march boutiques-francophones Unlimited cloud storage SmartSaver Furniture Introducing Kindle Oasis Explore the Amazon.ca Vinyl LP Records Store sports Tools Family

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars130
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$38.87+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 12, 2009
This is a GREAT album/CD but MAYBE because it's recorded in the Stones mobile sound studio, I just found the sound quility wasn't the best and the volume output was low!My hearing is impaired in BOTH ears, so maybe it's just me!Anyways, still highly recomended! I LOVE "LAZY" Jon Lord is great at his organ!!!!

Since buying the ORIGINAL single version, I purchsed the 2 CD set of the deluxe version. BUY IT, the sound quality and volume are 100% better!!!!
Sounds almost like a completely different CD. "Purple" fans will love this 2 CD set!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 17, 2003
I agree with most reviewers on the sound quality of this remastered album. Simply amazing! I have tried several remastered albums from other bands but this is absolutely the best.
No need to say about Deep purple music. If you are new to Deep Purple, listening to this and you will be surprised that Deep Purple is not as popular as Led Zeppelin, Black Sabbath, Pink Floyd... in North Anerica. DP 's music (any DP Mark) is much better than any of those bands.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 1, 2009
I first purchased this album as a teenager in 1973. Smoke on the Water was so overplayed that it eventually became a joke, and this album was relegated to back benches.

I heard Highway Star on the radio last summer and decided to reacquire Machine Head.

It is definitely a classic metal album!! The music is so energetic & heavy, I have to say I have really missed it. Richie Blackmore is a guitar god!

The lyrics may be lame, but the hard driving music set a new high water mark at the time.

My ten year old son heard this CD once and had me load it onto his iPod!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERon August 19, 2011
There seems to be a major resurgence of interest in 1970s music as today's 15-25 year olds rediscover music from that decade. I grew up in the 70s and my friends' teenaged sons and their friends are now frequently asking me about 70s bands and looking for lesser known bands and albums from that era.

This is one album I've told them all about.

Having said that, Deep Purple is hardly a "lesser known" band and Machine Head should not be a "lesser known" album but, in my defence, I've discovered that many of the young guys asking me about 70s music are not very familiar with Deep Purple. So to help rectify that situation.......

This is my favorite Deep Purple album. If you don't have any Deep Purple albums in your collection, start with this one. Smoke On The Water was the hit track from this album and it got played so much on radio back in the early 1970s that many of us got sick of hearing it. I always thought tracks like Highway Star, Lazy and Pictures of Home were better than Smoke On The Water but that's just my humble opinion. Suffice to say there are no weak tracks on this album; it's first rate material all the way through.

My advice is to buy this special anniversary edition rather than the less expensive basic release of Machine Head without the extra tracks. In this case the price difference between the basic release and this release with the extra tracks, the second disc and the remixes is only a couple of dollars and this one is worth the extra few $.

As one example, the track called "When A Blind Man Cries" was apparently recorded during the original Machine Head sessions in Switzerland but was not released on the original vinyl album; I've heard a story that Deep Purple lead guitarist Ritchie Blackmore hated the song and didn't want it on the album, so it wasn't released on any official Deep Purple vinyl LPs. But there was a flourishing market in unofficial bootleg LPs back in the 1970s and "When A Blind Man Cries" was released numerous times on bootlegs back then.

It's on this release of Machine Head and it's worth having. The remixes by Deep Purple bass player Roger Glover sound really good as well.

Machine Head is one of the essential albums for any collection of 1970s music; it's one of the best albums of that decade. It should be in your collection and this is the version I recommend buying.

To sum up, this is great album. If you're discovering/re-discovering 1970s music, this one should be in your music collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 1, 2004
When you are in the mood for a specific band or album the songs normally make you feel good. After a while they grow on you and after some more time they sound decent and predictable, this is when you have to put the album aside for a few months till the songs create a yearning again.
'Machine Head' is an album which never fails me even after constant listening. If 'Smoke on the water' dosn't do it 'Highway Star' will if 'Space trucking' can't do it then 'Maybe I'm a leo' will. This album is amazing great music great tunes and great vocals. The album is the most blusy of the Mark-II line up and the guitar work by Ritchie Blackmore is amazing. There are so many classic solos and riffs here that one can keep changing their favorites.
"Never Before' is the only average number on this CD and it ain't too bad. Even a simple sounding song like 'Maybe I'm a Leo' is made more interesting by Ian Paice where he constantly keeps changing the Drumming to keep interest (and this one has two solos by Ritchie which such flowing blusy feel).
Buy it as you will never get a better fussion between hard rock and commercial melody with no compromise on musicmanship.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 19, 2004
As a devoted listener of Classic Rock, Deep Purple is one of my favourite bands. I have not listened everything recorded by them but I have listened to great albums like "In Rock", "Fireball", "Perfect Strangers", and "Machine Head". I have also listened to their latest offering "Bananas" which cannot be categorized as great but still a very good effort. "Machine Head" gets my vote as the best among the lot with some competition from "Fireball" and "Perfect Strangers". Everybody knows that "Machine Head" has "Highway Star", "Smoke On The Water" and "Space Tracking". The first two are celebrated for Blackmore's riffing and the third one has one of the most ferocious drumming put into record (courtsey Ian Paice). The other tracks are almost equally good as the known three. Noteably "Never Again" was band's choice for first single from the album.
The album is very consistent, energetic and fun. Any Hard Rock Lover should already own this masterpiece. In case you do not have it get it as soon as possible. Tell me if you are able to listen it without shaking your head or without air-drumming or air-guitarring. The sound quality makes it more worthwhile. A classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 27, 2004
Machine Head (1972.) Deep Purple's sixth album.
By the time 1972 rolled around, Deep Purple had built up a pretty strong following, despite the fact that they had to replace their original lead vocalist and a few other band members. Normally, making band member changes will destroy a band, but with Deep Purple, that just wasn't true. The so-called "Mark Two" line-up which featured Ian Gillan is widely known as the finest line-up the band ever had. 1972 was a big year for the band, whose reputation was growing. The main reason it as seen as such a big year for the band is because it's the year they released the Machine Head album. Most Deep Purple fans call this the band's finest album. Are they right? Read on for my review.
Three of Deep Purple's biggest hits call Machine Head home. Smoke On The Water, arguably the band's biggest hit of all, can be found here. The opening guitar solo by Blackmore is priceless. And, of course, we have Highway Star. This song is a legendary classic rocker, and though it never gained as much popularity as, say, Smoke On The Water, it is equally excellent. And of course, he have the classic Space Truckin'. With its inventive lyrics and hypnotic melodies, this is one of the band's strongest tracks. The other tracks, though they never became big hits, are no less excellent. The strangely-titled Lazy features some or Blackmore's finest guitar work. The rest of the band is also in their prime, making this one of the band's most interesting pieces of work. Maybe I'm A Leo is another underrated masterpiece that a number of fans constantly praise. Once again, you've gotta love Blackmore's guitar! Pictures of home is a prime example of the classic fast and furious rock that makes fans love Deep Purple so much. And, of course, we have Never Before. This one isn't as fast as some of the other tracks on the album, and it sounds a little more "poppy" than the other songs, but it's still excellent. All in all, this is one hell of an album.
Much like a number of other Deep Purple albums, in addition to the standard CD release of the album, a deluxe edition of the album has also been released. The deluxe edition features a whole extra disc of material! Unfortunately, it's tough to come by the deluxe edition in America, and even if you do, it's priced quite a bit higher than its standard-issue counterpart. Still, whatever edition of the album you buy will be excellent.
Final verdict? This album deserves all of the praise that fans give it on a regular basis. I don't know if I'd call it my personal favorite of their albums, but if it isn't my favorite, it's pretty close to the top (in my opinion, Fireball gives this one a real run for its money.) If you're a a fan of classic hard rock/heavy metal, you must get your hands on this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 6, 2004
This is considered by many to be Deep Purple's landmark. And with good reason. It captured a moment in time where Purple was at the peak of their powers. It contains the unexpected hit "Smoke on the Water". One of the greatest rock & roll songs ever and I believe still banned in guitar shops throughout the U.S. "Highway Star is another great song. It is a fast hard driving song that should please rock and early metal fans. "Lazy" is another great track (the longest on the album). It starts out with the organ of Jon Lord, like it could be a classical piece, until Blackmore's guitar comes into the forefront and it takes a more slow bluesy direction, reaching its apex when Ian Gillan starts to sing. Space Truckin is another great track that makes you feel like you actually are out in space. As for the lesser known tracks, "Maybe I'm a Leo, has a funky yet lovelorn vibe to it. "Pictures of Home" had a somewhat midieval feel to it. "Never Before" had a pretty standard feel to it, while it is the shortest song on the album, it is a good one. If you were to only get one Deep Purple album, this is it. Made In Japan is also a good one.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 6, 2003
Richie Blackmore is one of the best guitar players ever and this album shows it! Ian Gillan's voice is amazing! Jon Lord is easly the best keyboard/Organ player in the history of rock! Roger Glover has a great bass touch! And Ian Psice's drumming is over the top! This album is more then just 'Smoke On The Water' its got some of Deep Purples best work to date! the songs 'Highway Star' and 'Lazy' contain two of Blackmores best guitar solo's ever! 'Space Truckin' is such a stoner song but man does it kick ... it has such an awsome riff, well its not relly a riff but its got freat guitar and the drumming is really out of this world if you catch my drift! 'Maybe I'm A Leo?' this song is great not a bad point about it! 'Pictures of Home' and 'Never Before are great rock classics! Back to 'Smoke On The Water' while I do think this is Purples best songs its not my favorite but it has everything you would want in a rock song the best riff of all time, killer vocals, awsome bass line, great organ, and wicked drumming this album is worth owning just for this song but all the others are great as well. This is Deep Purples Best album! and in my opinion one of the best albums of all time, so pick this up if your a classic metal fan! This album is just as good as anything by Zeppelin, Sabbath, Aerosmith, or even Ac/Dc so get Machine Head!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 24, 2003
With this album Deep Purple became, if they haven't before with 'In Rock' and 'Fireball', one of the ultimate and classic rock acts. 'Machine Head' is their most selling record, containing their most well-known and anthemic song 'Smoke on the water'. But it isn'n just 'Smoke' that holds water here, offcourse.
This album is their most influential, along with 'In Rock' and 'Made in Japan'. Maybe does not have that heavy edge of those two records, it is of sound a little bit polished, but Purple here didn't lost any of their heavy sound here. In fact, this sounds so 'classic' and recognizable, that may be the number one DP album to get. They continued to develop here, and influences like classsical, blues, and even jazz are melted superb here, with so recognizable, huge sound of Ian Lord organ and Ritichie Blackmore virtuoso guitar.
Every song stand by itself like a classic. 'Highway star' with its pumping intro and screaming vocals is great way to start this classic album, and guitar solos (twin guitars) are must-learn for any serious guitarist. And are such a joy to play! 'Lazy' is my favorite album track, maybe even favourite DP song. From great prog-rock intro, it develops in fast blues with jazzy feeling, and it becames hard rock as Ian Gillan delivers some of his trademark vocals in the climax of the song. Just fantastic groove, as whole album is. 'Space trucking' is fantastic hard-rocker closing the album, and it was a stellar performance in concert.
And how hany guitarists started with that eternal riff from 'Smoke on the water'...?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$4.99