Customer Reviews


395 Reviews
5 star:
 (203)
4 star:
 (96)
3 star:
 (29)
2 star:
 (25)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, unique album
I think this album, while different from Hole's two previous more angry/aggressive albums, is still just as good. The tunes may give off more optimism, and Courtney's voice may be less raw and edgy, but the underlying melodies and lyrics of the songs exude melancholia and misery. In previous albums, Courtney's beautifully raging voice kind of overpowers...
Published on Jan. 14 2006 by Maple Crimson

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Same Sound As CD
I was hoping for an improvement in dynamics or Bass depth with the Vinyl version of this fine album by Hole. Unfortunately I got neither. You can save your money and listen to your Cd because I couldn't find any difference at all. The Vinyl quality itself is superb
very quiet.
Published 25 days ago by Seeker


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Same Sound As CD, March 22 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Vinyl) (LP Record)
I was hoping for an improvement in dynamics or Bass depth with the Vinyl version of this fine album by Hole. Unfortunately I got neither. You can save your money and listen to your Cd because I couldn't find any difference at all. The Vinyl quality itself is superb
very quiet.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Skin, June 20 2007
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
After four years since their debut masterpiece "Live Through This," Hole returns with "Celebrity Skin," a whole new make-over where glittery andd silvery guitars and glamourized beats shadow over the painful lyrics and music that's actually the message.

The opening title track opens with a three-chord note and goes on to be a great piece of pop-rock product, and again with "Awful." The ballads are gorgeous when it comes to "Malibu," "Boys on the Radio" is one of the best pop songs of the 90s, and she gets a bit grungy and angry all over again with "Reasons to be Beautiful" and "Use Once & Destroy."

"Playing Your Song" is obviously about Cobain and 'Northern Star" makes it sound like it's 1994 all over again.

Standout tracks include "Celebrity Skin," "Awful," "Malibu," "Boys on the Radio"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great, unique album, Jan. 14 2006
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
I think this album, while different from Hole's two previous more angry/aggressive albums, is still just as good. The tunes may give off more optimism, and Courtney's voice may be less raw and edgy, but the underlying melodies and lyrics of the songs exude melancholia and misery. In previous albums, Courtney's beautifully raging voice kind of overpowers everything else, but in this album you begin to pay more notice to her wonderfully engaging guitar work. The opening song, "Celebrity Skin," is a catchy glamorous rocker but the songs that follow are all great in their own right. My favourite song so far is probably "Northern Star."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, April 18 2005
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
again, hole has made me aw at their talent and musical ability. i love this cd. i dont know which of their cd's i like the best because they are each good in thier own way.
this cd is more soft then the others but it is still great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Celebrity Skin is great!, June 26 2004
By 
Davy Jones (alexandria, VA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
This is a great album! I've been listening to it over and over. Courtney Love is so talented; if she would only stay straight. I love Dying and Northern Star, in addition to Malibu.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hole Is Back! And Better Than Ever!, June 15 2004
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
This album is in the matter of opinions, if you like hole more poppy then this is the best album, if you like hole grungy, than this may not be the best choice. For hole's last album it, well isn't the best. It's sad that hole made lots of great music and bombed out at the end. I'm not saying that this album sucked, but i expected better. How can you blame them, Patty Schemel left the band shortly after the release and Melissa Auf der Maur left in 1999. Good album, the best tracks (in my opinion) are: Celebrity Skin,Awful,Malibu,Playing your Song, Dying and Petals. FYI: Did you know that there were 4 different titles in debate for this album? They were, Courtney Love suggested, Reasons To Be Beautiful, Eric Erlandson suggested, Sugar Coma, and Melissa Auf der Maur suggested Best Sunday Dress, but in the end they agreed on Celebrity Skin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars IF THIS WAS HOLE'S FINAL ALBUM TOGETHER, IT WAS ALL GOOD, June 4 2004
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
THIS ALBUM, WHICH IS THE LAST ALBUM THAT HOLE WOULD DO TOGETHER, IS A GREAT ALBUM. 4 YEARS AFTER KURT COBAIN'S DEATH, COURTNEY LOVE RETURNS WITH HER HOLE BANDMATES WITH THIS COOL CD. THERE REALLY ISN'T ANY BAD SONGS ON THIS CD. THE BEST TRACKS WERE ''PLAYING YOUR SONG'', ''MALIBU'', ''AWFUL'', AND ''DYING''. UNFORTUNATELY, COURTNEY LOVE ANNOUNCED HOLE'S OFFICIAL BREAKUP IN 2002. COURTNEY LOVE HAS SINCE GONE SOLO. BUT, I SERIOUSLY DON'T THINK COURTNEY LOVE'S CD WILL EVEN COMPARE TO THE LAST 2 CDS THAT SHE DID WITH HOLE. MAYBE IF WE'RE LUCKY, HOLE MIGHT REUNITE ONE DAY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a masterwork, April 27 2004
By 
I ain't no porn writer (author, "Crippled Dreams") - See all my reviews
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
Courtney Love said in an interview she believed this album was a masterwork. That wasn't an empty boast, I believe she's right. These songs have great polish and technical maturity. Yes it's popy rock so some punk rockers will hate it. But I love punk and I love this album, so shoot me. "Live Thru This" was great too. As everyone knows, Courtney is the widow of deceased grunge god, Kurt Cobain. She and guitarist Eric Erlandson are the primary creative drive which has catupulted this group to the top of Stardom Mountain, if we can call fame a place. Hole has learned to walk that fine line between pop and rock called power pop, so they've adjusted themselves to mainstream popular taste, at least with this "Celebrity Skin" album, much to the chagrin of more hardcore fans who preferred her ranting first album better. Courtney has a good voice, but she still doesn't feel comfprtable singing in a popy conventional way where vocal phrasing is concerned, but that's fine with me, I think it usually sounds effective. People who say she can't sing need to open their mind up a bit more.
David Rehak
author of "A Young Girl's Crimes"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars So NOT Courtney, April 14 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
I was really disappointed with this CD. It is nothing like "Live Through This", and was not at all up to the standards of the Grunge Goddess, I am a fan of. The first 2 tracks are the only good ones, the rest sound more like the "Go-Go's", pop from the 80's, rather than the raw, hard-edged music I was expecting from Hole...........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "...wilted & faded, somewhere in hollywood...", March 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Celebrity Skin (Audio CD)
"celebrity skin" is a masterpiece. some speculate that they ahve "sold out" because "celebrity skin" isn't the angry fireball that was "pretty on the inside" & "live tough this" i completely disagree. every song on this alabam shines. 7 even if you are someone who thinks this albam is popish sounding, you must addmitt that lyricly, skin is amazing. from the haunting "northern star" to the uppity "heaven tonight" it is all great. my favorites would be "reasons to be beautiful" "playing your song" "use once & destory" "malibu"...oh hell, they're all great i can't pick a favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 240 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2844b28)

This product

Celebrity Skin
Celebrity Skin by Hole (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews