Customer Reviews


84 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Where did this " Fall off " term come from?
I just want to let you ALL know, Wu-tang clan has never " fallen off"? What you are calling " Falling" is simply the Wu-tang style metamorphasis. Let me break it down for all yall... If you have been a Wu fan for a while you will reconize what im talking about.. but heeeeeeeeeeeeere we gooooooo....
Their first style- probably the most trademark,...
Published on Sept. 26 2003 by DJ Mary Wanna

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A weak sophomore effort for the Wu.
I wasn't at all impressed with this album(s). Enter the Wu-Tang was a milestone in the hip-hop era with one great track after another and this is just... weak. There are a few decent songs here, including "Reunited," "The City," & "It's Yours," but this double album could easily be pared down into one. The only real gem here is "A Better Tomorrow." It's easily one of the...
Published on Dec 17 2002 by kp666


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A weak sophomore effort for the Wu., Dec 17 2002
By 
"kp666" (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
I wasn't at all impressed with this album(s). Enter the Wu-Tang was a milestone in the hip-hop era with one great track after another and this is just... weak. There are a few decent songs here, including "Reunited," "The City," & "It's Yours," but this double album could easily be pared down into one. The only real gem here is "A Better Tomorrow." It's easily one of the best rap songs I've heard in a long time. The single, "Triumph" in my humble opinion, just plain ... The Clan could use not only a real dj, but a producer who can tell good songs from filler garbage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Wu-Tang Clan - Wu-Tang Forever, June 23 2004
By 
M.C. Ol' Skool (from the old school) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
This album was pretty good; it didn't seem to me that they were falling off at all. But I do know why this album was kinda considered as a sophomore-jinxed album. First, it's very hard to top 36 Chambers, as it was their breakthrough album. So once you broke through, what more is there to do? Either keep doing you or experiment with some different sounds, which is what RZA was doing with more soulful samples and singers like Tekitha (remember her?). Fans expected more of the kung-fu samples to dominate the album. Second, can someone say the word, "OVERKILL"? I don't care how much of a Wu fanatic you are, there are nine members in the group, plus CappaDonna and their other Wu extended family like Poppa Wu, all on over two hours of material. It's too much of a good thing, like having Burger King for seven days straight. Last, only Disc 2 is the most memorable with songs like "Triumph", "Heaterz" and "M.G.M.". Disc 1 is okay, not wack, but okay. To tell you the truth, I only played this album for much of 1997, but when newer albums came out, this one got lost in the shuffle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Where did this " Fall off " term come from?, Sept. 26 2003
By 
DJ Mary Wanna (Rochester Hills, MI USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
I just want to let you ALL know, Wu-tang clan has never " fallen off"? What you are calling " Falling" is simply the Wu-tang style metamorphasis. Let me break it down for all yall... If you have been a Wu fan for a while you will reconize what im talking about.. but heeeeeeeeeeeeere we gooooooo....
Their first style- probably the most trademark, The Kung-fu sampled, dark/ chamber style beats introduced by the infamous Rza. There are many examples of this - Enter the Wu, Cuban Linx, umm Liquid Swords, Pillage ( yuck).. anyway- this seems to be the most popular, and definetly was reconizable. The rugged beats with dark lyrics seemed to have faded away...
2nd style - THIS album - kind of their inbetween, its very weird, i can't really have a grasp on the sound they were going for on this album, we really caught them in the midst of experimentation - you can tell by such songs as, Older godz, Triumph ( kinda), MGM, Cash rules, Projectz especially, they were slightly leaning toward glamour and MGM type apollo sounds ; lyrics werent rugged, more of a ghetto pride, superior black supremist who obtains the glitter and glamour of money and respect --- SIDE NOTE: if you want to see the final result of this style, check out Ghostface killah - supreme clientele ( wow, great album- good job ghost)
3rd style ( cuz i only got 1,000 words)
now i like this the best, RZA did more experimenting with Soul, mo-town samples, with that classic Wu-sound mixed in... kind of hard to explain but you can see examples with " Hollow Bones" off " the W" and RZA - " Be a man" he kind of slowed down the beats, and made the lyrics more rugged like the first style, but it sounded tight mixed in with the samples.
Bottom line - What would you have rather seen Wu do, Experiment with their style, change it up a little, possibly break up into numerous solo projects and develope individual sounds....
OR simply sell out to the ice shattered, female degrading, mainstream pop that has now taken the name Rap??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Last Forever, July 24 2003
By 
mc "apex/decap." (Calgary, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
The start of this album to many would be considered boring and to me it even gets a little long. It is very interesting and it feels like church and makes you feel power in many ways. This ends in the kun fue that is on every wu album and in a way this is my favorite skit of the kun fue. As you hear the first track Reunited it seams like this would be 36 chambers with just more tracks (just saying how good this is). After that the beats stay as good but that whole thing that RZA is doing with sounds in the backround almost wrecks the songs. Don't worry though that only lasts for a few songs. From Visions till the end of this disc it is amazing especialy Its Yourz. Disc 1 ends short but still ever lasting. Next you put it into your computer and its realy no big deal after all (except for the Raekwon freestyle in his room). Disc 2 starts off with the intro and this is actually very entertaining to hear RZA talk about Wu Tang being true hip hop in its purest form. Then it goes to the majour track Triumph. Words can truly not explain this track, from the confusing rhymes that you must almost put your ear dead on the sterio to understand what they are trying to explain, to the beat that leaves you breathless until the last seconds on the track. And it prety much stays that way just until it gets to dog sh*t. Now believe me this track is very good because of the beat and just having ODB have another one of his own tracks. But to me this could have been taken off the whole album because of the feel. Then on in it just stays like Triumph with perfection.
Most will tell you that this could have been better than 36 chambers by a long shot if tracks were taken out. I'll tell you that same thing. But then it would be just minutes over the length of one disc and that would be even worse in some ways. I'll even add that if wu made an album back in 94 or 95 then it would be even more amazing because of tracks like winter warz, ice cream, and many others on the solo projects. But in the end you must think about The Source because a question Im still asking myself today is what would they have given this classic the 5 mics it deserved (mostly because of originality) or the 3 mics that some give this because they expected better.
But just think about this the closest album to this is Outkast's Aquemini and that got 5 mics doesn't hip hop in it's purest form deserve reconizationand for Wu-Tang Clan's MCin. Think about this you cat in the hat, mother goose, dr suese this hip hop in it's purest form stop tryin to turn rap into r and b aight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The most advanced Wu-Tang album., Jan. 11 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
Enter the 36 Chambers is one of the top 5 rap albums of all time and one of the top music albums ever. Now with that said, Wu-Tang Foverver is more advanced than 36 Chambers (not meaning that its better). The lyrics throughout the WHOLE album is one step ahead anything else they made (except maybe Liquid Swords).
Their is no catchy hook on this one (for better or worse), just great lyrics. Nobody lags, but the ones that really shine on this album is the RZA. For some reason he is just ON. I've never heard RZA like this before (and sadly neither have I heard him like this after). Check this line from
"Severe Punishement" "As the pendulum swings close to the millenum 2000, wickedness is spread amongst my citizens" And his entire verse in "Duck Seazon".
This album is more mature and experimental (check the song structure in Deadly Melody) then 36 chambers wich is why some people might be put of by that album. I can't praise this album enough. This is truly an artistic achievement greatly misunderstood and while a commercially succesful album (mostly due to its hype) its an even more underrated album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Worthy Follow Up To The Classic, Dec 13 2002
By 
Carlos (Orlando, FL) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
Wu Tang had a lot to live up to with this second album. The 36 Chambers has gone down as a classic, and like most rappers, having incredible debut albums seems to curse the sequels. "Wu-Tang Forever", though, makes a great effort at living up to its older brother. Unfortunately, it still falls short.
Spanning 2 discs and a total of 27 tracks, all 9 (excluding Cappadonna) members gets a nice big bite out of the pie, my personal favorite being RZA. What really makes this album stick out is the fact that it came out at a time when rap was starting to lose its street credentials and gaining more popularity in the mainstream. "Wu-Tang Forever" put some of the streets back into it, especially with songs like "Severe Punishment", "The City", and of course "Triumph". Every rapper stays on top of their game as they lay down the lyrics. Where it starts to get sloppy though is the beats. As compared to the first, instrumentals have lost their rugged edge and have been replaced with more...how should I say...average rap beats. Kung-Fu flick quotes still run abundant, but maybe if they added more of those into the songs themselves (like they did in "Severe Punishment" and "Hellz Wind Staff") it would sound a lot better. What I REALLY hate about this album though is track 15 of the second CD, "Second Coming". I just don't get it. Nobody raps in it... its just some female voice singing an R&B song. I mean, the other flaw isn't so bad, but this...to me it really hurts "Wu-Tang Forever"'s overall score. I don't know what RZA was thinking when he decided to put this track in the final cut. Bad mistake my friend.
"The 36 Chambers" is something hard to surpass, but unlike most follow-ups, this one has much to be proud of. Maybe the beats aren't exactly there, and "Second Coming" was totally uncalled for, but in the end it is a awesome album. For those of you who are really into the Wu, you shouldn't be dissapointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Wu Tang is Forever...., Aug. 27 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
This album personofies the Wu as we know them, they came to their own on this album and showed the world what their visions were and recorded one of the deepest hip hop albums to date, most of the songs have a deep message to them but it's quite clear. The 1st Disc is by far and away the best of the two, so I can't agree with the one in Spotlight review who said Disc two is the better. The first disc is 11 straight Wu bangers and not the wack Black Shampoo and Maria songs you will find on disc two, it is the hard side. Songs like For Heavens Sake, A Better Tomorrow, Visionz, Severe Punishment, MGM, Reunited, It Yours and a few others bang so hard on the first disc you won't want to switch it. Disc two has it's spotlights too with Triumph, The City and a few other bangers to keep it from being a wash, the falloff is it is too long 16 as compared to 11 on side one and has too many filler songs, luckily it is saved by the songs I mentioned and a straight heater in the song Heaterz (A classic Wu sampled song with so much energy to it it's crazy). The seond disc however falls short and could have been merged with the first one to make a classic 15 or 16 song single CD that would have gotten a straight 5 mics in magazines and reviewers alike. I recommend this one to people who love hip hop with meaning and love lyrics and beats that hit hard as nails, if you are into hip pop and new age stuff you should stay away from this one however because it's over your head, you might find Method Man and the beats entertaining though (Everyones favorite member). Rza says on the beginning it will take folks till 2000 just to get this, and it seems some still haven't gotten their message or deciphered the importance of this album to date in 02. I think they should listen again after a few years and feel how much hip hop has fallen off in the last few years and has no purpose anymore, then realize how special this album is. Pick this up like Rza said and get all the Summer school you need this summer from the 2 disc LP Wu Tang Forever, you won't be dissapointed or have another coaster to put under your beers. Wu Tang Forever........
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Star Material, Aug. 16 2002
By 
Rebecca Lyle (Garland, Texas United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
First off, I must say that I was never a fan of rap and hip hop and still am not. I'm just a white, middle class, suburbinite. I must also add that I have deep respect for extremely talented expressions of artwork. That is where Wu-Tang's Forever comes into place. This 2 disc album is not even the best Wu-Tang album, 36 Chamber is, but this one still takes your breath away. The beats are like instrumental songs of their own, and the MC's crash perfectly in with them on the same level. Even the weakest of the Wu-Tang MC's are still much stronger than most lyricists these days. Inspectah Deck is just amazing. The lyrics and rhymes he writes are some of the best, if not the best ever. Rza keeps everything so much more powerful with his genius and revolutionary beats. Ghostface Killah shines throughout with his heart filled and high pitched vocals (especially seen in "Impossible"). Those are just a few, but everyone on these 2 discs deserves to be mentioned. All in all, anyone with a brain can listen to this and realize that the 9 men of the Wu-Tang Clan are extremely gifted artists and can at least be appreciated for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Wu-Tang Forever, March 27 2002
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
The year is 1997. The hip-hop world has been rocked by the recent deaths of 2Pac and Notorious B.I.G. Out of the tragedy emerges Puff Daddy...the complete opposite of the gangsta image that had emcompassed hip-hip music for the majority of a decade. Suddenly, rappers everywhere begin dropping their thug persona to get "jiggy" and boast their bank accounts.
Maybe this was one of the things working against the hardcore Wu-Tang Clan as they released their double-disc sophomore effort.
The 9-man group had released five highly praised solo efforts between their group projects and with the anticipation of Wu-Tang Forever, seemed poised to officially lock down the title of world's best rap group. But, alas, it was not to be.
Deep down, Forever was and is a brilliant album. Lyrically the Clan had progressed to a breaking point where listeners were forced to write out the words and analyze them to completely understand the gems contained. Production-wise, RZA offered cleaner sounding and more high-tech sample-free beats than their stunning debut.
Unfortunately, the MTV crowd wasn't ready and party joints featuring juvenile lyricism laced over jacked-80's hits kept Forever from producing even one hit single.
Sure, Forever isn't without its flaws. With over 20 tracks, there is plenty of skip-worthy material and even the best tracks have difficulty holding up to most of the Clan's previous work.
But a good album is still a good album and very few releases can stack up to this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars nothing more, nothing less, Nov. 2 2001
By 
Mr hip hop (Winston Salem NC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Wu-Tang Forever (Audio CD)
The best word to describe this album is confusing.
There are times you get hyped from this and want to just think this album is the greatest album of all time, but then you hear some verses and hooks and think this is just weak. If you feel this album is nothing but garbage, or if you think this album is classic of classics, then you need to re-listen to this and evaluate your decision.
We all know this album is nothing like the 36 Chambers. Nothing even close. This album is more of an attempt for mainstream Wu material. This album is much better than "The W" lp. We aren't even going to go there.
About the album. Its nice at times, but then again weak. Every artist has impressive verses. Not on every track but for the most part from a lyrical stand-point you can tell it took some time to make this album. It took the Wu Tang about 2 days to make "The W."
Rza could have made the production better on some tracks. But then again give him credit for making a couple of classic ones too. The Rza lost his touch production wise after this album dropped.
The subject matter on this album is hip-hop related. There isn't that much garbage about cash, hos, and cars, and all that bs. For the most part its good hip-hop material. Some verses could have been better. The best artist on this album on both sides are the Gza, Deck, and the Donna makes some of the tracks shine.
The "Triumph" track is without a doubt classic, hands down. "Reunited" classic. "For Heavens Sake" classic. "Older Gods" Gza makes classic. "Its Yours" classic.
Most of the tracks on side two aren't that nice. "Triumph" and "Bells of War" are about the only two classic from that side.
In the end we all have different opinions. I was about to give this album 4 stars, but this really isn't worth that many when it comes down to it. In many perspectives this album was created for the mainstream hip-hopers, and not the real heads. I have to take away for that. This album is worth buying, but this isn't an album that needs to be in every music collection, maybe a hip-hop collection, but not all music in general, like the 36 Chambers needs to be. Or like Liquid Swords. Get the album and find out for yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wu-Tang Forever
Wu-Tang Forever by Wu-Tang Clan (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews