Customer Reviews


39 Reviews
5 star:
 (35)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Rhythms
Evora has a beautifully intense, direct vocal style and an ability to merge with rhythms both slow and fast. In Cafe Atlantico she sings a range of material from slow, lamenting love songs to samba-speed chants, all exciting and absorbing. The sequence and sound quality make this a thoroughly enjoyable compilation, leaving the listener wanting more.
Published on Nov. 8 2003 by Edgy39

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Cafe Music Cuban Style
Cesaria is a great and powerful songstress, and this album is quite a departure from her previous works. Whereas her previous works all centered around Portugese inspired music something called morna, this CD revolves around music that has a much more Cuban and Brazilian influence. I think that in some ways this CD is not as good as her previous efforts like Miss...
Published on Oct. 9 2000 by William M. Rand


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars What a swing!, April 16 2004
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
This is a great CD. I learned about Cesaria Evora in a television documentary and ordered the CD from Amazon. We are still tapping our feet and swinging to African Samba and ballads!
If you like Samba and a melodious African air, this is for you. Evora's voice is deep and sensous. A new listening experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Rhythms, Nov. 8 2003
By 
Edgy39 "edgy39" (Falmouth, MA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
Evora has a beautifully intense, direct vocal style and an ability to merge with rhythms both slow and fast. In Cafe Atlantico she sings a range of material from slow, lamenting love songs to samba-speed chants, all exciting and absorbing. The sequence and sound quality make this a thoroughly enjoyable compilation, leaving the listener wanting more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Her best, Aug. 13 2003
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
Beautiful - you don't need to know what she is saying. One of those CDs that you can listen to forever. We have lost it twice now, and replaced it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Cesaria Evora, May 5 2003
By 
David Kaminsky (Edmonton, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
My friend Sam (a Sade-Enya-Swing Out Sister fan supreme) recently said, "You only need one Cesaria Evora CD, they all sound alike." I heartily disagree, and think that the differences between each become more apparent the more you listen to each of her marvelous CDs. She isn't "trying out styles" like an American pop star, she always sings with the voice she was given, in a style which compliments that voice perfectly. No gimmicks, no production tricks, no clever publicity to broaden her audience. Her songs are all informed by her background in and ongoing love for Cabo Verde (Cape Verde), and she is fortunate enough to record music by some of Cabo Verde's greatest songwriters (especially Gregorio Goncalves and Manuel de Novas). Her rich, sad, wise, sometimes world-weary voice is well suited to express her "saudades" (a yearning and nostalgia which cannot be put into words) for her homeland. Cabo Verde is a poor and heavily-deforested group of islands, so the sorrow in her music is also a nostalgia for a place and time long since passed. Her lovely, melancholy mornas ("Flor di nha esperanca," "Paraiso di Atlantico," and "Desilusao dum amdjer" [tracks 1, 4, and 7 respectively]) perfectly express her nostalgia for past, family, friends and the isolation of a place like Cabo Verde. The coladeras, on the other hand, are lively and vibrant, including "Vaquinha mansa," "Carnaval de Sao Vicente," and "Terezinha" [tracks 2, 6, and 14]). Jim Reeves fans will recognize her lovely version of "Maria Elena," sung in Spanish. The rest of the CD is in a Portuguese "colonial" dialect, but that only makes the music sound more exotic as it transports you to a completely different time and space. The best tracks are, in my opinion, the haunting "Paraiso di Atlantico," the Brasilian-flavoured "Carnaval de Sao Vicente," and the fun, whimsical "Terezinha." I'm not one of these people who would say, "If you only buy one Cesaria, buy this one"--I can't imagine my music collection without this CD, but I don't think one CD by her is sufficient! It is unfair to compare this CD with The Buena Vista Social Club simply because both are in a language other than English. Cesaria Evora is one of the greatest singers of our time, and this CD is a masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars and now: something glorious for yall..., Aug. 11 2002
By 
R. Davis "upfromsumdirt" (louisville, ky) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
aretha franklin... etta james... chaka khan... gladys knight... these are just a few of the voices that stand out and resonate when you hear them. you go: yeah, that's her! and tho i cant understand not one damn word this woman is singing, i gotta add cesaria evora to this list... her voice is magnificent, sometimes spiritual and othertimes bluesy, but all the time outstanding! soul shines thru yall....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Cesaria sings her love to the world & shares it", Feb. 23 2002
By 
J. Lovins "Mr. Jim" (Missouri-USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
This lady my friends, has natural talent with the ability to project that happy feeling and share it with the listener...from the first to the last, a variety of rhythms surrounded by a group of versatile musicians.
A native of the island national of Cape Verde, Evora is known as the countries foremost practitioner of the morna style, which is strongly associated with the islands of combines West African percussion with Portuguese fados, Brazilian modhinas and British sea-chanteys.
Evora began singing morna at age 16...in the late '60s had two albums released in the Netherlands and Portugal...having recorded some 15 albums, Cesaria comes up with one of her best performances in "CAFE ATLANTICO", which goes back to her roots or Portugal...let's look at the opener "THE DREAM OF MY HOPE", is simply terrific..."SWEET LITTLE COW, LOVE OF THE WORLD", change of pace..."ATLANTIC PARADISE", takes on a whole new direction giving the listener of being there, which is a plus revealing her tone, mood and style.
Let's look at the highlights ~ "SAO VICENTE CARNIVAL", is simply haunting from the get-go, when Cesaria sings and then joined by the band, it is mesmerizing and leaves you wanting more, hoping the dream never ends...must mention the old standard "MARIA ELENA", recorded by many musicians/artists, brings back memories with this wonderful arrangement and performance by Cesaria.
An inimitable smoky sound of the reigning "Queen of World Music"...in praise of her hometown Mindelo, on the tiny Cape Verde Island of Sao Vincente...there you see the safest harbor between South America and Africa, "The Barefoot Diva", has distilled centuries of cross-cultural music into the solid joyous ache that sings her love to the world...unforgettable album will linger while others fade...CESARIA EVORA...we feel love through your music!
Total Time: 58:21 on 14 Tracks ~ RCA Victor 65401 ~ (1999)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh and pure, Dec 9 2001
By 
Magin La Grave (Jacksonville,TX.USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
I have heard many brazilian artists, This one is by far one of the best performers I have ever have the pleasure of listening over and over,very non-commercial and pure .If you are into serious music with soul,this is it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the sound of soul, July 23 2001
By 
nadav haber (jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
How could I give anything but the stars to this magnificent woman ? Evora's singing is a true gift to mankind, luckily appreciated by many around the globe. From the first violin sounds of the opener, this CD is all soul - which means all Cesaria. There are moments for dancing as well as moments for contemplating - all done with the perfect Cesaria taste. I love the musicians who support Cesaria on this CD - they are completely in tune with her and add to the overall success of the music.
This is highly recommended as one of Cesaria's best CD's - to any person on this earth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Soulfully Hypnotic, Nov. 12 2000
By 
Lisa Pate (Chicago, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
I had the pleasure recently of hearing Cesaria's rich, soul-tugging voice, for the first time, at a local tapas restuarant I frequent in Chicago, and I was mesmerized by the beauty of it. You know that feeling you get when the sheer power of a particular song gives you goosebumps, and brings all your emotions to the surface and you can't breathe? Her voice takes you there, you can feel it in the core of your soul...there's no other way to describe the feeling you get when you hear her sing. I'm waiting to exhale! Cafe Atlantico is the first CD I purchased and I plan on buying every CD she's made. The combination of the wonderful music with Cesaria's lush voice is absolutely amazing...I highly recommend it with a glass of merlot and a hot bubble bath!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Love and Pain, Oct. 19 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Cafe Atlantico (Audio CD)
I love the music and the sound of Cesaria's voice. But there is so much pain in these songs. I love music to unwind to but this album always makes me melancholy.
But if you ignore the underlying current, it is a well produced album and it is impossible to appreciate this artist's craft.
It truly is beautiful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cafe Atlantico
Cafe Atlantico by Cesaria Evora (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews