Customer Reviews


54 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite Alice Cooper album
the headline says it all.This album is very intense n deep and not to mention twisted as hell ...a trip to the asylum
Published 3 months ago by deni guenard

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Been a Masterpiece, But Misses the Mark
Another concept album from Alice Cooper, "From The Inside" was released after Alice came out of rehab for alcoholism and the themes here are addiction, insanity and depression and what it's like to be trapped "on the inside". Ironically, despite the themes, this is Alice's most accessible album to date; more piano and keyboards than ever before; middle-of-the-road,...
Published on Nov. 13 2011 by Kasey G


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should Have Been a Masterpiece, But Misses the Mark, Nov. 13 2011
By 
Kasey G (Toronto, ON) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
Another concept album from Alice Cooper, "From The Inside" was released after Alice came out of rehab for alcoholism and the themes here are addiction, insanity and depression and what it's like to be trapped "on the inside". Ironically, despite the themes, this is Alice's most accessible album to date; more piano and keyboards than ever before; middle-of-the-road, unoffensive. Knowing Alice worked with the likes of Bernie Taupin and David Foster on this album should give you an idea what you're in for. This is the Alice Cooper who was appearing on "The Muppet Show" and co-starring with Mae West in "Sextette"; this is not the Shock-Rock of 1971-72, folks. The production values are high but musically Alice seems stuck in a rut.

The funky, pulsating title song "From the Inside" possesses the identical punchy disco rhythm that would propel Donna Summer's "Bad Girls" and "Hot Stuff" to chart success a few months later. If this had been released as a single it would have been to Alice what "Miss You" was to the Stones or "Do Ya Think I'm Sexy" was to Mr. Rod Stewart.

Alice's final hit ballad was the sappy "How You Gonna See Me Now", but the superior slow numbers include "The Quiet Room" where an institutionalized Alice contemplates suicide and "Jacknife Johnny", about a shell-shocked Vietnam vet that contains the bone-chilling line "All your friends sleep in boxes while you sleep in chains".

"Serious" is a fast-pumping but unremarkable rocker; the frantic "Wish I Were Born in Beverly Hills" is much more interesting; "For Veronica's Sake" has the best arrangement of all the rockers on the album; unfortunately the lyrics (about a dog in the pound) spoil it.

This album does include a classic in the delightfully lewd rocker "Nurse Rozetta", which contains the dirtiest lyrics since "Muscle of Love". Alice's wit and humour was never more evident than in the lines "Nurse Rozetta, I won't let her, catch me peering, down her sweater" and "I'm suddenly twice my size; my pants are all wet inside".

"Inmates (We're All Crazy)" opens with a piano riff that Chicago would use for all the soundalike hits they had in the '80s that quickly dissolves into piercing "Psycho"-esque violins and cellos. Backed by a chorus of lunatics, this is perhaps the showiest piece here. IMO the worst thing Alice recorded up to this point is the duet (with a poor imitation of Olivia Newton-John--I don't know her name) "Millie and Billie". Imagine The Bells (who sang the 1971 sickly-sweet "Stay Awhile") singing the plot of "Henry: Portrait of a Serial Killer" and you have an idea of what you're in for. I suppose they figured the contrast between the gruesome lyrics and cute delivery would be clever, but it just doesn't work. Sorry Alice--terrible song.

Three and a half stars. Alice had done/would do much better work than this. A remastered version will be released January 2012.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars my favorite Alice Cooper album, April 9 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
the headline says it all.This album is very intense n deep and not to mention twisted as hell ...a trip to the asylum
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rehab Never Sounded So Good..., Oct. 9 2002
By 
Troy Correia (Vacaville, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
Alice Cooper was one of the first hard rock stars to incorporate theatrics into his stage show. His music was the soundtrack not only to his stage shows, but to a good part of the 70's. Released in 1978, "From The Inside" is Alice's story of his stay in an insane asylum type rehab center in New York put to music. He took his experiences and the character's that went with it and put it in to album form. The original record album packaging was pretty cool. The front of the album was a picture of Alice that opened like doors and showed a recreated scene of the mad house. Inside that was another door which opened to show Alice in his "Quiet Room". The back of the album was a picture of two building doors that opened to reveal Alice and the other inmates with their release papers ready to run out.
Even more impressive than the packaging were the songs on the disc. It kicks off with the title track, a cool rocker about how Alice fell to the power of the bottle. The second song, "I Wish I Were Born In Beverly Hills" is a catchy tune about a little rich girl that ended up in the same place as Alice, rehab. "The Quiet Room" is a ballad about Alice's stay in his solitary confined padded cell.
Things pick back up with "Nurse Rosetta", a rocking tune about Alice's fantasies with the nurse. A pretty suggestive song for it's time. The next tune, "Millie and Billie" is another ballad styled song about a couple in love and doing time for the gruesome murder of Millie's husband. The next cut, "Serious" picks back up in rockin' style and tells about being a played a sucker and losing it all.
Another ballad, "How You Gonna See Me Now" is up next. One of Alice's biggest hits, Alice asks the question to his wife about what she is going to think of him after all he has been through. One of the highlights of the dics. The hard rockin' "For Veronica's Sake" talks about the parallel of Alice leaving his dog Veronica behind in the pound while he does time in rehab. The final ballad on the disc, "Jackknife Johnny" is about a Vietnam vet doing time. The album closes with "Inmates (We're All Crazy)". A mix of part ballad and part high energy rock and roll, it sung from the thoughts about the wrong doings of the inmates.
This is one excellent album from start to finish. If you like concept albums, pick this one up. Alice has done so many great albums in his time and continues today keeping up with anyone out there.
I know that this tour was taped and aired on Showtime back in 1980. I would love to see that released on DVD. It would make a great addition to the album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars FROM THE INSIDE., Sept. 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
I just recieved this masterpiece of insane hard rock/metal music.Alice's VERY BEST and most grusome recording.The songs are about being held in an INSANE ASYLUM and the lyrics and music reflect this......."The Quiet Room","Inmates(we're all crazy)","Jackknife Johnny","From The Inside",etc. Alice's vocals are at his most aggressive and best ever.THIS IS A MUST HAVE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars From the Inside......., July 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
I ordered this great cd from Amazon/hmv.ca on June 2,2004 and will write a review as soon as I recieve it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is GENIUS!!!!!, May 28 2004
By 
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
This is one of Alice's best!, every song is a gem!, and I can relate to it cause I've been in a mental hospital too, and though it was'nt as extreme as the one Alice was in, its still kinda close.
the stand out songs are "the Quiet Room", "for Veronica's sake", and "Inmates"
BUY THIS MASTERPEICE!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great CD, May 20 2004
By 
Benjamin Dotson (ooltewah, TN USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
From The Inside is one of the greatest CD's you will ever buy. A 1978 trip to rehab for Alice produced some of his greatest work. From the Inside and Wish I Were Born In Beverly Hills are two of the best tracks on the CD. How You Gonna See Me Now , Nurse Rozetta and Serious awesome! A domestic special edition would be nice , but till then see ya in the Quiet Room!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Alice Cooper's best albums, April 16 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
I bought this album when it first came out and I still listen to it today. I think it was one of Alice's best efforts and have always been disappointed that the album do not do better commercially because I think a lot of people missed out on hearing these songs. The design of the LP cover was great also.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Classic from the Coopster, April 15 2004
By 
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
After my disapointment with purchasing the Schools Out CD! I was afraid to listen to this one, but I was pleasently satasfied when the album was done playing. IT features some of Alices best work. And you really understand the meaning of "from the inside" and Alice takes you on a journey type of thing through an asylum, and filled with the typical wickedness and humour that only Alice can provide!
The album rocks! It sounds great, no stinkers or fillers where put into this album IMO and its a great choice for the Cooper fans to purchase it! I picked it up for $18 here in Australia. Thats not even how much there currently asking for here due to import. You might wanna go second hand? But if you see the album, and your a Coop fan, defnitly pick this one up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars INTERESTING, Feb. 23 2004
This review is from: NEW Alice Cooper - From The Inside (CD) (Audio CD)
Coop has three of his best songs of all time on here.From The Inside,Serious and How Ya Gonna See Me Now but the rest of the album flops.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews