Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome
I watch this show sporadically when it was on in the late nineties but really wanted to see the whole series. It did not disappoint. I can't wait for season 3 to arrive
Published 8 months ago by Trudie

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars great show but not worth the money
this is an awesome show, but the bang for the buck simply isn't there.
an 8 episode dvd set for 55+ dollars?
are you mad?
other than that it really is a great show, and I would snag this up quick if it were priced accordingly.
29.99 anyone?
Published on July 20 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Complete Series, Jan. 20 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Got it, to complete the full set!!! Now I have all 5 seasons. Thank you for having this one available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, Nov. 3 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
I watch this show sporadically when it was on in the late nineties but really wanted to see the whole series. It did not disappoint. I can't wait for season 3 to arrive
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars HBO's Finest, Feb. 13 2009
By 
Heather Glasgow (Vancouver, BC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
This griping look inside the American penal system will leave you gasping for air and wanting more. As HBO's first original series, "OZ" set the stage for "The Sopranos," "Rome," "Deadwood" and many more. As an HBO fan, I picked up "OZ" long after the series had closed. It was hard for me to believe that it started in 1997, as it deals with ground breaking subject matter in a balls out fashion (literally!). "OZ" forces the viewer to question our widely excepted system of contemporary crime and punishment, as it takes us into a world entirely real, and mostly unknown.

If you're tired of milky prime-time TV shows, get this DVD and have your mind blown. Trust me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars OZ 1st.SEASON,OZ 2ND.SEASON, Feb. 22 2004
By 
RICK NEELY (LANCASTER, S.C.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
EACH SEASON IS 8 HRS. [480 MINS.]OF ON THE EDGE OF YOUR CHAIR SUSPENSE.WE TALK ABOUT THE REALITY SHOWS ON TV NOW WELL THATS OZ IS REALITY BEHIND THE BARS.LEE TERGESENS DID A GREAT JOB.IM 50 YEARS OLD NOW AND SEEN A LOT BUT OZ IS NUMBER ONE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Appreciated.., Feb. 5 2004
By 
J. Talbot (Toronto, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
OZ Season 2 is when Fontana and the crew really start to develop the edge that made OZ such a success. Some key characters are developed quite nicely. Beecher has completely hatched out of his OZ cocoon as his entire life's morals have been put into a blender and spit out again. The brutality and corruptness of the inmates and hacks are full blown. Season 2 really sets the stage for Season 3 and 4 (arguably the best seasons of OZ). If you only have the money to buy one season, buy season 2 over season 1. You won't regret it. Then go buy season 3 at the end of Feb. 2004 (Took them long enough to release it)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good, Jan. 31 2004
By 
"louandchrisbooksplus" (Pompton Lakes, New Jersey USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
This series isn't for everyone.The series does portrays the stark realities of prison life and is well written. Don't purchase 2nd season without seeing 1st season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fontana's Mythic Vision, Jan. 21 2004
By 
R. W. Rasband (Heber City, UT) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
At first glance, Tom Fontana's extraordinary television series "Oz" seems to be a hyper-naturalistic view of the hellish life behind bars in American prisons. It is that, of course. But the title is a tip-off that Fontana also has larger, more mythic concerns on his mind. His tortured Catholicism plays a role in the world-view presented here, as it did in his wonderful earlier series "Homicide: Life on the Street" and "St. Elsewhere." It turns out that Oz (the prison) is a kind of purgatory where wounded spirits struggle with good and evil. Even the best (like administators Tim McManus and Leo Glynn) are highly fallible, even misguided and foolish at times. And even the worst prisoners have sparks of humanity in them. These worst include the amazingly terrifying Simon Adebisi, the larger-than-life Nigerian criminal who controls the heroin trade in Oz. And J.K. Simmons deserves some kind of special award for his portrayal of Vern Schillinger, the leader of the neo-Nazi prisoners. He is the worst human being imaginable, but Simmons plays him with such style and elan that you have to grant the devil his due. As the recappers on "Television Without Pity" put it, if "Oz" were more well known, Schillinger would join Hannibal Lecter and Norman Bates in the Fictional Villains Hall of Fame.
The battle for the souls of these men is best shown in the ordeal of Tobias Beecher, an upper-class lawyer who is convicted of a drunk-driving homicide and finds himself in the middle of this inferno. His horrible experiences in Oz reach a Job-like intensity. The second season sees the arrival of actor Christopher Meloni as the sociopathic Chris Keller. The three-way tango of betrayal between Keller, Beecher, and Schillinger is absolutely chilling. The storytelling of "Oz" is intricate, densely layered, and paced like a rocket taking off. If you miss five minutes of a single episode you may miss the fate of a character's entire life being sealed. There is a heightened, almost magic realism to much of what goes on. (In the land of Oz, it only takes a few weeks from a death sentenced being pronounced until its execution; and each episode is narrated by inmate Augustus Hill inside some kind of omni-aware, postmodern space.) This can be a little disconcerting at first, but the final impact is exhilarating. If you can take the intense (but never gratuitous) violence and the hair-raising prison sex, "Oz" is a wild ride from one of the best writers working in television.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Oz is kind of over-priced but I love it, Dec 22 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Oz was one of the best shows on tv and im very upset that it is off. I was very excited to purchase this dvd but i agree with some others when they say that it is kinda over-priced. it may be expensive but its worth the money cause i love this show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A great follow-up to the first season., Nov. 8 2003
By 
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
Season 1 ended leaving all of us in question about what happend after the whole riot incident occured. We were left in confusion as to just who died, who lived, and what the punishment would be to the prisoners. Luckily, the first episode of season 2 goes into detail about the aftermath of the riot aznd answers all of our much-asked questions.
Season 2 further develops all the characters, adds great new storys, and introduces one of the most consistent and greatest storylines of Oz history: The bizarre Beecher-Keller love story. This season may have it's share of boring moments, but it's an overall great DVD set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars great show but not worth the money, July 20 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Oz: Complete Second Season (DVD)
this is an awesome show, but the bang for the buck simply isn't there.
an 8 episode dvd set for 55+ dollars?
are you mad?
other than that it really is a great show, and I would snag this up quick if it were priced accordingly.
29.99 anyone?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Oz: Complete Second Season
Oz: Complete Second Season by Nick Gomez (DVD - 2002)
CDN$ 29.00 CDN$ 28.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews