Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Live Rock Album
It really irritates me when people say that heavy metal is the only style of music that Deep Purple were good at. Sure, they may have mastered that style more than any other, but most people seem to be ignorant of the fact that Purple could play blues and jazz EXCELLENTLY. C'mon people, these lads were way too talented to be reduced to 'just heavy metal'.
Anyway,...
Published on Oct. 26 2003 by Josh H.

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good old songs!
For the feeling and tha raw of this: 5 stars.
For the sound: 2 stars.

But, sound is not the only thing. If a compare with other live cds, this one take the pole. Hope some new artists put feeling in their shows like those old rockers who give a good lesson of what a show should be...

For those who want EXCELLENT sound in acoustic view, try Nils...
Published 5 months ago by Joel Gagnon


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ultimate Live Rock Album, Oct. 26 2003
By 
Josh H. (Toledo, Oh (USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
It really irritates me when people say that heavy metal is the only style of music that Deep Purple were good at. Sure, they may have mastered that style more than any other, but most people seem to be ignorant of the fact that Purple could play blues and jazz EXCELLENTLY. C'mon people, these lads were way too talented to be reduced to 'just heavy metal'.
Anyway, this album may very well be the greatest live rock album ever. Each member of the band are at their best on this one, especially Ritchie. The intensity level is off the page.
"HIGHWAY STAR": Twice as monstrous as the studio original. Gillan spits out the lyrics like a madman, while the rest of the band chugs along at a breakneck pace. Contains some of Ritchie's awesome finger-flashing at the end, which totally obliterates the studio version.
"CHILD IN TIME": This is Deep Purple's unparalleled masterpiece. But Gillan's vocals on this version aren't nearly as good as they usually were. But Ritchie makes up for it with a jazzy solo that must be heard to be believed. I personally love the part where he keeps playing the same chord sequence over and over until you think you're gonna burst if he doesn't stop! And he does it so fast, and without making a single mistake. Ritchie is unreal.
"SMOKE ON THE WATER": Their most famous song, mainly because of the legendary guitar riff, which sounds even more powerful on this version. This is the riff that inspired a generation. Features a cool guitar/organ competition at the end, in which Ritchie and Jon try to outdo each other. Ritchie's solo is also awesome.
"THE MULE": Ian Paice is the greatest drummer that ever lived, just a shade above Ginger Baker. His drum solo on this song will convince you.
"STRANGE KIND OF WOMAN": This is unquestionably the best song on the album. Ritchie's blues licks have never been better. In particular, listen to the second solo, where he builds up the tension and then releases it in a stunning climax. It's like an orgasm. It may be the best solo he's ever played. And this is also the song that features the famous guitar/vocal competition. Gillan mimics Blackmore's notes so perfectly that it's downright scary.
"LAZY": Features an organ intro that just boggles the mind. Cool harmonica from Gillan and excellent licks from Blackmore.
"SPACE TRUCKIN'": Overrated. The long, instrumental section is definitely not Purple at their best. But it's still interesting.
All in all, this is a must-have for any hard rock lover. A journalist for Kerrang! Magazine once wrote, and I quote, "There are moments on this album that have never been beaten in the history of rock music". That pretty much says it all.
Oh, and the bonus tracks aren't really that great. But this re-mastered version is still worth buying, mainly for the superb sound quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Live Album Ever and the Greatest Album Ever, July 17 2003
By 
Thomas Faust (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
BUY....THIS....ALBUM....NOW! The Remastered version is worth the price. The album sounds better than ever but doesn't loose its original feel, and you get three extra encore tracks which are all up to par with the set proper. This is one purchase you can't go wrong with and can't be without. One listen and it'll find its way into you're music rotation. You want to know what an awesome, breathtaking, transcendent rock concert sounds like? Buy this and you'll wonder why you wasted all that money on the pathetic "rock" music of the past 10 years or so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DEEP PURPLE 'WHAT MORE CAN ONE SAY ABOUT THESE ROCK AND ROLL, June 30 2004
By 
patrick (scarborough, ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
Deep Purple 'made in japan'
Listening to this album back in the seventies was music to my ears. Great guitar playing with a hard core edge to the music. I found this album to be very innovated and adding the organ to rock music entered rock music into a new category, yet retained the true elements of what rock and roll was all about.
I recently purchased 'Made in Japan' on C.D. and it was wonderful to hear the old classic sounding as fresh as ever, almost as if it were right off the press recordings. I haven't heard this album for quite awhile and sure brought back memories from the good ol days of ROCK AND ROLL MUSIC WHEN ROCK WAS ROCK. 'MAN THOSE CATS COULD REALLY SWING'and still can. It was just great to hear these old songs once again and what more can one say or ask for.
I recently purchased the 'Come Hell or High Water' D.V.D. and it too was a experience to see the guys celebrating 25 years of rock and rolling and then some. I also never got a chance to see Deep Purple in concert. Either they never toured in this part of the world during that time or they just never toured in Toronto, Canada, to my knowledge anyway. So I have an opportunity to see these great rockers doing there stuff here in Toronto, Canada ,August 21, 04. Unfortunately,Ritchie Blackmore and Jon Lord (retired) won't be on this tour and I will miss their stage presence and hearing their special unique styles. However,three original members are in the present lineup and I am certain that the new members will bring a freshness to the old classics from the 'Machine Head' era.
Back to "Made in Japan". I really enjoyed the music from this recording and to hear the individuals jamming during various numbers such as 'Child in Time' 'Lazy' etc. shows the bands ability to extend their songs and give the audience what they wanted. This band was loud and to get a live recording that seems almost flawless speaks volumes about the bands ability to give the fans a recording that sounds close to perfection as one can get. I purchased another recording of another 70's band and I am not pleased with how much distortion and crowd noise there was especially for a band that prides itself on it's previous recordings. They simply could have done a better job. Why could they not took a page from the 'Made in Japan' album and give the fans something to truly remember them by. Anyway, we are blessed with the music of Deep Purple and their videos and recordings. Lets hope that Deep Purple will be rocking us for another few years with their terrific concerts and music.
'Keep on Rocking' as there are not many good old rock and roll concerts left to go see. See ya all at the concert.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars SPEEDBALL MEOTEORS, Nov. 21 2003
By 
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
ITS LUKEWARM NOW, just a memory, A CLASSIC,now THEN it wasnt it was too,FAST PASS, the make out zone, where little girls would go, not here, not to hear this,besides most CULTURAL TYPES FELL, HEADS OVER HEEL into jammin LIVE AT FILMORE EAST by THE allman brothers, deep PURPLE WRE FAST PAST ANY HORISON LINE THEN, they played so fast.YOU could call them speedy, THIS ISa ARTIFACT. rock HARD, IN rock SWEET CHILD IN TIME, IS LIKE FLYGHT OF the rat, ABOUT RICHOCHET,before boom box, PREDATORY AND MIGRATORY DRIVE BY rattle, eighties, cheap pedigree GOLD COVER, title MADE IN japan, oxy-moronic IRONIC THEN, NOT SO KNOW, BEFOREEEEE ..THIS WAS DONE AROUND THE MOONWALK NO ROCKET, FUEL BREWED BLACK AND SPACEY, HINT WITHIN time travel , hits, bULLETS, SPEEDYanything COOL, CIRCLE THE ICICLES, PARADE PAST, BEAM ME UP SCOTTY, FLEEING THESE SONGS ARE ODD ODES to FLEEIN, BUILT PETAL TO THE HILT, SIX SECOND MILE, EARTHguake qwiverin enough to RATTLE WALLS BACK THEN, BEFORE GREASY MIGRATORY DRIVE BY SLUGS OF URBAN STEW TOOSED US white lightning , moon shiine SHRINEcrack infested, numb, boom box, authenticy ATOMIC ,RAMBLE rousers,AROUND the vine, SCHOOL WAS OUT, zombies had discovered, DEEP IN THE forest hatcheryOF MIND, speedball cookRocked up,TAKE ME FAR AWAY,speed anthems ,trams[ TRAIN ]TRANSFORMERS, TUNED UP GODZILLA,god WIRED tribal,PACE, IAN,loved buddyRICH, NOT MILES, PONDEROUS BUT,quick wited and righeous kung fu, imagined, jets ON THE TOM TOMS, snakeskins hiss, take that accent,OFF THE BEATEN TRACK,truckin, MAN MILES FAST PAST ANY OR FEW VENTURED, back then,SPACE TRUCKIN,star choppin, VENTURES the MULE, MOST INGENUIS INTAKE MANIFOLDS of fright, shutters, THE imagination,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Live Rock Album Ever, Nov. 8 2003
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
This album's a killer from the opening chords of Highway Star to its psychadelic ending with Space Trucking. You can be pretty sure you're going to hear one of the best guitar and organ performances ever(unless you own the album so you already know it). With every song being at least 6 minutes long this album offers so much diversity that you won't get bored of it even after months of listening. The fact that makes this record so outstanding is that every member of the band is giving his best and the band was as well at its peak at the time of the recording. Ritchie Blackmore delivers an energetic thrust, he has solos 5+ minutes long, but you don't get bored of it like in Led Zeppelin's How The West Was Won(both, by the way, recorded in the summer of '72). He plays with enormous energy even when backing a Jon Lord's showoff. Lots of people tried to copy Lord's stile, but no one has succeeded. Giving a listen to this album will surely reveal why. As for Blackmore, Lord is stunning, his playing makes you get goosebumps,escpecially in songs like Space Trucking. And they both cooperate so well here. Ian Gillan is great, altough he doesn't really stand out so much here(since the album's instrumental part is really the icing on the cake), but he still has a nice voice-guitar duel in Strange Kind Of Woman. Roger Glover is as good as usual, a firm backbone to support all the improvisation. Ian Paice is probably giving his best performance ever and even gets his own solo in The Mule.
I can't understand why he is so underrated. Overall, a very energetic album(but still detailed in song structure), and a very spontaneus performance by all band's members(especially obvious in Lazy). Anyone who I played the album to so far was stunned,and even the most feverish Hip Hop/Techno/whatever fans couldn't deny its quality.
And this is typcal of great music-it stands the test of time. I believe people will still find this album attractive even 100 years after it was recorded. This is a 20th century classic! And as for Deep Purple, I believe they deserve as much recognition as Led Zeppelin. If not agreeing, just (try to) compare How The West Was Won to Made In Japan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Remastered Live in Japan- excellent, March 18 2004
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
Live in Japan is the album of a band at the height of its powers in the early '70s. Blackmore's guitar and Lord's keyboard dominate the album, which was recorede as part of their support for the then newly released "Machine Head" LP. One thing to notice is the "politeness" of the Japanese crowd. Unlike American or European audiences, they hesitate to cheer during the quieter interludes after instrumental solos. Perhaps the only drawbacks are the weak bass line in the remastered version and the overlong drum solo which is really reflective of the era it was recorded.
Rhino has done a great job (as usual) with its remastering. The instruments are crisp and overall sound is a stunner. From the opening notes of "Highway Star" to "Space Truckin'" the band was smokin' during their Japanese tour. The bonus cd is a great extra.
This important and influential album should be in any serious rock music lover's collection. Get the Rhino remastered if you can. Highly recommeded!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Musically and technically inspired, Nov. 13 2003
By 
John (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
I just finished listening to Highway Star and had to write. This is one of the greatest recordings of the one of the greatest rock songs played by one of the greatest bands I have ever heard. Perhaps the greatest. Deep Purple had the perfect rock intonation, phrasing, tone, and dynamics that one expects from a band (they performed from 1969 to 1973), but their musical intelligence, their sense of abandon, and their intense and continuous concentration was extraordinary. I listened to the great Child In Time with tears running down my cheeks, I don't remember that happening since a performance by the Moody Blues many years ago. The recording is technically perfect, clean and clear with appropriate channel separation. It sounds like the mix was done by a musical and technical expert.
I can not believe this band is NOT in the rock and roll hall of fame?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One Of The Best Live Albums Of All Times, Sept. 21 2009
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
Found this two LP set in my older Sister's record collection when i was in high school. All i ever put on was "Smoke On The Water" until i was home sick one day and board out of my mind. I put side one on and only moved to fip the record. I was blown away. This is by far the best Deep Purple line up and they were on tour for "Machine Head" their best studio album. This CD has now expanded the original double LP to include the full set. It was recorded over a few nights but the sound is perfect all the way thru. Ian Gillan voice is at it's best, Blackmore and Lord's playing is as good as ANYBODY playing at that time and it's all locked in by the rythem section of Glover and Pace. The best thing about this live CD is it's a live CD. There are no overdubs and no studio upgrades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best live albums ever, Sept. 3 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
This album is one of the best 70's live albums ever, alongside Led Zeppelin's "The Songs Remain The Same". I think that says it all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Musically and technically inspired, Nov. 13 2003
By 
John (New York, NY USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Made in Japan (Audio CD)
I just finished listening to Highway Star and had to write. This is one of the greatest recordings of the one of the greatest rock songs played by one of the greatest bands I have ever heard. Perhaps the greatest. Deep Purple had the perfect rock intonation, phrasing, tone, and dynamics that one expects from a band (they performed from 1969 to 1973), but their musical intelligence, their sense of abandon, and their intense and continuous concentration was extraordinary. I listened to the great Child In Time with tears running down my cheeks, I don't remember that happening since a performance by the Moody Blues many years ago. The recording is technically perfect, clean and clear with appropriate channel separation. It sounds like the mix was done by a musical and technical expert.
I can not believe this band is NOT in the rock and roll hall of fame?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Made in Japan
Made in Japan by Deep Purple (Audio CD - 2012)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews