Customer Reviews


118 Reviews
5 star:
 (68)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (10)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do they....DO that?
Since reading "Into Thin Air", I have become a virtual Everest '96 hound, and this is my first quarry. The IMAX team's goal on Everest was to film David Breashear's expedition in that fateful year, focusing primarily on Ed Viesturs, a seasoned climber from the States, and Araceli Segarra, in her quest to be the first Spanish woman to reach the summit. A lot of...
Published on June 30 2004 by Kelly L. Norman

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking punch
I found this movie to be lacking in the drama I expected considering the circumstances during which this film was made. There was an opportunity to reveal the depth of the calamity , its causes , and ramifications. Rob Hall , Scott Fisher both incredibly gifted guides and climbers perished due to the circumstances that were predictable and foreseen just ignored. Why...
Published 7 months ago by John ralf


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How do they....DO that?, June 30 2004
By 
Kelly L. Norman "li'l rock & roller" (Plymouth, MI United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everest (VHS Tape)
Since reading "Into Thin Air", I have become a virtual Everest '96 hound, and this is my first quarry. The IMAX team's goal on Everest was to film David Breashear's expedition in that fateful year, focusing primarily on Ed Viesturs, a seasoned climber from the States, and Araceli Segarra, in her quest to be the first Spanish woman to reach the summit. A lot of attention, deservedly so, is paid as well to Jangbu Sherpa, son of Tenzing Sherpa who accompanied Sir Edmund Hilary in his premier trip to the summit.
And watching these climbers was riveting--ascending sheer sheets of ice, yards high, that look as though they are leaning in towards the climber; crossing bottomless chasms by placing an aluminum work ladder from one side to the other, and using it as a bridge; and feeling (in part through the excellent cinematography) the pull the mountain exerts on them to continue on. But I was floored, completely, by the thought of the cinematic team following along, all the way to the top, regardless of the weight and awkwardness of the equipment. For example, in the aforementioned aluminum ladder scene, shots seem to be taken from each side of the chasm. Had they carried that heavy equipment accross that ladder? And, once they came down from such a difficult and draining climb, they still managed to piece together a marvelous film.
The cinematography, once again, is gorgeous. Shots of the mountain convey not only its beauty, but its terrifying danger, as ice and whirling snow tower over the climbers, as a rescue helicopter wavers, uncertainly, as Liam Nelson explains the scientific impossibility of a helicopter to work in such thin air (it does). Seeing the Icefall alone, I think, was worth the price I paid for the video.
Warning: If you get this movie expecting it to be a documentary covering the Adventure Consultants and Mountain Madness Expeditions, chronicled in "Into Thin Air", you will be disappointed. The IMAX expedition was unrelated to the others, and of course the crew could not predict that those expeditions might yield more interesting, if tragic, results. But the teams do interact with each other when it becomes clear that members are facing unexpected danger. I enjoyed "meeting" many of the folks I had read about.
Finally, "Everest", the film, stands on its own. With a terrific story in Araceli Segarra, wonderful images from Utah and Spain as well as Nepal, and a score assisted by George Harrison melodies, it provides a great armchair journey to the top of the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film explores the depths of the human soul..., April 6 2004
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
I am professional outdoor/aerial photographer from Alaska who has seen grandeur of mother nature which would make most people cry in utter awe. This movie reminds me of spending quality time at Denali (Mt. McKinley) climber's basecamp at 7,300 feet. With 14,000 to 20,320 foot peaks and the constant rumbling of avalanches all around you, you get a sense of "total sensory overload". This DVD is as real as big mountains get when placed onto the big silver screen or your home TV. The "extra" parts to the DVD make it even more worth buying!

This movie is also a godsend for the tourism in Nepal and Himalayan Region. The sheer maginitude of the Himalayas is shown here on this movie is as deep as the human spirt and as tall as the sky. However, to see this visuals from the elevation these climbers see it, you risk AMS, HAPE, HACE, snow blindness, avalanches and/or most certainly death for any small mistake in judgement.
David Breashers deserves a medal of international honour for making such a masterpiece of a documentary. In addition, I wish pay a great tribute to the late George Harrison for making such awe-inspiring and chilling music scores for the backdrop of this movie. If you were moved this movie on DVD, you owe it to yourself to buy the audio CD soundtrack as well. Every you go where Mother Nature shows off her wonders, take the CD with you and get inspired. When you listen to the audio CD, you can visualize the raw beauty of the Everest region and seens from the DVD in your mind.
May the climbers from the 1996 Everest Disaster rest in peace. Also to all potential Everest climbers, you need to learn from these climbers fatal mistakes before you become a statistic yourself. As Ed Viesturs says regarding risk and climbing, "Getting to the top is optional, getting down is mandatory".
My last words for this review are, "Always respect the power of Mother Nature"....and when out in nature "leave no trace"..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Lacking punch, Sept. 5 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
I found this movie to be lacking in the drama I expected considering the circumstances during which this film was made. There was an opportunity to reveal the depth of the calamity , its causes , and ramifications. Rob Hall , Scott Fisher both incredibly gifted guides and climbers perished due to the circumstances that were predictable and foreseen just ignored. Why ? they had access to all the people , live footage , perfect opportunity to show the dangers these inexperienced climbers are exposing them selves to .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Not in depth, but it is beautiful, Jan. 5 2013
By 
Julia B. Reid "jbethr3" (Cambridge, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everest (DVD)
Perhaps it is because this is an IMAX film, but I found it very shallow, and not very interesting. There are many things which don't require sweeping background music, and this music is almost constant in the film. An Everest avalanche, a serious conversation about missing climbers, a shot above the icefall, a storm moving in and enveloping the climbers - none of these needed "help" with intrusive music in the background. You also never really get to know the climbers or get to feel anything of their struggles. At least I didn't feel it. I really wanted to like it, because I enjoy mountain climbing books and films, but I just found it uninteresting and unexciting. I gave it two because the photography is spectacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Collector's Item, Jan. 28 2004
By 
B. Page - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
I have 7 Everest DVD's and this is definitely at the top end of the collection. All the extras on the DVD also make very interesting viewing and you cannot help but feel total admiration for anyone who attempts the Everest challenge, whether it is being a cook at Base camp or oen of the elite that actually manages to reach the summit. I recommend this to anyone old enough to understand it. Great stuff!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 Stars - Some priceless images, but the narrative is lacking, June 8 2008
By 
B. Keith (Kingston, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
Some priceless images of Everest and its surrounding,

Ironically, the lower visual quality supplemental material (especially how they -- the Sherpas -- lugged that 40+lb camera up the mountain and how the camera was operated 90 seconds -- 10lbs of film -- at a time) is actually more interesting, story-wise.

Worthwhile, overall, but not a must-have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, June 17 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
For those who have not seen this DVD it has allot of footage of climbing Everest. The extra features on the DVD are also very well done. My only complaint is that there isn't very much footage of the Hillary Step and summit.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fatal Attraction, Feb. 29 2004
By 
Kerry Walters (Lewisburg, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Everest (VHS Tape)
The images in this film are absolutely stunning--crisp, colorful, and so real that they barely seem one-dimensional. The deadly beauty of Everest comes through loud and clear: sheer ice falls; huge chasms that must be crossed by way of precarious stepladders flung across them; avalanches; blizzards; subzero degree temperatures; sheer drops on either side of narrow, narrow trails. One can feels frozen and short of breath watching this film.
But the beauty notwithstanding, what especially intrigues me about the film is the obsession that the mountaineers have to scale Everest. Part of the story of the film details the multiple deaths in a party trapped in a storm on Everest's slope. The leader of the party had a seven-month pregnant wife; all the other slain climbers had loved ones they left behind; the survivors placed rescuers--helicopter pilots and other mountaineers--in jeopardy. Is so much death and threat of death worthwhile? Isn't there a certain point where responsibility for others trumps a desire to stand on the "top of the world"? The film doesn't explore these questions, nor the issue of why so many people have such a compulsion to scale Everest. I wish it had, because I found myself both captivated by the mountain's beauty and angered by the wanton disregard for life displayed by the climbers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Spectacular, Nov. 6 2003
This review is from: Everest (Large Format) (DVD)
After watching this on my tiny TV, I'm kicking myself for having missed the Imax screening of this program.
The visuals are simple stunning. Fantastic, sweeping landscape shots. Wonderful interviews on the mountain. Great narration from Liam.
I was thinking that they would have covered more of the tragic ascent that season, but they do touch upon it and include an interview with one of the survivors. Nonetheless, if you've read "Into thin air" or "The Climb" this DVD is a must to help visualize what these people face.
The last shots of the climbers literally having to pull their feet out of the snow and force out another step helps demonstrate why the climbing of Everest is dangerous and practically impossible.
The subjects are very likeable and each has their reason for going on the expedetion. There's some really nice pre-everest training shots as well in Utah and in Spain that are really stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible film!, July 19 2003
By 
Candace Scott (Lake Arrowhead, CA, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Everest (VHS Tape)
This movie is about the 1996 Mt. Everest climbing season and it's a visually stunning, beautiful film which has held up marvelously since its release. I originally saw it in the IMAX format on the big screen, but the DVD transfer is stunning. Very little quality has been lost, either visually or in the audio segments. This is a high quality production from beginning to end, and you will not want this film to end!
Though only 44 minutes in length, you can watch it repeatedly and always take something new from the experience. What I most enjoy about this movie is that you get to know the climbers that are profiled. You get to see them training for the gruelling Everest experience months in advance in their home countries. Various climbers are shown bicycling through the Arizona desert or rock climbing in Spain. They are interviewed and you're allowed a little window into their soul, so when they struggle on the mountain, you have empathy and understanding of their plight. The characterizations of the climbers are like getting to know people in novels, it's unusual in a documentary, but very compelling.
The movie is magical in its visual beauty. The vistas are crisp, clear and sharp. The narration by Liam Neesom is understated, elegant and never intrusive. The ending credits play a stunning live version of the Beatles classic 1969 hit, "Here Comes the Sun" sung by George Harrison, recorded in Japan. All in all, this is a film of mastery. I urge everyone to see it and enjoy the stunning spectacle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 212 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xadd6b0e4)

This product

Everest (Large Format)
Everest (Large Format) by Stephen Judson (DVD - 2001)
CDN$ 87.20
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews