Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review
Castle of Cagliostro is Miyazaki's first feature and stars the characters of the Lupin series. Miyazaki worked on much of the first season of Lupin and did two episodes in the second including the finale. I haven't been able to determine if these episodes are avaible on any in-print English release. While the animation is considerably cruder then Miyazaki's later works,...
Published on Jan. 3 2004 by Lee Buchenau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great But Good Fun
I had misgivings after buying Hayao Miyazaki's THE
CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO. Being one of his earliest
movies, it was unlikely to be in a league with his
MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO or PRINCESS MONONOKE, and I
wondered if it was actually going to be even worth
watching.
But I finally sat down and watched THE CASTLE OF
CAGLIOSTRO and it kept me...
Published on Feb. 23 2003 by Greg Goebel


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review, Jan. 3 2004
By 
Lee Buchenau (Webster University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Castle of Cagliostro is Miyazaki's first feature and stars the characters of the Lupin series. Miyazaki worked on much of the first season of Lupin and did two episodes in the second including the finale. I haven't been able to determine if these episodes are avaible on any in-print English release. While the animation is considerably cruder then Miyazaki's later works, the film is filled with thrilling adventure and fun humor. The breakneck pace and knock out action set pieces make up for the cruder animation style. Even without any prior knowledge of the Lupin characters, the story is simple to follow. Only the appearances of the female spy and the samurai seemed odd to an unititated viewer.
Film: 4 stars out of 5.

It is not Miyazaki's best, but it is easy to see his style emerging. The character designs for the count and the bride would soon appear in Nausicaa as Kurotawa and Nausicaa. Castle of Cagliostro is a great adventure film, but lacks the emotional realism and epic narratives that make up his later films. It may be Miyazaki's best on a pure entertainment factor. Think of it as a James Bond film by way of Pink Panther with Jackie Chan.
Manga's dvd is less then stellar. Picture quality is dicey. Most of the time the picture is fine with good color, but there are problems that pop up. Black spots appear on the film from time to time and several times heavy black blobs show up on the frame. The print also suffers for instances when the images shudders and appears to shake a bit when there isn't movement in the frame. These problems do detract, but generally they didn't distract from my viewing.
The video is presented in letterboxed format with subs that are half on the frame, half on black. I avoided the dub because the Japanese audio was just fine. Purists might be annoyed to find that the end credits are typed in English over a black screen without music, I don't know what the orginial Japanese print had. There aren't any extras other then several lame Manga Video ads.
Castle of Cagliostro is not part of the Disney/Ghibli deal so don't plan on them for releasing a new dvd. I would still recommend this dvd, although hopefully someone in the future will release it without the minor picture problems. Pioneer and Funimation both have recently put out other Lupin dvds, but I don't know of plans to pick up this title.
DVD: 3 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Greatest Films Ever Made, May 9 2003
By 
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki has been called the Akira Kurosawa of Animation, and the Disney of Japan. Neither term is sufficient to describe his genius. Among his many fans, there is much debate as to which of his movies is the greatest. Some people say Castle in the Sky. Some say Nausicaa of the Valley of the Wind. And many feel that this film is his best. Hard to say, but I would definteily say it's one of the best movies ever made, to say nothing of one of the best animated films ever.
Lupin the Third is big series in Japan. You might say he has a following like that of James Bond in the United States. But that would be a serious understatement. There is Lupin Manga, Lupin OAVs, Lupin movies, Lupin games, a Lupin TV show. And that's just what I've heard of. But despite the fact that Lupin is a huge phenomenon spanning a huge variety of media, everyone seems to agree that the crowning achievement as far as Lupin goes is the castle of Cagliostro. And the best part is, you don't have to know anything about Lupin to enjoy it!
The animation is old, more than 20 years. But like all of Miyazaki's animation, it looks better than much of what passes for animated films today. The backgrounds and mechanical devices in his films in particular are always amazing. The film transfer on this DVD isn't exactly the greatest. At times, it shows scratches and metal flecks on the print. At one or two points in the film it looks a little dim and washed out. But in the good parts, the use of color and detail is truly awesome.
The characters in this film are great. Lupin himself comes across like a combination of Jim Carey and James Bond (in the best possible way), and his many sidekicks (from his heavy firepower loving right hand man to the serious samurai and sometime love interest Fujiko) all are just great. The villain is pretty evil, making the great escape and showdown at the end of the movie that much better. But the real stars of the show are Lupin and the beautiful young girl he has sworn to rescue. Both of them are just PERFECT.
This film also features great action sequences (the great car chase, a gyrocopter getaway, and steel-clawed assasins come to mind). And let's not forget about the music. From the opening credits to the ending of the film, the score does not disappoint. Speaking of sound, the Japanese dub features the same perfect voice acting you will find in every Japanese version of a Miyazaki film. And this dvd features a great English dub too. People with young children should take note, though. The English dub has more harsh language than the Subtited version. I'd say about the difference between a PG and a PG-13 rating).
What makes this movie for me is it's wonderful sense of BALANCE, something Miyazaki has mastered absolutely. There is adventure. There is action. There is comedy. But most of all there is the infectious idealism and beauty of the human spirit that makes all of Miyazaki's films absolute classics. Everyone should see this movie. Any animation fan should buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Made in 1979, but you won�t be disappointed., April 20 2003
By 
Nobukimi Sasaki (Flushing, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Made in 1979, but you won't be disappointed.
Lupin the 3rd was a very popular T.V. series during 1970s and 80s. Lupin is a master thief, grand son of French "Ar sene Lupin." He has very characteristic companies:
Jigen: a master gunman who can shot anything he wants.
Goemon: a samurai, who can cut any object with his sword.
Fujiko: Lupin's enemy and lover.
Zenigata: a inspector from Tokyo police who has been pursuing Lupin, but never succeed.
"Castle of Cagliostro," was made in 1979 by a famous director Hayao Minazaki, and this was his first movie.
I've watched this movie in Japan when I was a little kid, and I never forgot about it. I recently purchased DVD and watched in English dubbed. The translation is little different from the original, but I think they did pretty good job. I can tell they tried to make it easier language.
The most exciting thing in this movie is Lupin's character: a thief who is skillful, gentle, kind, and having sense of humor. Lupin was manage to steal princes' heart in the story, but had to leave her at the end. It was Lupin's dandyism which takes your breath away.
Scenario is also well written. There are some intelligence conversations with political background. Lupin was pursuing the secret of counterfeit in a small nation, Duchy of Cagliostro, and run into a princess who was forced to be a bride against her will.
This movie, there are some similarity to "Shrek.": To rescue a princess locked in a tower, unmanned camera pictured Lupin when he tried to get into the castle, and Lupin breaking into princes' wedding ceremony and said "I object!."
This is still enjoyable to those who are not familiar to the T.V. series. Animation looks old compare to today's one. But I don't think you will be disappointed. One of my friends who never knew Lupin, watched this movie, and said "You can call me Lupin, if you want."
This is still one of my favorite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not Great But Good Fun, Feb. 23 2003
By 
Greg Goebel (Loveland, CO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
I had misgivings after buying Hayao Miyazaki's THE
CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO. Being one of his earliest
movies, it was unlikely to be in a league with his
MY NEIGHBOR TOTORO or PRINCESS MONONOKE, and I
wondered if it was actually going to be even worth
watching.
But I finally sat down and watched THE CASTLE OF
CAGLIOSTRO and it kept me perfectly entertained all
the way through. It's basically derived from
French or Italian-made "caper" films from the 1960s
or 1970s, involving the adventures of master thief
Lupin in the little mythical kingdom of Cagliostro
(which I would suspect is next door to Grand Fenwick).
What you get out of this is wild car stunts (driving
on two wheels and so forth), tricky gadgets, a castle
fortress with laser defenses, a princess in distress,
an evil count, a pretty spy, anti-tank rifles, a fight
in the clock tower, escapes from dungeons, and an
Interpol inspector named Zanigata who combines a bit of
Inspector Clouseau with a little amiable satire of
Japanese single-mindedness.
The production values are generally competent, though
not quite up to Miyazaki's more famous works. Still,
the Miyazaki style, distinctive among all animation, is
still very clearly there. A lot of the plot devices
can't stand up to even mild examination, but given that
nobody with any sense would think this movie should be
taken seriously that's not really much of a criticism.
It does get a bit more violent in places than something
this lightweight can support, but it doesn't make a
habit of it.
The end result is pleasant if not exactly memorable.
This is the sort of movie I am reluctant to praise too
much or too little. Must-see video? No. Entertaining?
Yes.
Incidentally, I found out from poking around on the
Cartoon Network's "Adult Swim" late-night offerings
that an anime TV series was made about Lupin, titled
LUPIN THE THIRD. I only bring this up because the
TV series is very cheaply made, and those who have
seen it might get the mistaken idea that THE CASTLE
OF CAGLIOSTRO is operating at the same (very low)
level of quality. Not the case, fortunately -- the
only thing the TV series and the movie have in
common are the characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, Jan. 28 2003
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
I was asked to describe Lupin once. Here's what I came up with, "He's like James Bond, Batman, Jackie Chan, and Indiana Jones, but he's a cat-burglar."
I'm a huge fan of the Lupin III series. I'll be the first to admit that the series itself isn't that good and that many of the TV movies aren't that good either. However, the two episodes and the movie which Myazaki directed are hands down some of the best things I have ever seen.
With that out of the way, no, this isn't Myazaki's best work. For every other film he does, the characters are his. He creates his characters specifically to fit a role. However with Lupin III, he had to use characters that were already established in the hearts and minds of thousands of viewers. It's amazing how Myazaki manages to take these characters and make them all shine and yet stay true to their original motivations. There's never a point where the viewer thinks, "Now that's not something I think Lupin would do." This is something that many of the other directors of the Lupin movies could not achieve.
I have seen the Lupin series with a wide range of voice actors, including the Japanese. The cast of this dubbed version of Castle of Cagliostro is the best of the group. They really know how to make the characters shine. The Japanese cast is frightening and unemotional at best, but the English cast of this version certainly makes up for the shortcomings of the Japanese one.
Like many of Myazaki's works, and certainly with all of the Lupin III series, you have to bring your imagination along for the ride. Everything will happen, even if you're not quite ready for it. There's car chases, princesses in tall towers, a counterfeiting scheme, instant noodles, and an exploding archbishop. The Castle of Cagliostro is a wonderfully light-hearted film, and the absolute best of the Lupin III series. I would recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lupin the 3rd in one of the most enjoyable movies ever made., Jan. 26 2003
By 
fett42 "fett42" (Pekin, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Lupin the 3rd is one of my favorite anime characters. My interest in Lupin the 3rd started with The Castle of Cagliostro. For those of you that aren't familiar with Lupin the 3rd, he has been in 6 theatrical films, 10 television films and 2 or 3 television series containing a total of 228 episodes. I have seen about half of his movies, and so far The Castle of Cagliostro is still my favorite. This movie has it all, action and adventure, comedy, romance, and of course the most important thing of all, a master thief as a hero. The story and characters in this movie are very enjoyable to watch. Just keep in mind that the characters and their relationships with each other have been developed in other movies and shows before this movie. So if you feel like you are missing out on how everyone is connected to each other throughout the movie, then that is the reason. In conclusion, if you haven't seen this movie yet, I'd recommend you give it a chance. This is the only DVD in my collection that I have watched over 10 times. I personally think this is a good movie for anyone, even if you aren't a big fan of anime. As long as you enjoy action mixed with some comedy, you'll enjoy this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars James Bond meets a screwball comedy, Dec 4 2002
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
It's my understanding that the Japanese culture is totally different from American culture in that animation is not exclusively for children, but for adults as well. So keep this in mind that this movie is not made for children, though children will most likely enjoy it and probably the language is no worse than some of the stuff that appears on cable television.
Having said that, I will tell you this is a terrific film and Lupin is a wonderful character - sort of a screwball comedy in the best sense, with James Bond thrown in for good measure. And this movie lends itself well to rewatching it - and I have.
Many other reviewers here have gone into the technical details much better than I'm capable of doing, so for that info please check their reviews. I have seen the subtitled version, so I don't have an opinion of the dubbed version. But I do have an opinion of the content of the movie and that is it's a terrific movie and you _need_ to see this great movie to appreciate Japanese anime'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific animated comedy-romance-adventure from Miyazaki!, Sept. 8 2002
By 
Jonathon Turner "Jon Turner" (Highland Park, NJ USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Acclaimed Anime genius Hayao Miyazaki scored his first box office hit with this charming, fast-paced, enjoyable tale about a clever thief coming to rescue--you guessed it--a princess from a dastardly monarch who wants to marry the lass for his own purposes. He's accompanied by a loyal gunman and a solemn but cunning ninja and pursued by a Japanese police detective who actually helps him at one point of the story. Along the way, there are a bunch of other obstacles to overcome, including bad guys with armored claws, the mazelike corridors of the Cagliostro castle itself, and a counterfeiting scheme. The animation is obviously dated, since the film is over 20 years old, but there are elements of Miyazaki's characters in his later films to be found in the designs of the protagonists and antagonists--the big, round eyes, wide-opened mouths when laughing and/or shouting, and of course, their everchanging facial expressions. The jazz-rock underscore by Yuji Ohno lacks the richness of Joe Hisaishi's scores for Miyazaki's films after this one, but it suits the tone of the film perfectly. Although not as beautiful, meaningful, or powerful as Miyazaki's later films, CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO is a joy to watch, with plenty of action-packed sequences, humor a-plenty, and enough fun to keep one enchanted. (Wait until you see the tools that the hero posesses!)
The DVD version features a respectably good transfer presented in its 1.85:1 aspect ratio, even if it does show its signs of age, such as occasional film scratches and/or smudges. However, this is probably best to be expected since the film is over 20 years old. The Japanese language track is presented in mono, and sometimes sounds as though it was transferred through, say, a telephone. (A characteristic of the recording techniques of the early years, no doubt.) The English language track, on the other hand, is presented in clear stereo with a full, rich sound. One wonders how they were able to clean up the soundtrack for this dub -- it sounds like it could have been made recently.
I only spotchecked the Japanese language track, but the acting is decent, from what I heard. The film was originally dubbed in English by Carl Mecak of Streamline Pictures. I have not seen this dub, but I heard it received mixed opinions; it has its fans while others detested it. However, I DID enjoy this "new" dub created by Manga Entertainment, which follows the script closely, despite some questionable inclusions of profanity in the dialogue ("We're rich bastards!"). The voice cast is well chosen and sound like they are having a great time hamming it up.
On the downside, the DVD contains no special features other than trailers for MANGA releases, rather lame menu selections, second-rate packaging, and not enough chapter selections for advancing. A film this wonderful deserves a better treatment. A "Making-Of" documentary, please?
Don't let the drawbacks hold you back, though, CASTLE OF CAGLIOSTRO is ***** material, as can be expected from the master of Japanese animation. I recommend it very highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My Favorite Anime Movie, July 27 2002
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
I first saw this movie in Japan and while I didn't understand a word being said, I found that I was very interested in the goings on. A few years later, I purchased this movie on VHS when it was released in the US. So when I saw the DVD was out, I took a chance and purchased it.
Having watched the VHS version so many times, I was immediately struck at some translation differences (in English). While the story was the same, there were parts that were very differently translated so that certain parts were almost like a different movie. I was annoyed until I did some checking (and watched the original Japanses version which is also on this DVD). As a result, I've come to the conclusion that the DVD contains a much better translation than the VHS version.
If you like your DVD's to have tons of extras, you may be dissappointed with the lack of goodies in this one. However, if you are a fan of Lupin III, this is a must-have DVD. The story, characters, anime style (though dated), and humor are what make this DVD so special. Of all the Lupin III's I've seen (TV or movie), this one is the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars she shot him! HAHHAHAHAHAhehehe ohthatsfunny., June 24 2002
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
When I visited "Jafax" I bought four DVD's: Ronin warriors vol.1, Tenchi the movie tenchi muyou in love, Ghost in the shell and of course thte castle of cagliostro. All of which were good (except Ronin warriors. Don't even bother) But The Castle Of Cagliostro was definately the best of the pick.
The Castle Of Cagliostro is a non-stop action-comedy-thriller. It's about a professional (and geeky) theif who accidentally saves a princess. The princess runs away from Lupin. (the theif dude) but drops her ring on the way. Lupin uses his detective skills to trace her back to the castle of Cagliostro with the help of the ring. He then finds out she is being forced to marry against her own free will. It's lupins job to save her.
Everything about this movie is well done. The animation is actually good despite the cover. The dub is excellent. Perhaps the greatest feature of this DVD. And with every turn lupin takes you'll find yourself keeling over with laughter.
You can't beat The castle of Cagliostro.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie)
The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 102.76
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews