Customer Reviews


97 Reviews
5 star:
 (71)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Nuggets
Nuggets was originally released in 1972 as a double album. It celebrated the garage rock music of the mid 60's with future Patti Smith guitarist Lenny Kaye providing dead-on liner notes. The band's featured on the album laid the blueprint for such bands as The New York Dolls, The Stooges and Patti Smith as well as the punk movement. The songs are no nonsense, crazed...
Published on Nov. 1 2001 by P Magnum

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the real "Nuggets"?
This is all good stuff, no doubt, but the great thing about the big box set is the ear-opening experience of discovering the bands and hits you never heard before. Where are the Chocolate Watchband, or the Barbarians? No "Spazz" or "Strychnine"? This single disc version is just the golden oldies, and how much fun is that?
Published on March 19 2002 by Hank Schwab


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Golden Nuggets, Nov. 1 2001
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
Nuggets was originally released in 1972 as a double album. It celebrated the garage rock music of the mid 60's with future Patti Smith guitarist Lenny Kaye providing dead-on liner notes. The band's featured on the album laid the blueprint for such bands as The New York Dolls, The Stooges and Patti Smith as well as the punk movement. The songs are no nonsense, crazed out rockers with some psychedelia and dance tracks thrown in. Rhino Records has done an amazing job expanding the original double album into a four cd set. Some of the songs like The Kingsmen "Louie, Louie", Sam The Sham & Pharaoh's "Wooly Bully", The Outsiders' "Time Wont Let Me", The Human Beinz propulsive "Nobody But Me", The Musical Explosion's "Little Bit O' Soul", The Count Five's "Psychotic Reaction", The Castaways' "Liar, Liar" were all top ten hits with The Strawberry Alarm Clock's "Incense & Peppermint" going all the way to number one. For the most part, the collection is made up of obscure songs that were minor national hits and regional hits around the country. Songs like The Cryan Shames' searing "Sugar & Spice", The Barbarians' earnest "Moulty", The Lollipop Shoppe's pulsating "You Must Be A Witch", The Sonics' "Strychnine", Kim Fowley's spooky "The Trip", Rare Breed's (who became American Breed and scored a top ten hit with Bend Me, Shape Me) r&b flavored "Beg, Borrow & Steal", Richard & The Young Lions' stellar "Open Up Your Door", The Bees' buzzing "Voices Green & Purple" and The Palace Guards' bubble gummy "Falling Sugar" are all basically unknowns. But they all show an immense amount of heart and soul and the classic three chords and a dream philosophy of most bands out there. Some well known bands show up with some lesser known hits like The Turtles, Captain Beefheart and Paul Revere & The Raiders whose "Just Like Me" is an absolute rave-up. Some famous artists appear in their first or lesser known groups like Todd Rundgren with The Nazz on "Open Our Eyes, Ted Nugent on two songs from The Amboy Dukes, ZZ Top's Billy Gibbons with The 13th Floor Elevators and Creedence Clearwater Revival shows up under their original moniker, The Golliwogs, with the chooglin "Fight Fire". Other great songs include some semi-famous tracks like the frat rock classics "Double Shot (Of My Baby's Love" by The Swinging Medallions and The Premiers "Farmer John", The Standells' "Dirty Water", The Strangeloves "I Want Candy" which Bow Wow Wow would turn into a new wave staple, Love's influential "7 And 7 Is" and the Tex-ex stylings of The Hombres' "Let It Out (Let It All Hang Out)". Nuggets is an essential collection for any fan of rock to have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars nuggets, Nov. 25 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great 60's songs not exactly gold nuggets great songs by the original artists but well worth the money for this cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It doesn't get any better than this, June 12 2004
By 
Casey Scott - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
Collecting the complete Lenny Kaye NUGGETS double-LP set that has gone down in the history books and adding 3 more CD's chockful of garage/punk/psychedelic classics you've never heard of, the NUGGETS boxed set is better than essential. It's QUINTESSENTIAL, the end-all meet-all of all 60s garage compilations.
Hardcore collectors will champion the PEBBLES and BACK TO THE GRAVE series as a better representation of the genre by unearthing rarer than rare singles, but the NUGGETS set is far more accessible and covers everything from Beatles-wannabes to guitar-slammin' pre-punk to trippy folk-rock to rhythmic vocal showcases. I won't bother pointing out all the highlights, as each disc is a non-stop smorgasbord of excellent music. Only a handful of songs could have easily been left out ("Louie Louie" by The Kingsmen and "Wooly Bully" by Sam the Sham and the Pharoahs are a little too obvious, and "At the River's Edge" by The New Colony Six is awful), and if the music wasn't enough, you get a thoroughly researched book packed with essays and track-by-track history on each song, including personnel and record info!
If you don't have this one yet, what are you waiting for?! Shame on you for hesitating this long!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Box Set!, April 17 2010
By 
H. Faulkner (Regina, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
I have never written a review about any item I have purchased before, but I just received my Nuggets box set and I LOVE it! You get four CDs of great music, a fantastic booklet with artwork, photos and information about each track, and a beautiful box to hold it all. I have been a fan of the psychedelic era since the 60s, so I already new a lot of these songs (my favorite being Psychotic Reaction by The Count Five), but I have now discovered some great songs that I hadn't heard before like Primitive by The Groupies and The Mojo Men's She's My Baby. Yes, I know there are a few obvious omissions, but there is enough great music here to keep you dancing all day long. I put off buying this box set for years, because of the price, but it honestly is worth every penny. If you're a fan of this music, buy Nuggets! It is a PERFECT box set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Where are the real "Nuggets"?, March 19 2002
This is all good stuff, no doubt, but the great thing about the big box set is the ear-opening experience of discovering the bands and hits you never heard before. Where are the Chocolate Watchband, or the Barbarians? No "Spazz" or "Strychnine"? This single disc version is just the golden oldies, and how much fun is that?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trippy noise from the garage, Aug. 17 2003
By 
chris meesey Food Czar (The Colony, TX United States) - See all my reviews
A lot of you twenty-and thirty somethings out there probably think that psychedelic music was all swirling colors, flashing strobe lights, and intergalactic journeys of the mind. You would be wrong of course; all those sounds came later (mostly in the early seventies). Nope, early psychedelia was made with fuzzed-out guitars, Farfisa (or Vox) organ solos, and amps that were very small. In short, garage band music with a mindbending twist. (Think Very early Pink Floyd, such as "See Emily Play," rather than Dark Side of the Moon.) In his liner notes to the set, Greg Shaw does an outstanding job of linking these three-minute wonders to the punk and new wave movements of a decade later. Both proto-punk ("Dirty Water," "Pushin' Too Hard," and the Music Machine's wonderful "Talk, Talk"), and pre-new wave ("I Want Candy" and "The Shape of Things to Come") are well represented here. Also present are several selections from one-hit wonder soundalike bands, such as the Beatlesque Knickerbockers ("Lies"), the Byrd-like Leaves ("Hey, Joe", which was actually covered better by other artists), and, best of all, the Count Five, whose Yardbirds clone, "Psychotic Reaction" (complete with mini rave-up instrumental break) is not to be missed. One problem: Rhino Records have set the bar so high with this compilation, it's easy to start nitpicking. For instance, Love would be better represented with "My Little Red Book" than by the track offered here. And where are those all-time garage classics "Wild Thing," by the Troggs, and "Gloria" by Shadows of Knight (or by the Van-Morrison-led group Them)? These, however, are minor quibbles. Overall, Nuggets from Nuggets is good enough to make you want to race to your garage (or living room), clear out a space in the middle, and Start Dancing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lot of stuff., June 7 2002
By 
Bruce P. Barten (Saint Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was recently playing this album, which I ordered when I was trying to find some version of a familiar song that I still have not heard, for the benefit of someone who thought that "Lies" by the Knickerbockers sounded like it was by the famous Beatles. About all I could tell about "Lies" from skimming through the CD liner notes of "Nuggets from Nuggets" was that it was a number 20 pop hit released in November, 1965. Having a group that sounded like the Beatles was not a disadvantage that year, but it isn't automatically a sign of greatness. I could have said, "Yeah, but The Knickerbockers were good," or "The Beatles weren't much better." Is that offensive to people who never heard of them? The attempt by Rhino Entertainment Company in 2000 to explain in 24 CD-size pages (a picture of The Knickerbockers is on page 4) the psychedelic era of the 1960s as it relates to a collection of songs, praised for being part of a do-it-yourself approach to music ("The corporate record labels have always opposed this.") hardly encompasses such gems as "Liar, Liar" by The Castaways, released in May, 1965 and number 12 on the pop chart. Anyone who reads the list of songs on this album looking for great hits they've always wanted might be surprised at how few of the titles ring a bell. The Electric Prunes and Strawberry Alarm Clock sound like group names from the psychedelic era, but "Louie Louie" by The Kingsmen was so mainstream that it was a number 2 pop hit in 1963, long before a lot of rock 'n' roll ever happened. The real reason for owning this album, in my case, was the original "Hey Joe" by The Leaves, released in April, 1966 and only a number 31 pop hit. Within a few years, I had versions of the song by The Byrds and Jimi Hendrix. A lot of what Jimi Hendrix played on that song had been dropped by the Byrds in their version, and I wanted to know how much music Jimi had learned from the Leaves, and how much of Jimi's version was pure Jimi Hendrix.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Critics of this Set are Wrong, May 23 2004
By 
Kenneth eggerss (Lincoln, Nebraska United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
The original Nuggets double album is THE most influencial rock album in history.It has been lovingly recreated on the first disc of this set. If anything, the other discs are even stronger.The artwork and historical care that has gone into the info book in this package sets the standard for all who shall follow.If you are a young person who has drifted towards classic rock because of how bad the current scene is, this will demonstrate to you just how correct you are.You will still be listening to this set when you are eighty years old.Knock Knock by the Humane Society and Primitive by the Groupies are almost worth the price by themselves.And let us not forget the Voices Green and Purple.
Some of these were hits. And some of these go to auction when the originals are sold among collectors. It is a nice mix between the two.
As with everything however, this set is not perfect. The info booklet has an incredibly fragile binding and it will come apart on you in short order if you are not aware of it.Rhino should of hard bound it like a owners manual for a car.A small oversight that in no way diminishes that the fact that you MUST own this if you have any interest in Rock's history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Artyfacts? "OH YEAH!", April 27 2004
By 
Nathan Laney (Northern Cambria, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
I NEVER, EVER in my whole life felt moved to write to a record company thanking them for the time and effort it took to pull a fabulous collection together for our entertainment's sake. But when I purchased my Nuggets box set in 1999, I was compelled to do just that. Five years later, I still can't find the words to adequately sum up my love of this set. I had already been familiar with alot of the songs thanks to Rhino's Nuggets album series of the '80's, and the fact that I'm the 9th of 11 kids. See, back in the mid sixties, I had older brothers and sisters who were buying records and going to dances on Saturday nights. My oldest brother had a set of drums in the Attic where I used to practice "Little Girl" by Syndicate of Sound while the rest of the kids were at school. (I was only 4 at the time) But I knew some of these songs because of the way they used to sell records in the 60's. You could buy a bundle of 10 used (juke boxes) 45's wrapped in cellophane at the local 5 & 10 for a dollar. You could only see the labels of the records on each end which meant that eight of them were pot luck. Since the records were always like new, this is how my older siblings would buy them, and we had TONS of them!
This set reminded me of EXACTLY how it was to buy based on only what you know and take a chance on the rest. And just like then, the investment paid off IN SPADES! This collection defies description. It's fantastic, stupendous, awesome, phenomenal and so much more! I'll NEVER tire of this set! I hope it stays in print forever!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Oh yeah...everything gonna be alright this morning!, Feb. 28 2004
By 
Mark R. Van Wagenen "viagracat" (Elgin, Illinois USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 (Audio CD)
OK, it helps to have been around in the '60s; that way you have a context to the tunes you get here, and most likely memories attached to at least some of them. Unlike some reviewers who say The Five Americans, Shadows of Knight, Cryan Shames, Swinging Medallions, the Castaways, The Leaves, Standells, etc, etc can't compare to the Beatles; artistically that's obviously true, but if you were a Top 40 music lover from the day, how can you NOT get into at least some of these, well, "nuggets?" You don't hear them all the time on the radio, which is a good thing all by itself, and really, lots of those garage-rock tracks are catchy (and deep down inside, you agree). Disc 4 is weaker than the others (although it does have "Louie Louie", which is NOT a song about getting lucky), the only drawback to this collection. Ignore those who proclaim that lesser-refined bands with less commercial success, like those you find on compilations like this, are not worth the time or money, but like I said, you'll appreciate "Nuggets" more if you were around in the late 1960s. Which, I guess, makes me a geezer. So be it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68
Nuggets Psychedelic Era 65-68 by Various Artists (Audio CD - 2012)
Click for more info
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews