Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Man vs Mouse
Last week, thanks once again to the wonderful Patio theater located on Irving Park at Austin, I caught a delightful fantasy film. It was the Dreamworks production Mouse Hunt.
Two brothers inherit the family string business (Smuntz String) and a run-down old house. Neither is worth anything. Or so it seems at first. The house was designed by an eccentric architect...
Published on April 22 2004 by Joshua Koppel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Funny But Not Particularly Memorable
As I write this, the average rating for MOUSE HUNT is 3-1/2 stars, which strikes me as a pretty fair evaluation. The movie is funny, and the chemistry between Nathan Lane and Lee Evans is good. In fact, the performances are generally good. Walken is hilarious as the overly intense exterminator. Even the mouse is great. Beyond that, though, the broad slapstick humor is...
Published on Feb. 18 2004 by AntiochAndy


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Good Movie, Fantastic Disc, Dec 12 1998
By A Customer
Mousehunt Dreamworks SKG 1.85:1/PS/16x9/Dolby Digital
"Mousehunt" is a story about the brothers Smuntz, Ernie and Lars; two brothers who always seem to be down on their luck. Ernie has just lost his job as a restauraunt owner; Lars, well, Lars didn't even have a job. Then, one day, their father, who owned the biggest string factory around, dies. He leaves the brothers the factory and an old house. Not terribly impressed with what they get, the brothers suddenly find out that the old house is worth millions; the only problem is one little mouse that won't give up his house so easily.
I didn't catch "Mousehunt" till it was released on video, and, to my suprise, I really enjoyed it. It has somewhat of a warped sensibility and tone for a "kids" film, but I found it has a certain enjoyable edge. Imagine if the Coen Brothers("The Big Lebowski") directed a kids film and you'll understand into what territory you're headed. Performances are generally very good as well from British comic Lee Evans("There's Something About Mary") and Nathan Lane, who is amazingly much more funny here than in his failing sitcom, "Encore, Encore". It may not be for the youngest of kids, but there are many out there who I think might find this "different" kids film funny. The work done bringing the mouse to screen(a mix of real, anamatronic and FX mice) is also very well done. As much as I liked the movie, I also marvel at its technical work.
The Disc:
Picture: So good. So very good. "Mousehunt" is absolutely, positively goregous looking on this disc. "Mousehunt" is one of those titles that will definitely, or should definitely, set a standard for excellence in picture quality. There are absolutely no artifacts that I could see and the pictures contrast and clarity are outstanding; the shadows and light in the indoor scenes are also breathtakingly transfered to disc. Color saturation is perfect; images are stunning and vibrant throughout. Dreamworks has done an outstanding job.
Audio: Superb as well, bringing Alan Silvestri's wonderful score to digital life. Sounds are picked up wonderfully, from the mouse scattering across the floors or through the walls as well as scenes like the string factory explosion in the beginning. Even when the two brothers are smashing the house as well as themselves to get to the mouse, it's all brought to life wonderfully and richly.
Menus: Really impressively done. Dreamworks has put together a very cute main menu with Lane's eyes following the mouse as it scoots across the screen and back. Scene selection is animated and when you go to the next scene, a piece of cheese comes flying at you not only from the screen but through your speakers.
Extras:Again, a very good job. Both the teaser and full theatrical trailers are included here as well as a selection of deleted scenes(6 in all). What I really liked about the deleted scene menu is it tells you who the star is that is featured in the deleted scene as well as a sentence that gives you a general idea what it's about. There are also the usual texts about each actor as well as notes about the production. But, as with the other menus, I really liked the design.
Box Note: The box also has the little notes bar like the Universal discs have to tell you what kind of sound, disc, etc. Also on the box are notes about the special features. Well done.
Languages: English(Dolby Digital)/ Spanish(Dolby Surround)/ French(Dolby Surround) Subtitles: English Captions/ Spanish Subtitles.
Overall: Dreamworks was the last major studio to jump into DVD, but I don't mind. You know why? Because, maybe they weren't like this, but here is what I imagine after watching this disc: workers at Dreamworks scanning the internet late into the night seeing what people do and don't like; going through mountains of discs, educating themselves as to what is acceptable and what isn't acceptable, doing research upon research as to what makes a good disc. Then when actual production started, I imagine the staff going over and over and over the final product, making sure it's absolutely perfect.
A disc represents who you are. Dreamworks has made it clear that they are proud and that they stand behind their films. One of the best things I can say is that I was so impressed by this disc, it almost made me consider buying the other Dreamworks discs(I *REALLY* disliked both "Peacemaker" and "Small Soldiers") just to see if they were as good as this disc. A job well done.
Running Time:1 hr, 38 min. Region:1 Chapters:20 Disc: Double sided(Pan/Scan on one, LTBX on the other) Rating:PG
Grades: Picture:**** Audio:**** Extras:*** Menus:**** Film:***
Overall:****
This definitely has me excited for future Dreamworks product, like a possible "Antz" special edition as well as "Amistad" and "Paulie."
Review Originally Appeared On The Website, "A Guide TO Current Film."
A. Webmaster, A Guide To Current Film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Cute & Funny Movie., Jan. 8 2000
By 
Jake Bishop (North America (Colorado, USA)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
That movie was pretty funny. I thought that all of the parts were funny about how the old expensive house that Ernie & Lars lived in was always getting all torn up all the time. Even all because of the Mouse. But it looked cute where the mouse was rolling the big cheese down there Hallway, after they set a trap for him. But it was funny where the Brothers & The Men always tried to ketch the Mouse, and they always got hurt for it. But I think that there are 2 problems in this movie. One was where Lars stuck his hand down that one girl's dress, trying to ketch the Mouse. And then the last problem is about where Ernie stuck his hand down Lars' Pants trying to get the Mouse too. Those 2 parts were pretty discusting! But the rest of that movie was pretty funny, and goofy, and cute. I think that the best part is where Caeser (The Exterminator) goes flying down through the house, and he ends up at his Car looking all beat up, and mad, right when the Mouse walks across him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MOUSE HUNT, Aug. 25 2002
By 
Jeff Carter (Perry, Ga United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
THIS MOVIE IS LIKE HOME ALONE WITH A MOUSE INSTEAD OF A CHILD.
NATHAN LANE(ERNIE SMUTZ)AND LEE(LARS SMUTZ)INHERIT A HOUSE
AND FIND OUT IT IS WORTH A LOT AND TRY TO FIX IT UP AND AUCTION
IT. ...
A MATCH.THERE'S A LOT OF OTHER FUNNY SCENES IN THIS MOVIE.
THE DVD HAS A COOL MENU.THIS MENU FEATURES NATHAN LANES EYEBALLS
MOVING AS THE MOUSE RUNS BACK IN FORTH WITH THE CHEESE.WHEN YOU
GO INTO ONE OF THE FEATURES THE MOUSE SUDDENLY RUNS TOWARD THE
TV SCREEN.THE SCENE INDEX HAS DIFFERENT MUSIC ON EACH SCREEN.
THEIRS 4 IN ALL.THERE'S 10 DELETED SCENES AND 2 TRAILERS.
THE PICTURE ON THIS DISC LOOKS IMPRESSIVELY SHARP.THIS DISC
HAS THE WIDESCREEN VERSION ON ONE SIDE AND THE PAN AND SCAN
ON THE OTHER ONE.THIS IS THE DOLBY DIGITAL VERSION.THE DTS
VERSION IS BAREBONED AND ONLY FEATURES THE MOVIE BUT FROM
WHAT I'VE READ ON THE INTERNET THE DTS SUPPOSELY HAS A SLIGHTLEY
BETTER PICTURE.IF YOU LIKE HOME ALONE THAN BUY THIS VERY FUNNY
MOVIE.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars To much black humor and slapstick comedy., June 29 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
This movie was so stupid that I only watched four times. That's rigth I bougth the damn movie, I watched the movie four times, one was for when I bougth it, one for Christmas, one for my cousins and the other for my brother, guess what happen? the first time was funny, second time it was to cruel for a Christmas movie (better buy Muppet Christmas Carol), the third I was bored, the last time I saw I sweared I'll never watched again and it is thanks to the pitiful performances of Nathane lane and his sidekick Lee Evans. The mouse was the cutest thing of the whole movie, and the music was above average by Alan Silvestri (Back To The Future, Ferngully:The Last Rainforest)but the movie and actors need more interesting dialogue, my brother almost cry because the stupid ass brothers tried to kill a cute mouse, if I'm gonna watch black comedy, I prefer watching Death Becomes Her instead, as for the slapstick will be Flubber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny...funny...funny, March 15 2003
By 
Gregory Nyman (Winchendon, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
This movie is a laughfest. The first time I saw it, I couldn't control my funny bone, and its comic brilliance continues from start to finish. Its stars are totally believable as two men who are trying to "outdo" a mouse who lives in a house they move into. The slapstick is original and the premise is also original, and what the cast does to the house in order to route out a mouse is outrageous fun.
The only downside to this film is the little side trips into sexual innuendo, which I thought spoiled the movie in spots, but overall....This is a classic movie, and you won't go wrong with viewing it. Some parental guidance is necessary if the kids are watching, but it's something out of Laurel and Hardy movie or Keystone Cops caper.
The ending surely sets a new standard, too, for redeeming what appeared to be a totally helpless situation. Watch it and roar, and keep the kleenex around, for the tears of laughter!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A world without string is chaos...................., Nov. 22 2002
By 
Nicole (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
Mouse Hunt is definitely a comedy to watch and while the concept about two men trying to rid their house of a pesky mouse might seem silly, after watching it you will find yourself laughing. Ernie Schmuntz played by Nathan Lane and Lars Schmuntz played by Lee Evans are brothers who after the death of their father inherit an ancient house from him. After finding out from the historical society that the house is an ancient goldmine they start to renovate the house in order for it to be ready for the auction to be sold. In the process Ernie and Lars and trying everything in their power to get rid of this pest from adopting a ferocious cat named Katzilla to hunt down and eat the mouse, to hiring a very eccentric exterminator named Caeser wonderfully played by Christopher Walken. This movie has a lot of slapstick comedy, great acting, and a mouse that just steals the show.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Mouse in the House, Feb. 22 2000
By 
Stefan Haselsteiner (Cape Town, Western Cape South Africa) - See all my reviews
Sweet natured and irresistibly cute, MouseHunt pairs two brothers against the likes of a small mouse that has taken up its abode in a musty, damp old house the two brothers have just inherited from their father. What seems, ever so like a simple plan of releasing the house from one small mouse, escalates into a full scale war where the deductions of logical thinking are completley tossed to the wind. Fun for a while, the film soon sinks into one labouriously hatched plan to the next, plans that never seem to get rid of the mouse. Echoing films of the late Laurel and Hardy, the slapstick comedy somehow all seems to have been done before in other countless films. Lane and Evans however work together wonderfully diverting attention away form the mediocraties that exist. Cute and fun loving, the kids should find it a blast to see a mouse outwitt two grownup men.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Better than Mickey, and a great movie for adults as well, March 25 1999
By A Customer
Mousehunt is an absolutely fantastic movie. The best part about it is that the adults will love just as much as the kids, if not a little bit more (it's ok, you don't have to admit it). Lee Evans' physical comedy is classic and he has it down to a science. He was even better in "Funnybones". The best part of the entire movie, however, is the exterminator, "Caesar",played by my favorite actor, Christopher Walken. That segment was so hilarious, I laughed to the point where my cheek muscles cramped. The rest is just as good, I just am biased in Walken's contribution for obvious reasons. A classic addition to any home theater colletion! I give it two thumbs up while pointing both big toes skyward as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 2 grown comedians chased in unknown territory by a mouse..., April 16 2001
By 
The settings and the directory is exeptionally well made and draws you into the plot of the movie from the very start.
While the comedy itself is of a smaller scale you have to be amuzed if you just stop to read between the lines and have a little imagination about what these two guys are going trough to demolish this mouse, ending up demolishing a 4 stories Mansion out somewhere in nowhere... Im laughing just thinking about it.
The comedy is much like Home Alone in the sense of "territory", where in this case a mouse outsmarts the intruders with rather painfull solutions to the them. They are all over but the mouse escapes with even a little bit of luck.
Not a must own but definetly worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars The worst!, May 17 2002
This review is from: Mousehunt (VHS Tape)
This is probably the worst movie I have ever seen. When I saw this movie in theaters in 1997, that is what made me hate movies for more than a year after that. It was absolutely disgusting and grotesque (at the sewage pipe part), I had to leave the theater halfway through. It has slapstick action, and it appears that men must be portrayed as idiots in the media to get noticed! A mouse is brilliant compared to two grown men, right? Out of five stars, Mouse Hunt deserves no more than negative three. I still don't like movies all that much, and it's all because of Mouse Hunt. It is the exact opposite of anything good about movies. Looney Tunes is Harvard material compared to this baloney. Avoid it at all costs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 37 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Mousehunt
Mousehunt by Gore Verbinski (VHS Tape - 2001)
Used & New from: CDN$ 14.42
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews