Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Goldsmith!, Dec 1 2003
By 
Don "Author." (WALLA WALLA, WA, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
One only needs to sample a few of the above tracks to find out how wonderful (more so than the 1985 film) Jerry Goldsmith's score is for the second in the John Rambo saga.
Being infatuated with the score for FIRST BLOOD, this score is like finding new rooms in a familiar, old house --
Rooms well-lit and pumped on anabolic steriods!
Also in this score, one will see Goldsmith's immaculate ability to mix the modern electronic with the traditional orchestra.
A must have for any beginning, intermediate or advanced Goldsmith collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This Is Better Than The Original, Oct. 19 2003
By 
Luis M. Ramos "Soundtrack and Film Freak" (Caracas, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
I am very pleased with this Silva Screen America release of the complete score for "Rambo: First Blood-Part II" because, quite frankly, I think this is one of Jerry Goldsmith best action film scores.
I have always loved Goldsmith's oriental flavor in this album because the main title fits the scene for which it was written perfectly. The tender moment of the album is best represented in 'Stories' where Rambo tries to tell a female Vietnamese rebel what he is looking for in life. The action tracks are incredible, especially 'Betrayed', 'Escape From Torture', 'Bowed Down', and 'Pilot Over'; but I'd like to make a special mention to 'The Jump' where Goldsmith makes a remarkable musical description of the scene in which Rambo gets stranded at the plane door while attempting to jump on a parachute. The suspense moments of the album do not slow the pace of the album, especially 'The Cage' and the first half of 'Revenge'. The song 'Peace In Our Life' -as performed by Frank Stallone -is kinda catchy, but it's not quite as emotional as Dan Hill's 'It's A Long Road' from the original Rambo movie.
Then there are the extra tracks such as 'River Crash/The Gunboat' and 'Village Raid/Helicopter Flight' that make this one a better album than the original Varèse Sarabande release.
This is a very good album, and it showcases what I once again believe it's one of the best action scores by the great Jerry Goldsmith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Goldsmith Is A One Man Army, Jan. 13 2003
By 
T. Lobascio (New Jersey United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
I have to say that I never got into the "Rambo" trilogy very much, the films are ok actioners, but that's all. Having said that, composer Jerry Goldsmith's music for the trilogy seemed to outshine the films themselves. This is paticularly true of the score for Rambo First Blood Part II. The score. The Main Title gets updated a bit for this installment. It seems as though Jerry rethought it for the sequel. It sounds richer here. Another key is the combination of orchestra and synthesizer. Goldsmith has been creating this kind of hybrid for decades of course. For this score, though, the idea works wonders, none of it sounds like a cheap gimmick. The music fits the action and the superhuman nature of the title character. Because the film is all action, the music reflects that for sure. The theme that I mentioned before, is threaded throughout the expanded score from Silva Records. The surprising thing is that the Rambo Theme never seems to sound quite the same on the soundtrack. Not an easy task, under any circumstance, somehow the rarity is accomplished, and the composer never looks back.
The expanded CD features a six page booklet that will take you through this reissued version The producers wisely note that while the score is remastered, because some of the tapes were in very very bad shape, some distortions, (very minor) still remain. I can live with this since they admitted that problems exist. It is when they don't...that's when I get mad. The CD contains 6 ureleased tracks, along with the really dopey song "Peace In Our Life", sung by "Sly"'s brother Frank. The expanded score is recommended to any fan of Goldsmith. This edition has a playing time of 60 minutes, 32 seconds, with 21 tracks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars MASSIVE score with even bigger authority., Dec 28 2002
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
Any fan of action music or of Jerry Goldsmith should get this powerful and outrageous CD. The music to First Blood was itself very good but this time Goldsmith takes the main theme, developes it even more and adds a new, totally brilliant 'Part II' theme that rocks the house. Whenever this theme is played you'll be punching the air or be too excited to do anything but yell 'YES!'. Check out track 13 if you don't believe me.
With the exception of the last track (Sly's brother Frank singing a song) this CD is bursting at the seams with action tunes of the best kind. It's so exciting, determined, triumphant and heroic that no music fan can live without. Rambo: First Blood Part II is an incredible soundtrack and one to worship Jerry Goldsmith for. I'd give it a million stars if possible!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars agressive, March 26 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
This score to the movie Rambo II is highly agressive and energetic, to say the least. Way to go Jerry for taking what was a highly soft soothing theme from first blood and turning it into a theme for a hero.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Goldsmith!, Nov. 18 2001
By 
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
One only needs to sample a few of the above tracks to find out how wonderful (more so than the 1985 film) Jerry Goldsmith's score is for the second in the John Rambo saga.
Being infatuated with the score for FIRST BLOOD, this score is like finding new rooms in a familiar, old house.
Rooms well lit and pumped on steriods!
Also in this score, one will see Goldsmith's immaculate ability to mix the modern electronic with the traditional orchestra.
A must have for any beginning, intermediate or advanced Goldsmith collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Vintage Goldsmith!, Nov. 18 2001
By 
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
One only needs to sample a few of the above tracks to find out how wonderful (more so than the 1985 film) Jerry Goldsmith's score is for the second in the John Rambo saga.
Being infatuated with the score for FIRST BLOOD, this score is like finding new rooms in a familiar, old house.
Rooms well lit and pumped on steriods!
Also in this score, one will see Goldsmith's immaculate ability to mix the modern electronic with the traditional orchestra.
A must have for any beginning, intermediate or advanced Goldsmith collector!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars wow!!!, Sept. 22 2001
By 
georgia fechalos (las vegas, nevada United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
this soundtrack is outstanding! even if you don't like the movie you need to hear this cd. so bold, powerfull, and patriotic. you just can't quit listening to it. of my collection of over 300 soundtracks, rambo2 the complete soundtrack makes my top 10 list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an AWESOME soundtrack!, Jan. 30 2000
By 
Joe (Arizona, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is one of the best there is. In inhibits suspense, drama, action, and just makes you glad that Rambo is on our side. This is a MUST BUY cd for anyone who wants a KICKA** soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What an AWESOME soundtrack!, Jan. 30 2000
By 
Joe (Arizona, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Rambo: First Blood Part II - Original Film Soundtrack, New Expanded Edition (Audio CD)
This soundtrack is one of the best there is. In inhibits suspense, drama, action, and just makes you glad that Rambo is on our side. This is a MUST BUY cd for anyone who wants a KICKA** soundtrack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews