Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana Krall at her best: She sings! She plays! She swings!
This is a great CD: vintage Diana Krall before the marketing folks at GRP Records got ahold of her career. Unlike her three most recent albums of "easy listening" music, which see her talents as a jazz singer and pianist well hidden, this album swings! Unlike the overly-breathy sultriness of recent efforts, her singing style here is strong and effortless,...
Published on Dec 26 2001 by Trentcanuck

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to DK...
If you're a fan, it's interesting to go back and here some of her early songs she covered that she still plays at concerts. Tracks "frim fram sauce" which honestly I never liked. But there are some good ones on here:
straighten up and fly right
i'm just a lucky so and so - very good
42nd st
as long as i live
the others are good to but i really...
Published on Dec 5 2002 by Hafid Saba


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Diana Krall at her best: She sings! She plays! She swings!, Dec 26 2001
By 
Trentcanuck (Regina, SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
This is a great CD: vintage Diana Krall before the marketing folks at GRP Records got ahold of her career. Unlike her three most recent albums of "easy listening" music, which see her talents as a jazz singer and pianist well hidden, this album swings! Unlike the overly-breathy sultriness of recent efforts, her singing style here is strong and effortless, reminiscent of Shirley Horn or Rosemary Clooney. Her playing, even at this early stage of her career, is melodic and complementary to her vocal phrasing. I owned the original release when it came out in '93, and just bought this remastered edition, which is well worth it. The sound quality was already just fine, but this new version is better yet, with increased detail and soundstage. Best of all, there is a bonus track, which was omitted from the original release, and is a real treat for a longtime Diana fan. After the disappointing schmaltz of Love Scenes and The Look of Love, it was exhilarating to hear a new track of Ms. Krall singing and swinging again!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stepping Out, Sept. 16 2011
By 
M. MacGregor - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
I own eight CD's and two DVD's of Diana Kralls. Stepping Out was her first CD and I purchased it to compare. I was not disappointed. She certainly is an amazing talent from the beginning and it is a pleasure to listen to the CD's and enjoy her performances on the DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars May become the greatest ever, March 12 2003
By 
david holmes (Duncan, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
Diana Krall is headed for vocal jazz immortality.Her singing is right up there with the best of the past, added to her piano work which none of her predecessors could do. She can only get better, there is always a little room for that, but she will ultimately be the greatest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classy, July 15 2004
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
Diana Krall is class. You can check out extended clips of her at [...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fun to go back to the beginning, April 30 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
I found and bought this CD after collecting the subsequent 4 recordings. I thought it was great fun to go back to the beginning. I love the slightly "rough" quality of this CD - I agree it is more playful, the piano tracks have more bounce and with Hamilton/Clayton, they must have had great fun recording this, because that's the quality that comes through. All For You may be my favorite to date however.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars All Krall, Jan. 2 2003
By 
Samuel Chell (Kenosha,, WI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
If you're interested in undiluted Krall and not the Cosmo cover girl, this session is the ticket--her most swinging, inventive, spirited album. Whereas on her subsequent albums, she would keep to "contained" Nat Cole melodic lines and Bill Evans chord voicings, here she reflects some of the exhuberance of Oscar, the rhythmic space of Ahmad, the playfulness of Monk, the funkiness of Silver. Vocally, she covers a greater expressive range as well, though admittedly her tones are often harder, more forced and pinched, than on her later, more popular recordings. But don't be surprised if, 5 or 10 years from now, much of the Krall in evidence here resurfaces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great intro to DK..., Dec 5 2002
By 
Hafid Saba (Scottsdale, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
If you're a fan, it's interesting to go back and here some of her early songs she covered that she still plays at concerts. Tracks "frim fram sauce" which honestly I never liked. But there are some good ones on here:
straighten up and fly right
i'm just a lucky so and so - very good
42nd st
as long as i live
the others are good to but i really think these tracks make this cd what it is with diversity and range in her early talent. check it out if you're a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars young krall, Oct. 18 2002
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
it swings but I prefer her recording after this for GRP, Impulse, and Verve.........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stepping Out, July 23 2002
By 
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
I really love this CD. Diana is really fantasic on ALL her vocal renditions on this CD. Though the all instrumental tracks were very good, it's the vocal tracks that keeps you fixated. Almost every track she sang with a confident playful swagger that makes Diana Krall I guess Diana Krall. I just love her rendition of 'straighten up and fly away' ; 'just lucky so and so' ; 'this can't be love' and of course you CANNOT missed her rendition of 'Body and Soul'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unrefined vocals, but swinging piano and trio work, May 15 2002
By 
Tad Ulrich (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stepping Out (Audio CD)
After viewing Diana Kral's outstanding DVD, "Live in Paris", I've grown to appreciate what an outstanding talent she is and how far she can still go, particularly when compared to her initial cd, "Stepping Out."
"Stepping Out" is Diana Krall's first album and in many ways is still one of her best, particularly because of its pure jazz sensibilities. Here, her vocals are not her strong suit. While clear, heartfelt and energetic, they are also often brash, harsh and annoying. But compare her here with her recent singing and you are impressed with how far she has come and what a fine singer she is today (she needs to focus more on her piano skills).
Along with John Clayton on bass and Jeff Hamilton on drums (her idols and still a mainstay in her regular group) she has created a cd that reminds me a lot of early 1960's dates for labels like Roulette, Prestige and Blue Note. She is clearly trying to say "I'm a jazz musician first and foremost and I want you to listen to all of us swing."
And it works. She gets into a fine groove on "This Can't Be Love" and "On the Sunny Side of the Street", two of my favorites. There are also straight instrumental tracks, something she has not done since, such as "Between the Devil and the Deep Blue Sea", "42nd Street" and "Big Foot" where Clayton and Hamilton get some room to stretch out. Diana's own style is a veritable who's who of modern jazz pianists including Monty Alexander, Ahmad Jamal and Bill Evans among others.
True Diana Krall fans will want this one. Those who are more inclined to her excellent, but more pop oriented "The Look of Love", may want to skip "Stepping Out."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stepping Out
Stepping Out by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2009)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews