Customer Reviews


1,155 Reviews
5 star:
 (797)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (87)
2 star:
 (64)
1 star:
 (81)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking
Shocking even for an ex infantry man...the first 20 minutes on the beaches of Normandy had me on the edge of my sit with tears rolling down my face. I recall the anxiety I was feeling watching the soldiers get hammered on the French beach. It was a totally brilliant cinematic sequence which places you first person in the middle of a battle.
I truly beleive this is a...
Published on Nov. 22 2005

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Earn this?
I'm not going to waste time on a comprehensive essay, because SPR has already been analyzed to death on both technical and artistic grounds. Something like the Omaha Beach landing (or the breaching of Rommel's Atlantic Wall in general) is such a monumental event, it's hard to go wrong with a realistic portrayal because it speaks for itself. Taken as a dramatic whole,...
Published on June 8 2004 by Adam Cole


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocking, Nov. 22 2005
By A Customer
Shocking even for an ex infantry man...the first 20 minutes on the beaches of Normandy had me on the edge of my sit with tears rolling down my face. I recall the anxiety I was feeling watching the soldiers get hammered on the French beach. It was a totally brilliant cinematic sequence which places you first person in the middle of a battle.
I truly beleive this is a must see for the younger generation who may not know what their grandparents/ great grandparents did to save the world from Nazi Germany 60+ years ago.
For the war movie fan you can't miss it.
One of the all time great war movies.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Saving Private Ryan Blu Ray, May 9 2010
By 
This blu ray edition makes a great movie even greater. The film is supposed to maintains the directors intened wash out look but I find it slighlty more colorful than previous dvd editions ( this is not a bad thing). The picture is crisp and detailed and the audio is superb. Definitely worth the upgrade if you are a fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Glory in the Midst of Sacerfice, Sept. 27 2004
By 
"midnite565" (Richmond Hill, Ontario Canada) - See all my reviews
Maybe one of the bloodiest movies I've ever seen. Which is one of the cons for the movie because not all ages would know of serious impact of World War II.
It was a true story of Friendship and Loyality. Touching to the heart and true to the soul. Saving Private Ryan is one of the Best Movies I've ever seen in my life. It will stay with you forever. Even if you think Romance is the only way. Or if you like only comedies, this movie will amaze you in many ways.

I highly Reccommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magnificent!, March 15 2011
By 
Mark Sadler (Burlington, Ontario) - See all my reviews
The first and last time I watched Saving Private Ryan was in the theatre when it was released. I remember it being quite the experience. But the passage of time had dulled some of the finer points of why this movie is so spectacular. Thankfully, Saving Private Ryan on Blu Ray does a fine point of recreating the movie experience of some years ago. Though the colours are meant to be somewhat muted to create the realism, this film looks superb. However, what really stands out in this Blu Ray is the sound. On my 5.1 surround system, in the battle scenes, the battles were brought right into my living room -- or rather -- my living room was taken out to battle. I could feel the explosions rocking the floor and bullets flying by my head. Battles aside (and they are some of the best ever put on film), this is an emotionally involving story that left a lump in my throat and tears in my eyes as the credits rolled at the end. Saving Private Ryan, along with The Deer Hunter, Platoon, and Apocalypse Now, is one of the great war films. Speilberg created a great piece of cinema and this blu ray showcases it in its full glory.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly impressive, stands out among war movies, July 11 2004
This review is from: Saving Private Ryan (Special Limited Edition) (DVD)
Most of us expect a low-rate, pointless and overall tacky war movie from today's money-hungry industry, but SPR has done well in distancing itself from our presumptions. If you've never seen it before, than you'll be surprised at how well the movie is puit together. Aside from the usual modern-day method of pumping a movie full of A-List actors, a predictable script, less-than-impressive direction, irrelevent acting, and the overall novelty that one can come to expect of supposed dramas of today's glamour industry.
The story follows Captain John H. Miller and his team, including a sniper, a medic, an Arab, a surly private, and an acceptable Vin Diesel, to rescue James F. Ryan, a private in a paratrooper squad whose three brothers have been killed in action. A mission susceptible to much protest, and ultimately one that will cost many lives.
Everything about the movies feels as if it was done right. The overall atmosphere feels right, and it makes you feel as if you're sitting inside the movie--you can almost feel the moisture of the air seething through your clothes or the subtle sunshine warm your shoulders and forehead. The acting is very good as well, although you can spot some parts where improvement wouldn't hurt and it at times feels tacky and stunted. The direction is done well, as the actors can easily pass as soldiers, but the aforementioned cut corners could bring you away from the total immersion and feeling.
Saving Private Ryan is very worthwhile, and any war movie buff in his right mind would praise it as innovative and a revival of the genre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The second masterpiece of Steven Spielberg!, June 28 2004
By 
Hiram Gomez Pardo (Valencia, Venezuela) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
We must recognize you can have three different visions about the war. You may have an epical approach (Spielberg, Schaffner) ; a tragic approach (Fuller, Stone) or a comical approach (Altman).
Surprisingly Spielberg has taken the first sight. And this is an interesting point to remark. Spielberg assumes that challenge because his personal style has been always to rescue the dignity and the best of the human being can give and even do in the most awful circunstances.
He never tells us story about loosers , nevertheless he always seeks events or edge knife situations where you must face and win. Let's forget all his sci fi proposals (whre he {s obviously a winner) and let's focus on the flesh and bond films.
In Ryan he reminds us the glorious D day .
No other movie in the story until now has shown more realism than this one ; the first thirty minutes of the film now has become in a classic.
He puts the attention about the private Ryan ; he doesn't talk about great challenges ; he refers about the humanity which lives in men even in the worst circunstances.
Schindler (his number 1 masterpiece ) runs by the same concept, but the concerns are major.
With this one Spielberg signs his name in the reduced list of the great supremes war films in any age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Fine Film but Very PC., June 26 2004
By 
Bernard Chapin "Ora Et Labora!" (CHICAGO! USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Private Ryan (Special Limited Edition) (DVD)
First off, I think this is a great movie. Tom Hanks is awesome and so is Tom Sizemore. The production shots are memorable and even, at one point, include a beach scene viewed through blood on the camera lens. The first 20 minutes are absolutely hypnotizing. However, I take exception with the portrayal of Americans shooting those Germans who wished to surrender. This undoubtedly occurred but it was a very rare circumstance. Here it happened three times within a company of 200 men.
Guy Sager, in his "Forgotten Soldier," documented that Wermacht soldiers like himself intentionally sought out Americans for the purposes of surrender. To suggest otherwise is fallacious. Also, Edward Burns character seems more suited to the post-sixties "question authority" environment than to WW II. America was different at that time. This was the Greatest Generation. Not the "me" generation. Burns is misplaced. I also thought the cowardice of Ryan at the end was contrived. He was an experienced soldier by June of 1944 and was unlikely to behave as he did, but, even with my misgivings, I'd be a fool not to recommend this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Every American Should Watch It With Pride, June 8 2004
By 
V. Marshall (North Fork, CA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Saving Private Ryan (Special Limited Edition) (DVD)
The writer of this film should have received an Academy Award alongside of Spielberg, it is nothing short of EXCELLENT!
For the rest of my life I will watch this film along with the real D-Day documentaries on June 6th. The men who fought this war were true heroes and forever will be. I think every generation should pay tribute to the soldiers today and tommorrow who die willingly for our freedom. Spielberg has accomplished something with this film that touches upon both American pride and on the humanness of war. The scenes on the Normandy beach will reach in and grab ahold of your heart; torturing you beyond belief. But then pride will well up inside that same heart and your entire being will cheer as the first soldiers scale the hill. The movie just continues from there with scene after scene of triumph and terror with a storyline that will match the action in intensity, something rarely found these days.
I hope you will watch and say a prayer for all those souls who fought so bravely for American freedom. Remember those who fight today and hope that it isn't in vain. Spielberg is a master director who believes in the truth and shoots his movies with conviction. I only wish politicians were of the same caliber.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Earn this?, June 8 2004
By 
Adam Cole "Ministry of Silly Walks" (Menlo Park, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I'm not going to waste time on a comprehensive essay, because SPR has already been analyzed to death on both technical and artistic grounds. Something like the Omaha Beach landing (or the breaching of Rommel's Atlantic Wall in general) is such a monumental event, it's hard to go wrong with a realistic portrayal because it speaks for itself. Taken as a dramatic whole, SPR embodies all that is noble and all that is annoying about Spielberg, a man who earnestly brings all the awesome powers of filmmaking to bear on historical projects of fundamental significance yet falls short when it comes to trusting his audience and transcending cliché. Despite his undeniable talent and unquestionable sincerity, Spielberg all too often epitomizes American heavy-handedness.
[SPOILERS follow...]
There's one major story element that makes little sense and has always bothered me: Consider Private Ryan. The guy loses all three of his brothers, refuses an opportunity to go home in the face of a deadly threat, then stays behind to fight in a horribly pitched battle in which many fellow soldiers die while successfully defending a vital river crossing. After all that, we're told, he's supposed to return home, invent a better lightbulb, and live like a saint in order to "earn" their sacrifice and give it meaning. Theatrically effective, maybe, but my reaction was "Whiskey-Tango-Foxtrot?" Miller's company gave their lives ELECTIVELY to hold an important bridgehead which might well have been lost otherwise, so it's not as though they died in vain. And Ryan himself has just shown great dedication to duty while enduring hellish combat and great personal loss--you'd think that might suffice to settle his account!
Hanks should've looked straight into the camera when he delivered that famous line, because WE are the ones who have to earn our soldiers' sacrifices whenever we send them off to die. (That's just as applicable today, incidentally.) Combat veterans like the Pvt. Ryan depicted in this film have more than paid their dues, and they don't owe anyone a damn thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A Tribute to Heros, June 7 2004
By 
Todd Henderson (New Jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I was compelled to write this review based on some of the incredibly ignorant, self-serving reviews listed below. It always strikes me how some viewers will see a movie and then are appalled when it isn't 100% historically accurate. In the movie "Field of Dreams" Joe Jackson is depicted as a right handed hitter, so I guess this movie should be considered a bomb, after all Shoeless Joe was a lefty. Perhaps if you cynical viewers out there lightened up a little and came down off your high pedestals you might actually add a little enjoyment and enrichment to your lives. It's funny, I don't ever recall Mr. Spielberg, or Mr. Hanks or anyone else associated with this film spouting on about how Saving Private Ryan was intended to be 100% historically accurate. Yet people are peeved when an incorrect tank, half- track or weapon is used in a battle sequence. Gee the movie stinks because the sky was a bit too sunny during the landing sequence on Omaha beach. It's a movie folks not some history class at Harvard, get over yourselves already.
The movie recreates the landing on Omaha beach in a horrifying manner. It does a very good job conveying to the viewer the many mishaps the men encountered. Despite all the planning, preparation, war games, etc., the landings were in many ways haphazard. Unfortunately Omaha was a very heavily fortified beach head in Normandy and the Americans landing there where cut down by the thousands. Men landed in the wrong sectors, equipment didn't work, lines where crossed. Ultimately the Americans finally did get off Omaha beach but not without a tremendous cost.
The movie is loosely based on a factual occurrence. During WW II an American soldier was in fact pulled off the line in the Normandy theater and sent home because three of his brothers where killed in action. The movie takes the liberty to build off this to allow the viewer to enter the world of the WW II combat army ranger. Going forward a small unit of army rangers embarks on a mission to find a 101st airborne solder (Matt Damon) who has lost 3 brothers (KIA). The orders are that he be found and then sent home to the states so that his family will not have to endure the loss of another son. As the movie progresses the viewer is drawn into various combat encounters culminating with an intense battle which takes place in a small French village. The battle scenes are outstanding, especially the last epic WW II battle in the village. I thought the acting was very well done. Tom Hanks as usual was excellent, as was Ed Burns, and Tom Sizemore. Matt Damon also was excellent in his supporting role.
The message here is plain and simple. This movie was meant as a tribute to a generation of brave men who put their lives on the line for all of us. Men who's lives were interrupted and taken away at much too young an age. The film does an excellent job conveying the horror and hell these men encountered. For me, this is the films message, and I think it more than accomplished its goal. I've seen some people pan this film because it too clearly defines the lines between good and evil, or that it glorifies war. Sorry, that notion is nothing more than a bunch of bunk. I just don't see anyone running to sign up for the Army or Marines after watching the first 20 minutes of this film. The fact is, there has never been a time in the history of the world where the lines between good and evil where more clearly defined than in WW II. The estimated death toll in WW II (military & civilian) is listed at "48,231,700". Almost 50 million lives lost; let that number sink in a little before you blowhards out there write another one of your ignorant reviews about how over blown the notion between good vs. evil is depicted in this film.
The films focus is on a small American Army Ranger unit, it wasn't intended to be a modern day version of "The Longest Day" or a comprehensive narration of D Day. The direction the film takes should in no way be perceived as a slight toward the other brave allies who fought to rid the world of Nazi tyranny. A collective fighting will was needed to prevail, and we must never forget the great sacrifices all of the allies made to defend our freedoms. This film offers the viewer a lasting image of the level of sacrifice that was made.
Thank you to the WW II Generation who preserved our freedom and liberty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2116 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Saving Private Ryan (Special Limited Edition)
Saving Private Ryan (Special Limited Edition) by Steven Spielberg (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 15.99 CDN$ 6.18
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews