Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars354
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:$19.99+ $3.49 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Ah, the 90s, the teen flicks of my youth. I Know What You Did Last Summer, The Craft, Scream, Wild Things, and Cruel Intentions. Most of which only recycle the tried formula of their respective genres. For this movie, it's been a long time since I saw it (back when VHS was still big). After all those years, it's not the best of movies. A very forgettable effort but still enjoyable for its corny spirit and sometimes bland acting (Ryan Philippe felt like a washed off sponge, but we all had to start somewhere). The real part that got me back then was between Sarah Michelle Gellar and Selma Blair (yes, that part). Even though the movie is very predictable, what few heart it has makes up for some of it's nihilistic approach in characterization.

Sebastian (Ryan Philippe) collects female like a sportsman collects trophies. The only woman he really wants is his step-sister Kathryn (Sarah Michelle Gellar). They place a bet involving the most outrageous idea: Sebastian has to corrupt and bed Annette (Reese Witherspoon).

A very serviceable track, the dialog is crisp, easy to hear and the music is very well balanced.

As far as DVD go, this is a good enough transfer. It's nothing to write home about but it gets the job done.

A nice array of supplemental material is offered: an audio commentary, deleted scenes, two featurettes, music videos, trailer and filmographies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 9, 2012
I wanted to buy this movie because I had just heard about actress Sarah Michelle Gellar, I knew her by name before but never happened to see any of her movies or TV series before. I've read that the steamy scenes between her and actress Selma Blair made this something of a cult movie; I was also very curious to see the work of director/writer Roger Kumble. There is currently about a dozen movies made from the 18th Century novel "Les Liaisons Dangereuses", two of the most famous are Milos Forman's "Valmont" made in 1988 and Stephen Frear's "Dangerous Liaisons" made in 1989, who won 3 Oscars basically for the costumes and the writing. In my opinion there were problems who made these two movies doomed from the very beginning, no matter how good the costumes and sets are someone get bored very rapidly of seeing only aristocrats living their daily life, especially when the dialog is complicated and hard to follow. Some positive point could always be given for the excellent music. Personally I really think the story is confusing in all three versions, in "Cruel Intentions" it's probably the main flaw of the movie, but it's still much clearer than the other versions and the story is understandable, those who don't understand everything the first time could always watch it again. The idea who made the movie excellent is certainly to adapt the action to modern 20th century where it's easy to put sexual overtones among other things, and making it a rich teenagers story add something. I couldn't think of better persons to play in it than Ryan Phillippe, Selma Blair, Reese Witherspoon and Sarah Michelle Gellar. user "Murkey" from the UK wrote in another review exactly what I personally think: "The script is clever, the plot well structured and the production excellent, but over-riding this is the sheer quality of acting and the raw sexual overtones between the characters. Controversial subjects are addressed simply and directly, and all of this without any real nudity or explicit sex scenes." Overall the other two well-known movies made from the original novel are boring to death, I woudn't recommend them at all, but this one is really interesting and an eye-candy to watch.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 14, 2004
This is still my favorite movie, it has been since it came out. In fact it probably was since I saw the preview for it! What's it got? First of all it's got a ton of seduction, betrayal, backstabbing, all the things you need for a great movie. It has a stellar cast with Sarah Michelle Gellar (famous for the great tv show Buffy, here at her meanest), Reese Witherspoon, Ryan Phillippe and Selma Blair. Without this great cast the movie wouldn't be what it is. I really bought the love story between Sebastian (Ryan) and Annette (Reese), it probably helped that they're real life lovers too. Cecille was funny, as the innocent twit that Kathryn wants to play with. The music in the movie also rocks, the soundtrack is a blast. This is a very edgy teen movie, and very adult so if you're like me you won't be able to wait to see it. The extra features on the dvd are alright, but the deleted scenes are nothing special, you'll be able to see why they were deleted. The trailer is great, they used the song How Soon is Now for it. The best thing is the movie itself, which I think stands up to many repeat viewings! Wicked and sexy, it's alot of fun.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2004
We'll start with the bad, for those who have seen dangerous liasons you've seen it all before and will expect similiar. Don't!
This is vamped for the younger generation. The only other thing that may make you dislike this film is Philipe's "Sebastian" acting. His acting through parts of the film is seemably someone trying to act but his character is someone who is constantly lying and is pretending. Several parts of the film when his emotions come out his acting is bottled. It's probably how most guys would act in the real situation trying to keep a tap on their emotions and the only flaw in this is that it's too real and not more like what we usually see on screen.
But despite that this is a brilliant film with twists and a great ending.
I'd like to mention the excellent job Edward Shearmur did for the soundtrack. Brilliant non intrusive to the movie and very suiting to the mood. Each and every track melds into a great viewable movie.
With only a thousand characters per comment I could go on all day about film but thought more suiting to mention the bad and let you enjoy the movie with these out of the way.
One of my all time favourite's.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 4, 2004
CRUEL INTENTIONS is about how some troubled youths act in high school, both in the movie, and in reality as well. This movie is great, it is aimed for a teen audience, but is still entertaining. It is almost repulsing when you see how these shmucks treat each other, but then you can see the connections between the Character partrayed by Sarah and Ryan, and the kids at your high school. Insomse cases it hit pretty close to home, but it is refreshing to see the "just desarts" in the end of this movie. Sarah Michelle Gellar found her inner "Erica Kane" from her All My Children days. I say her inner "Erica Kane" 'cause I cannot type the real word on this review. In the movie, you almost want to slap her in you are a girl, or splash a glass of water in her face if are a guy,'cause you can't slap her if are a guy. Sarah Michelle Gellar uses some strong language in this movie, so do teens today. Which is so realistic about this movie, with their language and their actions If want to see some evil teens try to use and abuse and manipulate eac other(with thier "Just Desarts" in the end) then sit down, kick back and enjoy!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2003
This is a Romantic Comedy of the very dark variety. Sarah Michelle Gellar plays one of the most wicked femme fatales (Kathryn) you will ever encounter on-screen. Reese Witherspoon portrays the typical all-American, virtuous midwestern girl (Annette). In between is a womanizer, Sebastian, played by Ryan Phillippe.
All of the characters in the movie are fabulously wealthy, but more than a few are deficient when it comes to matters of the heart. People who enjoy eye candy will enjoy some of the sets of this movie - particularly the lavish indoor swimming pool @ the cottage.
Sebastian and Kathryn make a bet: can the suave playboy score on Annette? This, along with a web of insidious sub-plots form the core of the movie's plot. In each and every case, Kathryn and Sebastion outwit everyone else in the film in order to manipulate circumstances into their favor. Occasionally, they even dupe each other.
Over the course of the film, however, Sebastian's character begins to change, albeit slightly. Meanwhile, Kathryn remains the cold-hearted and sadistic wench she always was. It is a credit to the acting ability of Phillippe that the change in character becomes apparent and we're actually compelled to care for him by the end of the film.
To answer the $60,000 question on whether a sweet innocent girl can have a significant impact on a life-long playboy, watch the film. However, be prepared for one of the darkest comedies you will ever see. It's downright cruel - intentionally so.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 6, 2003
Kathryn and Sebastian are actually step-siblings in the movie. Kathryn refers to Sebastian as "dear brother". And near the beginning of the movie Kathryn said, "The parental units called while you were out." Sebastian replies, "How is your gold-digging w***e of a mother enjoying Bali?" To which Kathryn responds, "She suspects that your impotent, alcoholic father is d*ddling the maid."
"Cruel Intentions" (1999, directed by Roger Kumble) was adapted from the 1782 French novel "Les Liaisons Dangereuses" by Choderlos de Laclos. If "Cruel Intentions" seems a bit familiar, the Glenn Close, John Malkovich picture "Dangerous Liaisons" (1988, directed by Stephen Frears) was based on the same book and the characters have similar names with an almost parallel plot.
Cruel Intentions begins with Sebastian Valmot (played by Ryan Phillippe) in a session with his therapist. After he leaves, the therapist's daughter calls and tells her mother the things a guy she met told her. Sebastian said the same things to the therapist only moments before.
Sebastian and his stepsister, Kathryn Merteuil (played by Sarah Michelle Gellar) make a bet: Sebastian has to take the virginity of Annette Hargrove (played by Reese Witherspoon) before school starts in the fall. If he is unsuccessful, Kathryn gets his most prized possession, his 1956 Jaguar Roadster. If he is successful, get his to sleep with Kathryn. Sebastian also has to 'deflower' Cecile Caldwell (played by Selma Blair) because Kathryn's ex-boyfriend, Court Reynolds, is interested in her.
As Sebastian sends more time with Annette, he really begins to care about her and falls in love with her, however, he is not free from Kathryn's manipulative ways. She convinces him that she was only using him and that because of her, he gave up the only person he has ever loved.
Sebastian gives his journal to Annette because it is the only way he can apologize because she refuses to see him. When he is walking by Annette's apartment building, Ronald Clifford (played by Sean Patrick Thomas), who is in love with Cecile, spots Sebastian and wished to confront him about the tryst with Cecile. Before Sebastian can explain, Ronald, who is also caught up in Kathryn's web of deceit, starts throwing punches. When Annette tries to intervene, she is thrown into a busy street with a cab coming right at her. Sebastian pushes her out of the way and is hit by the cab. Sebastian and Annette profess their love to each other.
At his funeral, Kathryn attempts to eulogize her stepbrother, but many of the students start walking out of the church. She tries to continue, but more students walk out. Curiosity gets the best of her and she walks out, too. Once outside, Cecile hands her a copy of Sebastian's journal, inside is the truth about the bet to bed Annette and the plot to turn Cecile into a tramp. Also, he has pages about Kathryn, calling her "Benedict B***h: Kathryn's Backstabbing World of Friendship" and her cocaine problem. Headmaster Hargrove opens her rosary to reveal the cocaine inside, while all the students look on. The movie closes with Annette driving Sebastian's roadster with flashbacks to times they spent together.
This isn't actually the film that Ryan and Reese met on. They met at her 21st birthday party (March 1997) and began dating shortly after that. "Cruel Intentions" was released in 1999, the same year that Ryan and Reese were married and their daughter, Ava Elizabeth, was born.
This movie is one of my favorites, as is "American Beauty". Take away the money (prep school, roadster, designer clothes), and I think that there are quick a few people, mostly high school and college students, that can probably relate to this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 2, 2003
The infamous kiss between Sarah Michelle Gellar and Selma Blair was previously voted Best Movie Kiss at the MTV Awards, and now has the privilege of knowing its the number two Sexy Moment. Personally, I wouldn't have rated it as high as that, and seeing two girls kissing does nothing for me - for the guys it might! I've never seen Dangerous Liasions, with Glenn Close, but this also featured in the Top 100 Sexy Moments, and both are very close, with the names etc - I never realised that before.
This film has all your stereotypical characters - the good girl (Reese Witherspoon), the bad girl (Sarah Michelle Gellar), the dork (Selma Blair), and the bad guy wanting to turn bad (Ryan Phillipe). All the characters are playing teenagers, but are also much older.
Sarah Michelle Gellar is great in this, and with the dark hair (which totally suits her), she seems more evil than the normal characters.
Of course, this is the film where Ryan & Reese met, and fell in love. They're now married, with two children, and although there have been problems with Reese having more successful movies under her belt, they remain Hollywood's current golden couple - for the moment anyway.
I really enjoyed this film, and can watch it over and over, although Selma Blair does make me cringe. There's great chemistry between Ryan & Reese and also some slight chemistry between Ryan & Sarah, but not as much. Everyone will love this updated & modern version of a "classic". Although I would have voted the sex scene between Ryan & Reese kinda sexy - but not the kiss. Maybe one for the guys.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2003
This is a good movie that anyone could watch. so unlike what Chris Kibber said, "This is clearly made for teens who really, really, really, wish they were cool. Here's a hint: if you are watching [stuff] like this you are not cool. The cool people are out doing stuff while you sit in front of your TV watching Dawson's Creek and wondering why you are getting heavier."
I mean who is he to say what is or what isnt cool. if he thought the movie was bad then why is he wasting his time writing here. so dont believe his review.The movie is about Katherine who is unconfident in herself and finds enjoyment in other peoples pain and her step brother Sebastian who has a repuation of sleeping with numerous girls; they make a bet that if Sebastian sleeps with Annette (the virgin)that he can have Katherine but if he loses then Katherine gets his car. Then comes innocent Cecile where she is played the fool but then gets her reward. by the end of the movie...well you go see it and you'll know the ending. lol hope i helped you and you are all COOL!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 7, 2003
Kathryn Murteuil and her Step brother Sebastian Valmont are 2 popular, smart, manipulative, wealthy upper class New York teenagers with one year left at their school Manchester Prep. Kathryn and Sebastian are the most popular students at their school, Kathryn is polite, lady-like and beautiful, Sebastian has slept with most of the Upper East Side with has conjured up his popular reputation.
However through all their luxury, wealth and popularity Kathryn and Sebastian are experiencing the boredom that the long summer holidays provide.
Kathryn was dumped over the fourth of July weekend by her boyfriend Court for an innocent girl called Cecille. To revenge him Kathryn hopes to make Cecille a slut humiliating Court. Cecille's mother organizes for Kathryn to "tutor" Cecille over the summer holidays hoping that she will turn into a replica of Kathryn fit for a popular reputation at Manchester, However Kathryn intends to turn Cecille into "the premier tramp of the new York area".
Sebastians "summer project" is to screw the new headmaster's daughter Annette before school starts. This would add to his reputation greatly because Annette recently wrote a manifesto in seventeen magazine stating how she declared her virginity until marriage. Kathryn has little faith in Sebastians new mission and through their love hate relationship she makes a bet that if he screws the new headmasters daughter before school starts she will have sex with him (something that Sebastian has always wanted but couldn't have) but if he doesn't Kathryn gets his 1956 jaguar roadster.
The bet goes out of control as Kathryn amuses herself with Sebastian trying to keep his dignity. Annette, Cecille, Kathryn and Sebastian all intertwine to create lust and betrayal. But soon Kathryn and Sebastian receive the consequences of the way they treat others in the dramatic ending.
What I loved about the film was the general story line because it created the basis for the movie but also the wealth and snobbiness involved that was very entertaining to watch. Also the soundtrack music was excellent and complemented the movie and its character very well. The acting was sensational with some of Hollywood's finest actors including Ryan Phillipe (Sebastian Valmont), Sara Michelle Gellar (Kathryn Merteuil), Reese Witherspoon (Annette Hargrove) and Selma Blare (Cecille Caldwell).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Craft (Bilingual)
The Craft (Bilingual) by Robin Tunney (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 4.88

I Know What You Did Last Summer
I Know What You Did Last Summer by Jennifer Love Hewitt (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 6.08