Customer Reviews


426 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (87)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (33)
1 star:
 (64)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Austin Powers experience
While most sequels struggle to recapture the magic of the original film, Austin Powers: The Shy Who Shagged Me takes the Mike Myers comedy vehicle to a whole new, hilarious level. This really is the ultimate Austin Powers movie. A lot of the material is simply a rehash of what we have seen before, yet it somehow plays better the second time around. This is demonstrated...
Published on June 13 2003 by Daniel Jolley

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I've Seen These Jokes Before!
Although the premise of Austin Powers 2 is somewhat funny--that Austin Powers must journey back in time to retrive his mojo from Dr. Evil--I found that way too many of the jokes were simply recycled from the original film.
Everything, from "one million dollars" to a variation of "Shhh!" are re-inacted in this film. Yes, they're "Dr...
Published on Dec 6 2003 by T. Sparks


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars Good sequel, Feb. 11 2004
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
In 1997, Austin Powers: International Man Of Mystery became more popular a film than anyone could have ever imagined. There was no denying that the film was an instant spy spoof classic, so it's not surprising that a sequel got released two years later. How does the second installment in the series, Austin Powers - The Spy Who Shagged Me - measure up? Read on for my review.
BASIC PLOT:
Dr. Evil has returned from space and has used a time machine to travel back to the sixties. Once there, he meets up with his henchmen from the past, and begins work on a fortress on the moon - where he will put a giant laser he can use to hold the world hostage. Of course, Austin Powers isn't going to stand for this (once again, Mike Myers plays both hero and villain. Myers also plays Dr. Evil's newest henchman, Fat B*stard.) Austin travels back to the sixties to pursue Dr. Evil, and once there, meets an American secret agent who he falls for. The two join forces and set out to stop Dr. Evil's plan from being successful.
FILM OPINIONS:
This film wasn't as good as the first one, but it was still excellent nonetheless. I was a bit disappointed to see time travel introduced into the series, as it is often the plot device that can ruin a perfectly good series. Although it doesn't ruin the series, it creates a ton of plot holes here (of course, since this is a comedy film, it's not THAT important.) Although the film is just as funny as the first one was, this one seems less polished. It's obvious that the film makers just made up most of these ideas as they went along, and that they probably had no plans for a sequel initially (the Vanessa scene in the beginning demonstrates this well.) Despite some serious plot problems, this ends up being a good film. And you've gotta love all the Star Wars references (these were probably due to Episode I also being released in 1999.)
DVD:
After the subpar DVD release of the first film, I was worried that New Line would mess up the second film. Fortunately, they ended up getting it right this time. You get nearly twenty minutes worth of deleted scenes on here, and unlike the first film's deleted scenes, these ones are worth watching. You also get music videos of the songs that were made for the film, including Madonna's Beautiful Stranger and Lenny Kravitz's cover of the Guess Who classic, American Woman. The behind the scenes footage is a nice touch as well, and the commentary track is WAY better than that of the first film. All in all, a good DVD release.
OVERALL:
Overall this movie isn't as good as the first film was, but it's still an excellent film, and if you want to laugh, I strongly recommend checking it out. All of the Austin Powers films are comedy masterpieces, and the second installment in the series demonstrates that well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Hilarious, Jan. 11 2004
By 
Amazon Customer (Fort Wayne, Indiana, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
All truth be told, the only reason I orginally bought this movie was because Steve Wilkos was in it.
I didn't see the first movie, so I really wasn't sure what to expect from this one. However, I quickly found out that previous knowledge of what happens in the first movie isn't needed to enjoy the second one.
Basic plot: Austin Powers is trying to save the world and meets some chick along the way that helps him.
The movie opens with Austin and Vanessa on their honeymoon. Their marital bliss soon shattered when Austin realizes Vanessa is a fem-bot sent by Dr. Evil to kill him.
Since the robot didn't work, Dr. Evil steals Austin's mojo!
The rest of the movie is Austin and Felicity (Heather Graham) trying to get Austin's mojo back and stop Dr. Evil from going through with the Alan Parsons Project, which will slam an asteriod into the Earth while Dr. Evil and his crew are safe in outer space.
There is a lot of sexual humor that isn't appropriate for younger audiences. It is definitely a PG-13 film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I've Seen These Jokes Before!, Dec 6 2003
By 
T. Sparks (Leesville, LA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Although the premise of Austin Powers 2 is somewhat funny--that Austin Powers must journey back in time to retrive his mojo from Dr. Evil--I found that way too many of the jokes were simply recycled from the original film.
Everything, from "one million dollars" to a variation of "Shhh!" are re-inacted in this film. Yes, they're "Dr. Evil"-isms--but I personnaly felt that it just wasn't original enough.
I didn't find Austin Powers himself as funny this time, either, as he's adapted to the '90s and doesn't seem as hopelessly lost as he was in the first film.
The best scenes of the movie are, once again, the Dr. Evil segments, particularly the triangular interaction between Dr. Evil, Scott, and Mini-Me.
In short, I like the first movie best of all, and I like "Goldmember" better than this one, too, because I feel that it offers more originality.
By the way, there is a secret "Dr. Evil" menu on this DVD that is not immediately accessable. It took me a while to find it; just go to the "Special Features" menu and watch Austin dance for a while, and after about half a minute or so, the Dr. Evil rocket will come up and bring up the new menu. This includes the Dr. Evil/Mini-Me music videos, the "Canned Ham" special shown on Comedy Central prior to the film's theatrical release, and commentary by Dr. Evil on various '60s spy films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The ultimate Austin Powers experience, June 13 2003
By 
Daniel Jolley "darkgenius" (Shelby, North Carolina USA) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
While most sequels struggle to recapture the magic of the original film, Austin Powers: The Shy Who Shagged Me takes the Mike Myers comedy vehicle to a whole new, hilarious level. This really is the ultimate Austin Powers movie. A lot of the material is simply a rehash of what we have seen before, yet it somehow plays better the second time around. This is demonstrated most forcibly in the opening dance number where Austin struts his suddenly-single stuff. The idea to stage Dr. Evil's reappearance on the set of the Jerry Springer Show is brilliant. Dr. Evil in fact really steals the show throughout this entire movie, even before he manages to get his hands on Austin's mojo; Austin is a great character who guarantees a wild, catchphrase-intensive ride, but Dr. Evil is the star here. I have to say that I was initially disappointed to see Elizabeth Hurley's character fall by the wayside, but I quickly got over my troubles at the first sight of Heather Graham's character dancing at the swinging 60s club Austin arrives at after traveling back in time. Felicity Shagwell is a great character who makes both Austin Powers the character and Austin Powers the movie much more entertaining and delightful, and this character was done a great disservice by being dropped without a single word of explanation in the third Austin Powers film.
Most people are already familiar with the plot. Dr. Evil returns, travels back in time to get the funny but disgusting Fat Bastard (played by Mike Myers) to steal Austin's mojo from his cryogenically frozen body; with this new advantage, Dr. Evil really comes into his hilariously evil own, making plans to blow up Washington, D.C. and other major cities with a laser he has placed on the moon. The allusions to the Star Wars movies are as obvious as they are twistedly fun, culminating in Dr. Evil's Darth Vader impersonation when Austin confronts him. By far the greatest addition to the cast is Verne Troyer as Dr. Evil's little clone Mini-Me. His aping of Dr. Evil's quotation mark-noted lines increases the comedy fourfold, and his fight scene with Austin is yet another high point of the film. My favorite scene, though, has to be Dr. Evil's and Mini-Me's "Just the Two of Us" song and dance number. Basically, though, all of the characters were in top form in this film: Rob Lowe is the perfect younger version of #2, Mindy Sterling is always amazing as Frau Farbissina, and Seth Greene's portrayal of Scott Evil makes him the perfect setup man for some of Dr. Evil's best moments.
Featuring the best, most consistent storyline, showcasing the best performances of all involved, and parodying a number of well-known movies from the past while making fun of itself, this is easily the best of the three Austin Powers movies. Action, adventure, comedy, you name it, this movie has it in spades. This is Austin Powers at his randiest, most clumsily charming, hilarious best, baby, and it goes down in my book as one of the funniest movies ever made, one which, I might add, never goes stale no matter how many times you watch it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars New & improved, Feb. 3 2003
For those of you who thought another Austin Powers movie would become nothing more than a forgotten sequel, I have two words for you: Fat Bastard. The Introduction of another character played by Mike Myers only makes this sequel better. You must remember that Jay Roach and company are working with whatever they please; as long as Mike Myers goes along with it. And as long as Mike likes it, it'll be good.
In this laughable comedy, we are introduced to more new and great characters such as: Mini-me (played by Verne Troyer), Felicity Shagwell (Heather Graham), and a younger version of Number 2 played by Rob Lowe. There are so many laughs in the movie I don't even know where to begin. How about Mustafa's reappearance or maybe Fat Bastard trying to eat Mini-me. They just never stop. Again, we have a similar storyline along with a similar ending: 30...29...28... you get the idea. I have a feeling that Mike's not done quite yet in producing laughs. I'm really looking forward to Austin Powers 3. It'll be smashing, baby!
Anyway, that's enough of that. If you liked the first Austin Powers movie you'll definitly like this one. Heck, you might even enjoy it more. Otherwise, if you didn't like the first movie you won't like this one either. Give it a shot, it's worth it.
One more thing, make sure you watch to the very very end of the credits to find out what actually happens to Mustafa. It's too good to miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must have movie, with fabulous sequences, just buy it !!!, Jan. 29 2003
By 
THIERRY HUMBERT (PUYRICARD France) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
This is a monumental movie !!! Altogether, it is a rich, fast-paced, deeply emotional action and adventure movie with good fundamentals and a focus on efficiently getting back in time... what else to say ??
First of all, the beginning ("Houston this is Condor..."), with the huge, friendly Stayput character hovering close to the earth, is in my opinion, the most beautiful scene in the history of cinema !!! Then, the next sequence "Do you smoke after sex ? I don't know I never looked !" was like a shock for me (and Austin wears such a beautiful nightgown) !!! Anyway the whole scene with Liz Hurdley (Vanessa ) is absolutely fantastic. How funny when she starts showing her machine-gun jubblies !!!!! Another great scene for history !!!! Then follows another delightful sequence when Austin realizes that he is single and starts looking for a new wife, naked in the lobby and in the Lift of the hotel .... He says what he thinks to everybody. Then other great scenes follow (the swimmer etc.), and the adventure continues in the Seattle headquarters of Dr Evil (the Starbuck tower). Dr Evil has a little clone called Mini-Me, a smaller version of himself, sort of thing. Dr Evil also has a secret underground bunker, located in an extinct volcano, in the middle of the locean. He has a "Time Machine", and he has a problem reaching year 1999 (that was the other millenium anyway, the one of the mad cow.....). No problems using the machine after that though !!!!!! Other interesting phrases: "do you know how we get warm in russia ? We play chess" -- so disappointing for Austin of course. A bit later there is some fighting, with an escalation in the weapons and the threats. Finally Austin is saved by Shaggy who drives a wonderful car.... A bit later on we discover another colorful character: Fat Bastard (I want my baby back ribs !!!). The idea about the stool samples is just brilliant !!! And the story about the Mojo is also funny. Not even mentioning the rocket looking like shaft and balls !!!! And the lovely colours on Austin's plane !!! Finally, the end is also fantastic, first with the great sequence when Dr Evil says he'll get Austin Powers (well deserved...), and then with the funny call to help from an obviously British phone booth...
So there are plenty of funny bits and pieces in this movie, plenty of great details and plenty of vocabulary too (I must admit I did not know the word "to shag" before...). "Visual quotes" are also used a lot... Special effects are impressive, but one of them is not realistic though: that is when Vanessa the fembot crushes a bottle of champagnie; in fact it looks like the bottle breaks itself... It is strange as I have never seen glass break mysteriously like that, in a house I mean.
We also get some advice on the dangers or usefulness of almonds, flu shots etc. Liz Hurley and Heather Grahame are so pretty. Dialogues and voices are great.
A fantastic movie altogether.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Spy Who Shagged Me, Dec 23 2002
By 
E. Batica (MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import] (DVD)
Austin Powers 2 was pretty good. I thought it was funny and there was a lot more action and also the introduction to some new characters to the Austin Powers series.
After stopping Dr. Evil from liquidating the Earth with Magma, Dr. Evil goes back in time to 1967 (when Powers was still in cryostasis) and steals his MOJO! Without his mojo, Powers is left powerless. Meanwhile, Dr. Evil is drawing his next plan, the Alan Parsons Project! Using his space station, "The Death Star", he will shoot a "laser" at the Earth destroying the world one major city at a time.
Powers then follows Dr. Evil back to 1969 to get his mojo back and to stop Dr. Evil from destroying the world. Along with special agent Felicity Shagwell (Heather Graham), they leap into action to stop Dr Evil at all cause. Also in this one, 2 new characters to the Powers series, Mini-Me (Vern Troyer) is an exact clone of Dr Evil that is 1/8 his size. Another new character is Scottish Mercenary Fat Bastard (also played by Myers).
All in all, another great installment of the Powers series that's a lot of fun, a lot of laughs and a lot of action. Expect some of the similar physical comedy from the first and also a lot of just totally out there laughs. I will admit I took off a star for 2 reasons. Fat Bastard starts out really funny at first and then he just gets gross and nasty. The other reason was that Heather Graham is really only eye candy in this movie and don't expect much more than that. Also, do not compare Heather Graham's character against Elizabeth Hurley's character because Graham easily loses to that. Just take Graham's character as it is. Other than that, a very enjoyable movie, a lot of laughs and a great sequel. Check this one out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Shaggy......., Dec 16 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Mike Myers has managed to reprise his comic genius of the original "International Man of Mystery" debut, with a new plot twist, and a new leading lady...............In this sequel, Myers is joined by the lovely Heather Graham as Felicity Shagwell, and she DOES...but that's not the point, or maybe it is? Anyway, this time Myers as Austin Powers has had his "Mojo", or special manly aura that women find so appealing, stolen by arch villain and enemy Doctor Evil, also played by Myers with far less hair. Dr. Evil has a plan to destroy Washington DC, which is eerie in retrospect of 9/11. This really makes you wonder if this film gave anyone an "evildoers" idea? Austin must go back to 1969 to stop Dr. Evil, and get back his mojo for his cryogenically frozen self. With Felicity at his side, will he succeed? It's definitely worth a look to find out. ............. I saw this after the "Goldmember" edition to what has become a trilogy of humor. I personally think that "Goldmember" is far funnier and "feels better on a (w)hole", as in the Preparation H jokes of the latter film. This film is somewhat less comically inspired genius, and just mostly silly and lacking when you really compare. One of the few highlights here are the introduction of "Fat Bastard" the incredibly repulsive third Myers alter-ego. If you like bathroom humor, you will LOVE this character. It really seems that you can actually smell him on-screen. Rob Lowe plays #2, a young 1969 Robert Wagner named with more of the same humor from the [unclean] realm, which I happen to enjoy, it's funny! Rob however is not. He drones his lines in a monotonous way that adds nothing whatsoever to the film. Of course Heather Graham is the eye candy for the male audience here, but as a woman, I go strictly for the laughs. These come best and in abundance in the form of a scene where Austin and Felicity are examining several things while in a tent. The tent light casts a sillouette to the outside, that makes it look as if several items are being removed from Austins rear end by Felicity as he bends over a map. A long string ending in an umbrella that pops open, followed by smoke, a gerbil, popping a bottle open with his behind, and it goes on hilariously. Of course several people are watching aghast and waiting to [give]them disgust. A definite laugh out loud comic highpoint in an otherwise good, but not great, Austin outing. ............... If you like the characters and the special brand of humor of this series, then by all means you should see this, and probably own it as well. However, the subsequent "Goldmember" is far superior, on a (w)hole?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Shaggy......., Dec 16 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Mike Myers has managed to reprise his comic genius of the original "International Man of Mystery" debut, with a new plot twist, and a new leading lady...............In this sequel, Myers is joined by the lovely Heather Graham as Felicity Shagwell, and she DOES...but that's not the point, or maybe it is? Anyway, this time Myers as Austin Powers has had his "Mojo", or special manly aura that women find so appealing, stolen by arch villain and enemy Doctor Evil, also played by Myers with far less hair. Dr. Evil has a plan to destroy Washington DC, which is eerie in retrospect of 9/11. This really makes you wonder if this film gave anyone an "evildoers" idea? Austin must go back to 1969 to stop Dr. Evil, and get back his mojo for his cryogenically frozen self. With Felicity at his side, will he succeed? It's definitely worth a look to find out. ............. I saw this after the "Goldmember" edition to what has become a trilogy of humor. I personally think that "Goldmember" is far funnier and "feels better on a (w)hole", as in the Preparation H jokes of the latter film. This film is somewhat less comically inspired genius, and just mostly silly and lacking when you really compare. One of the few highlights here are the introduction of "Fat Bastard" the incredibly repulsive third Myers alter-ego. If you like bathroom humor, you will LOVE this character. It really seems that you can actually smell him on-screen. Rob Lowe plays #2, a young 1969 Robert Wagner named with more of the same humor from the toilet realm, which I happen to enjoy, it's funny! Rob however is not. He drones his lines in a monotonous way that adds nothing whatsoever to the film. Of course Heather Graham is the eye candy for the male audience here, but as a woman, I go strictly for the laughs. These come best and in abundance in the form of a scene where Austin and Felicity are examining several things while in a tent. The tent light casts a sillouette to the outside, that makes it look as if several items are being removed from Austins rear end by Felicity as he bends over a map. A long string ending in an umbrella that pops open, followed by smoke, a gerbil, popping a bottle open with his behind, and it goes on hilariously. Of course several people are watching aghast and waiting to ambush them in disgust. A definite laugh out loud comic highpoint in an otherwise good, but not great, Austin outing. ............... If you like the characters and the special brand of humor of this series, then by all means you should see this, and probably own it as well. However, the subsequent "Goldmember" is far superior, on a (w)hole?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not Too Shaggy......., Dec 16 2002
By 
Hillary (Brooklyn, New York) - See all my reviews
Mike Myers has managed to reprise his comic stupidity of the original "International Man of Mystery" debut, but in a marginally superior way, with a new plot twist, and a new leading lady...............In this sequel, Myers is joined by the lovely Heather Graham as "Felicity Shagwell", and DOES she...who knows or cares, that's not the point, or maybe it is? Anyway, this time Myers as Austin Powers has had his "Mojo", or special manly aura that women find so appealing, stolen by arch villain and enemy Doctor Evil, also played by Myers with far less hair. Dr. Evil has a plan to destroy Washington DC, which is eerie in retrospect of 9/11. This really makes you wonder if this film gave anyone an "evildoers" idea? Austin must go back to 1969 to stop Dr. Evil, and get back his mojo for his cryogenically frozen self. With Felicity at his side, will he succeed? It's definitely worth a look to find out at least once. ............. I saw this after the "Goldmember" edition to what has become a trilogy of over the top bedroom and bathroom humor. I personally think that "Goldmember" is far funnier and "feels better on a (w)hole", as in the Preparation H jokes of the latter film. This film is somewhat less comically inspired genius, yet far better than the first and definitely WORST of the three. This second outing is mostly silly and of course, tasteless. It is lacking much interest when you really compare to the more recent "Goldmember". One of the few highlights or actually "Lowlights" here is the introduction of "Fat Bastard" the incredibly repulsive third Myers alter-ego. If you like bathroom humor, you will LOVE this character. It really seems that you can actually smell him on-screen. Rob Lowe plays #2, a young 1969 Robert Wagner named with more of the same humor from the toilet realm, which is funny. Rob however is not. He drones his lines in a monotonous way that adds nothing whatsoever to the film. His role is dispensible to be kind. Meanwhile that is preferable to the horror of the "Rapping Dr. Evil" sequence with mini-me as his back-up. It would have been far better to leave these sequences on the editing room floor. Of course Heather Graham is the eye candy for the male audience here, but as a woman, I go strictly for the laughs. These come best and in abundance in the form of a scene where Austin and Felicity are examining several things while in a tent. The tent light casts a sillouette to the outside, that makes it look as if several items are being removed from Austins rear end by Felicity as he bends over a map. A long string ending in an umbrella that pops open, followed by smoke, a gerbil, popping a bottle open with his behind, and it goes on hilariously. Of course several people are watching aghast and waiting to ambush them in disgust. A definite laugh out loud comic highpoint in an otherwise passable, like the many windy references, but not great, Austin outing. ............... If you like the characters and the special brand of humor of this series, then by all means you should see this. However, the subsequent "Goldmember" is far superior, on a (w)hole?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 243 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Austin Powers: The Spy Who Shagged Me (Widescreen) [Import]
CDN$ 26.98 CDN$ 5.29
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews