Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For The Amazing Title Track, Nov. 11 2002
By 
nadav haber (jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
It is hard to tell how this CD would sound without the wonderful, 15 minutes long title track. Certainly the magic of this track is a big part of the CD's success.
Idle Moments is one of those rare moments in recorded music when the musicians and the music become one, uniting in spirit around the musical fire. This needs to be heard, to understand the potential of improvised music to express love and unity.
But the rest of the CD does contain elements that make it special as well.
As a saxophone player I love the way in which Joe Henderson follows the lead of Grant Green, demonstrating that a sax player does not have to be in front in order to play beautifully.
Bobby Hutcherson's part in every recording he has played on has been crucial - here his sound and tasteful playing is one of the main ingredients to the overall success. Duke Pearson contributed the title track as well the fast tempo Nomad. His playing is sensitive and group oriented throughout.
A lot has been written on Green's special playing and his leadership - he deserves all compliments. The drummer and bass players share in this celebration of ego-less group spirit that makes this music so special.
The lesson that this music taught me is that when talent and mutual love and understanding join forces, the result is outstanding. This should be the aim of every musician. And to think that most of the musicians here were in their twenties when they reached this high level of musicianship - it is a testimony to their greatness and to the power of the group to elevate its member.
Needless to say - HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful., Nov. 2 2002
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I own a number of Grant's albums and this is still the best. The in-depth title track is great music, played with subtlety and grace. The vibes sound especially nice on this tune. The others are all top-notch too, especially "Django". IDLE MOMENTS evokes a relaxed atmosphere with its title, but the music more than keeps your attention. It is relaxing, but it's not lounge music. A great set by a great guitarist with great sidemen. Not to be missed.
Essential.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Biography has already been written.., Jan. 28 2002
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
..so i will tone it down and try to say only a few words--, Grant Green has been a favorite of mine since I first heard him in 1966!
A note to jazz neophytes, Mr Grant can be compared to rock guitar "legend" Carlos Santana in the fact that , like Santana, "G.G." was not a pure technician of the guitar, nor an improvisior of endless creativity,as was WES Montgomery for example. Grant Green's "greatness" was a result of his COMPLETELY INDIVIDUAL frasing , and infinite swing! I have a "list" of all of his pet frases locked up inside my head!
Like Santana, he consistantly reached into his "bag of tricks"(and licks) that are immediately identifiable , his personal signature. No wonder he was gracing SO MANY Blue Note recording sessions---jazz guitar is the HARDEST instrument in which to develope a distinct "voice", hands down fact!
This recording is not only timeless from a "jazz history" perspective, but for me personally, A DREAM Session..
the musicians on the session are all favorites of mine, Bobby Hutcherson, master improvisor on the vibes, the distinct , rich tenor saxophonics of Joe Henderson, ELVIN (!!), and the tracks composed by the unheralded jazz arranger/composer, Duke Pearson.
From languid stantements as the title track, and John Lewis' standard "Django" to the absolutely BURNIN' "Jean de Fleur" and "Nomad", you can say about this session, "the POTS were ON!"
A real shame, Jean de Fleur was edited for the release , and these guys could have(should have, PROBABLY DID..) go on blowing forever, a classic Blue note track!
1000000000000 stars is not gonna do it, add as many extra zeros AFTER you listen to the musics within!! ciao
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A relaxed masterpiece, Feb. 10 2002
By 
G B (Connecticut) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Among Grant Green's umpteen recordings for Blue Note, this is probably the best. (Though it gets some stiff competition from Matador and a few others.) His beautiful, relaxed improvisation on the gorgeous title track is a perfect instance of "every note in its right place" (Miles would have been proud). Vibes player Bobby Hutcherson and tenor saxophonist Joe Henderson were still relatively unknown when this CD was recorded but they play like old pros, while bassist Bob Cranshaw and drummer Al Harewood provide a sturdy, swinging support to the music.
Idle Moments is one of the finest jazz guitar albums ever recorded and an essential part of any collection. Kenny Burrell's Midnight Blue is also up there. If you want to hear more of Grant Green's playing, pick up Matador (with McCoy Tyner and Elvin Jones) and Larry Young's Into Somethin' (with Sam Rivers, Larry Young, and Elvin Jones).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grants best!, Dec 19 2000
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
Idle moments is by far Grant Greens best album. That not to say that his other music (the matador, standards, alive) isn't any or as good. This Cd just stands out a little more than his others, there something about it that is special. It could be the fearsome sextet which features Joe henderson on tenor saxophone ,Bobby Hutcherson on vibes, Duke Pearson on piano, Bob Cranshaw on bass and Al Harewood on drums. Together they all sizzle whether it's on the on the magnum opus title cut , on the swinging Jean de fleur or on the mid tempo django. Maybe it's the remastering which is also excellent. All of the music on this Cd sounds crystal clear almost like they are plaing in the same room with you. But I believe it's the playing of Grant green which is exceptional as usual. He swings when he has to and can still give you the listener shivers with his patent single note playing. Like I said this is Grants best and shouldn't be missed by fans of jazz music and especially not by Grant Green junkies. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Quintessential Green album, May 27 2000
By 
Tom Aiken (Southern California) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
If you're never heard Grant Green's guitar work before, this is the place to start. Not only because Green is playing at his finest, but so his is his all-star supporting cast which includes Joe Henderson on tenor sax, Bobby Hutcherson on vibes, and Duke Pearson on piano. The Pearson penned title-cut may be my single favorite recorded cut in jazz history. Each of the aforementioned soloists does some incredible work. The piece is laid-back and languid, but with incredible soul. The rest of the tunes vary in tempo but most have the same lazy, smoky feel to them while sounding fiercely inspired.
Idle Moments also happens to sound incredible in its newly remastered edition by the legendary Rudy Van Gelder. Its one of the best sounding discs in the series even. Those of you who own the original Blue Note release should definitely consider the upgrade.
Highly recommened for anyone with an interest in jazz or those looking for a place to develop one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars General Grant, April 11 2003
By 
"oohbopshebam" (Kew Gardens, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
When you hear people moaning about for the past, and complain about the music of the present in jazz--this album gives you an idea why. The intimacy, spontaneity, sincerity and warmth of the title cut and each of the players work on it. Their understated mastery requires no long treatise or ironic liner notes. Just great music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Cool, Sept. 12 2002
By 
Amazon Customer (Woodside, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
I heard this for the first time at my son's home in Tokyo. He is a guitarist, and I respect his choices. I consider myself fairly knowledgeable about jazz, but I had never heard of GG.
This is one cool record, start to finish, and I have listened to it many times. I got a copy for myself.
Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Blue Note, superb Grant Green, July 29 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
By any standard, this was a seminal session with all of the players at a masterful level, featuring a legendary 14 minute rendition of Duke Pearson's ballad "Idle Moments". You also get "Django" on two tracks (including a 13 minute alternate take)where the group is relaxed and perfect in a "minor" groove. The session has a great nocturnal, cool and blue feeling. Everybody is "on", the music has appeal for both the serious jazz listener who wants to hear tremendous chops, as well as the more casual listener who wants to drop a CD into the machine for a wonderful and relaxed evening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A legendary recording...., June 19 2001
By 
Anders Jonasson (Bankeryd Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Idle Moments (Audio CD)
My first idea with this review was only to refer to the 10 other reviewers which in fact gives a very good impression how Grants music is perceived at different levels.As I understand some of these reviews are done by pretty young people,and that is nice to see. I just wished that Green would have lived, in order to to see all the positive reactions from allover the place. Jean de Fleur and Django are highlights of course but also check out Greens odd licks on Nomad, those licks are a true evidence that Green was a "real" improviser" he played whatever came up in his mind. Amen!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Idle Moments
Idle Moments by Green Grant (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews