Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The Saturday Night Fever for the 80's
I have owned this soundtrack in first cassette, then vinyl, now on c.d. format. What I would have hoped for in the remastered version was the classic extended versions of some of these tracks radio stations use to play when Flashdance was hot ! Tracks like What A Feeling, Maniac, and a couple of others had some remarkable extended counterparts which are now completely...
Published on Jan. 30 2001 by Armando M. Mesa

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good better at the time
this disc was better at the time but is still pretty good.Irene Cara sang the Lights out of Flashdance what a feeling.i used to have a crush on her.her voice&beauty went hand&hand.Maniac was catchy as well by Michael Sembello.
Published on March 4 2000 by mistermaxxx08


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars The Saturday Night Fever for the 80's, Jan. 30 2001
By 
Armando M. Mesa (Chandler, AZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I have owned this soundtrack in first cassette, then vinyl, now on c.d. format. What I would have hoped for in the remastered version was the classic extended versions of some of these tracks radio stations use to play when Flashdance was hot ! Tracks like What A Feeling, Maniac, and a couple of others had some remarkable extended counterparts which are now completely difficult to find.Flashdance did not conform to the "breakdancing" period like other movies or soundtracks did. It was pop-rock at it's best before the Top Gun soundtrack.The only artist to still carry some weight after all these years is Donna Summer.Everyone else is just a faint memory. Where's Kim Carnes ? Michael Sembello? Laura Brannigan? and let's not forget the blue-eyed soulful voice of Joe "Bean" Esposito who was a soothing cross between Michael McDonald and a lightweight version of Barry White on Lady, Lady, Lady.
There is very little difference in the remastered version with regards to sonic quality. The sound level is a little bit higher with a little more bass and a little more treble. Otherwise, nothing that could be considered a revelation ...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Among the BEST Soundtracks of all time, June 18 2001
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
1983 Academy Award Nominees
Best Original Song from a Motion Picture

Flashdance: Giorgio Moroder, Keith Forsey, Irene Cara [Song: Flashdance...What a Feeling]
Flashdance: Michael Sembello, Dennis Matkosky [Song: Maniac]
Tender Mercies: Austin Roberts, Bobby Hart [Song: Over You]
Yentl: Michel Legrand, Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman [Song: Papa, Can You Hear Me?]
Yentl: Michel Legrand, Alan Bergman, Marilyn Bergman [Song: The Way He Makes Me Feel]

. . .and the Oscar goes to:

"What a Feeling!" by Irene CARA!!!

It made the film FLASHDANCE a monster success, and also went to #1 on the Billboard Hot 100.

Too bad the song "Gloria" by Laura Brannigan is not on this soundtrack, because it was in the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Unforgettable Soundtrack, Aug. 27 2001
By A Customer
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
When Flashdance the movie came out i was only 13 and now 18 years later i still love listening to the original soundtrack.The songs for me were motivating and they allowed me to dream and to be myself.The songs "Flashdance" and "Imagination" are really inspiring with their"you can do it no matter what"lyrics and the beautiful love songs are just that-BEAUTIFUL!Lyrics such as"running like the wind thoughts can come undone,Dancing behind masks just subtle pantomime"from Lady,Lady,Lady,or "it's just a song that just keeps playing on the radio and you know i haven't seen you for a while" from-I'll Be Here Where The Heart Is.The soundtrack is a classic and will always be.It's amazing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sounds as good today as it did when it was first released!, Feb. 6 2003
By 
LEE (Seattle, WA United States) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I can still recall seeing this movie when it was first released. I was so impressed with the music that I drove to the record store to buy the LP. I taped the album onto a cassette so I could listen to it while driving and exercising. The cassette eventually broke. My turntable also broke so I couldn't listen to the LP. I needed my "Flashdance" fix so I purchased the CD. I hadn't heard the CD in a couple of years, but listening to it brought back the same kind of excitment as when I first heard it. Like "Saturday Night Fever," this one has staying power. I guess I'll have to buy the DVD movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What a Feeling!!!!, March 16 2003
By 
Gregory Nyman (Winchendon, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Here we go with some more nostalgia, and probably scenes from the movie will flash before your eyes. But if we focus on the artists who made the background, the movie pulsates with action.
With artists like Laura Branigan, Irene Cara, Kim Carnes, Joe Esposito, Karen Kamon, and Michael Sembello, to name a few, we can see how these following cuts became so popular:
Imagination
Flashdance
I'll be where the Heart Is
Manhunt
Maniac, and others. Truly remarkable. Try dancing to Maniac, and tell me if you're exhausted after.
A nice collection for audiophiles. And recommended!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the best film soundtracks ever!, Oct. 28 1999
By 
Bete Noire (Vancouver, Canada) - See all my reviews
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Throughout the nineties there was a biblical flood of movie soundtracks, most of them bland and irrelevant,just simple packages of different artists put together in the hope of making a few more bucks;it's not the case here-actually,this soundtrack far surpasses the forgettable film.Great performances fron Irene Cara,Donna Summer,Michael Sembello and others.While the new soundtracks,besides promoting songs you never hear in the film,keep reusing old tunes,this album is a collection of entirely fresh (for that time)songs which is very honest and commendable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars No doubt, an EXTRAORDINARY cd!!, April 1 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
Amazing! one of the best cd's out there, still 18 years after the first release.
It's full of energy, and makes you feel good. Great for audiophiles!! you will get more than one favorite song.
Buy it, you will never regret it.
A very deserved award for Irene Cara for "What a feeling".
The success of this entire cd will be hardly repeated again.
A cd that will be always treasured, and if you haven't seen the movie, go ahead still rocks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good better at the time, March 4 2000
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance (Audio CD)
this disc was better at the time but is still pretty good.Irene Cara sang the Lights out of Flashdance what a feeling.i used to have a crush on her.her voice&beauty went hand&hand.Maniac was catchy as well by Michael Sembello.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sweat like the girls in Flashdance, in your very own home!, July 14 2003
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
All in all, this is a good soundtrack if you like this movie. Bummer that Joan Jett and a couple of the other really good songs aren't on here, but it is still great. Bottom line: IF YOU'RE A HARDCORE FLASHDANCE FAN, YOU NEED THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very Excellent Stuff, Feb. 21 2004
By 
J. Ahn (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Ce commentaire est de: Flashdance: Original Soundtrack from the Motion Picture (Audio CD)
I must say- this is some very excellent stuff. All the music in this thing sounds very great- especially the title track. The others are also just as good, even "Maniac". So- to sum things up- this is a great soundtrack!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews