Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Proof That Nice Guys Can Finish First!
Before the rage of hardcore rap, there was a young man out of Philadelphia named Will Smith along with DJ Jazzy Jeff showed that rap can be fun and can still make the charts! Nearly all the classics I remember are on here plus a few that I had never heard until this CD!
Will still can flow but to me, he was much better as The Fresh Prince! I have to agree with one...
Published on June 23 2004 by Ervin Griffin

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, fun, bubble-gum rap at its best...
Before Will Smith made 20 million dollars per box office flick, he was the funniest, funkiest Fresh Prince alongside his sidekick DJ Jazzy Jeff.
In-between the hardcore gangsta rap of N.W.A. and the political mindedness of Public Enemy, we met young JJ and FP with their 1988 mega-hit "Parents Just Don't Understand". Jazz and Prince followed with...
Published on May 28 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Proof That Nice Guys Can Finish First!, June 23 2004
By 
Ervin Griffin (Bluefield, WV) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Before the rage of hardcore rap, there was a young man out of Philadelphia named Will Smith along with DJ Jazzy Jeff showed that rap can be fun and can still make the charts! Nearly all the classics I remember are on here plus a few that I had never heard until this CD!
Will still can flow but to me, he was much better as The Fresh Prince! I have to agree with one reviewer about Eminim. I feel Em is talented but I also agree he should show more respect to one of the veterans of the game. Get this to hear the original "Bill Cosby" of rap!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eminem could never live up to this!!, Feb. 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Prince and Jazz are apart of the changing of the guard in mid 80's rap. They reflected an expanding genre where groups like Public Enemy and The Beastie Boys where apart of the mainstay. Jazzy Jeff is by far one of the worlds greatest DJ's and Fresh Prince is one of the most talented and intricate rappers to come along. Anyone who disagrees has never seen them live. I find it shameful that when Eminem had bad words for Will Smith, no one in the rap world stood up to defend Will. Eminem needs to show respect for a legend and understand that his unique "character trait" is what makes him rich and famous - not his skills. There have been thousands of emcees since 1975 and most of them have been much more skillful than Eminem but have not been as successful. Is it coincidence that Vanilla Ice was just as big as Eminem... I doubt it. I can't beleive the rap community was so spineless in defending this legend - Will Smith. We gotcha back Will.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Nice reminder of how Will got his groove on, Nov. 17 2003
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Full of hits from his early days, This CD reminds us of how and why Will Smith is who he is today. Nice CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A great CD, with one exception, June 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD is great. Summertime is a personal, one of the best alltime summer songs, along with 'Today was a good day' by Ice Cube and 'Schools out for summer' by pink floyd. Every other song on the album is worth listening to.... with one exception.
I gave this album only 4 star for one reason: You saw my blinker. What a miserable excuse for a song. Will Smith attempting to be a gangsta. Painful to listen to. But other than that, a great CD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, fun, bubble-gum rap at its best..., May 28 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
Before Will Smith made 20 million dollars per box office flick, he was the funniest, funkiest Fresh Prince alongside his sidekick DJ Jazzy Jeff.
In-between the hardcore gangsta rap of N.W.A. and the political mindedness of Public Enemy, we met young JJ and FP with their 1988 mega-hit "Parents Just Don't Understand". Jazz and Prince followed with "Nightmare On My Street" and "Girls Ain't Nothing But Trouble", which samples the 'I Dream of Jeannie' TV theme.
The best song on this CD is the timeless "Summertime", a jam that still sounds fresh to this day. "Ring My Bell (Mr. Lee's Radio Mix)" is also a dance-friendly song, as is the previously unreleased "Lovely Daze". Plus, any Fresh Prince fan will love the full version of "Fresh Prince of Bel-Air".
Other goodies include the Teddy Riley-produced "I'm Looking For The One (To Be With Me)", "Boom! Shake The Room!" and Will Smith's own "Men In Black". If you want to know and revisit Jazzy Jeff and Fresh Prince, this is a great CD to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Goin' ol' school, Willie style ! :), Dec 10 2002
By 
Krista-Lea (New York, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you cant let go of your youth, like myself, and you like upbeat rap with "no cussin'" as Eminem said of Will Smith and his recordings, (not to mention what Emimen says after that to Will) this is the CD. Almost every track was a favorite, from 'Parents just dont understand', 'Nightmare on my street', 'Summertime', and even the full length version of the theme from his hit TV series 'Ther fresh prince of Bel Air'.
Total Will Smith, with Jazz here, and it is great. Very lively and those creative lyrics you just cant get enough of..well, almost. But it really remains one of his best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars All the hits, in one cd., July 7 2002
By 
Candace Bennett "favorite80sshows.com" (Kelowna, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
If you are a fan of Fresh Prince and DJ Jazzy Jeff, you'll love this cd. From A Nightmare on My Street, to Parents Just Don't Understand, to Summertime. All the hits are here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good CD, June 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This CD has Fresh Prince & Jazzy Jeff cuts, spanning their entire history. Jazzy Jeff, creator of the transformer scratch, is one of the best DJs ever, he started out playing at parties with the Prince to founded his own record label, A Touch of Jazz. The best two tracks on this CD are "The Magnificent Jazzy Jeff," which displays Jeff's scratching skills and "A Touch of Jazz," whose title speaks for itself.

Will Smith aka the Fresh Prince adds smooth flows of comical lyrics to Jazzy's fresh beats. The tracks have the best flows are "Summertime," describing scenes of summer, and "You Saw My Blinker," which has got the funniest Prince lines.
Also, you got to give props to the old school tracks, "Parents Just Don't Understand" and "Girls Ain't Nothin' But Trouble." My only complaint about this album is it loses it's replay value after a while. But when that happens, just put it away for a year then bring it back out. This CD is a must have for any Will Smith, Jeff Townes, or hip hop fan. Even though the Prince doesn't have to cuss to say what he's trying to, any true hip hop fan will like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars wherez the dopeness, March 29 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
the fresh prince needs harder beatz and cursing rhymesz. kinda like cypress hill ghetto boyz and old ice cube records. those are the cd's i like the mostest, okay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Fresh Prince CD, Nov. 15 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits (Audio CD)
This is one of the best CDs I have listened to ever. If you like Fresh Prince you will love this CD. Lovely Dayz is one of the best songs ever. This CD has the absolute best of The Fresh Prince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits
Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince Greatest Hits by Jazzy Jeff And Fresh Prince (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews