Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Movie
X was an amazing anime with a bit of gothic-like darkness about it. It has very good fight scenes and an interesting plot. In some places, it's like a huge nightmare, but it has a pretty good storyline and the dark tone to it makes it different than other anime. I loved this movie, I own the dubbed version, but I wouldn't recomend it to younger viewers. A must see for...
Published on Aug. 8 2002 by Aliena Shoemaker

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars X is a good movie, but it leaves you amazed and confused
I have not yet had the pleasure to read CLAMP's graphic novels of X, but I have heard good things. I believe they will help the stuff that doesn't seem to get explained well in the movie. Even with some holes in the plot and character development it is still a great movie. Really gripping animation and a very interesting storyline seems to draw the audience in quickly...
Published on June 21 2002 by dExtrosien


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2.0 out of 5 stars I don't know...., May 2 2002
By 
"waspdebbie1" (Ogden, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
I wanted to like this movie. Beautiful animation and action sequences, but it made absolutely no sense. as someone else said in another review, there was very little story or character development and gratuitous nudity. I felt like I was watching a soft porn disguised as art. It left me scratching my head in some confusion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enchanting, April 24 2002
By 
L. Bui (USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: X [Import] (VHS Tape)
A very Beautiful, sexy animated movie wih blood wrencing seens. A classy but confusing story. but I watch it once and I love it! But not the beggining though! I wouldn't like it if I haven't read any of Clamps X/1999 comics to keep my hope up for it!
It's great and bloody buy it!!!!!
Very tragic too...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful piece of junk, April 16 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
This movie has beautiful art, but lacks any character development, an understandable plot, and a satisfying ending. Apparently, the author wasn't even finished writing the manga before this movie was published. The ending was so abrupt and horribly done, I was left staring dumbly at the tv as the ending credits rolled by.
A RAY OF HOPE!!!! The official Pioneer Animation site...has announced it will be releasing the first volume of the X TV Series in the fall!! I have seen most of this series already (including the ending) and I am itching to get my hands on it. Very well done, beautiful art, character development, and a satisfying ending!! Save your money for this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pretty, but empty, April 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
X is nice looking, but has litle substance. The plot and characters will be somewhat confusing for viewers unfamiliar with the manga, because little effort is spent on exposition. There's not a lot of plot, but once it gets rolling, it's quite predictable. The characters are well designed, but not well developed as characters. They kill each other. Will the earth be saved? There's little in this formulaic film to make one care.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Either you will love it or hate it!!, March 31 2002
By 
Larden_99 (Somonauk. Illinois) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
X is a great Anime for those who are familar with its manga'a or if you have been an hardcore Anime follower for a while. IF you are any of these i recomend it totally. But if you are just getting into Anime or not into the weirder parts of anime i do not recomend this at all. In my opinion it was great work of art. But in the end its going to be up to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Anime starved fans with overblown reviews once again..., March 24 2002
By 
Stupendousmen (philadelphia, Pa United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
Another perfect example how people have no taste in quality anime.. and reading several X - The Movie reviews, proves that people cannot look past visual art.
Basic Premise: Dragon of Heaven VS Dragon of Earth.. and the key outcome is in the hands of a 2 teenagers in a battle that will decide the fate of the earth and humanity..and loved ones lost.
I Am a HUGE fan of Taro Rin, since I grew up watching the Astro Boy (aka Atom boy) one of my all time favorites. That made me watch this with great expectations...until I ran into a solid wall of disappointment. Major issue with this movie is PLOT. Very little or non.. as the movie unfolds we know why they fight, and Taro does a half descent job trying to create a twist in the plot, but plot is just too weak for anyone to be amazed or be surprised. Most of the character roles in this movie is to be served as a pawn with no character developement and very little purpose. basic formula of "X" = 1 - 1 = 0 and they use this formula 6-8 times. (you'll know what I'm talking about after you see the movie).
This Anime Film was not meant to be one part movie, but more like 6-8 part oav series. Huge mistakes are always committed by the Anime film industry because the writers, producers, and directors always try to squeeze too much into a 90 minute films, which usually results in a chopped up story line with no character developement (and that's how you'll feel watching this movie). The pace is WAY too fast for anyone to really understand the storyline which ends up killing the whole concept of sacrifices, emotions, and drama that are made by each of the supporting characters (in a very poor way).
X- the movie had a potential and storyline to became a cult favorite, but it failed simply because they decided that this project wasn't worth the effort and time...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Man It['s Bad], March 18 2002
By 
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
I rented this, and wasn't prepared for such [a bad movie]! I love anime to an extreme, but they throw you into this movie and have a million things suddenly happen that they don't even explain! And its not even the chaotic randomness of the average anime!!!!! it frusterated me to the point where i kept yelling "What the hell just happened!?" I haven't read the manga so I didn't care about any of the characters. Don't even rent this movie its just frusterating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's time for the fate of Toyko to be decided, March 11 2002
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
The year 1999 is know for many things, the new millennium, Clinton making an fool of himself and tbe release of Tiburm sun for the PC. One thing that is not known about 1999 is that the city of Toyko (Not actually happened) was levelled in an apocalyptic battle between the dragons of earth and heaven.
X is an excellent example of Manga converted to Anime like Akira but only made for the fans of the Manga and not taking into consideration. The story line is confused and even more so in the Japanese version of the anime. Although it has these downfalls X is an excellent anime and all fans should get a copy as it's religious undertones and excellent battle sequences lead to a jaw dropping results.
X is an anime of the ages and the confusing story line can be forgiven because the battles and animation is close to overtaking the great Akira. If you're a fan of anime you should get this but if this is your first anime I suggest you try another one as this is for the fans and the experts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Amazing manga....and then there's the movie..-_-;;, March 10 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
Well, I've been a huge fan of X for quite some time. I've read up to vol 17 of the manga, seen up to episode 15 of the TV series, seen the OVA and I have so many collectables you could consider it an unhealthy obsession. I have the trading cards, tarot cards, calenders, wall scrolls, posters, artbooks, (including the beautiful X Zero) and CDs (soundtracks and drama CDs). Anyway, when this movie premiered in Japan I was actually lucky enough to be in Japan at the the time (what a "coincidence") well..I considered myself lucky at the time...anyway, all I can say is that to anyone who knows nothing of X, I can CLEARLY see where this would be a confusing movie. People die before you even know their names! ("Wait..who's that? Oh never mind...he's dead!) And that's not a joke. And the ending was...horrible (Is it just me..or was the image of Kamui holding Fuuma's head a little less than touching?) X is an amazing series, please don't judge by this movie, read the manga (though I am not partial to the english translations) and watch the TV series (soon available in US) because this series deserves a second chance..trust me. The movie is really bad, and confusing if you aren't familiar with X. X has an amazing plotline, every character has an intricatly woven plot that will addict you in no time (try watching 15 episodes in one day..that'll teach you the meaning of an "all nighter") more people should be exposed to this amazing manga and anime, I beg of you, don't judge by this... The problem is, they wrote and ending while the series was still in production...so the ending was just sort of rushed..("Hey Apapa-san...how are we going to end this..?" "Oh..good question, oh we'll just kill everyone off, people will come to see it! It's 'X' after all!")
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Anime!, Feb. 25 2002
By 
SharpX13 "Jeremy" (Warwick, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: X - The Movie (DVD)
i admit i bought this movie on an impulse and did not know much about it untill i saw it. i was definetly not disapointed after i saw it! it even interested me enough to read some of the original manga. the animation was incredible! the music was haunting and the fight scenes will blow you away! many reviews here say the film is confusing and hard to follow. i thought the plot was clear as crystal, but i'm not going to go tell you about it. thats what buying movies is for! anyway, this film is rated r for a good reason. it has intense violence and partial nudity. suprisingly i never heard one character swear through the whole movie. many people in other reviews have said this is only for people who have read the original manga by CLAMP. i have read some of it and i disagree. this movie has a self-sustaining plot that works on its own! you dont need to read the manga to understand this movie! true it describes the characters in better datail but thats it! the film has some startiling images that children should not see. escepially the opening dream scene... on another note, the director of the film, is the same that made the recent anime fiilm METROPOLIS. and to add to that, he perosnally inspired Katshiro Otomo (AKIRA) with his story designs. well to sum it up, X is one of the greatest anime films i have seen to date. its not for kids but a wonderful film for all you adult anime buffs! this movie should be up there in the anime spotlight along with AKIRA & Ghost in the Shell!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 38 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

X - The Movie
CDN$ 83.43
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews