Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Columbia or JSP?
The sound quality of these disks is amazing when you consider how long ago the music was recorded (1920's). Sure, it's a little noisy, but to eliminate it would require suppressing the high end. I think what it boils down to is this: If you object to some hiss and popping, and you value a nice booklet full of information and pictures, get the Columbia set. If you can...
Published on May 13 2004 by D. Allen

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absolutely great music, but poor sound quality
These four records contains some of the greatest music of all times.Some of the most definitive jazz music ever recorded.So,why only three stars ??? When I was a child,some 25 years ago, my father owned the french CBS reissues of these sessions, on LP, of course; and the sound quality was much greater than on this slow price issue. If you really want to purchase Louis...
Published on Aug. 27 2001 by JEAN-MARIE JUIF


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Columbia or JSP?, May 13 2004
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
The sound quality of these disks is amazing when you consider how long ago the music was recorded (1920's). Sure, it's a little noisy, but to eliminate it would require suppressing the high end. I think what it boils down to is this: If you object to some hiss and popping, and you value a nice booklet full of information and pictures, get the Columbia set. If you can tolerate some noise in exchange for the best possible sound, and you're willing to forfeit the booklet, this is what you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Satch never sounded so good!, Dec 16 2002
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
If you're in the market for some classic Louis Armstrong (and even if you're not!) get this set! Finally, all of Louis Armstrong's classic Hot 5's and Hot 7's (with existing alternates and some extras) are collected in stunning sound quality. Even though I already owned the Columbia set of these recordings, when I heard John R. T. Davies and JSP Records were offering this set, I hurried to buy my copy. At slightly more than six dollars per disc, it's a remarkable value! And the sound...
Unlike the folks at Columbia, who tried to remove every last trace of surface noise--often at the expense of losing the sharpness or clarity of the original recording, John R. T. Davies in restoring this set has allowed a little surface noise from the original records to remain in the final CD's. What you get, though, is unbelievable clarity and "presence" that is otherwise lost. The engineers at OKeh Records were top-notch in the 1920s and managed to capture Louis's rich, full-bodied tone. Happily, John R. T. Davies was able to bring out all those sparkling highs and warm, mellow lows from the old records for this set. The Columbia discs sound dull and lifeless next to these.
Keep in mind that these sides were recorded 75 years ago. If you absolutely detest the sound of record surface noise, and and are willing to put up with muffled, dampened sound, you may be better off with the Columbia discs, but if you don't mind the occasional light crackle, you will be well rewarded clarity and brilliance beyond any previous issues of these recordings.
One final comment: if you plan on reading the excellent liner notes that go along with this set, shop around for a good magnifying glass. Fortunately, I have good eyesight, but by the time I finished reading the liner notes, my eyes hurt. The print is tiny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars absolutely great music, but poor sound quality, Aug. 27 2001
By 
JEAN-MARIE JUIF (BESANCON France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
These four records contains some of the greatest music of all times.Some of the most definitive jazz music ever recorded.So,why only three stars ??? When I was a child,some 25 years ago, my father owned the french CBS reissues of these sessions, on LP, of course; and the sound quality was much greater than on this slow price issue. If you really want to purchase Louis Armstrong's complete Hot Five and Hot Seven recordings, and I sincerely hope you will, please spend a few more bucks and buy the same four cd-set on Columbia; you'll be amazed by the quality of the sound ( it seems like the all band is playing before you ). The price of this set is very attractive,but you'll be seriously disappointed listening to it.The Columbia reissue is a superlative one,and it offers you a magnificent booklet with plenty of rare photographs, and great reading. Forget this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Like opening the door to a beautiful room you've never seen, May 20 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
Finding out about this music has been a revelation. What unbelieveable music. I'm no expert but considering when and how this music was recorded it sounds pretty amazing. Rock on Mr.Armstrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars When Jazz became art in the horn of the first Jazz Giant, June 6 2003
By 
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
This JSP selection of 89 tracks comprehensively captures Louis Armstrong's Hot 5 and 7s groups period in the 1920s. During this period, Louis Armstrong's virtuoso trumpet playing led the way for the transformation of the emerging music called Jazz from a primitive entertainment into a transcendent art. Apart from possessing great technical skill and a rhythmic sense ahead of his time, Armstrong exuded an infectious joy in his playing that somehow transported the listener into a sense of beauty and wonder. It is happy, uplifting music.
The sound of the set is clear for material recorded in the 1920s. Certain elements such as the simple piano rhythms and Kid Ory's non-stop trombone comping in Discs 1 and 2 may seen anachronistic to the modern post-bebop taste, but the datedness is dispelled the moment Mr Armstong blows his horn. I found Disc 3 to contain the best tracks of the lot, where Louis found in pianist Earl Hines a musical partner with a more modern rhythmic sensibility. The standout of the set is the classic, lyrical "West End Blues", with Armstrong's showstopping trumpet intro. All in all, The Hot Fives & Sevens JSP Box set is a good buy if you're a jazz fan or someone able to appreciate good music wherever it may be found.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The true "King of Jazz", Oct. 1 2002
By 
nadav haber (jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
This special priced set has all the recordings of Louis Armstrong with his Hot Fives and Sevens. I had them all on LP and considered them the pinnacle of my music collection, and the pinnacle of 20th century music in general.
These recordings feature Armstrong in a period when his trumpet playing received more attention than his singing. He did sing beautifully - as heard on "I am not Rough", "Gully Low Blues" etc. But the trumpet does lead the way. The trumpet on "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potatoe head Blues" - what a musical genius it took to produce such music !!! I feel that these recordings have the power to change people's whole view of life - it certainly changed mine.
There are guest appearances by the great blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson, great clarinet from Johnny Dodds, great piano work by Earl Hines, great ensamble playing. I use the word "great" here without fear of misuse - everything here is truly great.
People who are used to Armstrong's later work - Hello Dolly, Blueberry Hill - might need some time to get used to these 1920's recordings. I strongly advise them to make the effort - because the rewards are fantastic.
All tracks are great. I do feel like singling out "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potato head blues", "Muggles"
"Mahagoney Hall Stomp", "Cornet Chop Suey", "Hotter Than That"...
I play them to my 4 years old child and she loves it !
The historic importance of these recordings has been correctly mentioned by others. But what it really comes down to is that here is a gift to humanity that we should all share and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE ONE TO GET., June 25 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
Make no mistake, this release is the finest ever of the Louis Armstrong Hot Fives & Sevens, and the price is more than reasonable. This set, with sound restoration by the peerless John R.T. Davies, FAR outshines the more expensive Columbia set in both clarity and presence. You can not get a better sounding collection of this music no matter how much you pay.
You may already know, or may have learned in other reviews, of how this music changed the course of history. You may know these recordings showed a new kind of musical genius, and solidified jazz as a soloist's art. You may know that many consider West End Blues to be Louis Armstrong's finest moment. You may know that Knockin' A Jug may represent the first recording of black and white artists together (trombone master Jack Teagarden sits in). You may know that many consider these to be the most important recordings ever in the development of jazz, and Louis the most important figure. You may know that this music is one of the clearest expressions of unbridled joy and love, even in the face of adversity, that has ever met the human ear. If you know all of that already, all you need to know now is that this is the best this music has sounded since the very day it was played.
This is the spirit of jazz distilled to its most pure form. The heart and soul that runs from Ellington to Holiday to Bird to Coltrane and beyond is all here, and this is the set to hear it with. You know what to do...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Greatest Music !, Dec 5 2001
By 
nadav haber (jerusalem Israel) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
This special priced set has all the recordings of Louis Armstrong with his Hot Fives and Sevens. I had them all on LP and considered them the pinnacle of my music collection, and the pinnacle of 20th century music in general.
These recordings feature Armstrong in a period when his trumpet playing received more attention than his singing. He did sing beautifully - as heard on "I am not Rough", "Gully Low Blues" etc. But the trumpet does lead the way. The trumpet on "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potatoe head Blues" - what a musical genius it took to produce such music !!! I feel that these recordings have the power to change people's whole view of life - it certainly changed mine.
There are guest appearances by the great blues guitarist Lonnie Johnson, great clarinet from Johnny Dodds, great piano work by Earl Hines, great ensamble playing. I use the word "great" here without fear of misuse - everything here is truly great.
People who are used to Armstrong's later work - Hello Dolly, Blueberry Hill - might need some time to get used to these 1920's recordings. I strongly advise them to make the effort - because the rewards are fantastic.
All tracks are great. I do feel like singling out "Tight like That", "West End Blues", "Potato head blues", "Muggles"
"Mahagoney Hall Stomp", "Cornet Chop Suey", "Hotter Than That"...
I play them to my 3 years old child and she digs !
The historic importance of these recordings has been correctly mentioned by others. But what it really comes down to is that here is a gift to humanity that we should all share and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Most Essential Jazz Recordings of All-Time, Jan. 25 2001
By 
Rick (CT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
A young Armstrong sours to unreachable heights with the lightening speed and elegant grace of his cornet and trumpet in these timeless, highly essential recordings. Hot Five and Sevens is Pure Bliss!! Highlights include "Heebie Jeebies" (introduction to scat singing), "Cornet Chop Suey", Potato Head Blues", "Hotter Than That", "West End Blues" (with it's single note held in time for four bars), "Tight Like This", "Mohogany Hall Stomp" and "Ain't Misbehavin'", but every track (all 89) are essential and timeless!! Each song gives you a new theme and adventure. Louis's band is tight with tremendous focus on their instruments. They complement their leader with hot jams and dignified unity. Even if your new to jazz you will truly enjoy these recordings. You won't get bored with these CD's. In fact, you will discover new treasures with each listening. Do yourself a favor and pick this one up. Excellent music at an excellent price.
Hats off to R.T Davies and the rest of gang at JSP, these tracks have superior sound for their original 1925-1929 recordings. This 4 CD Box Set includes 3 pages of in-depth liner notes in each jewel case (for each vol). You also get track by track info on back of each jewel case with recording dates, and musicians for each session.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You cannot live without this music., Jan. 14 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Hot Fives & Sevens (Audio CD)
The Hot 5's/7's created the heavens and the earth. The Hot 5's/7's supply the oxygen in the atmosphere. The Hot 5's/7's fuel the sun to keep us warm. The Hot 5's/7's feed us. They pump the blood in our veins.
You cannot live without this music.
The songs. Hotter than that. Cornet chop suey. Struttin' with barbecue. Potato head blues. West end blues. Mahogany hall stomp. Tight like that. When the kid in the film 'American Beauty' says, 'Sometimes there's so much beauty in the world I just can't stand it', this is what he's talking about. I listen to these songs and I am devestated. This is the reason for living.
Do not read further. Buy this collection. I cannot believe this price. Four CDs -- it's $ 4.37 per CD for crying out loud. The music on each CD is worth a bar of gold. And the sound is the best remastering of 20's-era music I've yet heard -- and I've heard a lot.
Your path is clear. Buy this now. NOW. And so will start the rest of your life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hot Fives & Sevens
Hot Fives & Sevens by Louis Armstrong (Audio CD - 2002)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews