Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The British classic that really put Hitchcock on the map
1935's The 39 Steps is the film that really put Alfred Hitchcock on the map as a world-class movie director. With its mixture of classic Hitchcockian wit, dark (and light) humor, and suspense, it brought to the fore the man's genius and set the stage for many a classic thriller to come. Robert Donat is excellent in the role of Richard Hannay, a young Canadian who finds...
Published on Sept. 4 2006 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Takes All The Right "Steps"
There are those who will agrue forever and a day about which Hitchcock was better. The American Hitchcock ("Rear Window", "Psycho", & "Rebecca") or the British Hitchcock ("The Lady Vanishes", "The Man Who Knew Too Much") and this film "The 39 Steps", often thought of as the best of Hitchcock's British films. In my personal opinion I like the American Hitchcock. His Britsh...
Published on Dec 22 2003 by Alex Udvary


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Classic Fun, May 16 1999
By 
This review is from: 39 Steps [Special Edition] (DVD)
This was the first film version to tell the tale of Richard Hannay's quest to clear his name and stop a group of spies from passing on secret information. Wanted for questioning involving a murder Hannay (played by Robert Donat) must get to Scotland, a clue bequeathed to him by the murder victim. The problem is who can he trust? Can he get anyone to trust him? His one hope is a young woman he meets on the train to Scotland but she believes him to be the murderer. With time running out Hannay must find out what the spies are up to before he is caught and imprisoned for a crime he did not committ.
This is a wonderful film, much better than the first remake starring Kenneth More. There are some wonderful touches of humour in the film and a good degree of tension.
This is a good DVD transfer, very good for such an old film. The sound quality is fine although some people might be expecting something better. Considering the age and condition of the film this is a good print.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early Hitchcock Classic!, July 9 2000
By 
Bertin Ramirez "justareviewer" (San Ysidro, California United States) - See all my reviews
Sublime fun. Filled with lots of intrigue, light comedy and fluffy romance. Lightweight fun that's hard to beat. Extremely enjoyable. Robert Donat is spectacular as Hitchcock's 'innocent man on the run', a Canadian tourist who gets way over his neck when he gets entangled with an ultra-secret spy ring called the 39 steps. Madeleine Carroll gives a priceless performance as the beautiful but problematic 'blonde' (notice that Hitchcock, even in his early films, preferred the 'blonde goddess look', that would later be immortalized by Kim Novak, Eva Marie Saint, Grace Kelly and Janet Leigh) who melts under Donat's charm and is thrilled by the rush of the chase. Filled with many memorable episodes sprinkled with light comedy and witty dialogue. But Hitchcock added two unforgettably surreal elements that linger in the mind long afterwards, a missing finger and a music-hall performer that does his job a little too well. From a scale of 1-10 I give this film a 9!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early Hitchcock at His Best, June 28 2001
This is one of my favorite early Hitchcock movies (the other early favorite being The Lady Vanishes). Robert Donat seems to be a natural predecessor to Cary Grant in Hitchcock's movies. He's handsome and charming as he stumbles into one difficulty after another and scrapes out of each one. Hannay must elude the police on a train which happens to be stopped on a bridge, he escapes from the cluthes of a farmer who nearly turns him in to collect a reward, he runs off with his accuser (and love interest) handcuffed to his wrist, and he burst into a crowded meeting hall where he spontaneously delivers a speech of introduction for a political candidate whom he's never met. I've seen this movie on VHS and on this Criterion Collection DVD. There is no comparison. As with most of the Criterion DVD's I've seen, it is worth the price to see such a clean restoration, not to mention the extras that Criterion packs into each disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Go for the Criterion, Aug. 18 2002
By 
Paul Anthony Hagl (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Five stars in all might make me sound like an easy-to-please viewer, but I don't see how this DVD could be better. Criterion never disappoints, so if you're buying this film it's worth paying extra for this one. I believe the transfer is way superior and the extras go on longer than an awards night.
The documentary focuses on Hitchcock's British films, which aren't as widely seen these days and also a complete radio broadcast from 1937. Talk about diggin' up some material! I also enjoyed the commentary and that press book stuff. I'm not even sure I've seen it all. Actually, I'm still not sure what The 39 Steps really is exactly, but who cares? I pity people who don't watch certain movies because they're old and black & white. The reason people should see this film is because no one can make a film like this anymore. This is a great film, don't miss it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Want to see a thrill-filled movie in under two hours?, March 4 2002
Then get hold of Alfred Hitchcock's "The 39 Steps". Having received Criterion's release of "Notorious", and being blown away by all of the extra features and practically pristine print, I later got "The 39 Steps" for my birthday. Among the extras are digital copies of press books, lobby cards, and even a radio broadcast. As for the film itself...no one but Hitchcock could weave so many events - mayhem at a music hall, mistaken identity, foreign spies, chases through moving trains, mixups at political rallies - in a clear, clever film which is never crammed or labored. And what is more of a marvel is that all of these events - and many more - play out in a film which is just under an hour and one half! Alfred Hitchcock filmed "The Thirty -Nine Steps" in 1935, early in his career. Genius, and even prodigy of film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good Hitchcock film, with interesting extras, April 9 2000
By 
Kevin Morrill (Kirkland, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Although this doesn't rank as high as Hitchcock's greatest films, such as North by Northwest, Vertigo, or Rear Window--The 39 Steps has an engaging story that keeps the audience moving along with its brisk pace.
The movie introduces many classic Hitchcock staples. Fans will see many similarities to later works. Most notable is the classic Hitchcock theme of the wrongfully accused hero.
Hitchcock, as always, demonstrates a mastery of the visual medium; the film is rich with story telling enabled through skillful use of the camera, rather using dialog as a crutch.
The DVD includes a so-so documentary that surveys his early work in British film. A running commentary is also available, that highlights many fascinating elements. Overall, the DVD translation fulfills what I would expect from Criterion--top notch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Hitchcock, May 24 2001
By 
A* (New York, N.Y. United States) - See all my reviews
The 39 Steps is a prelude to North by NorthWest, Notorious, Spellbound and any other romatnic-thriller of Hitchcock's invention. It is a brilliatn film and criterions transfer of it shines. Alot of people say that Gone With The Wind set the bench mark for snappy dialogue but it is truly this film. The banter between the two leads is pure genius and the exterior shots are breathtaking. This film is even better than North by Northwesr for the pure fact that the acting seem to flow more easily. In North by Northwest the film is pure fantasy all popping colors and Grant looking at ease in every situation of danger. but in The 39 Steps Donat seems more believeable and the fact that the film seem to have the film-noir touch only helps in the drama of it all. This film is poerfect in my opnion and I own more than my share of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Pure Hitchcock, May 24 2001
By 
A* (New York, N.Y. United States) - See all my reviews
The 39 Steps is a prelude to North by NorthWest, Notorious, Spellbound and any other romatnic-thriller of Hitchcock's invention. It is a brilliatn film and criterions transfer of it shines. Alot of people say that Gone With The Wind set the bench mark for snappy dialogue but it is truly this film. The banter between the two leads is pure genius and the exterior shots are breathtaking. This film is even better than North by Northwesr for the pure fact that the acting seem to flow more easily. In North by Northwest the film is pure fantasy all popping colors and Grant looking at ease in every situation of danger. but in The 39 Steps Donat seems more believeable and the fact that the film seem to have the film-noir touch only helps in the drama of it all. This film is poerfect in my opnion and I own more than my share of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Hitchcock, June 5 2004
By 
Chris Cavell (Ann Arbor, MI United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 39 Steps (VHS Tape)
I found the ending to this film to be disappointing, I might even say lame or contrived, and that ruined my enjoyment of most of the movie. I strongly recommend the 1978 remake with William Powell, John Mills, and David Warner. This is one of those rare times when a remake was better than the original, and that's even rarer when the original was a Hitchcock film. The climax in this one is action-filled, and will appeal to any fan of mystery/suspense/action classics. I give the '78 remake 5 stars. I've been unable to find the 1978 version here in the US, maybe because it was a British production, but I just visited Amazon in the UK, and it is available there. Just remember , if you're buying a foreign DVD, verify that it will play in Region 1 (US & Canada).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Hitchcock Suspense!, Nov. 23 2002
By 
A Customer (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
Richard Hannay visits the Music Hall to see a show where "Mr. Memory" displays his intellectual ability to answer random questions. During the show a brawl starts and someone pulls the trigger on a gun. All the visitors including Mr. Hannay escape the Music Hall after the shooting, once outside Mr. Hannay meets a young woman. The woman wants to go home with Mr. Hannay and it appears that the woman is a spy. She then tells him that she needs to go to Scotland and says something about 39 steps. Later that night the woman comes stumbling into Mr. Hannay's room and she has been stabbed in the back. 39 Steps is a suspenseful film that is both witty and intelligent and will entertain and baffle the audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 47 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

39 Steps [Special Edition]
39 Steps [Special Edition] by Alfred Hitchcock (DVD - 2003)
CDN$ 36.61
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews