Customer Reviews


2,747 Reviews
5 star:
 (2,059)
4 star:
 (300)
3 star:
 (143)
2 star:
 (108)
1 star:
 (137)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spirituality in the modern, technological world
Reflecting back on the enormous popular and critical success of 'The Matrix', it is refreshing to note that people were overwhelmingly drawn to a film that conformed itself neither to the cynical and pessimistic bent that informs many recent movies nor to an easy and clichéd sort of optimism. The quest for truth is not mocked but strongly valorized here. This film...
Published on July 10 2004 by mythologue

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Crafty filmmaking lacking substance
In this movie, the Wachowskis obviously have a ball working out the technical details of the photography and the digital effects. There's a nice gloss and attention to detail that's lacking in many other films. The brothers have an eye for small details, such as reflections and color tints. What The Matrix lacks is any real intelligence. As an synthesis of comic books,...
Published on Feb. 29 2004 by Vstmxo


‹ Previous | 1 2275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Spirituality in the modern, technological world, July 10 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
Reflecting back on the enormous popular and critical success of 'The Matrix', it is refreshing to note that people were overwhelmingly drawn to a film that conformed itself neither to the cynical and pessimistic bent that informs many recent movies nor to an easy and clichéd sort of optimism. The quest for truth is not mocked but strongly valorized here. This film is especially interesting for the numerous clues it gives about how spirituality is envisioned in the modern, technological world: organized groups and systems of all kinds (social, religious, political...) are discarded in favour of a more individualistic, master-disciple type of spiritual experience; at the same time, the notion of an official church is replaced by secret fraternities. This disregard for dogmas entails an eclectic approach that welcomes elements of Eastern thought (especially Buddhism and Taoism), of Hellenism and of Christianity; the path towards enlightenment is the Way, or Tao, which can't be put into words but must be lived. Neo's ongoing initiation features recurrent death-resurrection motifs - it does get caught up in a few noisy and overdone action scenes, but it remains fascinating from beginning to end. And the movie works well as an introduction to philosophy...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a hardware review..., Aug. 27 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I'm not going to review the film, since most people have already seen or at least know the plot.

It's not true 1920 x 1080, but it does appear to be very close. (The only reason I know is because I work in television).

The shipment came ahead of schedule (only took 3 days).

Unfortunately I cannot comment on the quality of translation, for I do not speak French, but this is definitely worth the money
!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Epitome of Cool, May 28 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie has a great cast, great cosutmes, cutting edge action, original storyline and it's just plain cool. The leather duds, flying kicks and black glasses have brought back the popularity of the trench coat, brought back appreciation for kung fu movies and sent the sunglass revolution on a spinning craze.
The script is quite clever that to this day I still find it mind-boggling. It has definitely sparked after-movie discussions because I've had to ask my more intellectual friends to explain it to me. I am glad that it decided to throw in action sequences which suited the less brainy audiences. All around a novel concenpt and should have just stopped right here.
The following sequels seemed somewhat of a disappointment. As you were expecting each sequel to become more novel and orginal, it had to come to deal with teh reality of the Matrix in the fight of humans aginst the machines. It was better to have left you wondering and thinking "what-if".
My favorite characters, by far, are the agents. In their secret-service like manner to be anti-cool, they were very cool and just as lethal as the rebels. "Find them and Destroy Them" is one of my favorite lines followe dby an agent slowly bringing his hand to his ear piece.
A neat film. Conceptually confusing at times, but the action more than makes up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Sets the Tone for Action in the New Millenium, June 4 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
Though it came out a year short, I consider The Matrix to be the 1st movie of the 21st century. This film successfully combines all of the best elements of past action movies and propels the genre forward into the digital age. By the mid to late 80's action movies had evolved enough where the hero could be an ordinary guy. Strongmen like Anuld & Sly, hard boiled private eyes, lone wolf cops and deadly assassins still had & have their places but there was the growing acceptance of portraying the hero as a family man with real concerns, a tormented soul living in troubled times or just a guy caught up in events beyond his control. The Matrix takes this further by, finally, proving both computers and virtual reality are usable elements for action movies. Previous attempts to integrate computers and virtual reality into mainstream action & Sci-Fi have met with mixed results at best. The Terminator movies, especially T2, were probably the best of the lot at combining an alternate reality with present day action. Certainly, virtual reality and alternate reality are different but they belong in the same family. The Matrix turns this upside down and inside out. The real world is presented as fake and an alternate reality; a post apocalypse machine ruled world, is posited as the real world. In this movie, the characters themseves get to choose their characters as they leave the real world and enter the Matrix. They wear leather and sunglasses. The know martial arts and how to handle guns and pilot attack helicopters. In real life, they are hunted & largely helpless. In the Matrix, they are studs. Most of the 1st half is philosophy 101 as Neo (our hero) must decide between a lonely and unsatisfying false reality and an exciting but dangerous post-apocalypse where machines feed off humans and supply them w/ a world to keep them alive. Predestination vs. free will, of course. Man vs. machine. Immediate gratification vs. long term viability. And so on. Most of the second half is fantastic action (often in slo-mo) to rock music and a budding love affair. Smart, cool, modern & pace setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best/original movies I have seen in a long time!, April 15 2004
By 
C. Johnson (Lawrenceville, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
Now that all 3 movies in the Trilogy are out. I will review each one.
This Matrix is the first installment in the Matrix trilogy. It focuses on Thomas Anderson aka NEO. Neo is a software developer by day, computer hacker by night. He knows that there is something wrong with the world but can't quite figure out what it is. When he meets Morpheus he decides he wants to know what the Matrix really is. After Neo finds out he does not believe his eyes. Towards the middle of the movie, NEO finally comes to grips that the Matrix is just a computer program that humans are plugged into while the machines live off of them. After knowing this NEO slowly discovers that he can do superhuman things while in the Matrix because the Matrix world is not "real".
Many of you already seen the movie so there is no need for me to go into much more detail about the plot. But I will say that this is one of the best movies I have seen in a long long time. After figuring out what the Matrix really was, I was blown away by the original storyline, and I began to think to myself "what if the world I'm living in is like the Matrix?" I have seen this movie at least 20 times, and I never get tired of it. The speical effects and fighting scenes are nothing short of spectatcular. This is a must have title for your collection. I can't believe anyone would give this movie anything less than 4 stars. Its not your average movie and it does require some thinking to see what is actually going on. If one does not really understand the storyline, then they will write this movie off as another action flick when in reality this movie goes so much deeper. 5 stars in my book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Illussory Material World: the Matrix, April 15 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
In the Matrix world, people live lives of virtual reality of materialism. In �greal�h reality, you are one of the generator�fs cell dreaming everything but having nothing material.
People are grown and when their bodies come to generate nothing e.g. die, are simply disposed of. It can be said that the management is perfectly rational and, may be some people would say; �gWhy not?�h, like Cypher did. After all, many people do not even know they live and die in the matrix world as something (not a human being) that the Matrix can use at its disposal. So, why should they not keep dozing in the virtual-material world?
Now, what I believe is that we are born to this irrational, unequal and can-be-very-violent world in order to make our souls better, lighter and shinier ones.
So, one question here is: can you discipline your soul in the Matrix�fs virtual reality?
I believe the answer is �gNo�h.
That is why the �gawakened�h should help people get themselves out of the Matrix and fight back against its invincible power, even though �gawakening�h from the dream world of the Matrix means to re-born into the shabby and hopeless, thus, can-be-so-depressing real world.
The good news is that: if you realize that there is actually no material world around you, you can release yourself from the physical rules of the Matrix world and can change �gvirtually�h everything with your free-will and, therefore, can live in freedom in spiritual sense. In the film �gthe Matrix�h it is only �gthe One�h who can do that, but, I think, everyone may have the potential to be Neo.
Release yourself from the Matrix of your bodily limitations. Be Neo. Be free. Then all sufferings and agony will be gone ferever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The 'magic' doesn't last., April 3 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie is five years old now. It has spawned two sequels, and the Animatrix, and by the middle of 2002, the famous "Bullet Time" sequence had been spoofed in over 20 different movies. So to say the whole design of the movie is getting a little tedious now is an understatement now. The movie was revolutionary when it first started out, but now so many people have 'copied' the Wachowski brothers ideas, it's just not so great a film anymore. Well, the film is great, if very much about the talk rather than the action.
Matrix Revolutions has just come out on DVD. After the Matrix, Reloaded and Revolutions had a lot to live up to, and got absolutely slated in the press. I've been reading reviews for the DVD of Revolutions, and some of them have been very misleading - particularly one, which said it had no DVD extras. A sure sign of a reviewer not being able to be bothered to check out their facts first, when in fact, it's a 2-disc set, with a lot of extras.
Anyway, I just wanted to have a small rant about that :) before continuing. I have to rant to someone.
There's a lot of hard work put into the filming of the Matrix, as you can see just by watching it. Before filming, the main actors spent time with martial arts experts learning the fight movies, from October 1997-March 1998. Funnily enough, the actors thought originally this would only take a few weeks! Carrie Anne Moss was so afraid that she would get recast when she twisted her ankle, that she kept it quiet, which must have been extemely difficult!
There are many references that the Wachowski brothers have included in this, from comic books, to movies, to people! There are quite a few references to Alice In Wonderland; the traitor is called Reagan, and wants to become someone important and remember nothing when he leaves the Matrix, which could refer to former US President Ronald Reagan; when Neo is in the elevator to go and see the Oracle, he can see KYM carved into the wall, which refers to Kym Barrett, a costumer designer; and Neo's room number is 101 and Room 101 was the place in George Orwell's book "1984" where people were sent to be tortured and would end up believing something that wasn't true. (!)
Apparently, principal photography wrapped at 1:01am with the scene where the characters are inside the wall, climbing down. Principal photography took 25 weeks/118 days.
Before the Matrix, Keanu Reeves hadn't really had a major box office hit since maybe Speed in 1994. And there were a couple of good films inbetween that didn't get the recognition they deserved! :) But the Matrix trilogy has really propelled him to stardom, but no doubt, he'll leave it all behind now, and do some more 'bad' films.
I suppose everyone will always say this is the best of the trilogy. But once you have the first, you have to get the rest just to complete the trilogy. It's ridiculous to have 2 out of 3, or 1 of 3. The bit I hate about the whole movie, is the use of guns. They're overly used, and overall, guns are way overused in movies these days. But that's just my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film, March 14 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is a great film, but whta I don't understand is why it got an R rating. It should be PG-13 because there's no swears are nudity. Just action. I don't get it. Anyway, this is a great film and will keep you on the edge of your seat. It's exiting as it get's. This movie will remain a gem in your collection. Good disk all in all. The commentary is my opinian wasn't that good. It would have been better if Keanu Reeves was in the commentary. And don't worry if your going to let your kids watch it, cause it isn't bad what so ever. So grab your kids even if they're 5 years old and watch it with them. They'll love it like my 5 year old, 8 year old and 11 year old did. It is a very confusing movie thou. The other ones in the series aren't as confusing because you learn everything from this one. This one is my second favorite in the series. Here's the order I like the Matrix movies 3,1 and then 2. Yes, you may think I'm weird for liking the third one the best it's just that the first didn't have enough action, the second was a bit too phoney, but third was just action to the max. I can't wait untill they realese a Matrix Trilogy box set. I'll be one of the first to buy that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome To The Real World, March 11 2004
By 
David (Jacksonville, FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
The first and the best of the trio of the Matrix movies. The Wachowski brothers spin a tale of a man, Neo, played Keanu Reeves, who is awakened from the dream that he has been living his entire life. He learns that his life has merely been part of a computer-generated matrix, a 'reality' created by machines for all of humanity in their version of a final solution. The humans dream their lives away while the machines siphon off their biological energy to power their world.
As the "Chosen One," Reeves is trained for the purpose of defeating the machines by destroying their matrix--the computer programs that keep humanity enslaved.
The movie borrows elements from Tron and injects philosophical and martial arts aspects. Many of the special effects are outstanding, as are the physical combat scenes between the heroic humans and the sadistic agents (computer programs that serve as assassins). While some of story goes unexplained--such as how Morpheus knew Neo was the "Chosen One," and how they manage to continually tap into the matrix with no opposition--it is still wonderful storytelling. The end of the movie is, actually, only the beginning of the story.
Excellent sci-fi entertainment. It's a shame the sequels weren't as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Crafty filmmaking lacking substance, Feb. 29 2004
This review is from: The Matrix (Widescreen) (DVD)
In this movie, the Wachowskis obviously have a ball working out the technical details of the photography and the digital effects. There's a nice gloss and attention to detail that's lacking in many other films. The brothers have an eye for small details, such as reflections and color tints. What The Matrix lacks is any real intelligence. As an synthesis of comic books, sci-fi, and Hong Kong action movies, The Matrix is just fine. But it's nevertheless disappointing that it lacks an intellectual core--any originality of thought or explication. As other reviews point out, authors such as Philip K. Dick and William Gibson have already trekked down this path with much more thoughtfulness. The bottom line is that The Matrix is fun to watch, much like a Saturday morning cartoon, but does not merit the adoration it seems to engender. If you love The Matrix, I suggest that you head down to your local used bookstore and thumb through the sci-fi rack. There's alot more where The Matrix came from.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2275 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Matrix (Widescreen)
The Matrix (Widescreen) by Lana Wachowski (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 9.93 CDN$ 6.66
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews