Customer Reviews


70 Reviews
5 star:
 (42)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Man vs Mouse
Last week, thanks once again to the wonderful Patio theater located on Irving Park at Austin, I caught a delightful fantasy film. It was the Dreamworks production Mouse Hunt.
Two brothers inherit the family string business (Smuntz String) and a run-down old house. Neither is worth anything. Or so it seems at first. The house was designed by an eccentric architect...
Published on April 22 2004 by Joshua Koppel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny But Not Particularly Memorable
As I write this, the average rating for MOUSE HUNT is 3-1/2 stars, which strikes me as a pretty fair evaluation. The movie is funny, and the chemistry between Nathan Lane and Lee Evans is good. In fact, the performances are generally good. Walken is hilarious as the overly intense exterminator. Even the mouse is great. Beyond that, though, the broad slapstick humor is...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by AntiochAndy


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A Cute & Funny Movie., Jan. 8 2000
By 
Jake Bishop (North America (Colorado, USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
That movie was pretty funny. I thought that all of the parts were funny about how the old expensive house that Ernie & Lars lived in was always getting all torn up all the time. Even all because of the Mouse. But it looked cute where the mouse was rolling the big cheese down there Hallway, after they set a trap for him. But it was funny where the Brothers & The Men always tried to ketch the Mouse, and they always got hurt for it. But I think that there are 2 problems in this movie. One was where Lars stuck his hand down that one girl's dress, trying to ketch the Mouse. And then the last problem is about where Ernie stuck his hand down Lars' Pants trying to get the Mouse too. Those 2 parts were pretty discusting! But the rest of that movie was pretty funny, and goofy, and cute. I think that the best part is where Caeser (The Exterminator) goes flying down through the house, and he ends up at his Car looking all beat up, and mad, right when the Mouse walks across him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOUSE HUNT, Aug. 25 2002
By 
Jeff Carter (Perry, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS MOVIE IS LIKE HOME ALONE WITH A MOUSE INSTEAD OF A CHILD.
NATHAN LANE(ERNIE SMUTZ)AND LEE(LARS SMUTZ)INHERIT A HOUSE
AND FIND OUT IT IS WORTH A LOT AND TRY TO FIX IT UP AND AUCTION
IT. ...
A MATCH.THERE'S A LOT OF OTHER FUNNY SCENES IN THIS MOVIE.
THE DVD HAS A COOL MENU.THIS MENU FEATURES NATHAN LANES EYEBALLS
MOVING AS THE MOUSE RUNS BACK IN FORTH WITH THE CHEESE.WHEN YOU
GO INTO ONE OF THE FEATURES THE MOUSE SUDDENLY RUNS TOWARD THE
TV SCREEN.THE SCENE INDEX HAS DIFFERENT MUSIC ON EACH SCREEN.
THEIRS 4 IN ALL.THERE'S 10 DELETED SCENES AND 2 TRAILERS.
THE PICTURE ON THIS DISC LOOKS IMPRESSIVELY SHARP.THIS DISC
HAS THE WIDESCREEN VERSION ON ONE SIDE AND THE PAN AND SCAN
ON THE OTHER ONE.THIS IS THE DOLBY DIGITAL VERSION.THE DTS
VERSION IS BAREBONED AND ONLY FEATURES THE MOVIE BUT FROM
WHAT I'VE READ ON THE INTERNET THE DTS SUPPOSELY HAS A SLIGHTLEY
BETTER PICTURE.IF YOU LIKE HOME ALONE THAN BUY THIS VERY FUNNY
MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny...funny...funny, March 15 2003
By 
Gregory Nyman (Winchendon, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
This movie is a laughfest. The first time I saw it, I couldn't control my funny bone, and its comic brilliance continues from start to finish. Its stars are totally believable as two men who are trying to "outdo" a mouse who lives in a house they move into. The slapstick is original and the premise is also original, and what the cast does to the house in order to route out a mouse is outrageous fun.
The only downside to this film is the little side trips into sexual innuendo, which I thought spoiled the movie in spots, but overall....This is a classic movie, and you won't go wrong with viewing it. Some parental guidance is necessary if the kids are watching, but it's something out of Laurel and Hardy movie or Keystone Cops caper.
The ending surely sets a new standard, too, for redeeming what appeared to be a totally helpless situation. Watch it and roar, and keep the kleenex around, for the tears of laughter!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A world without string is chaos...................., Nov. 22 2002
By 
Nicole (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
Mouse Hunt is definitely a comedy to watch and while the concept about two men trying to rid their house of a pesky mouse might seem silly, after watching it you will find yourself laughing. Ernie Schmuntz played by Nathan Lane and Lars Schmuntz played by Lee Evans are brothers who after the death of their father inherit an ancient house from him. After finding out from the historical society that the house is an ancient goldmine they start to renovate the house in order for it to be ready for the auction to be sold. In the process Ernie and Lars and trying everything in their power to get rid of this pest from adopting a ferocious cat named Katzilla to hunt down and eat the mouse, to hiring a very eccentric exterminator named Caeser wonderfully played by Christopher Walken. This movie has a lot of slapstick comedy, great acting, and a mouse that just steals the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mouse in the House, Feb. 22 2000
By 
Stefan Haselsteiner (Cape Town, Western Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
Sweet natured and irresistibly cute, MouseHunt pairs two brothers against the likes of a small mouse that has taken up its abode in a musty, damp old house the two brothers have just inherited from their father. What seems, ever so like a simple plan of releasing the house from one small mouse, escalates into a full scale war where the deductions of logical thinking are completley tossed to the wind. Fun for a while, the film soon sinks into one labouriously hatched plan to the next, plans that never seem to get rid of the mouse. Echoing films of the late Laurel and Hardy, the slapstick comedy somehow all seems to have been done before in other countless films. Lane and Evans however work together wonderfully diverting attention away form the mediocraties that exist. Cute and fun loving, the kids should find it a blast to see a mouse outwitt two grownup men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Mickey, and a great movie for adults as well, March 25 1999
By A Customer
Mousehunt is an absolutely fantastic movie. The best part about it is that the adults will love just as much as the kids, if not a little bit more (it's ok, you don't have to admit it). Lee Evans' physical comedy is classic and he has it down to a science. He was even better in "Funnybones". The best part of the entire movie, however, is the exterminator, "Caesar",played by my favorite actor, Christopher Walken. That segment was so hilarious, I laughed to the point where my cheek muscles cramped. The rest is just as good, I just am biased in Walken's contribution for obvious reasons. A classic addition to any home theater colletion! I give it two thumbs up while pointing both big toes skyward as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2 grown comedians chased in unknown territory by a mouse..., April 16 2001
By 
The settings and the directory is exeptionally well made and draws you into the plot of the movie from the very start.
While the comedy itself is of a smaller scale you have to be amuzed if you just stop to read between the lines and have a little imagination about what these two guys are going trough to demolish this mouse, ending up demolishing a 4 stories Mansion out somewhere in nowhere... Im laughing just thinking about it.
The comedy is much like Home Alone in the sense of "territory", where in this case a mouse outsmarts the intruders with rather painfull solutions to the them. They are all over but the mouse escapes with even a little bit of luck.
Not a must own but definetly worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It happens in the best of homes..., Sept. 20 2001
By 
Patricia Spillane Smith (Fredericksburg, VA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
Two innocent, hardworking homeowners attempt to outwit a diabolical rodent bent on destroying their dreams of financial success in real estate. This is the comic premise of "Mouse Hunt", starring Nathan Lane and Lee Eevans, and featuring Chrisotopehr Walken. Director Gore Verbinski brings out the best in his talented cast, combining superb acting and comic timing with some witty special effects. In the opinion of this viewer and her young children, he succeeds in making a most entertaining and hilarious comedy! The score by Alan Silvestri features wonderful juxtapositions of jazzy music with serious scenes, creating hysterical results. Superb!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars somthing remind you of Tom and Jerry?, Aug. 17 2000
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The reviews for this movie are polarized. It is not that the color, sound, display, and actors are being evaluated. It is the genre and the content. For someone who thinks this is to risqué and just want Tom and Jerry then watch (Tom and Jerry's Greatest Chases ASIN: B00003JRAJ.) If you are into Laurel and Hardy then watch (Lost Films of Laurel & Hardy Vol 01 ASIN: B00000FE36) the rest of us can enjoy this simple formula movie. Sorry but no recommendations for those that do not like formula movies. The three stars are because there are better formula movies. It was four stars but many people did not agree with me so I re-evaluated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very underrated, Oct. 27 1999
By A Customer
This film took me by surprise. I gave it 5 stars because of the computer graphics and characters. Lee Evans is in it as one of the brothers. If you are unfamiliar with him, he is a very funny English stand-up comedian, and he's only recently hit the big-time in Hollywood. (first movie - 5th Element) Christopher Walken is briefly in it and of course he plays another strange role. His acting in this is my personal favourite. I don't like the other main actor, but in this film he's okay, unlike the Birdcage. SO WATCH IT! And ignore the review below mine because whoever wrote it has probably never cracked a laugh in their life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mousehunt
Mousehunt by Gore Verbinski (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 4.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews