Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No she di-uhn": A different type of review
Okay, so I've read every review on this movie, and none of them touch upon the things that I (and most of my friends) personally think make this movie great. One might say this movie is man-bashing, woman-empowering, etc, etc, and while it IS about these things, I think that those aspects pale in comparison to why this movie is great for me: these women are such DIVAS,...
Published on Dec 6 2003

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars three Stars for Angela bassett. Buy the book instead.
Waiting to Exhale The movie is like a Cliff's note version of the book. A thin condensed version of the novel that skims the surface of the source material and gives the viewer a general overview of the actual story. This watered down movie dilutes the richness of Terry McMillan's novel and removes all the depth and substance from the characters. The key theme of women...
Published on July 31 2003 by SHAWN JAMES


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "No she di-uhn": A different type of review, Dec 6 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
Okay, so I've read every review on this movie, and none of them touch upon the things that I (and most of my friends) personally think make this movie great. One might say this movie is man-bashing, woman-empowering, etc, etc, and while it IS about these things, I think that those aspects pale in comparison to why this movie is great for me: these women are such DIVAS, it's RIDICULOUSLY hilarious! The lines that come out of their mouths, and the situations that they get themselves into are utterly jaw-dropping, causing you to say "NO SHE DIDN'T" just say that! "No, she DIDN'T just do that!" "NO SHE DIDN'T" just have sex with a man and say "my body NEEDS this!" You are constantly left absolutely amazed with the boldness, brashness, and utter DIVA-ness of these crazy hoochie ghetto mamas, who do and say the things that you wouldn't dare do yourself. If you are into seeing beautiful black divas who know they da sh*t, work their bad-a** selves and shake their booties, and still come out clean without breakin their acrylic nails, then you will think this movie is off the hizzy. If you don't understand what I just meant when I said all that, then you probably won't appreciate the humor in these BLACK DIVAS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The feeling of freedom, May 6 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (DVD)
What first attracted me to this movie was the theme song ( waiting to exhale) or as I call it waiting for the new life. I am really amazed with how the society of Afro American life is presented in this movie characters were all well chosen. I do recommend this movie to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Blah Blah Blah @ The Critiquing Of This Movie, April 24 2004
By 
D. H. Johnson "the beautiful one" (Birmingham, Alabama United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great movie, will definately keep you laughing at the Diva's in this movie. So what the movie is not as good and thorough as the book(what movie is?) I mean if you want ever detailed in a book put on screen then we will still be sitting in the movie theatre trying to see the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars good, Dec 30 2003
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
This should have been better but Angela Bassett's performance was the best, so I guess it's worth a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Inhale, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
~_~
That is what it is. Really, you need to 'inhale' the classic. This movie is timeless. It deals with universal laughter and heartaches. Angela Basset gives one hell of a performance.
Also, a "myth" about this movie is that it is "all women" cast. Untrue. Some of the finest black actors are in this movie.
The very expressive soundtrack that features an all woman artist is really cool.
I watch this movie a lot because it really is a fun movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars three Stars for Angela bassett. Buy the book instead., July 31 2003
By 
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
Waiting to Exhale The movie is like a Cliff's note version of the book. A thin condensed version of the novel that skims the surface of the source material and gives the viewer a general overview of the actual story. This watered down movie dilutes the richness of Terry McMillan's novel and removes all the depth and substance from the characters. The key theme of women realizing that they make their own choices regarding the men in their lives is lost in the quest to commercialize black women's pain.
Angela Bassett gives a strong performance despite the weak material, however the other actors drown in this bland, homogenized movie that pushes style over subtance. A wooden Whitney Houston and a vapid Lela Rochon are horribly miscast, and Loretta Devine struggles to do her best with the weak script. The male actors with the exception of Gregory Hines, and Michael Beach cannot get past one dimension because the screenplay won't let them utilize all their acting skills. The Wesley Snipes cameo is indicative of what's wrong with this movie; it's a sellout of the original material. And that is the problem with Waiting to Exhale, a horrible script that compromises the artistic integrity of the original book. Terry McMillan and Ron Bass mistranslate a 400+ page deep novel full of three-dimensional characters, subtext and a complex plot into a shallow one-dimensional screenplay that has been sterilized for Hollywood. To really enjoy the story buy the book instead. It pulls no punches and will be far more entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Ensemble Performance, Feb. 2 2003
By 
BookMania (Stafford, TX, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
Terry McMillan is an incredible author, and she's terrific when it comes to juggling several subplots and interweaving them together to form a story. Waiting To Exhale is based on McMillan's novel by the same name.
This movie takes place within the course of a year - from one New Year's Eve to the next. It's about four black women who all have relationship problems involving their black significant others, and how they pull together to provide friendship and support for each other during these relationship woes. It would take a long time for me to describe the specifics behind their problems, but the one thing they have in common is their hatred of men, specifically black men.
The movie is an ensemble performance starring Whitney Houston, Angela Bassett, Loretta Devine, and Lela Rochon. While they each get equal billing, I enjoyed Bassett's performance them most. She received an Oscar nomination for this role, and it was definitely well-earned.
Though the movie was advertised as a romantic comedy, it's more a movie about friendship, and how men may come and go but your friends will always be there to catch you when you fall. This is a very nice movie, and definitely worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Angela Bassett - Woo Hoo!!, Dec 8 2002
By 
C. Horton (New York) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
I love this movie!! When Bernadine, played by Angela Bassett, raids her husband's closet after he tells her he's leaving her is the best scene. I can relate to each of the women because I know that in my life I've dealt with the situaitons that they were all dealing with.
This movie would have gotten 5 Stars, but I personally think Whitney Houston's acting was pretty bad in this movie. But I would still recommend it..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inhale. Exhale. Repeat., Sept. 29 2002
By 
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
Depending on who you are, Terry McMillan's 1992 novel "Waiting to Exhale" is either a blessing or a dreaded curse. McMillan's third novel about four African American women struggling to attain stability, identity, and normalcy in Phoenix was praised in some circles for giving contemporary Black women a much-needed voice. But in other circles, mostly male, "Waiting to Exhale" was ripped to shreds as a spiteful and ungrounded damnation of Black men as philanderers, deadbeats, and no-good-dooers. It also made McMillan the biggest literary target of criticsm since Alice Walker unleashed her novel "the Color Purple." But whatever your take on the book is, the film adaptation won't likely change your stance, as it stays overall faithful to the book. Director Forest Whitaker does a respectable job bringing to life these characters: Savannah (Whitney Houston) is the buppie still in search for Mr. Right; Bernadine (Angela Bassett) just got dumped by her husband of 11 years for a white woman; Robin (Lela Rochon) is the ditzy bimbo still trying to shake off her no-good ex, and Gloria (Loretta Devine) is the full-figured owner of a successful hair salon. The best performances, hands down, are Bassett and Devine, who make the best impressions, and they help keep the film moving at a good pace. The script, co-written by McMillan, is crisp with enough funny one-liners and a story compelling enough to keep the viewer interested. But there are flaws. Whitney Houston struggles in her role as Savannah; her performance is wooden and forced, and when paired against a seasoned pro like Bassett, she flat out crumbles. A more relaxed approach to the material would have helped. Also, memo to Black filmmakers: drop the swishy gay hairdresser stereotype! It's tired, done a million times before, and, frankly, is grossly out of touch with reality. That aside, it's not often that a movie successfully adapts a novel as well as this one, and "Waiting to Exhale," warts and all, merits a B in my school of cinema.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Whitney movie!, March 2 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) (DVD)
This was a great Whitney movie. She did a great job and so did all the others. I feel that some people are unfair towards Whitney, sure she's not an oscar caliber actress, but she definitly is a GOOD ACTRESS. I really also liked her acting in The Bodyguard and The Preacher's Wife. All her 3 movies were good. The movie was funny, touching and I didn't find it to be male bashing but rather about experiences of a group of women friends. I am also happy that it was a great success at the box office because it's rare that a movie about black women can go no.1, but thanks to the star power of Whitney Houston, it debuted at no.1 and was a big hit despite being released in limited theaters because it's a black movie who are a minority in the US in terms of numbers. By the way, Wesley Snipes is in the movie, he chose not to be credited but he's there for several minutes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen)
Waiting to Exhale (Widescreen) by Forest Whitaker (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 22.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews