Customer Reviews


116 Reviews
5 star:
 (90)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest hard rock album of all time!
Simply the best!!!
From Ian Paice,one of the best drummers of all time to Ritchie Blackmore,one the best guitarists of all time,this album
is a masterpiece!!
Every song on it is fantastic!
For Deep Purple fans this is a must have!
You will NOT be disappointed
Published on May 16 2010 by Michael Mcintosh

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time does'nt do good
As many, i used to see MH as Purple's best ever, but time changed my mind. Though I continue believing that MH is one of the classic trilogy of the band (the other 2 are "In rock" and "Fireball", of course), I put it now on the 3rd. place. The earlier "In rock" is sharper and more interesting (sadly, the band does'nt do much of it in...
Published on Oct. 4 2001 by Arye Mirovski


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest hard rock album of all time!, May 16 2010
By 
Michael Mcintosh "Mike" (Vancouver BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Simply the best!!!
From Ian Paice,one of the best drummers of all time to Ritchie Blackmore,one the best guitarists of all time,this album
is a masterpiece!!
Every song on it is fantastic!
For Deep Purple fans this is a must have!
You will NOT be disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I forgot how much I loved this album!, April 1 2009
By 
Fred G. Nickerson "Fredder99" (Brandon, MB) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
I first purchased this album as a teenager in 1973. Smoke on the Water was so overplayed that it eventually became a joke, and this album was relegated to back benches.

I heard Highway Star on the radio last summer and decided to reacquire Machine Head.

It is definitely a classic metal album!! The music is so energetic & heavy, I have to say I have really missed it. Richie Blackmore is a guitar god!

The lyrics may be lame, but the hard driving music set a new high water mark at the time.

My ten year old son heard this CD once and had me load it onto his iPod!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Killer Rock and Roll, Nov. 21 2005
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
This album is essential for any fans of rock music. This is hard rock at it's finest. The highlights of the album are 'Smoke on the Water' (with the most well-known guitar riff of all time), the blistering 'Highway Star', 'Space Truckin', and my personal favourite, 'Lazy'. With the awesome organ intro/solo and one of the greatest guitar solos of all time, 'Lazy' alone makes this album worth the price of admission.
'Machine Head' is a must-have for all guitarists and fans of rock and roll music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic, July 1 2004
By 
Raj (Mumbai, India) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
When you are in the mood for a specific band or album the songs normally make you feel good. After a while they grow on you and after some more time they sound decent and predictable, this is when you have to put the album aside for a few months till the songs create a yearning again.
'Machine Head' is an album which never fails me even after constant listening. If 'Smoke on the water' dosn't do it 'Highway Star' will if 'Space trucking' can't do it then 'Maybe I'm a leo' will. This album is amazing great music great tunes and great vocals. The album is the most blusy of the Mark-II line up and the guitar work by Ritchie Blackmore is amazing. There are so many classic solos and riffs here that one can keep changing their favorites.
"Never Before' is the only average number on this CD and it ain't too bad. Even a simple sounding song like 'Maybe I'm a Leo' is made more interesting by Ian Paice where he constantly keeps changing the Drumming to keep interest (and this one has two solos by Ritchie which such flowing blusy feel).
Buy it as you will never get a better fussion between hard rock and commercial melody with no compromise on musicmanship.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Quintessential Purple, Feb. 6 2004
By 
Kyle Anderson (Denver, CO, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
This is considered by many to be Deep Purple's landmark. And with good reason. It captured a moment in time where Purple was at the peak of their powers. It contains the unexpected hit "Smoke on the Water". One of the greatest rock & roll songs ever and I believe still banned in guitar shops throughout the U.S. "Highway Star is another great song. It is a fast hard driving song that should please rock and early metal fans. "Lazy" is another great track (the longest on the album). It starts out with the organ of Jon Lord, like it could be a classical piece, until Blackmore's guitar comes into the forefront and it takes a more slow bluesy direction, reaching its apex when Ian Gillan starts to sing. Space Truckin is another great track that makes you feel like you actually are out in space. As for the lesser known tracks, "Maybe I'm a Leo, has a funky yet lovelorn vibe to it. "Pictures of Home" had a somewhat midieval feel to it. "Never Before" had a pretty standard feel to it, while it is the shortest song on the album, it is a good one. If you were to only get one Deep Purple album, this is it. Made In Japan is also a good one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Time does'nt do good, Oct. 4 2001
By 
Arye Mirovski (Haifa Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
As many, i used to see MH as Purple's best ever, but time changed my mind. Though I continue believing that MH is one of the classic trilogy of the band (the other 2 are "In rock" and "Fireball", of course), I put it now on the 3rd. place. The earlier "In rock" is sharper and more interesting (sadly, the band does'nt do much of it in concerts, besides "Speed king" and "Child in time") and "Fireball" is a clever semi-progressive album, that sounds today almost fresh as it was in 1971. In its time, MH brought heavy metal to every home, like the Floyd's "Dark side of the moon", that introduced the world the progressive rock. Now we don't need it anymore. I'm not saying that the album is bad. It includes music that is made for live concerts more than a studio. "Highway star", "Lazy" and "Smoke on the water" sound much better in "Made in Japan". "Maybe I'm a leo" and "Pictures of home" are better in "Live in Olympia". So MH is an important album for the band, in historical point of view, but not that important to the 21st. centuey listener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolute best!!!! % plus, Dec 17 2003
By A Customer
I agree with most reviewers on the sound quality of this remastered album. Simply amazing! I have tried several remastered albums from other bands but this is absolutely the best.
No need to say about Deep purple music. If you are new to Deep Purple, listening to this and you will be surprised that Deep Purple is not as popular as Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd... in North Anerica. DP 's music (any DP Mark) is much better than any of those bands.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Another 'ReMaster' Scam, March 20 2013
By 
Emaren (Vancouver, B.C) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ASIN # B008S6B48K Machine Head 40th Anniversary Edition "remastered" etc.
(1) There is heard no difference in the sound quality between this disc and the early 1990s original and testing was done with full a/v system using speakers and pro cans (2) This is a single disc issuing that says all over it that this is a new remastering yet when you put the disc in cd player or computer, the disc says its disc 1 of 2 from a set offered, and remastered, 10 years ago. Thus the one 10 years ago was not ReMastered either. Bonus: The sound quality of the [lame] bonus track is good. So why couldn't they do that with the album itself? Some of the other equally outrageous ReMaster scams : Uriah Heep - Magician's Birthday ASIN # B0002ady1k 2004 ; Grand Funk - American Band ASIN # B000071WY2 ; The Cult - The Cult ASIN # B0000085N4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Album but Poor Sound Quality, July 12 2009
By 
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
This is a GREAT album/CD but MAYBE because it's recorded in the Stones mobile sound studio, I just found the sound quility wasn't the best and the volume output was low!My hearing is impaired in BOTH ears, so maybe it's just me!Anyways, still highly recomended! I LOVE "LAZY" Jon Lord is great at his organ!!!!

Since buying the ORIGINAL single version, I purchsed the 2 CD set of the deluxe version. BUY IT, the sound quality and volume are 100% better!!!!
Sounds almost like a completely different CD. "Purple" fans will love this 2 CD set!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Essential Album For Any Collection Of 1970s Music, Aug. 19 2011
By 
Mark Anderson (Victoria, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Machine Head (Audio CD)
There seems to be a major resurgence of interest in 1970s music as today's 15-25 year olds rediscover music from that decade. I grew up in the 70s and my friends' teenaged sons and their friends are now frequently asking me about 70s bands and looking for lesser known bands and albums from that era.

This is one album I've told them all about.

Having said that, Deep Purple is hardly a "lesser known" band and Machine Head should not be a "lesser known" album but, in my defence, I've discovered that many of the young guys asking me about 70s music are not very familiar with Deep Purple. So to help rectify that situation.......

This is my favorite Deep Purple album. If you don't have any Deep Purple albums in your collection, start with this one. Smoke On The Water was the hit track from this album and it got played so much on radio back in the early 1970s that many of us got sick of hearing it. I always thought tracks like Highway Star, Lazy and Pictures of Home were better than Smoke On The Water but that's just my humble opinion. Suffice to say there are no weak tracks on this album; it's first rate material all the way through.

My advice is to buy this special anniversary edition rather than the less expensive basic release of Machine Head without the extra tracks. In this case the price difference between the basic release and this release with the extra tracks, the second disc and the remixes is only a couple of dollars and this one is worth the extra few $.

As one example, the track called "When A Blind Man Cries" was apparently recorded during the original Machine Head sessions in Switzerland but was not released on the original vinyl album; I've heard a story that Deep Purple lead guitarist Ritchie Blackmore hated the song and didn't want it on the album, so it wasn't released on any official Deep Purple vinyl LPs. But there was a flourishing market in unofficial bootleg LPs back in the 1970s and "When A Blind Man Cries" was released numerous times on bootlegs back then.

It's on this release of Machine Head and it's worth having. The remixes by Deep Purple bass player Roger Glover sound really good as well.

Machine Head is one of the essential albums for any collection of 1970s music; it's one of the best albums of that decade. It should be in your collection and this is the version I recommend buying.

To sum up, this is great album. If you're discovering/re-discovering 1970s music, this one should be in your music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Machine Head
Machine Head by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews