Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (48)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely sensational, June 2 2004
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
This boxed set is absolutely fabulous. From the trunk-like box to the wonderful liner note booklet to the highly informative paperback "Rainbow's End", the production values are of the highest calibre. As for the TV shows, outtakes, and commentary by first producer George Schlatter, all I can say is that I am absolutely blown away by the incredibly wonderful entertainment value of these shows. Judy Garland is positively mezmerizing in her every second on screen - you can't take your eyes off of her. Her voice is absolutely perfect in every single song, and watching these TV shows gives you the feeling that you really get to see the real Judy Garland - as close as we can ever come to knowing the real person, not confined to the restrictions of a movie role. This is by far the best DVD boxed set I have ever seen, and worth every penny. I will enjoy these performances by Judy Garland for many years to come - they are timeless, classic, and tragically heartwarming. You can clearly sense the struggle that Judy was enduring to overcome the immense obstacles that CBS was imposing on her, as well as the inner demons that she had fought all her life. The makers of this DVD collection deserve immense gratitude from every Judy Garland fan. Judy would be proud of the way in which this collection has been presented. First class.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The top of the rainbow, March 12 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
'Spellbound' That's the only true descriptive of my reaction to watching the Judy Garland Show Boxed Collection. The array of talented guests who appear on the show is breathtaking, but ultimately its Judy herself who rivets our attention to the TV screen. The voice is rich and powerful and Judy looks great (having conquered the weight problems, which had plagued her for the last few years). Judy is not just a great singer however. Her whole presence, delivery and unmistakeble mannerisms combine to transcend her to the legend that she has become. Never has this been better demonstrated than through her performances in her show. Thank goodness this TV show was made (even though it is impossible to understand fully why it only ran for one season). It gives us folks, who are too young to have been lucky enough to see Judy in concert at the peak of her powers, a sample of what it must have been like. As far as I am concerned, I could watch all 14 shows again..and again...and again..(and probably will)!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars She shines among the brightest of stars, Feb. 2 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
Just got this box set.. I cannot stop watching it.. I too was born after this series was on TV in it's run... But, seeing the brillant picture and sound I'm sure it looks and sounds better than it did when it was being shown on CBS in it's only season.
My favorite parts of this box set are:
Mickey Rooney and Judy bringing their movie roles that they appeared in together while teenagers, as young 40 somethings in 1963.
Loved seeing Ray Bolger and Judy.. Loved the 1940's Melody by Martha Raye and Judy. You can tell how much June Allyson and Judy loved each other in the show with June in it. Loved the old Hollywood home movies of Ken Murray. Especially the one show featuring Judy and her hollywood friends back when everyone was young, and when times were more innocent before WW2.
Loved the extra of Mel Torme singing Don't get around much anymore... to Judy and June Allyson. June and Judy look like a bunch of teenagers swooning to Mel Torme.
I can't get over the amount of popular songs that are on this collection.. The best of the best.
Loved seeing Liza as a teenager. Too many talented guests only one tv show. Loved the Tea for Two... Steve Allen guest spot on one of the Dvd Bonuses. Would love to see Jack Paar show with appearnaces of the best of his guests which would include Judy. Hard to believe that 40 years ago, this show was ON Tv every week. Great paperback book included in this..
You feel like Judy is singing straight to you.
Loved the 2nd box collection too...
Both box sets combined will make the entire season of Judy's Tv series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely Amazing, Nov. 30 2002
By 
Dean Glass (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
I have been a long-time fan of Judy Garland. My favorite movie is The Wizard of Oz, and I also love Meet Me In St. Louis, The Harvey Girls, Love Finds Andy Hardy, and on and on. However, until I got this boxed set, I had never seen Judy's television series. I was simply blown away by the shear talent of the woman. She didn't sing songs; she interpreted them. She laid out her emotions raw for all to see with every note. Even when she wasn't in her "best voice", she could still sell a song better than anyone before or since, and yes, I do include Barbra! The problem with the show was that the network had absolutely no idea what to do with Judy. At first she was teamed with Jerry Van Dyke, who was supposed to provide comedy relief between songs. Unfortunately, the two had no chemistry, and the writing was decidedly unfunny. Blaming Van Dyke, CBS fired him. Sad, yes, but the show improved. Then a new format where Judy would trade banter and stories over tea with her guest stars was launched; sometimes it was brilliant, sometimes not. Always brilliant, however, was Judy Garland, whether bringing down the house with her amazing voice, talking about Old Hollywood while digging through her trunk, or just manipulating what would normally be a mundane story into something hilarious and magical. This Judy is not the tragic Judy you read about or see portrayed on TV by Judy Davis or Andrea McArdle--this was one funny, talented lady. What a shame the show only lasted one season, but the one season is chock-a-block with "rewatchability". Judy's guest stars included Tony Bennett, Vic Damone, Count Basie, Lena Horne, Jack Jones, Ethel Merman, and, of course, Liza Minnelli. The show was video taped in black and white with the latest state-of-the-art cameras of the time, giving the show a sleek, sophisticated look. The DVD transfer makes the most of this and is absolutely stunning. You also have the option to listen to the original mono soundtrack or a new 5.1 version. The set also comes with the book Rainbow's End by Coyne Steven Sanders, which details the history of the show, and is extremely informative. The set contains fourteen complete episodes, including some outtakes and alternate takes. Some of the other shows in the series have been released seperately, but I am hoping for a second boxed set to complete my collection. Unfortunately, my favorite episode, The Christmas Show, is not included here, but can be purchased separately.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Indespensible --- A Glimpse of Judy Garland LIVE!, Sept. 20 2002
By 
George Dalzell (LA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
Depending upon the quality of your home entertainment system, this DVD compendium of Garland's CBS' shows verges on a resurrection of Judy Garland. Sure, the series features awkward moments thanks to the passive-aggressive politics of CBS Executives Aubrey and Stromberg. Still, Garland's performances are offered to us as a testament to her genius as an entertainer. There are so many moments in this collection where she triumphs despite the politics of CBS, gifting us with a legacy of her of genius in which we are allowed to participate so intimately. Itt would be a joke to pit this collection against THE COMPLETE BONANZA, Judy's competition in '63-'64.
It's imperative that the entire CBS series is preserved and soon finds its way onto DVD and into our homes. The mere thought that the last show, #26, could present viewers with the audio and visual of outakes such as "Here's To Us!" is the Pop equivalent of the restoration of Davinci's THE LAST SUPPER. Judy is at her best in this collection, for those of us too young to have seen her perform live, it's the next best thing --- don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, Indespensible --- A Glimpse of Judy Garland LIVE!, Sept. 20 2002
By 
George Dalzell (LA, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
Depending upon the quality of your home entertainment system, this DVD compendium of Garland's CBS' shows verges on a resurrection of Judy Garland. Sure, the series features awkward moments thanks to the passive-aggressive politics of CBS Executives Aubrey and Stromberg. Still, Garland's performances are offered to us as a testament to her genius as an entertainer. There are so many moments in this collection where she triumphs despite the politics of CBS, gifting us with a legacy of her of genius in which we are allowed to participate so intimately. Itt would be a joke to pit this collection against THE COMPLETE BONANZA, Judy's competition in '63-'64.
It's imperative that the entire CBS series is preserved and soon finds its way onto DVD and into our homes. The mere thought that the last show, #26, could present viewers with the audio and visual of outakes such as "Here's To Us!" is the Pop equivalent of the restoration of Davinci's THE LAST SUPPER. Judy is at her best in this collection, for those of us too young to have seen her perform live, it's the next best thing --- don't miss it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Disc details, Jan. 3 2002
By 
James Sumner Proffitt (Pacifica, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
I have this collection, as well as Vols. 3-5 and "Legends" (aka Vol. 6). I was confused during my research regarding the content and possible overlaps between the various discs that are out there. Now that I've had a chance to review my own copy of the collection (love it), here is some information that might be helpful to others:
There are 4 DVDs in the box:
1. Just Judy compilation & Shows #21 & #22 (The Just Judy portion was recently released individually without #21 & #22)
2. Shows #1, #2, #3, #4 (recently released individually and split into two discs as Vol. 1: Shows #1 & #3, and Vol. 2: Shows #2 & #4)
3. Shows #5, #6, #10, #12
4. Shows #13, #16, #17, #18
Also released individually:
Vol. 3 - Show #15
Vol. 4 - Shows #8, #19, #24, #25
Vol. 5 - Shows #7, #9
Vol. 6 - "Legends" is a compilation
So, if you buy the Collection and Vols. 3-6, you will have 21 of the 26 shows. The Collection comes in a case shaped like a trunk. Inside the trunk, you'll find a piece of foam, a Collection insert, and a paperback book in addition to the 4 DVDs. If you remove the foam and the book, you'll be able to fit Vols. 3-6 inside as well...but then what to do with the book? Anyway...
The DVD insert provides an index to the guests and provides the Show # on which they appear. It also indexes each song performed and provides the Show # or #s. The DVD insert indices only reference the discs included in the Collection.
The feature mentioned in the product description for the Collection regarding an index to *all 26 shows* is actually found in the paperback book, "Rainbow's End," which is included inside the Collection box.
Another issue is that the spines of the DVDs in the Collection are labeled Disc 1, Disc 2, etc while the supplemental discs are labeled Vol 3, Vol 4, etc.
If you have the Collection, and Vols. 3-6, the "missing" episodes are:
Show #11 - Steve Allen, Mel Torme, Jayne Meadows
Show #14 - Bobby Darin, Bob Newhart
Show #20 - Judy Garland in Concert
Show #23 - Judy Garland in Concert: Music from Movies
Show #26 - Judy Garland in Concert
Shows #11 and #14 will be released on 2/18/2003 in Vol. 7!
Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What's Not To Like?, Nov. 27 2001
By 
David Von Pein (Mooresville, Indiana; USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
These re-mastered DVD versions of the original Judy Garland Show from 1963-1964 are to be cherished to be sure! No worries here (with the digital DVD format) about degradation of the video, no rewinding, no snowy picture, and best of all .... Judy looks and sounds sensational in these programs! You'll never hear her sounding better than during this short-lived one-season endeavor. A shame it wasn't renewed for a longer run. Several interesting guest stars add further depth to these stylish CBS-TV productions, including 17-year-old daughter Liza Minnelli, who's in fine voice herself during her appearances with her famous mom! The book included was also a nice bonus, adding even more insight into this most fascinating television series, which was treated more as a special weekly "event", rather than just an ordinary show. And it was too!! You're going to love, too, the outstanding quality of the black-and-white images of these programs! Excellent clarity for shows that are nearing their 40th birthday!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Work of Judy Garland's Career, July 30 2001
By 
Rochelle Marie Ramirez (Ontario, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
I've heard so many people say that the finest work of Judy Garland's adult career is A Star is Born; as wonderful as it is, I disagree. Her television show of the 1963-64 season is definitely the greatest work of her career. Though Judy had only five years left to live, she is in exceptional voice. Her emotion filled deliveries before live television audiences are awe-inspiring. Knowing that Judy's shows are preserved on DVD is especially a treat for those of us who were not born yet. The Judy Garland Show Collection box set is amazing - 14 of 26 episodes, outtakes, a beautifully written book about the series, an index booklet of guests, shows, and songs, a link to the Judy Garland Database, and a screen saver, all packaged in a very attractive trunk casing. The audio and visual quality of these shows is unbelievable; so clear and crisp you'd swear they were taped yesterday. Some of Judy's guests include Mickey Rooney, Count Basie, Lena Horne, Liza Minnelli and Tony Bennett, to name a few. It's also interesting to see the changes in the style of the shows due to its three different producers. Of coarse, best of all is Judy, as Judy, giving some of the greatest performances of her career. I believe that just as her performance as Dorothy in The Wizard of Oz will be remembered as the beginning of her musical brilliance, The Judy Garland Show will go down in history as the final word on the greatness of Judy Garland.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Amazing, Nov. 26 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Judy Garland Show Collection (DVD)
I had always heard that Judy Garland had had a T.V. show in the 60's, but having no been born then, I never saw it. I have always been a Judy Garland fan, and this box set is the best composition of work in her late life I have ever seen offered. It is sometimes sad, sometime laugh-out-loud comedy, but all wonderful. This set includes almost all of the episodes in the various one disk releases with the exceptions of Volumes 4 and 5. This set also includes the "Just Judy" disk, which is full of her solo performances, which are simply wonderful!
Her randition of "The Battle Hymn of the Republic" is simply heart wrenching, and will bring water to your eyes! When Judy sings, you feel many times, she is singing to YOU and that is what is soooo wonderful! When you watch her, you feel she is standing before you and standing right there singing to you.
I don't know if it's the clearity of the image and sound or Judy, but these disks are simply magical! I think it's both!
I don't know how else to say it, but this MUST be the best work she ever did.
Judy never sings from her voice, bu rather with he heart and her soul! That is what makes her so wounderful. When you see a person like Judy, even if it is only a recording, or a video and then only in black and white, you know she's a little gift from God, as many great people are!
Buy this DVD if you love great music!
Buy this DVD if you love great comedy!
Most of all....
Buy this DVD collection if you love Judy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Judy Garland Show Collection
CDN$ 499.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews