Customer Reviews


80 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review
Castle of Cagliostro is Miyazaki's first feature and stars the characters of the Lupin series. Miyazaki worked on much of the first season of Lupin and did two episodes in the second including the finale. I haven't been able to determine if these episodes are avaible on any in-print English release. While the animation is considerably cruder then Miyazaki's later works,...
Published on Jan. 3 2004 by Lee Buchenau

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Castle of Cagliostro
I love most of Miyazaki's animation pictures. Actually I have been a Miyazaki fan since 1978, when I saw his anime on TV at the first time. "The Castle of Cagliostro" is my favorite, and I'd like to give five stars to it, however, I dare to give three because of the picture/sound quality of this particular release.
Compared to the DVD for Japanese market, the...
Published on June 13 2003 by Baroque


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Review, Jan. 3 2004
By 
Lee Buchenau (Webster University) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Castle of Cagliostro is Miyazaki's first feature and stars the characters of the Lupin series. Miyazaki worked on much of the first season of Lupin and did two episodes in the second including the finale. I haven't been able to determine if these episodes are avaible on any in-print English release. While the animation is considerably cruder then Miyazaki's later works, the film is filled with thrilling adventure and fun humor. The breakneck pace and knock out action set pieces make up for the cruder animation style. Even without any prior knowledge of the Lupin characters, the story is simple to follow. Only the appearances of the female spy and the samurai seemed odd to an unititated viewer.
Film: 4 stars out of 5.

It is not Miyazaki's best, but it is easy to see his style emerging. The character designs for the count and the bride would soon appear in Nausicaa as Kurotawa and Nausicaa. Castle of Cagliostro is a great adventure film, but lacks the emotional realism and epic narratives that make up his later films. It may be Miyazaki's best on a pure entertainment factor. Think of it as a James Bond film by way of Pink Panther with Jackie Chan.
Manga's dvd is less then stellar. Picture quality is dicey. Most of the time the picture is fine with good color, but there are problems that pop up. Black spots appear on the film from time to time and several times heavy black blobs show up on the frame. The print also suffers for instances when the images shudders and appears to shake a bit when there isn't movement in the frame. These problems do detract, but generally they didn't distract from my viewing.
The video is presented in letterboxed format with subs that are half on the frame, half on black. I avoided the dub because the Japanese audio was just fine. Purists might be annoyed to find that the end credits are typed in English over a black screen without music, I don't know what the orginial Japanese print had. There aren't any extras other then several lame Manga Video ads.
Castle of Cagliostro is not part of the Disney/Ghibli deal so don't plan on them for releasing a new dvd. I would still recommend this dvd, although hopefully someone in the future will release it without the minor picture problems. Pioneer and Funimation both have recently put out other Lupin dvds, but I don't know of plans to pick up this title.
DVD: 3 out of 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now we're cooking with gas!!, April 27 2004
By 
Erik E. Byberg (millbrae, california United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
This is the cream of Lupin films and was created by a celibrated master storyteller and director. It's got everything a good adventure aught to have. The dashing roguesh hero. His faithful assosiates of great skill and daring. A beutiful damisal in distress. And evil and dastertly villan. Lost tresure. Harrowing escapes and great car chases. All of which are crammed into this rip-roaring ride that is Castle of Cagliostro. Throw in international esponage and intrege. Add a dash of comic relief.While stirring in the boys from Interpol and you get the general idea. This film simply ROCKS!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars One of the classics by Hayao Miyazaki, Sept. 14 2011
By 
Cassisa (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
A castle with a secret, a princess that holds one of the keys to a kingdom, and a charming thief who has his eyes on a vast fortune. If you enjoy adventure, mystery and a bit of romance this anime is probably for you.
I saw this one in its original Japanese and found myself wanting to watch it again.
Though I have to admit some of the humour (and the stunts that the characters perform) are kind of silly, it still has that Miyazaki magic that draws you into the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A fun anime caper film, Oct. 14 2010
By 
A. Hardy (SK, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
As others have said, the animation and character development are not as sophisticated as in Miyazaki's later works, but it is a fun caper story, with a lot of action and humor. I've never seen any other Lupin stories, and it's not necessary to have done so to understand the characters or story. I gave it to my daughter for her 9th birthday, and she loves it, as she does all of the other Miyazaki films she's seen. The only problem is that the female characters are not particularly strong, or, like the female spy, have very limited roles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great caper film which happens to be anime., May 3 2004
By 
John IV (Snohomish, WA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Monday, May 03, 2004 / 4 of 5 / Great caper film which happens to be anime. This was my first full length film exposure to the Lupin mythos. Long ago I had played the laser disc game 'Cliffhanger' in the arcades when it first came out, it incorporated most of its plot and scenes from this movie. It was great to finally see the whole thing as I only ever made it about half way through the game, heh. Lupin and sidekick rob a casino and during the ensuing pursuit happen upon a princess chased by thugs. Ultimately leading back to a castle, a count, and a small country holding secrets to counterfeiting and beyond this was an excellent early anime with a great plot. It's interesting to see the character and stylistic cues later anime, particularly Cowboy Bebop, took from the Lupin saga. The plot was what surprised me the most, very sophisticated and entertaining for an anime, it was almost like an animated Bond film, or similar spy caper/mystery. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best Lupin movie; one of Miyazaki's best movies, Aug. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
This film is great! A great mix of genres(suspense, action, romance, humor), a feel-good tone throughout the film, and a great, light-hearted story make this a must-see film for anime fans and even non-anime ones. Fujiko goes from being brunette to blonde in this one, although it's not really important. A bit of Lupin's past is revealed when he and Jigen trail a counterfeiter to Castle Cagliostro. What can I say? It's just good. The English dubbing(on the DVD, as I've never heard the original English dub) is excellent, far beyond the horrid dubbing used for the TV series. Unlike Tony Oliver, David Hayter(Metal Gear Solid) does a perfect job of capturing the same tone of the late Yasuo Yamada. Sadly, this was the first and last Lupin show/movie he did(as of now). The dubbing people of the Lupin TV series should watch this film and pay attention on how to make a good dub! But enough said, the movie's EXCELLENT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The castlew of Cagliostro, July 19 2003
By 
D.M. (ME United States) - See all my reviews
This movie is interesting and if your looking fro an action packed movie this is it. This movie isn't rated and does contain fowl language. But that's because it's dubed in American and it needs to be more Americanized. If your kids want james bond but are too young try this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Different from Miyazaki's latest releases, July 8 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
Many of Miyazaki's latest releases are quite different from this film. While the films, such as Princess Mononoke, are amazing works they are far more serious than this film. The Castle of Cagliostro is a fun and comedic romp that will leave you with a warm feeling inside.
The story follows Lupin III, a master thief that is similar to James Bond, in his adventure to break into the castle of Cagliostro. He quickly discovers much more behind the castle than he bargained for.
The movie is great if you don't want anything to heavy and are more concerned about a light-hearted and fun film. One of my favorites
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars The Castle of Cagliostro, June 13 2003
By 
Baroque (Louisville, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
I love most of Miyazaki's animation pictures. Actually I have been a Miyazaki fan since 1978, when I saw his anime on TV at the first time. "The Castle of Cagliostro" is my favorite, and I'd like to give five stars to it, however, I dare to give three because of the picture/sound quality of this particular release.
Compared to the DVD for Japanese market, the contrast of picture is too strong, and sometimes dark colors turned to simple black. Reel change sign and dust on the film bothered me. I also noticed in a scene, the picture swayed horizontally, with poor focus. The frequency range of sound is narrower than Japanese version.
If you can playback region 2 DVDs, I strongly recommend you to buy it from amazon.co.jp. Japanese version of "The Castle of Cagliostro" is five stars in every sense of the word.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Film, May 23 2003
By 
Brian M. (Orland Park, IL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) (DVD)
I've seen alot of Lupin III movies and I've seen alot of Miyazaki's films. But this one stands out as by far the best of them. I think it is possibly the best anime made. Actually there were some problems with the dub. One thing I noticed is that when Zenigata introduces himself. He say "Inspector Keibu Zenigata" but Keibu means Inspector in Japanese so actually, he is repeating himself. Anyways, this has to be my favorite anime overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie)
The Castle of Cagliostro (Lupin III movie) by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2005)
CDN$ 107.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews