Customer Reviews


186 Reviews
5 star:
 (116)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (17)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total winner
Somewhere, in a more just universe, overblown performers like Shania Twain and Faith Hill hawk their CD's on streetcorners, Britney and Christina are waiting tables, and Alison Krauss has a bookshelf full of Grammys. Well, the music industry has never been notable for promoting quality, so those of us who appreciate good stuff will just have to spread the word. This is...
Published on Sept. 5 2003 by B. Sloane

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Did they shoot the banjo player?
If you're a bluegrass fan, HeadsUp...this is not a bluegrass CD!! This is country/pop music on valium. That said, it's a pretty good CD. In this one Alison departs from her bluegrass sound and produces a very mellow and refined country/pop cd with an intimate style that showcases her vocals. Very few bluegrass artists have the vocal capabilities of Alison Krauss, so this...
Published on Oct. 14 2002 by surfandsand


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A total winner, Sept. 5 2003
By 
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Somewhere, in a more just universe, overblown performers like Shania Twain and Faith Hill hawk their CD's on streetcorners, Britney and Christina are waiting tables, and Alison Krauss has a bookshelf full of Grammys. Well, the music industry has never been notable for promoting quality, so those of us who appreciate good stuff will just have to spread the word. This is a beautiful CD, first-rate songs imaginatively produced by a young woman with taste and stunning vocal chops. It even passed the acid test, when I sent it to my 77 year-old ex-Big Band musician cousin who is constantly moaning about modern pop music and how ... it is ... he LOVED it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In love with Alison Krauss, May 27 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
I have fallen in love with Alison Krauss's voice. She taps into the emotions of a song like few are able to do. I listen to this CD many times a week and I've owned it since it came out. Nice, soothing, musical.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Don't 'forget about' this one!, Dec 7 2003
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
This is one of my all time favorite albums. Alison Krauss has made an incredibly personal album, that is good start to finish. The CD is quite melancholy and sad, but her vocals are simply stunning and bring the material alive. It opens with the wonderful "Stay", and moves into the title track. The standout for me is her cover of Todd Rundgren's "It Wouldn't Have Made Any Difference", the delivery on this song is so sad but it's a beautiful song. "Dreaming My Dreams With You" is a great song to close the album with, with a great chorus. "Ghost In This House" and "Empty Hearts" are other highlights on the set. There's not even one dud here. If you enjoy bluegrass, or just good music in general, this is the album for you. You won't be disapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Forget About It, Aug. 2 2003
By 
Brandi Bechtel "mavin13" (Boise, ID) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
I like this CD. I received it as a birthday gift not knowing who the singer was. Now I do and I enjoy Krauss's music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stay, June 2 2003
By 
Swing King (Cincinnati, OH USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Alison Krauss is one of the vocalists who has the extremely haunting ability to consume your senses. The track entitled, "Stay"-really touches me deep. For anyone who has a lover from the past they miss, this song has the power to take you back there. It can actually be depressing in some respects, but it's beautiful none the less. A song that could only have been written straight from the heart. "Maybe" is another great song on this album-buy it, you will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Softer than others AK CDs, March 21 2003
By 
another_alison (Upper Montclair, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Every song on this CD has a beautiful and unique refrain. As I listen to one song, I decide that it is my favorite on the CD, until the next one plays, and then that one becomes my favorite... An added bonus: the music is soft enough to use in place of lullabies for rocking my 4-month old son to sleep. I continue to rock him long after he is asleep, despite my weary arms, because I can't tear myself away from AK's angelic voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Alison Krauss solo album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!, Jan. 23 2003
By 
"dave20" (Sand Springs, OK United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
I really think she has an amazing voice and instrumental skills. So it was great that she decided to do a solo album!!! i highly recommend this album!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Alison Krauss - Forget About It, Jan. 21 2003
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
Angelic. Her voice is angelic. This is where you turn off the lights, you close your eyes, you sit back in your chair, and you let the music and her voice drift you away on paradise island. This ain't no bluegrass release, it ain't the kind you put in your car to get you speedin, this is wonderful, peaceful, relaxing music. It's perfect, there's no weak song, arrangement is perfect, her voice is perfect... This is a masterpiece. Period.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A REAL Country Album., Nov. 20 2002
By 
Kenneth A Smith (Marietta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
This is the real thing folks - real singers and real musicians making real music. Blow off Shania and Faith and BUY THIS AND EVERY OTHER Alison Krauss + Union Station CD AVAILABLE!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Did they shoot the banjo player?, Oct. 14 2002
This review is from: Forget About It (Audio CD)
If you're a bluegrass fan, HeadsUp...this is not a bluegrass CD!! This is country/pop music on valium. That said, it's a pretty good CD. In this one Alison departs from her bluegrass sound and produces a very mellow and refined country/pop cd with an intimate style that showcases her vocals. Very few bluegrass artists have the vocal capabilities of Alison Krauss, so this does'nt happen very often. Bluegrass fans will be disappointed, but the hardcore Krauss fans will love this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 219 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa9e9aaa4)

This product

Forget About It
Forget About It by Alison Krauss (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews