Customer Reviews


433 Reviews
5 star:
 (244)
4 star:
 (66)
3 star:
 (24)
2 star:
 (19)
1 star:
 (80)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars rap-rock at its finest!
if you are a fan of groups like limp bizkit, korn, slipknot, system of a down, deftones, etc. then you should get this album! the flows are crazy, and it is really heavy at times! any fan of rap OR rock will like this album! it also features eminem before he even got famous with the song "my name is". pick it up NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Published 23 months ago by Kody

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Kid Rock
few people are able to combine two genres together and actually sound good kid rock does it well. There is a considerable amount of problems with this disc though 1. too long 2.too many wack tracks 3.why would anybody have a kid come in too rap on their song. I otherwise enjoyed devil wothout a cause.
Published on April 19 2004 by jack Ritter


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars rap-rock at its finest!, Aug. 15 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
if you are a fan of groups like limp bizkit, korn, slipknot, system of a down, deftones, etc. then you should get this album! the flows are crazy, and it is really heavy at times! any fan of rap OR rock will like this album! it also features eminem before he even got famous with the song "my name is". pick it up NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Will Make You a Believer, July 12 2004
By 
Shorty Kimmel (Redneck Rivieria, SC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
Guns N'Roses are gone. Led Zeppelin is history. Aerosmith has been clean for years. The Rolling Stones are living, breathing anachronisms. Rod Stewart is a pop singer. And hip hop bands don't use live bands with loud guitars. Is the modern music scene hopeless?
Nope. It's alive and dangerous. For those of us who miss loud guitars and controversial lyrics, Kid Rock has come to the rescue.
If you are a hard rock fan and can keep from banging your head during "Bawidaba," you don't have the volume loud enough. If you don't bang your head after the piano break in "Cowboy," you need to buy Pat Boone's "In a Metal Mood." If you don't sing along to the bridge in "Roving Gangster," perhaps you need to take your a** to the early-bird special at Denny's and take your geritol.
If you miss the danger of G N'R, you'll love the drug-glorifying jams of "I Am the Bullgod" and "Where You at Rock?"
While I've never been a fan of hip hop, I must say I thoroughly enjoy the drug-glamorizing, braggadoccio of Kid Rock's "Devil Without a Cause." Imagine the Beastie Boys merged with G n' R, Zeppelin, and Skynyrd and you have Kid Rock.
If you're looking for modern music with the edginess of the backporch of a house overlooking the Pacific in SoCal, this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A lot better than I thought it would be, May 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
"Devil Without A Cause" is a lot better than I thought it would be. It opens up with "Bawitdaba", which is one of the best song's on the CD. My other favorites are "Devil Without A Cause", "I Am The Bullgod" and "F-ck Off". If you like rap-rock than you should get this CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A real masterpiece, May 21 2004
By 
"kidrock999" (Henderson, Tx USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
This is Kid Rock at his best! I love this album. The whole album is bad ass.If you don't have this album PICK IT UP! i guarentee you won't be dissapointed. from his opening " MY NAME IS KIIIIIIIIIIIID ROCK!!!" of " Bawitdaba" to his LAST cut "I AM THE BULLGOD" ( the remix version, NOT #4, the orginal one) is KICK ASS!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not all there, April 25 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
there are some pretty cool tracks here, but some of them i.e. "F-ck Off" "I Got One for Ya" are just plain whack...there something missing form this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Kid Rock, April 19 2004
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
few people are able to combine two genres together and actually sound good kid rock does it well. There is a considerable amount of problems with this disc though 1. too long 2.too many wack tracks 3.why would anybody have a kid come in too rap on their song. I otherwise enjoyed devil wothout a cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars There's no "Cause" for Kid Rock, March 18 2004
By 
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
This CD has to be the most unintentionally hilarious thing I've ever heard. When Kid Rock makes attempts at being humorous (like on "Cowboy" or the title track) I always ask myself it that was supposed to be funny, but when he goes for maudlin sentimentality like on the updated '80s power ballad tripe of "Only God Knows Why", I burst out laughing. Kid Rock can't sing a lick, which is proven by the fact that he uses a vocoder through the whole song. The lyrics are incessant whining and sound contrived - it is Kid Rock's cry for sympathy though he doesn't need it, nor does he deserve it. Many of the songs on this album sound like a ill-conceived cross between Vanilla Ice and Poison, with the only remotely good song being "I Am The Bullgod", which rocks harder and has some engaging lyrics. The only reason why it sold so much is because MTV hyped it up as being some fantastic album - now you can find it in cutout bins everywhere. Without merits of its own, it's safe to assume that "Devil Without A Cause" would have languished in obscurity if not for MTV's support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kid Rocks breakthrough album, March 2 2004
By 
Amy Lynn (Pennsylvania United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
Excellent rock/rap album- Every song on the cd is good and its a fun cd to listen to.
1.Bawwitdaba- 5 out of 5 stars- one of my favorites on album
2.Cowboy- 5 out of 5 stars
3.Devil without a cause- 4 stars
4.I am the bullgod- 4.5 stars
5.Roving-3.5 stars
6.Wasting time- 4 stars
7.Welcome 2 the party- 4 stars
8.I got one for ya-4.5 stars
9.Somebodys gota feel this- 4 stars
10.Fist of Rage- 4 stars
11.Only god knows why- 5 out of 5 stars - great ballad
12.F*** off- 4 stars
13.Where u at rock- 3.5 stars
14.Black chick white guy-3.5 stars
Overall great rock cd worth the money/ Classic
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars His name is Kiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiid Rock!, Dec 9 2003
By 
H3@+h "Over 1500 reviews!" (thanks for the helpful review votes) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
"Kid Rock" may be feelin' his country roots recently, but this is his best rap/rock offering. Great lyrics too. You know you're getting into something sweet when the first track "Bawitdaba" kicks in. This whole disc is a great example of what can happen when mixing genres is done the right way. It's overall the best mix of rap/rock since "Fight For Your Right To Party". Other impressive tracks here are "Cowboy" and "Devil Without A Cause". Plus this has one of the best power-ballads since the hair-metal days, "Only God Knows Why". But what I like most about "Kid Rock", is that besides the skills, he's pretty down to earth, and he's not trying to be too deep, he just wants to have fun. This is a fun album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars KID, Dec 2 2003
This review is from: Devil Without a Cause (Audio CD)
I'm a fan from waaay back in the day. You all dont even have Kid's "Grits and Sandwiches for Breakfast" do ya?
Nah, yr not his true fans. but thats ok....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 244 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Devil Without a Cause
Devil Without a Cause by Kid Rock (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews