Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable 30 minutes
"Slow Riot for New Zero Kanada," the second release from the brilliant Godspeed You Black Emperor, is a 30-minute EP that is probably the band's most mainstream friendly release.
And when we're talking about 30 minutes that bend, swirl, explode, buzz and drone as an extended wall of sound, that's saying quit a bit. Because this stuff isn't mainstream AT ALL.
It...
Published on May 15 2004 by Eric San Juan

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars I'm Sorry, But No
I'm sorry, but no. This music combines the pretentious attitude of Keith Jarrett with the musical inventiveness of The Backstreet Boys. You see, on this album the chords and melodies take a back-seat to volume fluctuation. Their music is extremely boring, and not because of my inability to listen to lengthy pieces of music, but for their inability to make those lengthy...
Published on June 1 2003 by Bertson Betterson


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars A truly remarkable 30 minutes, May 15 2004
By 
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
"Slow Riot for New Zero Kanada," the second release from the brilliant Godspeed You Black Emperor, is a 30-minute EP that is probably the band's most mainstream friendly release.
And when we're talking about 30 minutes that bend, swirl, explode, buzz and drone as an extended wall of sound, that's saying quit a bit. Because this stuff isn't mainstream AT ALL.
It is, however, possibly the best introduction for a newcomer to the band, more rooted in traditional noise rock than their other releases, and easily digestible at just 30 minutes or so.
Trying to describe the music of Godspeed You Black Emperor is like trying to describe a dream. You can offer an accurate description, but actually capturing the essence is difficult. One must experience it firsthand.
So, too, is the music difficult to describe. You can describe the instruments and how they go about their business, but until you hear it, you won't have a clear picture of what this band is all about.
Built upon layers of instrumentation by a band that is at times more than a dozen members strong, Godspeed You Black Emperor, or Gybe for short, mix airy, noisy guitar with strings, sound collages, piano, chimes, and much more. They take fairly simple musical themes and, using this vast array of sounds, build them up over a long period, morphing simple melodies until they metamorphosis into something wholly different than what they began as. This isn't simply droning, lulling music. The effect is a journey.
One could liken Gybe records to soundtracks for films that have never been made. It's a description that works, because their music conjures images in your head.
This second release is more focused that the first album. Here, rather than the mish mosh of smaller pieces and collages strung together on the first record, this EP shows Gybe evolving into what they have become, working out what is essentially a single piece (despite "songs" being listed) over 30 minutes. The music rises and falls. The layers here are dense and thick, rising and falling like a tide. Strings swell up and dominate, and then guitar takes over, and then some twisted sound effect. Transition pieces are overlaid with the spoken words of an insane man.
If it all sounds very anti-radio, it is. You won't find this stuff on a top 40 station.
Godspeed You Black Emperor is a superb band for those who enjoy lengthy songs, sprawling soundscapes and music you can sink into. It's a heady experience listening to this stuff. And it's worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best EP you'll ever hear, April 17 2004
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
"slow riot for new zero kanada" is my favourite EP. its a amazing 30 minutes, two amazing song, one amazing short-length album. its just all great. two songs on "slow riot riot for new zero kanada" with the time to be about 30 min. "moya" is great. you get ten minutes of ambience bliss. but the real winner is the last 17-minute "epic", "Blaise Bailey Finnegan III". its not, not epic here people. people tend to throw that word around. this is "epic". quite possibly one of Godspeed You! Black Emperor's best song. this is easily the best album i got for eight bucks. i don't need to be explaining. if you liked F#A# infinity or any of GYBE's others... this is the next album you need. people seem to pass this up just because its a "EP". you're a fool if you do this. one of the best of 1999.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, Inspiring, and Despairing, Feb. 4 2004
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
This is by far my favorite GYBE! recording. First of all it is an EP. It only has two songs but clocks in around 30 minutes regardless. Fans of GYBE!'s other works will not be disappointed with this release.
The first song, Moya, is a beautiful and inspiring masterpiece. In typical GYBE! fashion, it starts quite and serene and builds up to quite down again and to finally climax in a massive orchestral crescendo.
The second song, BBF3, which stands for Blaise Bailey Finnegan the third, is the most powerful song by GYBE! to date. It opens with a man speaking to an interviewer. The man is basically expressing his discontent with America and its government. This seems rather old hat for the band, but it is a very powerful statement that the man so passionately presents climaxing in a reading of Virus, a song by Iron Maiden. All during this powerful dialogue the band is playing , first quite and building in intensity as the man gets more and more emotional. When he is done speaking, the music takes over in full force, with more intensity, emotion and despair than any other GYBE! song. After the climax somewhere between 14/15 minutes, a group of stringed instruments takes over and ends the album on a sombre, and thought provoking note, thus ending another amazing Chapter in GYBE!'s amazing career.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great mood to it, Feb. 1 2004
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
I own 2 of the four major releases by godspeed you! black emperor and i have to say this is my favorite. Although being only a half-hour in length, it shows great strength and great execution (especially on BBF3.) The build up sets the mood of the climax and is a picture of what is to come. The climax is my favorite part, first with the sweet drums and then going to the violin-swipes. You can almost imagine what is happening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Mind-blowing, Nov. 19 2003
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
Usually my attempts to widen my musical horizons meet up with something that's less than desirable. But occasionally something really unique and exciting pops up that makes me reassess the state of music as a whole. Discovering Brian Eno was one of those watershed moments, and GYBE is becoming another one. It's such a refreshing change from all of the copycat stuff that gets put out. Much of the music I really enjoy has a great wide expansive feel to it, and this is no exception. It's breadth and depth are staggering. ...
I've also been listening to Labradford (which I think is better) and Do Make Say Think (which is neither better nor worse, just a slightly different take on the same path) If you like GYBE, try those too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Godspeed, GYBE!, Oct. 21 2003
By 
Lydia C. Wilkes (Monroe, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
This album is like most of GYBE's work: beautiful, alarming, tought-provoking--in short, utterly amazing. "Moya" is one of their best efforts to date; the album is worth buying for that song alone. The dramatic build of the song is incredible; the climax is incredible; the denouement is incredible. If you're already a GYBE fan and you're used to Lift Your Skinny Fists and Yanqui, Slow Riot may leave you a little wanting. It's short. But it's as beautiful as either album mentioned above.
The second track on Slow Riot features a strange dialogue about the state of American government and music that comments on it better than any words could. Here we find less of GYBE's drama and more of their skill to arrangement words and music such that the effect is perhaps more dramatic than their most dramatic works.
If you're new to GYBE, don't buy this album first. Try on something a little longer and easier to digest--Yanqui U.X.O. is a good one for newbies, imo. But as you become used to them, consider adding this one to your collection. I find it indespensible for "Moya" alone. GYBE has no rival in the contemporary scene; they may not even have any equals. In short, if you like GYBE, you'll like this album. It's GYBE doing what they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vocals...who needs 'em!, Sept. 28 2003
By 
Wheelchair Assassin (The Great Concavity) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
Of all the CD's in my vast and ever-expanding collection, "Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada" may well provide the best "mood music." Blurring the lines between rock and the symphony, instrumental ensemble Godspeed You Black Emperor prove that modern music doesn't need vocals to be powerful and evocative. This music is intense, darkly emotive and always brilliantly crafted and played. In less than half an hour, "Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada" displays more power than 99 percent of the bands on the radio will in their whole careers.
The opener "Moya" may start out as a slow and minimal string-driven song, but that doesn't last long. It soon evolves into an incredibly dense, cathartic soundscape, with new instruments entering the fray until they build to a thunderous crescendo. Although this music is largely orchestral and genuinely pretty, make no mistake: these guys can rock. Hard-hitting drums and piercing guitars join with the exquisite strings to create mammoth swells of eerie orchestration. Grand melodies abound throughout the song, resulting in an epic, symphonic sweep that few can match.
The second track, "BBF3," may be even more entrancing. This song doesn't have any vocals, but it does introduce some words in the form of a paranoid rant interspersed with the music. Rather than becoming a distraction, however, the dialogue only serves to add to the song's already dramatic air. Not that GYBE need much help in creating drama: "BBF3" exploits tension and dynamics in a manner that would make Mogwai proud. Quiet, subdued passages build anticipation before giving way to full-on onslaughts that may actually make you bang your head. Around the seven- and twelve- minute marks, there are transitions so well-executed they had me twitching from pleasure overload, and you may well find yourself having a similar experience.
Perhaps most importantly, this album (or EP, as the case may be), is made to last. Although the inital jolt of hearing these songs is often staggering, repeated listens reveal even more wrinkles, ensuring that anyone with an ear for detail can find hours of enjoyment here. For the discriminating music listener, this CD is a must. So dig in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Right Stuff, July 23 2003
By 
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
This is some of the best music you could possibly find anywhere.
This is music for those who need to be disturbed.It may be an EP
but it is well worth the giving price for don't be fooled by the need of tracks it is surely lenthy,about 30 minutes long.A true masterpiece
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, June 5 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
This album has two songs, one approx. 11 mins, the other is approx. 18 minutes. These two songs are so epic in scope, it's quite hard to find something to even compare them to, you truly have to hear it for yourself to believe it.
I suppose if you're used to Godspeed, you know what to expect. If you're not though, and you just wandered here, you should most definitely check these guys out. I dont think you'll be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I'm not sorry....Yes!, June 5 2003
By 
Lee L. (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada (Audio CD)
The most important thing that a person must have when listening to Godspeed is patience. With each record of theirs that I have, I've always had to wait through several weeks of listening before the power and beauty hit me.
This ep is no different. It's not just the same chords and melodies repeated like some may say. It doesn't have the melodic diversity that classical music has, but this isn't classical music so that comparison shouldn't be made.
This album is full of emotional peaks and valleys because of the volume changes and the changing mood that is evoked by tensions and releases. During the intense parts of the record you can feel yourself floating up to the clouds, and then slowly coming back down to earth when the music eases back off.
The way the music on the second track hangs off of the sampled guy ranting about the government is fantastic and is always fun to listen to. This is a definite step up from their first album. It's more cohesive and shows growth in song writing ability.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xad47b09c)

This product

Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada
Slow Riot For New Zero Kanada by Godspeed You! Black Emperor (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews