder. How can you open an album with the sublime, romantic Con Te Partiro, and then spend the rest of it rocking out? Such a strange combination could be labled surrealist or dadaist, but that would be too generous.
There are some good moments on this album. It is funny to hear Sarah try to "rock" so hard, but she is semi-successful on How Can Heaven Love Me and Ghost in the Machinery. But other moments on the album are just too much. It's as if she threw something together, and then got it right on subsequent albums. I'm referring to A Question of Honour, and the last track, Fly. Those familiar with this album as well as La Luna and Time to Say Goodbye will know what I mean.
I know that this album appeals to some people more than her other recordings, but I'm personally glad that she went to adopt more of an ethereal style that suits her vocal capability better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fly
Fly by Sarah Brightman (Audio CD - 1996)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews