Customer Reviews


424 Reviews
5 star:
 (204)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel
In 1997, Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery became more popular a film than anyone could have ever imagined. There was no denying that the film was an instant spy spoof classic, so it's not surprising that a sequel got released two years later. How does the second installment in the series, Austin Powers - The Spy Who Shagged Me - measure up? Read on for my...
Published on Feb. 11 2004 by Rocker_Man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I've Seen These Jokes Before!
Although the premise of Austin Powers 2 is somewhat funny--that Austin Powers must journey back in time to retrive his mojo from Dr. Evil--I found that way too many of the jokes were simply recycled from the original film.
Everything, from "one million dollars" to a variation of "Shhh!" are re-inacted in this film. Yes, they're "Dr...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by T. Sparks


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel, Feb. 11 2004
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
In 1997, Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery became more popular a film than anyone could have ever imagined. There was no denying that the film was an instant spy spoof classic, so it's not surprising that a sequel got released two years later. How does the second installment in the series, Austin Powers - The Spy Who Shagged Me - measure up? Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
Dr. Evil has returned from space and has used a time machine to travel back to the sixties. Once there, he meets up with his henchmen from the past, and begins work on a fortress on the moon - where he will put a giant laser he can use to hold the world hostage. Of course, Austin Powers isn't going to stand for this (once again, Mike Myers plays both hero and villain. Myers also plays Dr. Evil's newest henchman, Fat B*stard.) Austin travels back to the sixties to pursue Dr. Evil, and once there, meets an American secret agent who he falls for. The two join forces and set out to stop Dr. Evil's plan from being successful.
FILM OPINIONS:
This film wasn't as good as the first one, but it was still excellent nonetheless. I was a bit disappointed to see time travel introduced into the series, as it is often the plot device that can ruin a perfectly good series. Although it doesn't ruin the series, it creates a ton of plot holes here (of course, since this is a comedy film, it's not THAT important.) Although the film is just as funny as the first one was, this one seems less polished. It's obvious that the film makers just made up most of these ideas as they went along, and that they probably had no plans for a sequel initially (the Vanessa scene in the beginning demonstrates this well.) Despite some serious plot problems, this ends up being a good film. And you've gotta love all the Star Wars references (these were probably due to Episode I also being released in 1999.)
DVD:
After the subpar DVD release of the first film, I was worried that New Line would mess up the second film. Fortunately, they ended up getting it right this time. You get nearly twenty minutes worth of deleted scenes on here, and unlike the first film's deleted scenes, these ones are worth watching. You also get music videos of the songs that were made for the film, including Madonna's Beautiful Stranger and Lenny Kravitz's cover of the Guess Who classic, American Woman. The behind the scenes footage is a nice touch as well, and the commentary track is WAY better than that of the first film. All in all, a good DVD release.
OVERALL:
Overall this movie isn't as good as the first film was, but it's still an excellent film, and if you want to laugh, I strongly recommend checking it out. All of the Austin Powers films are comedy masterpieces, and the second installment in the series demonstrates that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very shagadelic baby!, March 6 2004
By 
J. Parmelee (Spring Lake, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Now this is a great movie. Although the jokes are recycled there are some new jokes as well. For example Fat Bastard and Mini Me make their debut here and the jokes about that rocket are almost genius. I say while this isnt as good as the first one it is still a grand movie and anyone who likes good comedy should own it.PS- Goldmember sucked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Jan. 11 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
All truth be told, the only reason I orginally bought this movie was because Steve Wilkos was in it.
I didn't see the first movie, so I really wasn't sure what to expect from this one. However, I quickly found out that previous knowledge of what happens in the first movie isn't needed to enjoy the second one.
Basic plot: Austin Powers is trying to save the world and meets some chick along the way that helps him.
The movie opens with Austin and Vanessa on their honeymoon. Their marital bliss soon shattered when Austin realizes Vanessa is a fem-bot sent by Dr. Evil to kill him.
Since the robot didn't work, Dr. Evil steals Austin's mojo!
The rest of the movie is Austin and Felicity (Heather Graham) trying to get Austin's mojo back and stop Dr. Evil from going through with the Alan Parsons Project, which will slam an asteriod into the Earth while Dr. Evil and his crew are safe in outer space.
There is a lot of sexual humor that isn't appropriate for younger audiences. It is definitely a PG-13 film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I've Seen These Jokes Before!, Dec 6 2003
By 
T. Sparks (Leesville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Although the premise of Austin Powers 2 is somewhat funny--that Austin Powers must journey back in time to retrive his mojo from Dr. Evil--I found that way too many of the jokes were simply recycled from the original film.
Everything, from "one million dollars" to a variation of "Shhh!" are re-inacted in this film. Yes, they're "Dr. Evil"-isms--but I personnaly felt that it just wasn't original enough.
I didn't find Austin Powers himself as funny this time, either, as he's adapted to the '90s and doesn't seem as hopelessly lost as he was in the first film.
The best scenes of the movie are, once again, the Dr. Evil segments, particularly the triangular interaction between Dr. Evil, Scott, and Mini-Me.
In short, I like the first movie best of all, and I like "Goldmember" better than this one, too, because I feel that it offers more originality.
By the way, there is a secret "Dr. Evil" menu on this DVD that is not immediately accessable. It took me a while to find it; just go to the "Special Features" menu and watch Austin dance for a while, and after about half a minute or so, the Dr. Evil rocket will come up and bring up the new menu. This includes the Dr. Evil/Mini-Me music videos, the "Canned Ham" special shown on Comedy Central prior to the film's theatrical release, and commentary by Dr. Evil on various '60s spy films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very Funny!, Nov. 28 2003
By 
sam (Hingham, MA USA) - See all my reviews
Mike Myers is back at it in the second installment of the Austin Powers series. This time playing three parts as opposed to two. Three new main characters are introduced including Fat Bastard, played by Myers, Dr. Evil's metric ton weighing hitman who is assigned to steal Austin Powers' mojo and give it to Evil to make him groovier. Heather Graham replaces Elizabeth Hurley as Austin's busty babe, this time an american woman. A final new character to the series is MiniMe, Dr. Evil's one eighth sized clone whom he holds dear to his heart. Time travel is also introduced in this feature as the gang travel from the nineties to the sixties and back. This movie centers around Austin's trying to regain his mojo so he can stylishly stop Dr. Evil from liquidating the world. This movie has some parts that are much funnier than the first but others are very dumb. All in all, however, very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A lifesaver, Nov. 3 2003
By 
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
For people who have not yet seen The spy who shagged me, this is the best Austin Powers movie. It's just too hilarious, you'd probably laugh out loud at least one hundred times and the more you watch the better it becomes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Extremely Funny!, Oct. 24 2003
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
I own this Austin Powers, The Spy Who Shagged Me DVD and I think the movie is just as hilarious as the first movie Austin Powers, International Man of Mystery and Mike Myers was absolutely hilarious as Austin Powers and Dr. Evil and though I thought Elizabeth Hurley was great in the first movie and her cameo in this movie as Vanessa Kenzington I though Heather Graham was also great as Felicity Shagwell and Seth Green was once again very good as Dr. Evil's son Scott and I also liked Michael York as Basil Exposition, Verne Troyer as Mini Me, Robert Wagner as Number Two and Rob Lowe as Young Number Two. This is the type of movie that just may have you doubled over from laughing so hard and I very highly recommend this DVD to anyone who loves a good laugh and is not put off by bathroom type humor!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The best in the series!, Oct. 18 2003
By 
NHgboy (Southern Maine) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This second Austin Powers movie is the best. Consistently funny and well-paced--you will get some genuine belly laughs while watching this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars funnier in the first, Sept. 8 2003
By 
M. A. Miller (Rome, GA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
the first is very funny but this takes the series to the next level with such characters as Minny Me and Fat Bastered Austin Powers is a great movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funnier than the first!, July 27 2003
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is the funniest movie I've ever seen, including the part where Fat Bastard calls himself a sexy man in his bed, the part where Austin and Felicity Shagwell (Graham) show up in bikinis, the part where Austin used binoculars, Felicity grabbed them, and Austin's face was on her breast, Dr. Evil and the woman played by Mindy Sterling were going to have it and Dr. Evil was wearing see-through clothes, and the time where Dr. Evil and Mini-Me had their own musical sequence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import]
CDN$ 26.98 CDN$ 4.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews