Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not Pink Floyd
This is album belongs almost entirely to Ron Geesin and it's misleading to give Roger Waters equal billing, so Floyd fans, reconsider. Roger contributed four of the songs, and three of those are the same tune with different lyrics. That said, I'm a big Pink Floyd and Roger Waters fan, but that didn't stop this album from being one of my favorites. With the exception of...
Published on Jan. 14 2003 by bygmesterfinn

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so music
This was created for a British TV special about the body. It is the background music used in the show, kind of like what was done for the US TV show, Hot Dog. Only the music in Hot Dog was much more interesting. The CD is 42 minutes long.
This disk starts out with wierd and gross noises from bodily functions. It reminds of the noises that the guy in the next...
Published on Aug. 23 2002 by kireviewer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is not Pink Floyd, Jan. 14 2003
By 
bygmesterfinn (Columbia, MD United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
This is album belongs almost entirely to Ron Geesin and it's misleading to give Roger Waters equal billing, so Floyd fans, reconsider. Roger contributed four of the songs, and three of those are the same tune with different lyrics. That said, I'm a big Pink Floyd and Roger Waters fan, but that didn't stop this album from being one of my favorites. With the exception of the Roger tunes, it's entirely instrumental (or at least wordless), with string duets, looped chanting, and other stuff I can't begin to identify. It manages to be highly experimental without being pointless or grating on the ears. Most of Ron's other stuff escapes me, but not so here. Just to clear up any confusion from one of the other comments, it was after Dark Side of the Moon that Floyd considered recording an album sans musical instruments, and that was scraped to record Wish You Were Here, not Animals. Regardless, Music From the Body was recorded half a decade earlier, prior to Pink Floyd's Ummagumma. Several Species from Ummagumma is probably the closest you'll come to find anything that sounds like Floyd on this album (though I believe Give Birth to a Smile does feature all of the Floyd members), but in my opinion, Floyd's attempt to impersonate The Body didn't come close.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I see Waters underground..., Oct. 9 2002
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
And it was Ron Geesin who put him there. I'm always disappointed when I hear a Floyd fan rag on this album. It's one of my favorite records of all time, easily beating out ALL of the Floyd material from around this time. After Syd, the Floyd got boring until Meddle. Somewhere around Ummagumma, Waters started hanging around Scottish experimental composer and all-around eccentric Ron Geesin. This album is billed as a collaborative effort, but it's pretty evenly split between Waters' morbid lullabyes and Geesin's outrageous compositions for body parts, string quartet, guitar and tape loop, spoken word... Do you like "Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together in a Cave and Grooving with a Pict"? You'll swear Roger swiped that track wholesale from Geesin after hearing this record. But the record is enjoyable for more than 'being weird'. There are beautiful compositions sprinkled throughout, and even the soppy Roger "Did I tell you my dad died in the war?" Waters tunes are pleasant enough. Please, everyone, give this record a chance! Listen to it as an artifact completely detatched from Pink Floyd. It takes chances that few records take, and it rewards repeated listens.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Fabulous!, Nov. 13 2008
By 
Terence (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
I wrote this review under a different name and password that I since have lost and thought I would start fresh with a new account, so getting to the review:
If you are one who believes that music ought to be made with guitar, bass, drums and maybe some keyboards only. DO NOT BUY THIS CD!!! However, if you are open to music which is made utilizing natural sounds and processes these sounds to express musical ideas then this cd may be for you. Much of the cd is expressed utilizing ideas and techniques commonly found in avante garde, musique concrete and electoacoustic soundscapes. Sometimes beautiful, sometimes abstract and dark this often overlooked cd takes you on a journey to places previously unknown and some more familiar places. Individual breakdowns of songs would be pointless since this work is meant to be taken as a whole. The acoustic moments where Roger accompanies himself are great and are juxtaposed against the more abstract pieces brilliantly. To sum it up... If you are a fan of Floyd's leaning towards the abstract (ie found in sections of Atom Heart Mother, Ummagumma) then you will probably be pleased with this cd. If your favorite Pink Floyd song is Money or Comfortably Numb, and listen to predominantly 70's classic rock, you probably will want to stay away from this one
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars so so music, Aug. 23 2002
By 
kireviewer (Sunnyvale, Ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
This was created for a British TV special about the body. It is the background music used in the show, kind of like what was done for the US TV show, Hot Dog. Only the music in Hot Dog was much more interesting. The CD is 42 minutes long.
This disk starts out with wierd and gross noises from bodily functions. It reminds of the noises that the guy in the next cubicle makes during lunch. It is then just basically background music, with a two vocal tracks.
I am giving this 3 stars because there are a few interesting tracks, especially near the end. With a CD burner you could rip about 10 minutes of fairly nice music...maybe this is only 2 stars....but even Pink Floyd members at their worst make better music then a lot of other "artists". And in some ways, the music is a little better and more melodic than Radio Waves.
Before getting this album, you first look into Water's Amused to Death, either of Gilmore's solo albums, Wright's Wet Dreams or Nick Mason's jazz album (I forget the title). Also go for Zabriskie Point, although it is a little expensive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Heartbeat of Floyd Continues, June 14 2001
By 
Jose J. Guerra (San Francisco, California United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
Roger Waters is the vein of Pink Floyd. Having written the majority of the songs for Pink Floyd it is only natural that he would go off on a side project and create an album that defies conventional music. Isn't this what Pink Floyd was all about? With help from Ron Geesin (Atom Heart Mother fame) Waters presents an album that had its origins from when the band wanted to create an album based on real life sounds and melodies (they decided against it and made what we know today as "Animals"). Music from "The Body" is both ballad and science project. Any true old school Floyd fan will find this album to be well worth their time and money. Give it a listen or two and you will be hooked. Leave it running in the background of your home or work and you will never feel alone~~Madcap Laughing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Ron Geesin album, Nov. 14 2003
By 
Matthew Litwin "hinder90" (San Francisco, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
I won't repeat what other reviewers have already said so eleqeuntly about this (a-hem) Ron Geesin album, but I will add that while this recording may be of limited appeal to those who do not dabble in experimental music, Floyd fans withstanding, it is a what I would call a musical box of tiny chocolates where some of them taste weird, but you are at least glad you tried it. My only disappointment with this album is that the tracks are just too short. There are dozens of moments where things sound brilliant, but with the exception of the three traditional length songs on here (Water numbers of course) every moment is fleeting. Maybe that is the point or maybe it is just because this was a soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A Novelty Item, July 12 2002
By 
Jeffrey Yutzler "uke-slar" (Alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
Unless you are really into Pink Floyd's most avant garde stuff (Atom Heart Mother and the Ummagumma studio album), you are unlikely to listen to this more than a couple of times. It gives only a little bit more insight as to what Pink Floyd would become. The other soundtrack albums from that period (including the often-overlooked Zabriskie Point) do much better in this regard. It has almost absolutely nothing in common with the material he wrote after The Dark Side of the Moon. If you are a Pink Floyd completist, go ahead and get it, but you will probably find that it compares with Nick Mason's Fictitious Sports as the least important Pink Floyd solo album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Attempt, Feb. 14 2004
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
I've been all my life a fan of Pink Floyd and its members. The first time I listened to this album was an incredible experience, I really felt I was travelling through a body, and believe me, if the sperms are travelling like "more than seven dwarfs in penis land" what a wonderful life they must have.
An excellent try for those who are Floydian fans, or Progressive rock fans. If you'd like to experiment alone a marvelous journey, TRY IT NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars For fans of Atom Heart Mother, Sept. 29 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
A great companion disc to Atom Heart Mother on which Ron Geesin also collaborated. Songs range from sound effects to songs like "Sea Shell and Stone" similar to grantchester meadows (on Ummagumma studio album). "Body transport" is very amusing.
Highly recommended for anyone who liked Atom Heart Mother
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Roger's First, Sept. 19 2003
By 
Ken Bailey "mikoyan" (Ypsilanti, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Music From The Body (Audio CD)
This is Roger Waters first solo effort. It is a soundtrack from a movie and the songs are very wierd sounding. Some of them are pretty sick sounding (namely the song that would be the first song on side two of the album). The last song is pretty good though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Music From The Body
Music From The Body by Roger Waters (Audio CD - 1998)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews