Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album marks the start of C.C. reigning glory
When the members of Cannibal Corpse made the excellent decision to get rid of the lame stupid vocalist Chris Barnes, they made a decision of fate. George Fisher IS the man. When Vile came out Cannibal Corpse shoved their middle finger right the face of the chunky slow Six Feet Under crowd by showing the world that SPEED Deathmetal is TRUE. Gallery of Suicide showcases...
Published on July 12 2004

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars Let's See Here
Ok, let me start of by saying, this is trash metal. Ok, I listen to metal, but this is just horible. Bands like Poison the Well, Slayer, Shadows Fall, Messugah, Killswitch Engage, NORA, Candiria, ect., now they're true hardcore, heavy, and great music, but s**t like this and Skinliss, is just weak and pathetic. These guys act like they're tough because they can write...
Published on Sept. 14 2003 by Bob Marley


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This album marks the start of C.C. reigning glory, July 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
When the members of Cannibal Corpse made the excellent decision to get rid of the lame stupid vocalist Chris Barnes, they made a decision of fate. George Fisher IS the man. When Vile came out Cannibal Corpse shoved their middle finger right the face of the chunky slow Six Feet Under crowd by showing the world that SPEED Deathmetal is TRUE. Gallery of Suicide showcases some totally killer guitar work. From Skin to Liquid is in the top 5 of their best songs. Chambers of Blood, Stabbed in the Throat, and Blood Drenched Execution, which happens to be my favorite song on the album. They write intricate neoclassical riffs that fit together so well. Alex Webster really is a bad M.F! His songwriting along with Jack and Pat are what make Cannibal Corpse's songs so original and memorable. George's vocals just crush everything in their path and Paul's old-school thrash style drumming really stand out on this masterpiece album. I personally think Gallery of Suicide and The Wretched Spawn are Cannibal's best albums. Anyone who bashes Cannibal Corpse is an IDIOT
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Underrated in the CC discography, Feb. 10 2004
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
NOTE: the below review was written when "Gallery of Suicide" was the latest Corpse album, and it's comparison to the rest of the catalog thereby doesn't account for subsequent releases.
"Gallery Of Suicide" is a landmark album in the history of death metal. On one hand, it's the best album Cannibal Corpse have produced in a long, illustrious history filled with brutal achievement. But it's more than that: "Gallery Of Suicide" offers proof to the world that a death metal band need not slow down or lighten up in order to progress. Don't get me wrong, I'm a huge fan of albums like "Swansong" and "Wolverine Blues", but I'd hate to see the death metal scene as a whole collapse back into 80s thrash, and as long as there are bands like Cannibal Corpse around to wave the flag for the battle-worn genre, I get to keep my hopes up. Over the course of 14 songs and 44 minutes, Cannibal Corpse build an epic scale monument to aggression. I can just imagine "Gallery Of Suicide" making many of today's second tier bands go back to the drawing boards in shame, determined to put forth their heaviest album yet next time around. The entire album is one long highlight, but songs that I particularly liked were the title track and "From Skin To Liquid", a monstrous instrumental that adds some stellar shredding over top a slow, foreboding back beat, creating the kind of horror movie menace that hasn't been equaled since Godflesh's "Streetcleaner". The clean vocals heard on "The Bleeding" are gone this time, as George "Corpsegrinder" Fisher again sounds as if he's being choked with a flaming shish-kabob. It's obvious he's not singing about the national deficit. In fact, on "Disposal Of The Body" he takes time out from his free-form carnal musings to offer us useful advice on how to get rid of that pesky corpse you've been hiding in the garage freezer. Those who claim there is no social value in these types of lyrics obviously have never worked off a year's worth of stress in five minutes worth of moshing. Cannibal Corpse fans are some of the most mellow people I know. Is gore metal the hippie music of the 90s? Me thinks not. With George Fisher completely integrated into the lineup and each of the band members honing their chops with each album release, it's clear Cannibal Corpse are on the upswing of a new era in technical brutality. Nothing about "Gallery Of Suicide" smells like a compromise, including the cover art by old favorite Vincent Locke (who really should be doing his own comics by now), which depicts a variety of suicide victims whose only resemblance to each other is their questionable state of health. Somehow I don't think Camelot will be putting up posters anytime soon...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gallery Of Brutality!!, Nov. 16 2003
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
This is the 6th album from Cannibal Corpse and it came out in April 1998. It opens with two extremely fast tracks which are "I Will Kill You" and "Disposal Of The Body". On "Sentenced To Burn" they go for a more mid-tempo approach but the results are still terrific, and this song has some of the best riffs of the album. On "Blood Drenched Execution", Corpsegrinder does some great tormented shreiks during the chorus to go with his more traditional growls!! Next up is the title track and its one of the best on the album, starting off with a slower pace then going for an all our assult during the middle and end. "Dismembered And Molested" has some of the most graphic lyrics of the album that would git very well on their first three albums. "From Skin To Liquid" is a moody instrumental, and I wish bands would do more of them, its a great way to show off nothing but their musical skills and this instrumental really does suceed. "Unite The Dead" has an interesting lyrical concept. Next up is two mid-tempo tracks, "Stabbed In The Throat" has great opening riffs and the catchiest chorus of the album, but "Chambers Of Blood" also has a very singable chorus also. The final fous songs pretty much go for all out speed and brutality and end the album in fine fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Let's See Here, Sept. 14 2003
By 
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Ok, let me start of by saying, this is trash metal. Ok, I listen to metal, but this is just horible. Bands like Poison the Well, Slayer, Shadows Fall, Messugah, Killswitch Engage, NORA, Candiria, ect., now they're true hardcore, heavy, and great music, but s**t like this and Skinliss, is just weak and pathetic. These guys act like they're tough because they can write lyrics about killing people, and butchering babies, wow tough, but they would never do anything like that. The lead singer can't even yell, or scream, he growls, wow talent there, see with yelling, screaming, and singing, requires talent. I LOVE YELLING, and SCREAMING music, but music like this I can't stand because of how tarible the lead singer is. The instrument are farley decent so I'll give them that, but it's still nothing to wet yourself over. Now I recomend Oposite of Decmber, or Tear Fom The Red, or You Come Before You, by Poison the Well, if you're looking for talent, and great vocals. I also recomend anything other then growling music for people who wnat a hardcore hit, just try out the band Hopesfall for a great punch!Later
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this album!!!!, June 17 2003
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
This to me is the strongest of the "new" Cannibal Corpse. The album is hard hitting from start to finish. "Chambers of Blood" is probably my favorite track on the album.

Gallery of suicide has a classicly morbid and dreary Cannibal Corpse style intro that goes perfect with the Vincent Locke art on the cover(Lots of Suicide). The song starts out slow and by the end its a classic Cannibal Corpse power blast.
"From skin to liquid" is by far the best Cannibal Corpse instrumental ever, with slow bone crunching parts that make you get an evil grin on your face. "Blood Drenched Execution" is like a blast to your face when the song begins....talk about explosive! ( Very similar to the begining of "Dorment Bodys Bursting" on Gore Obssessed)
To me the mood to this album is pretty cool. Its not as twisted in content as "Tomb" or "Butchered" but it, like the other Corpse albums is very brutal! The songs are of course a classic Cannibal Corpse blood bath of lyric writing, but they are actually uniquely creative on this album. I'm sure a lot of Non Cannibal Corpse fans would disagree and say that all of their lyrics are the same thing over and over, but to me this one is just different.

Having listened to Cannibal Corpse and other death metal bands for a long, long time I must say that metal doesn't get much heavier than these guys.
I saw them with Hate Eternal about six months ago, and I was totally blown away at how long they played. They moved around a lot on stage too....man it looked tiring to play that long and move that much. They are worth every penny when you go see them live.
Gallery of Suicide is an entire CD of rip roaring classic death metal. For the newer Cannibal Corpse albums (Post Barnes) its probably the best. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Enter the Gallery of Suicide, July 8 2003
By 
Buzz N' Frog (Shelbyville, KY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Cannibal Corpse have always been loyal to their fans have never sold out in any way. Their sixth full length studio album "Gallery of Suicide" is a decent offering. George"Corpsegrinder"Fisher still relies on both the high pitched shrieking and cookie monster vocal styles especially in the song "Blood Drenched Execution". Just like most of their albums "Gallery of Suicide" focuses highly on shock value in their lyrics. Musically it seems that Cannibal Corpse have improved some. One of the songs on "Gallery of Suicide" that I believe music was one of the main focuses was the title track which is "Gallery of Suicide". They still have grinding guitars, ripping solos, blasphemous bass, cookie monster, and a double bass drum. This album has very little to offer fans as it can be found boring at some times. Some songs prove to be better than others, but "Gallery of Suicide" is a decent album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh My.This Is Quite Horrible., Oct. 5 2002
By 
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Cannibal Corpse are the most untalented band on the face of earth.All they really ever do is scream,play distorted guitars and light speed drums.It is just impossible to understand a single word that is coming out of the lead singers mouth.Well,this CD lives up to its name,because every time I hear it I want to jump off a cliff.
Peace Out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I HAVEN'T LAUGHED THIS HARD IN A LONG TIME!, Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Haha! What a riot! Jokey death metal that reveals itself in seconds for what it's supposed to be: A comic masterpiece.
I love mock death metal bands, and this is one of the best joke death metal albums in recent history.
ABSOLUTELY HYSTERICAL! I dare you to find a funnier death metal CD that's come out over the past two years!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is Brutal, Sept. 27 2003
By 
C. Garces (Plantation, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Cannibal Corpse is an amazing band, but you all know that already. Anyway, got the album today, Gallery of Suicide, I was completly blown away. Until today I thought Chris Barnes had a cooler voice than CorpseGrinder...How wrong I was, CorpseGrinder seems to crush your spine into the concrete every time he growls. Stand out tracks on this album are "I Will Kill You", its the first song, and sets the tone for the brutality that is to come. "Sentenced to Burn" is like a screwdriver ripping your eyes out, it pounds you into your chair. "Gallery of Suicide" starts out slow, then explodes into hyper speed, I think its my fav song on the album. The instrumental "From Skin to Liquid" is so damn heavy...its such an Evil rythem, its amazing...All I can say is, go for the neck, buy this album as soon as you can. (The review below is mine, I had done it anonymous first)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This album is Brutal, Sept. 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored (Audio CD)
Cannibal Corpse is an amazing band, but you all know that already. Anyway, got the album today, Gallery of Suicide, I was completly blown away. Until today I thought Chris Barnes had a cooler voice than CorpseGrinder...How wrong I was, CorpseGrinder seems to crush your spine into the concrete every time he growls. Stand out tracks on this album are "I Will Kill You", its the first song, and sets the tone for the brutality that is to come. "Sentenced to Burn" is like a screwdriver ripping your eyes out, it pounds you into your chair. "Gallery of Suicide" starts out slow, then explodes into hyper speed, I think its my fav song on the album. The instrumental "From Skin to Liquid" is so damn heavy...its such an Evil rythem, its amazing...All I can say is, go for the neck, buy this album as soon as you can.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored
Gallery of Suicide (Uncensored by Cannibal Corpse (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews