Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (30)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing album!
This is probably Bone Thugs-N-Harmony's single best effort, and also one of their earliest. With tracks such as "1st of tha Month" and the Grammy Award winning "Crossroads" that held North America in rapture for months, Bone Thugs introduced a completely new style to the game. Krayzie, Layzie, Bizzy, Wish, and Flesh-n-Bone deliver tongue twisting,...
Published on May 22 2005 by Chris Whelan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars untouchable
This could be the best gangsta rap album in the post NWA days. THis album is probably the most violent albums to ever sell over ten million records. Although this album is violent and at times excessively violent, there is a sence of honesty that comes with it. Krayzie, layzie, Bizzy, Wish and Flesh take you to the very blocks they came from in urban Cleveland and reveal...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by sam


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An amazing album!, May 22 2005
By 
Chris Whelan (Vancouver, British Columbia Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E. 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This is probably Bone Thugs-N-Harmony's single best effort, and also one of their earliest. With tracks such as "1st of tha Month" and the Grammy Award winning "Crossroads" that held North America in rapture for months, Bone Thugs introduced a completely new style to the game. Krayzie, Layzie, Bizzy, Wish, and Flesh-n-Bone deliver tongue twisting, hard-hitting lyrics over gripping melodies on classics like "Mo Murda","Shotz to tha Double Glock" and "East 1999", and soulful slow jams dedicated to their common love on "Buddha Lovaz" and "Budsmokers Only". This album has spent more time in CD player than any other ever, going on 10 years now. A must have for any hip-hop fan!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Bone's SECOND best CD, May 4 2004
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
My 10 most listened Bone songs(out of all Bone albums).
THUG LUV, LOOK INTO MY EYES remix, EAST 1999, DA INTRO(east/1999 Eturnal album), MO MURDA, DOWN 71(THA GETAWAY), BONE BONE, BODY ROTT, THUGGISH RUGGISH BONE and FOE THA LOVE OF MONEY
Bone thugs are the most original rap group I've heard and if you hear anyone rap like Bone, they got the idea from them. These 5 thugs, BIZZY, KRAIZY, LAYZIE, WISH and FLESH are the definition of style. They change thier rap style so you don't get bored of them. Bizzy Bone is the best example of this, he can rap fast or slow and as the piano goes of in Mo murda, he raps at a different pace. As they rap fast, it takes time to make out what they're saying, just listen to a track 30 times then your fine. This is the top 3 rap albums of all time on the top 10 rap commandments site and it's under The Chronic by Dre Dre and Doggy style by Snoop dog.
I'll rate each track with 5 being the highest.
DA INTRODUCTION -5- Great way to start and it's my top 10 Bone songs of all time and this has the 3 best Bone members Bizzy, Kraizy and Layzie. DJUNEEK spits some evil words out to introduce Bone. Afterwards Bizzy does the best verse and no other rapper can ever touch his verse, it's so smooth and he raps slower than usual and his smooth voice fits in with the rainining and smooth music in the background. Check out these lyrics
Betta make that money man, dead wrong
Put it on the low betta beat them hoes
Gotta get them demons off me
EAST 1999 -5- Another 1 of my top 10 Bone songs. If you want to get the best out of Bone, listen to this. Its got all 5 of those thugs and this is straight hardcore. I reckon this has Kraizy's best verse because he uses all his stop n stutter rap skills here. The tune to this a deep bass in the background. Bizzy spits out the tightest verse in the whole track.
ETURNAL -5- This is a standout track on the album and it's missing Flesh. This is a little less hardcore than East 1999 because it has a slower pace. I think Layzie gave us the best verse.
CREPT AND WE CAME 3.5 I gave this 3.5 because it's my least listened on this album. This has a basic background tune but when Bone raps over it, it's still quite tight.
DOWN 71 (THA GETAWAY) -5- This song is as hardcore as East 1999 but with better lyrics. This has Bizzy, Layzie, Krayzie. This is about Bizzy getting sentenced to jail and Layzie helps by shooting a guard in the face and frowing a grenade, then Krayzie is disguised as a preacher and gives cover when Layzie and Bizzy jump over a fence to their hideout. This song has a fast pace and Layzie has my favourite verse.
MR BILL COLLECTER -5- This is 1 of the best on this album and this is Bone at a slower pace than East 1999 and Tha Getaway. You can chill to this and this has a great hook "I could of taken his life but tha n*gg* tried to get away with me elloh". This has the strongest tune out of the first 5 tracks.
BUDSMOKERS ONLY -3- This is my least listened and this is a comedy track about smokers.
CROSSROADS -5- This is dedicated to Eazy E(as is the whole album) from passing away. This is emotional and Wish's verse shines here the most to me, this song is 1 of Bone's most accomplished.
LAND OF THA HEARTLESS -5- Another hard Bone song and this is fast paced with a perfect beat. This contains the 3 best Bone members. Bizzy does my most liked verse in this track.
NO SHORTS OR LOSSES 4.5 This has all 5 Bone members. The choras tune is very like Tha Thuggish Ruggish Bone tune. The beat can't match L O H.
1ST OF THA MONTH -5- This has the standout tune along with Mo Murder. This is about Bone when they were younger when living in the ghetto and the Government gave them money, so they lived for a day like millionaires(kind of. Bizzy Bone had the best verse, this is 1 of the best songs by Bone in their carreer.
BUDDAH LOVAH -5- This is the best chilled out Bone track in my opinion. This has a memorable tune and each group member(except Flesh but he's on the video)has tiny verses each and rap after each over(like Tha Crossroads).
DIE DIE 4.5 This has Bizzy and Krayzie. Another piano classic. Bizzy has the best verse and he raps faster than Krayzie. This is a short song(2.51) so it doesn't get repetitive.
MO MURDA -5- This is my top 10 Bone song out of all their albums. This in my opinion has the best tune with piano synths and more. Layzie puts down one of the best verses in hip pop history, untuchouble. Bizzy also puts down a great verse and when the piano goes off it is out of this world when he raps. Wish puts down his best verse in this album. Krayzie's verse is relaxing and comes out with good lyrics like "dipped machete in rum", "Blow all these hoes up in flames".
SHOTS TO THA DOUBLE GLOCK -5-
This has hardcore lyrics and a hard choras "pop pop given up shots to tha double glock glock".
This has Wish, Kraizie, Layzie, Poetic Hustlers and Grave Yard Shift.
This is a sample of some of the lyrics.
first degree m*rderin' wig splitta, grave digga
Diggin' a ditch, puttin' a b*tch
And them snitches in the pit, so don't f*ck with
Them n*gga* off the 9 9.
THA CROSSROADS -5- This has all of thugs except Flesh. This is dedicted to Kraizy's cousine(Wally), Wish's uncle and Eazy E because they passed away.
TOP 5 SONGS on this album
EAST 1999
MO MURDA
DOWN 71(THA GETAWAY)
DA INTRODUCTION
SHOTS TO THA DOUBLE GLOCK
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Ever, May 3 2004
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
Without a doubt, E.1999 Eternal is the greatest album ever made. Faces of Death is an underground legend, Creepin' On Ah Come Up introduced Bone nationwide, and E.1999 Eternal showed us they were here to stay. This CD was released twice, once with this version of Crossroad, and then with the world-famous Tha Crossroads-DJ U-Neek's Mo Thug Remix. I prefer the original.
There isn't a single track that you can say, "Why did they put this on the album?" You can pop this in the stereo and listen from beginning to end without ever wanted to skip a track, it's that good. Mo Murda is my favorite track, followed by 1st of tha Month, Bill Collector, East 1999, Eternal, and Down 71-The Getaway. Budsmoker's Only and Buddah Lovaz were the first songs Bone did about their favorite narcotic, and since this album they have had a couple songs like these on every album they release. The album comes to an end with Bone introducing the world to Mo Thug Artists Poetic Hustla'z and the Graveyard Shift on the final track Shotz to tha Double Glock.
DJ U-Neek proved that he can make a full record and that he was a force to be reckoned with in the rap game. Every beat on this album is great, even No Shorts, No Losses and Land of tha Heartless which were co-produced by Bone. Bone are the best group ever, and this is their best album. You are not a true rap fan if you don't own a copy of E. 1999 Eternal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Bone Album and the top 3 best rap album ever, April 16 2004
By 
Voltron (St. Claire Cleveland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This is deffinitely the greatest and most unique rap album ever, East 99 E. As an avid hiphop fan, I can say that 3 songs could easily make it into top 30 rap songs of all time, "Tha Crossroads" "1st of tha month" "Eternal". About seven more tracks are almost just as good, that is to say that when listening to this CD, remove the "forward" button on your CD player because you won't need it for awhile, thats how good this CD is and that is rare! You can't compare this CD from 2pac's, Biggie's or Wu-Tang's 36 Chamber or Nas's Illmatic for the reason that they have their own different style. It's like comparing Michael Jordan, Muhammad Ali and Babe Ruth! If you're in the mood for awesome rap-poetry lyrical content then try 2pac and maybe Nas. If you're more interested in gansta rap story-telling then pick up Biggie. But if you want a very good story-telling, the greatest chemistry in flow and harmony and a very dark sounding gangsta rap with awesome storyline and unique dark beats, then East 99 E. is the one to get. They basically covered all important areas of hip-hop, while using their unussual style. I might even say that this is the equivalent of Pink Floyd's "Dark Side of the Moon" of rap. Some would say that Crucial Conflict and Do or Die is better. Listen to Do or Die's "Po Pimpin" which a lot of people say is Do or Die's best song, then pop in East 99 Eternal - "Eternal" or "1st of the month" and tell me which one sounds better. I'm not even gonna talk about the importance of the "Tha Crossroad" coz its just that deep. Only a handfull of other rappers album can only come close to pulling off what Bone accomplished in this CD, and too bad fast rapping style with harmony is a dying breed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Their BEST album!, March 6 2004
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This is by far Bone's best album that they put out. All of the tracks are awesome. This is the kind of rap album where you can listen to all of the tracks, without skipping any of them. There are really laid back tracks, as well as some just hardcore rap tracks. Their first track, East 1999 gives the audience a good sense of how Bone raps. My favorite tracks definitely have to be East 1999, Down '71, 1st of tha Month, and Mo' Murda. Give those tracks a sample, cause they are awesome! I own all the Bone CDs, and I think this is by far the best one. If you liked their "Creepin on a Come Up" album, you'll love this album. The Art of War was good too, and BTNHResurrection was also decent, but East 1999 is definitely the best album. I like their old style of rap (as shown in this album) better than their new stuff. I just feel that the style in which they rap sound better in this CD than any of their other albums. This is Bone Thugs in their true art form. If I had to suggest Bone Thugs to a newcomer to rap, I'd tell them about this album. It really set the standard for fast rapping too. There are other rappers out there too who rap fast, like Twista, but although Twista is fast, he has no harmony that Bone has. The harmonies just make the rap sound so much better. Not only does Bone sound great, but they can also rap fast too. If you haven't tried this album yet, I suggest you do. Especially if you are want to try a different kind of rap. If you want to try out more Bone songs, look no further, because this CD is Bone at their finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Most Under rated cd ever, Feb. 22 2004
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
E.1999 eternal is one of the most underrated cds ever. its sold over 10 million records, and hit 2 #1 singles, but despite the greatness nobody ever give props to bone thugs. If you like this cd and others cds by bone thugs like i do hit me up whitedawgHLE@aol.com for more infomation on rare bone thugs cds like
Bone thugs Faces of death copy
thug story 1-2
DJ ICe Everythang and then some mo
FBI ENT Cleveland To Cali
THUGLINE RECORDS 2000 THUGS
THE WAR IS ON
Bone Thugs Tha Buddah Cuts
Bone thugs chopped and screwed
Dj Uneek 30 track samplar on cd
Dj Uneek Ghetto Radio 2000
WhiteDawgHLE Snippits
WhiteDawgHLE Bone Collabs
Bizzy Bone Hellz Movie 1-2
Romeo antoino swear not bye the mood
Bone thugs Faces of death copy
The B Side
St Claire Soldierz
mind of a souljah
silent warrior
my story
the remixes 1-2
rip bone battles radio edits
leathaface
Double r
Knight Ridahs EXPRESS
Graveyard Shift- Still Waters
adina howard - welcome to fanstacy island
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars untouchable, Dec 9 2003
By 
sam (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This could be the best gangsta rap album in the post NWA days. THis album is probably the most violent albums to ever sell over ten million records. Although this album is violent and at times excessively violent, there is a sence of honesty that comes with it. Krayzie, layzie, Bizzy, Wish and Flesh take you to the very blocks they came from in urban Cleveland and reveal to you the horrors of the slums. Crime, murder, death and drugs flow through this album from start to finish. However, this album isnt simply shootem up, it is the tales of these 5 young thugs and their way of life. Hood life here is portrayed in a brutally honest fashion. This is evident in songs like Mr Bill Collector, First of the Month (these thugs' ode to welfare checks), Buddah lovaz (their ode to relaxin their minds with weed, and Crossroad (there ode to thier fallen homies). The lyrical content, as deep and as honest and as brutally provocative as it is, is not the highlight of the album. The true highlightes come in the producion and the flow of the Bone. The production on this album could teach the club oriented producers out there a thing or two about create music making. DJ Uneek's basslines and keyboards are brilliant. They are hypnotic and evoke the songs mood and feeling perfectly. The production on this album is up there with both Chronic albums and any NWA album. But the true ingredient to this masterpiece is the flow of bone. They simply sound so good incorperating lightning fast raps with smooth harmonies. Imagine a group with 5 members that can sound amazing spitting rapid fire raps (Est 1999, Eternal, Die Die Die)as well as sounding equally as good, if not better on soulful harmonies (Crossroad, Buddah Lovaz, Bud Smokers Only). Its mind blowing the talent and creativity that this group has. Its too bad they have faded over the years through a bad record label and a genre of music that eats up radio friendly club songs with the same beats and rhymes. Pick up this album or the shorter but better Creepin On Ah Come Up. By that time you will be properly adjusted to handle their double CD the Art of War. Satisfaction guarunteed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eternally Classic, Oct. 7 2003
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This is the breakthrough CD that put Bone on the map. It contains the always pleasing "Crossroads" as well as many other hidden gems. The CD is awesome from top to bottom.
When you think of Bone you think of one word: style. The thugs from the double glock are always coming with that lightning fast Cleveland style. They require you to study their lyrics many times before you even come close to getting what they're saying, and even then it can be a little touch and go at times. Nevertheless, the combination of 4 distinct voices creates the most unique sound in rap.
The Bone Thugs explore singing combined with rap in a way that blends hard core and harmony in a way that nobody else can touch. They go from super fast raps to singing songs, often having shockingly violent choruses such as: "Keeping them on the run, with a me shot gun", and of course "Pop Pop, givin up shotz, to the double glock glock".
They explore every issue from blind thug violence to welfare. While the thugs really fail to give us any compelling material to work with, in these issues they manage to create beautiful songs from these images. Bone creates the street image more than they aim to solve problems in E. 1999. Eternal. While not as raw and shocking as Creepin on ah Come Up, they still show more than traces of indiscriminate violent tendencies.
The quintessential Bone issue is, ahem, smoking grass. The Bone Thugs will stop at no end to glorify the use of grass. Although I don't love the rappers for recommending marijuana or any other drugs to the listeners, I have to say that Bone does it perfectly. They create wonderful ballads to the drug, and it is mentioned literally hundreds of times in the album. While most all rappers express love for the chronic the Bone Thugs harp on it in a way that eventually becomes humorous.
At the end of the day, Bone isn't about lyrical substance. They manipulate the language in new and innovative ways. They create a sound that is completely unique and their rhymes are constantly brilliant. Even after saying that - the Bone Thugs are occasionally compelling which is what pushes them up to the highest level of rap in this album. While keeping the style relentlessly flowing, the thugs create some truly touching material. It doesn't happen every song, but once in a while they create a Tha Crossroads type feeling.
My favorite track would have to be Tha Crossroads which is written as Crossroad on the back of the album's cover. It never gets old, and it has a marvelous message, lyrics, style, subject matter, and a very pleasing beat. It is definitely one of the greatest songs of all time. You gotta really hear it to feel its wonderfulness. Other very-well done tracks are Mo' Murda, East 1999, Eternal, Shotz to Tha Double Glock, 1st of tha Month, and Land of Tha Heartless (which contains my favorite line of rap, "N****z get vicious with my clique cause even the b*****s carry guns").
I won't blindly praise the CD, I'll just give it a very high recommendation. They're fast, and they're cool. I never got sick of E. 1999 Eternal although I bought it 8 years ago. So, if you consider yourself a fan of rap and you don't own this album, then, well, you are not a rap fan and never will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars open your mind to real rap, Sept. 8 2003
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
Bone Thugs are one of the realists who are keeping rap alive today and this CD proves that they are better than any other rapper today. Those who do not know who Bone Thugs N Harmony are, they are "5 true thugs (as they say in 'ETERNAL'. It's true!) from the double glocks" who were originally created by Eazy-E, an ex-member of last generation's best rap group, N.W.A. Ever since, they have been releasing albums which all deserve a 5 star in my mind but this is by far their best album ever released. It consists of 16 mind-blowing tracks which are all hard to skip. The production is very, VERY tight but evil. But who said evil beats aren't cool? Examples of this are songs like DIE DIE DIE, DOWN '71 (THE GETAWAY), EAST 1999 and CREPT AND WE CAME. However, Bone do show their brighter side and the results are extraordinary. The TRUE gem of this CD is without a doubt, THA CROSSROADS, which is one of my favorite rap songs of all time. Words cannot describe how EXCELLENT this track was, it has such a honest and powerful meaning to it and the tune is just one of Bone's finest ever, very smooth and soft. Another classic is MO MURDA which should have been released, SHOTZ TO THE DOUBLE GLOCKS, DIE DIE DIE, EAST 1999 and BUDSMOKERS ONLY. .... Chill and let Bone Thugs open your mind to real rap.
PEACE
JK DOG
...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ORIGINAL STYLE, June 14 2003
By 
Killa Bone (Pittsburgh, PA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: E 1999 Eternal (Audio CD)
This is the best rap album i've ever heard. I am a true bone thug fan. I've been for years. i have all there albums but Eternal is the best. Every single track on this cd is the bomb. I especially like East1999,Eternal,Down 71,Mr.Billcollector,
Land of the Heartless,1st of tha month,Mo Murda, and Shotz 2 da double glock.Bone has such great music and it is original. Crucial conflict and Do or Die can't even be compared to those Notorius thugs.Bone had that style first all the rest are just imitators. Oh and twista is not faster than bone. He is fast dont get me wrong but Bone is Faster and had that quick style first.He might be faster than wish but thats the only one.He Cant see Bizzy.Bone is my niggas 4 life and that will never change. I'm there #1 fan and u can bet on that.Bone, stay Thuggish Ruggish and keep comin out wit tight music, one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

E 1999 Eternal
E 1999 Eternal by Bone Thugs N Harmony (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews