Customer Reviews


351 Reviews
5 star:
 (211)
4 star:
 (79)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (11)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourites!
This has always been one of my favourite movies! I definitely had to own it on blu-ray! It has everything: romance, love, betrayal, hilarious comedy and sweet sweet revenge! And a pretty awesome soundtrack too!
Published 11 months ago by Anonanon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK ... sorta
So Buffy, Liz Sherman, Elle Woods & her idiot ex-husband. A good story but poor writing and sub-par (given the cast) acting.
Published 10 months ago by Geordie A.


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my Favourites!, Aug. 26 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This has always been one of my favourite movies! I definitely had to own it on blu-ray! It has everything: romance, love, betrayal, hilarious comedy and sweet sweet revenge! And a pretty awesome soundtrack too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cruel Intentions, Jan. 10 2014
By 
BabyGirl - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got my movie in today and it arrived right on time as stated after purchase. Brand new factory sealed as promised and shown in there add. This movie I remember I watched it a million times when it first came out. Brings new meaning to that old saying "what goes around comes around" even if you feel bad for the person in the end they deserve what they got. This movie is a classic and I love it nice twist's and turns through the whole movie as well as laughs. All the actors are very good they play there part well and it is a must see must buy movie I find this one is far more better than the 2nd and the 3rd. Buy a copy for yourself yourself you won't regret it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK ... sorta, Sept. 28 2013
By 
Geordie A. "G.A." (Victoria, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
So Buffy, Liz Sherman, Elle Woods & her idiot ex-husband. A good story but poor writing and sub-par (given the cast) acting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In my opinion one of the best adaptation of the original novel that could be done, April 9 2012
By 
I wanted to buy this movie because I had just heard about actress Sarah Michelle Gellar, I knew her by name before but never happened to see any of her movies or TV series before. I've read that the steamy scenes between her and actress Selma Blair made this something of a cult movie; I was also very curious to see the work of director/writer Roger Kumble. There is currently about a dozen movies made from the 18th Century novel "Les Liaisons Dangereuses", two of the most famous are Milos Forman's "Valmont" made in 1988 and Stephen Frear's "Dangerous Liaisons" made in 1989, who won 3 Oscars basically for the costumes and the writing. In my opinion there were problems who made these two movies doomed from the very beginning, no matter how good the costumes and sets are someone get bored very rapidly of seeing only aristocrats living their daily life, especially when the dialog is complicated and hard to follow. Some positive point could always be given for the excellent music. Personally I really think the story is confusing in all three versions, in "Cruel Intentions" it's probably the main flaw of the movie, but it's still much clearer than the other versions and the story is understandable, those who don't understand everything the first time could always watch it again. The idea who made the movie excellent is certainly to adapt the action to modern 20th century where it's easy to put sexual overtones among other things, and making it a rich teenagers story add something. I couldn't think of better persons to play in it than Ryan Phillippe, Selma Blair, Reese Witherspoon and Sarah Michelle Gellar. Amazon.ca user "Murkey" from the UK wrote in another review exactly what I personally think: "The script is clever, the plot well structured and the production excellent, but over-riding this is the sheer quality of acting and the raw sexual overtones between the characters. Controversial subjects are addressed simply and directly, and all of this without any real nudity or explicit sex scenes." Overall the other two well-known movies made from the original novel are boring to death, I woudn't recommend them at all, but this one is really interesting and an eye-candy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cruel Intentions, Feb. 24 2000
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
Cruel Intentions
This contemporary update of Les Liasons Dangerous (or something like that) sells itself as a teen movie but is in fact much more, and a hell of a lot better, than that. The basic premise is that spoilt teenager (Ryan Phillippe) makes a bet with his sister-in-law (Sarah Michelle Geller) to sleep with virgin Reese Witherspoon, but then he falls in love with her. But there is so much more to the film than this. The script is clever, the plot well structured and the production excellent, but over-riding this is the sheer quality of acting and the raw sexual overtones between the characters. All three of the leads are incredibly sexy, and the the sensual relationships between then (especially Phillippe and Gellar) are excellent. Controversial subjects (sexual awakening, homosexuality) are addressed simply and directly, and all of this without any real nudity or explicit sex scenes. But here is more to this than sex, as the romances play themselves out compellingly, with the actors creating realistic and emotive characters. A brilliant film all round.
8 out of 10.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars this rocks, July 12 2004
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
i loved this movie and it's second best out of the trilogy.3 uis the best though no contest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cruel Intentions..., June 8 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
Cruel Intentions is a GREAT movie. It is sexy, witty, and thrilling. It is highly reccommended, and so is this Special Edition DVD (it has very good special feautires). If you liked this movie I would recommend "Dangerous Liaisons", which was made in 1988 and won 5 Academy Awards. Cruel Intentions is based on that movie, but they were all originally based on "Les Liaisons Dangereuses" which is a very popular classic book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best movie ever, May 15 2004
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
This is still my favorite movie, it has been since it came out. In fact it probably was since I saw the preview for it! What's it got? First of all it's got a ton of seduction, betrayal, backstabbing, all the things you need for a great movie. It has a stellar cast with Sarah Michelle Gellar (famous for the great tv show Buffy, here at her meanest), Reese Witherspoon, Ryan Phillippe and Selma Blair. Without this great cast the movie wouldn't be what it is. I really bought the love story between Sebastian (Ryan) and Annette (Reese), it probably helped that they're real life lovers too. Cecille was funny, as the innocent twit that Kathryn wants to play with. The music in the movie also rocks, the soundtrack is a blast. This is a very edgy teen movie, and very adult so if you're like me you won't be able to wait to see it. The extra features on the dvd are alright, but the deleted scenes are nothing special, you'll be able to see why they were deleted. The trailer is great, they used the song How Soon is Now for it. The best thing is the movie itself, which I think stands up to many repeat viewings! Wicked and sexy, it's alot of fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Movie Ive Ever Seen!, May 2 2004
By 
"pinkaboo4613" (Orange County, Cal, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
(...)when i rented this movie casue i heard it was pretty good...After I watched it i could not stop thinking about how good it was! in fact! its the best movie ive ever seen! the actors were really good and you really could feel what the characters where feeling sometimes. THe best part of the movie is the end cause it is just soooo good! if you have not seen this movie, and you like comedy, drama, and suspence. Dont rent this movie...BUY IT NOW!!!!!!!!!!!!! YOU WONT REGRET IT[!!!!]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Romantic Comedy?, May 2 2004
This review is from: Cruel Intentions (DVD)
We'll start with the bad, for those who have seen dangerous liasons you've seen it all before and will expect similiar. Don't!
This is vamped for the younger generation. The only other thing that may make you dislike this film is Philipe's "Sebastian" acting. His acting through parts of the film is seemably someone trying to act but his character is someone who is constantly lying and is pretending. Several parts of the film when his emotions come out his acting is bottled. It's probably how most guys would act in the real situation trying to keep a tap on their emotions and the only flaw in this is that it's too real and not more like what we usually see on screen.
But despite that this is a brilliant film with twists and a great ending.
I'd like to mention the excellent job Edward Shearmur did for the soundtrack. Brilliant non intrusive to the movie and very suiting to the mood. Each and every track melds into a great viewable movie.
With only a thousand characters per comment I could go on all day about film but thought more suiting to mention the bad and let you enjoy the movie with these out of the way.
One of my all time favourite's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 236 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Cruel Intentions
Cruel Intentions by Roger Kumble (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 19.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews