Customer Reviews


105 Reviews
5 star:
 (60)
4 star:
 (26)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not what youd expect...
"The only difference is that Fenix,Tx has one more guitar than blink and Travis (and Scott) are/were better drummers then the drummer for Fenix,Tx." your high you obviously haven't heard lechuza damon was/is one of the best drummers ever... travis is a great drummer and i wouldn't have busted your balls if you had only said travis but scott was...
Published on May 22 2003 by Tommy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's okay...but it really dissapointed me
Yes, Fenix TX are talented, no, this album does not prove their talent musically. Though their self titled CD is not horrible, it definetly had room for alot of improvement. For one, a little variation in some songs would of helped alot, I mean come on guys, I couldn't tell the difference between more than half the songs on there. And secondly, Fenix just doesn't seem to...
Published on Sept. 13 2001 by Rex Marksmanson


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1.0 out of 5 stars I give it no stars, actually... it blows., Sept. 22 2003
By 
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
Look, this CD, though banal and ill-conceived like a debut CD, is not... get that through your heads. These charming gentlemen were the band River Fenix, and had releases since 96... anyways, this is a terrible CD, uninventive, clichéd and down right scary... I'm just amazed that they could go from this trite sack of power pop punk garbage to the even more abominable and insipid neo-emo now on the radio with their latest release...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars GREAT FOR POP PUNK, May 29 2003
By 
WarOnErrorism (Somewhere Near You) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
I'd expect people who listen to Nofx or BR to have the intelligence of knowing not to touch this CD. But for those pop punkers out there, this CD might be for you.
All My Fault, Minimum Wage and Jolly Green Dumbass are great songs. The Surf Song has got the be the worst song I've ever heard tho. So some you might like, some you might not.
Remember, their second one is better, and they have broken up.
P.S.: I gave this 4 star b/c of the Surf Song. It is really THAT bad, even for a pop punker.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Certainly not what youd expect..., May 22 2003
By 
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
"The only difference is that Fenix,Tx has one more guitar than blink and Travis (and Scott) are/were better drummers then the drummer for Fenix,Tx." your high you obviously haven't heard lechuza damon was/is one of the best drummers ever... travis is a great drummer and i wouldn't have busted your balls if you had only said travis but scott was horrid."
I dont know how much you know about drums, but scott is a better drummer then the fenix tx drummer, and certainly better than travis. I dont think ive ever heard a drummer put drums to songs that matched them and connected so well as scott did. All travis does is just put fancy fills into songs and everyone thinks he's the best. Secondly this cd is superb, check out specchless, ben and minumum wage, also, mark hoppus is in the " all my fault" video clip.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Download Denver Harbor's All i want from [website], April 18 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
Download Denver Harbor's "All i want" from [website] its the lead singer's new band. you guys did know they broke up right. this is one of my favorite 5 cd's of all time. its a great cd for someone just getting into the whole punk music trendy thing. and to the person that said "The only difference is that Fenix,Tx has one more guitar than blink and Travis (and Scott) are/were better drummers then the drummer for Fenix,Tx." your high you obviously haven't heard lechuza damon was/is one of the best drummers ever... travis is a great drummer and i wouldn't have busted your balls if you had only said travis but scott was horrid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great cd, Aug. 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
flight 106- great song, good lyrics, good beat, my second favorite song.9.5/10
minimum wage- good song about american politics.-7/10
surf song- ok song with catchy and funny lyrics to back it up 6.9/10
al my fault-great song,the single off the cd my 3rd favorite song on the cd!! 9.3/10
jolly green dumbass-very funny but what does this song have to do with a joly green dumbass?? funny ... song though.7.8/10
G.B.O.H.-song about a an abusive dad towards willie's girlfriend. that would be funny if he really did hit him with the louieville slugger.7.5/10
Ben-Nice song about the death of the former guitarist. great emmotion in the lyrics.8.8/10
speechless- this and 3some and a song fr everyone are Fenix*TX's best songs. great chorus, great everything this is great punk!!10/10
philosophy-knda boring power chords but good lyrics 7.7/10
no lie- doesnt really pick up but ok song 7.4/10
apple cowboy toothpaste(whatever its called)- worst song on the cd 6.7/10
jean claude trans am-great song!! i love the rap. 8.2/10
rooster song-pure genious 8.4/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rocking good times..., July 23 2002
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
Its decent punk rock. Thats as simple as Fenix Tx's style is. The fact that they deliver such a not bad album must be due to their songwriting skills or something. Whatever it may be, I cant really not listen to this cd. The melodies are overflowing like a soda when you shake it up and open it (by the way, dont do that...), and the punky verses and riffs flow throughout this disc and make it entirely listenable. The first 5 or 6 tracks are the best of the album, and while the album doesnt lag towards the end, it shifts from catchy short anthems to more hardcore roots type tracks, like the amazing "jean claude trans am", which provides a solid punk backing to a great melody. The song that recieved the most recognition from this cd "all my fault" is one of the better tracks along with the opener "flight 601", "G.B.O.H" and "philosophy". In reality though, the entire cd deserves recognition for being varied enough that you actually notice that the song has changed and that is appreciated. I would recommend this cd for fans of the genre and well anyone who isnt bothered by songs about some guys large genitals, because well this album even has that. Don't let the fact that this album isn't original or that it doesn't come with one of those super cool bonus dvd's with special footage and music videos on them stop you from buying this cd. Its worth the money and you will inevitably like it whether it be the harmonies or the carefree way that the band presents the set of tracks. They really show enough talent to get by, and at least their lyrics are original. It's a solid start and a listenable album that deserves a lot more attention than it has recieved.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Mainstream Punk Can Be Good...and Great!, June 15 2002
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
Amazing! I'm just going to forget every mindless comment I ever made about this CD. Yes, it does sound remarkably like Dude Ranch-era Blink 182, but that is not a problem. Fenix TX showed the world something with this album. You CAN make a mainstream, pop-influenced album that still upholds true punk rock ethics.
The lyrics deal with everything from surfing, to broken relationships, to opinions on American economics. Most of the songs are played at NOFX-speed, complete with solos(see "All My Fault"--the best song), double bass(see Apple Pie Cowboy Toothpaste), and harmonics(see G.B.O.H.). The song structures show much more chops and finesse than Dumb41 or the aforementioned Stink 182. Will Salazar is capable of writing a good lyric or two, has a sense of humor(see "The Rooster Song"), and his voice is cool. All in all, a mainstream tribute to real punk. If only other bands followed suit...
P.S. Check out their soph album Lechuza for a more hardcore punk approach. Peace.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars FENIX*TX, June 14 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
I was a little sceptical when I bought this C.D., but I'm glad I did. I had had the band's "Lechuza" C.D. for about 3 months and I thought I might give this a try; it was an excellent choice.
1.Flight 601(All I've Got Is Time)- An awesome song. A great opening track. Not bad at all. 7/10.
2. Minimum Wage- This is just an average song. It doesn't have too great of a concept, but fast paced, and 2 minutes 2 seconds long, and an okay 1st verse/chorus combintaion. 6/10.
3. Surf Song- I don't know what it is about this song, but it is catchy. I didn't like it at first, but after a while, when I was walking down the block from my bus stop, I was singing the chorus. It was unexpected, and I had listened to this song one time about a month before this event. It also mentions Keanu Reeves(Ted from the Bill and Ted movies, the star of "Speed" and "The Matrix", and he was in "Hardball".) which is always a plus just because it's never been done before. 6/10.
4. All My Fault- This song is overrated. It's only okay. It was the single off the album. The lyrics are too predictable. 5/10.
5. Jolly Green Dumbass- The title has nothing to do with this song, by the way. This is one of the best songs on the C.D. It has some pretty good lyrics, and instrument playing. 8/10.
6. G.B.O.H.- I think that what the letters really stand for is one of the stupid things ever, but that's just me. This song is about getting even with an abusive guy who hits this girl. It isn't as bad as it might sound. It is the only song on this C.D. where the "F" word is used. Good guitaring, though. 6/10.
7. Ben- It's an okay song. 6/10.
8. Speechless- It's an okay song. 6/10.
9. Philosophy- It's an okay song. 6/10.
10. No Lie- It's an okay song. 6/10.
11. Apple Pie Cowboy Toothpaste- This is a fun to sing along with song, despite some of the lyrics. It also has a rap as the song's 3rd verse, which is funny (intensionaly). One of the better songs. 8/10.
12. Jean Claude Trans Am- This is also another great song. I like this song a lot. I think I've heard it somewhere before because I reconized the chorus, maybe on the radio or at an amusement park. I don't really know, but this song is excellent. 8/10.
13. Rooster Song- This is a gross-out song. It's nothing special, but it's somewhat catchy with good instrument playing. This is what gave it the parental advisory. 4/10.
Oh well, that's it. 4/5 star material all the way. The language isn't too bad (about 3 cuss words if you don't count the numerous use of a certain word in "Rooster Song"). Get the edited version if you can find it for cheaper (also get the edited version of "Lechuza" if you can find it for less.) It's a good C.D. Worth a listen, definatly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Better then I originally thought, April 11 2002
By 
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
In my original review for this album I was...Well, a little harsh. From time to time I do make the mistake of judging an album to quickly. And from what I've read in previous reviews for this album I believe some (not all) people have made the same mistake, and jumped to conclusions.
Fenix Tx's self titled album is not an album you will pick up and instantly love. In fact, it may take more than one or two listens to becomed accustomed to it. But, when you do, you will reap the benefits of this album so to speak.
In fact, Fenix Tx remind me a bit of Sum 41...except Fenix is much (empahsis on much) more talented.
In general this self titled album is what you would come to expect of a pop punk band. The guitar work is fast and structured, that goes the same for bass and drums as well. And though Will Powers vocals will not leave you in awe, they are impressive enough to satisfy.
So, to conclude I'll leave you with this piece of advice. Give "Fenix Tx" a chance before making your final decision on it. You may end up liking it, you may end up hating it, but without trying how will you know?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album, Jan. 29 2002
This review is from: Fenix Tx (Audio CD)
This is one of the coolest albums ever! Definitely a cd you can put in your player and listen to over and over. If you like this type of music, Fenix Tx is a must-have!
Finally, an album where you can listen to every song-- and that's hard to find!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fenix Tx
Fenix Tx by Fenix Tx (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews