Customer Reviews


50 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely bad
This CD is horrid, it really is. That being said, it's fantastic entertainment. I leave it in the car and toss it in the CD player once in a while. Great fun!
Published 11 months ago by Peter Bartlett

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Squarely in the "so bad it's beautiful" category.
In this world, there are some highly, um, "unique" individuals dedicated to the pursuit of the most godawful, obscure, unintentionally comedic films ever made. These people (the demented folks found at jabootu.com number among them) seek out these paragons of epochal cheesiness and morbid stupidity and turn them into objects of cult worship for their...
Published on Feb. 3 2004 by Shotgun Method


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesomely bad, Sept. 3 2013
By 
Peter Bartlett (Halifax, Nova Scotia Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
This CD is horrid, it really is. That being said, it's fantastic entertainment. I leave it in the car and toss it in the CD player once in a while. Great fun!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nearly flawless oddity, March 1 2004
By 
David Goldhammer "dgoldhammer" (This Island Earth) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
Has any recorded moment surpassed the intense dementia of Shatner's final scream in "Mr. Tambourine Man"? Do we really want to know?
This absurd CD opens the window to two cult favorites who found second careers as outlandishly kitsch performers. Much has been said of Nimoy's earnest, flat baritone; the reams of Shatner critiques could fill a large, easily combustible windmill -- but that would be too convenient, and a loss to people like me who occasionally need to be reminded why they (and others) actually listen to this stuff -- closely.
These recordings are either dizzying, hardcore, lovable dreck, or, to some, aural manure. History won't decide: you will, if you dare.
I have a complaint about this disk. Yes, just one, about two selections. One of the "Nimoy" tracks doesn't belong here for any reason, as it's nothing more than forgettable lounge muzak with zero artistic input from the Green One. "Music to Watch Space Girls By" sounds like a Herb Alpert outtake where he forgot his trumpet. Also, "Spock Thoughts" is just "Desiderata" recited blandly over third-rate background noise. I can do better, and so can you.
Instead, the compilers should have included "You Are Not Alone," a hideously warbled message of solidarity in this vast, impersonal universe (certainly a theme dear to Spock), and "Alien," a superior spoken dissertation on, well, alienation. They're featured on some other CD that costs nearly $60 used. I'll stick with my cut-out bin cassette for now.
The highlights of "Spaced Out" for me are the most famous offerings: the delirious Shatner takes on Dylan and the Beatles, plus the Nimoy novelty "Bilbo Baggins." The "Golden Throats" CD includes a quizzically-voiced, faded-in lead-in to Shatner's "Lucy in the Sky" edited off for this CD, but it seems we completists will always suffer a little. Also not to be missed are the bathyspherical depths of Nimoy's faulty tone and phrasing found on "Where is Love" and "Sunny"; the pure, howling turgidity of his deconstruction of "Proud Mary"; and a horror actually released as a single (according to the entertaining sleeve notes), and possibly written just for the Vulcan maestro -- "I'd Love Making Love to You," which exudes as much sultry seduction as a frozen duck on an antenna.
I try to imagine how the backing musicians made it through these sessions without screaming themselves, and wetting the floor with laughter.
P.S. I don't know how to create the "voting buttons."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great cure for a bad mood, Jan. 24 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
Being a fan of the Golden Throats Great Celebrity Sing-Off, I thought "Spaced Out" would be a worthy addition to my collection of weird music. And this disc definitely does not disappoint in the weird department.
Nimoy has more disc time than Shatner does, but since Shatner tends to recite Shakespeare at loud decibels more than anything else, this really isn't a problem for me (though I must confess his "Hamlet" is strangely catchy). And if you're in a bad mood or have had a rotten day, "Spaced Out" will definitely bring a smile to your face.
Certainly, we're not talking great musicians or great music here, which anyone even casually acquainted with Nimoy's and Shatner's musical efforts should already know. Nimoy doesn't screech like Shatner, which is in his favor. However, though Nimoy tries really hard, he can't seem to stop himself from going off key from time to time, as is the case in his rendition of the legendary Bobby Darin's "If I Were A Carpenter."
But - it's his very off-keyness and his earnest enunciation (he pronounces EVERY syllable of EVERY word, unlike most rock "artists" who think mumbling is cool) that makes this disc...well...hysterically funny. (And his spoken-word Spock-isms like "Highly Illogical" are a scream too). And of course, Shatner's "Mr. Tambourine Man" and "Lucy In the Sky With Diamonds" are always good for a laugh. It's so bad, it's good, as the saying goes.
But for the record, I also want to note that some of Nimoy's tracks actually aren't that bad. For example, he does a very passable rendition of "If I Had a Hammer" wherein he actually does sing on key, and his "I Walk the Line" is certainly no worse than Johnny Cash's. In fact, Nimoy's "I Walk the Line" may even be better than Johnny Cash's, since Nimoy actually sings, whereas Johnny Cash talks his songs.
So - to sum up - buy this disc. It's a great cure for a bad mood or a rotten day - and you may be surprised at how some of Nimoy's tunes aren't half bad!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A treasure, Oct. 29 2000
By 
Eric Swanson (Calgary, AB Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
Do not misunderstand me here, I am not of the opinion that this album is good in the sense that it's a musical masterpiece or anything. On the contrary, it is quite possibly the worst album ever recorded. The two "artists" knew this of course, they were never under the impression that they were any good at music. When Shatner was asked about this classic piece of dribble on his latest TV biography, he almost burst into tears (or so I've been told) with laughter. And of course he did, him and Nimoy never expected to sell a single copy. Now they're laughing all the way to the bank, because of two kinds of people:
1) The fanatical star trek maniac who absolutely has to have everything related to the classic TV show. He/She is so blinded by their love for the Captain's character that they don't realize that the album is crap, and they actually take it seriously. (I've become aware that some people actually refer to this garbage as a concept album?)
2)Then there's people like me, who buy it for the sole purpous to share the joke with Nimoy and Shatner.
True, you can only listen to this stupid CD once in a while, and then only to cheer yourself up. It is quite possibly stronger than prozak in that sense. Come one people, how can you not burst several internal organs during a raucous fit of laughter when Shatner starts his insane psycho ramblings or when Bilbo's story is rendered beautifully (cough, cough) by Nimoy. I don't think I've laughed so hard in my entire life, so then, why shouldn't I buy it. $18.00 is a small price to pay for infinite laughter. Yes, I get harrassed by friends, and why shouldn't they harrass me? I just "wasted" money on a piece of crap. But I enjoy it, just by imagining what it would have been like to record an album like this. With Nimoy on the verge of cracking up during "the Ballad of Bilbo Baggins" and Shatner flamboyantly overacting each line in his trademark Cpt. Kirk voice. This is the kind of thing that 20 years from now, my kids will find in an old box covered in dust,to be put into the ole' Compact Disc player and enjoyed again. A true relic, and a treasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Could've been a perfect CD..., Nov. 23 2005
By 
No1Crush (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
...if they had included Leonard Nimoy's version of "Proud Mary". Nevertheless, this is a great party album, or it's great for times when you need a good laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars After reading these reviews..., July 3 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
I've already been laughing for the past 45 minutes, and I
just ordered the album - it hasn't arrived yet. I think Amazon
is missing a marketing opportunity by not charging people to
read these reviews, because they're hysterical!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Lignium, Feb. 17 2004
By 
L. Thomas (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
Remember the sparkle in the eye of your first puppy? The smell of his fur on Christmas morning? The smiles Mom & Dad gave you as you asked them 'is he really mine?!!'
Well if you can, try and channel those memories now. They'll help you when you wake screaming from a stone-cold sleep with the voice of William Shatner ringing in your ears: "Mister TAMBOURINE MAN!!!!!!!!!!!!"
"It was...A VERY...GOOOD...year!" is particularly startling. Would benefit from a pumping backbeat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Squarely in the "so bad it's beautiful" category., Feb. 3 2004
By 
Shotgun Method (NY... No, not *that* NY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
In this world, there are some highly, um, "unique" individuals dedicated to the pursuit of the most godawful, obscure, unintentionally comedic films ever made. These people (the demented folks found at jabootu.com number among them) seek out these paragons of epochal cheesiness and morbid stupidity and turn them into objects of cult worship for their unintentional badness. From silly low-budget B-films to massive Hollywood failures, no target is safe from these fanatics.
I mention jabootu.com in particular, for contained on their site lies an in-depth (and totally spot-on) analysis of Star Trek V: The Final Frontier, absolutely the worst Star Wars film to make it to theatres. That movie was a complete vanity picture devoted to Mr. Shatner's character, Capt. James T. Kirk.
Which brings us to the topic of this review. The "Best" Of compilation dedicated to Shatner and his co-star Leonard Nimoy, appropriately titled Spaced Out is the direct musical equivalent to the aforementioned waste of cinema. Shatner and Nimoy lend their "talents" to this album, and the result is complete unintentional hilarity. From Shatner's hammy, dead-serious, overdramatic readings of Dylan and Sheakespeare to Nimoy's earnest yet completely off-key renditions of pop tunes and silly spoken-word bits (done in Vulcan mode), the discriminating conoisseur of all that is tasteless and awful will be in stitches.
Shatner's renditions are definitely the best..er, most memorable of the lot ("Mister Tambourine Man......MISTER TAMBOURINE MAN!!!!") but he doesn't get as much time as Nimoy, whose renditions of pop and soft rock standards of the day such as If I Had A Hammer, Sunny, and Ruby Don't Take Your Love To Town "benefit" from his mediocre baritone vocals. Of special note on the Nimoy side is The Ballad Of Bilbo Baggins, an abridged version of J.R.R. Tolkien's The Hobbit set to music that is wonderfully deranged, and almost as funny as Shatner's material.
I can't reccommend this guilty pleasure to everyone, as not all will have a taste for music that is almost completely without any technical merit. However, those of the "so bad it's good" persuasion (like me, I suppose) will find this gut-bustingly hiliarious. If you are such an individual, this is indispensable to your collection. Spaced Out also makes the ideal gift for, say, your inlaws. For similar badness, also seek out non-music by Yoko Ono, David Hasslehoff, and Rhino's Golden Throats compilations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Get ready to have your mind TRANSFORMED!, Oct. 20 2003
By 
Brian Beissel (Frackville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
In the..... jingle-jangle mornin'...... I'll.... come followin' you.......
Genius, Shatner. It is like the face of God has been etched into your musical career and transformed into the purest, most beautiful sound ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars startrek lost, Aug. 31 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Spaced Out / The Very Best of (Audio CD)
I would like to say that bill shatner can sing as good as he can act. But i won,t. He can't even carry it. His voice is one of the worst i have ever heard, and if he took singing lessons for years he might just work his way up to awful. As long as you don,t take it seriousy' it's o.k. sort of. But anything you could think of would be better. He even sings worse than my brother' and that is saying a lot. nuff said.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Spaced Out / The Very Best of
Spaced Out / The Very Best of by William Shatner (Audio CD - 2004)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews