Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gross and reprehensible
Jean Rollin is a name instantly recognizable to hardcore horror fans, but meaningless to nearly everyone else. This ignorance is quite unfortunate because this French director concocted some of the sleaziest, most unusual films ever made during the 1970s and 1980s, films usually imbued with a disturbing mix of hypereroticism and bloody violence. I have often tossed...
Published on April 21 2004 by Jeffrey Leach

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars i love the movie but hate the english subtitles
ok,i bought the movie thinking it would be english dubbed and it turned out to only be english subtitles.i like the movie but i hate reading subtitles .i even tried to sell it to a french guy at a yad sale and he wouldent take it.so if u hate movies that are not in english dont buy it.
Published on Sept. 25 2001 by vincent lerch


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gross and reprehensible, April 21 2004
By 
Jeffrey Leach (Omaha, NE USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Jean Rollin is a name instantly recognizable to hardcore horror fans, but meaningless to nearly everyone else. This ignorance is quite unfortunate because this French director concocted some of the sleaziest, most unusual films ever made during the 1970s and 1980s, films usually imbued with a disturbing mix of hypereroticism and bloody violence. I have often tossed Rollin's name around in impolite company with seeming aplomb even though I had never seen even one of the man's films. You read enough plot synopses about someone and you start to feel as though you know every intimate detail about their work. What I did hear from others about this director oftentimes did not bode well. He is apparently well versed in schlock filmmaking--which in and of itself is not a problem with me, a true lover of bad cinema--but several of his films continue to draw raves from a selected minority of genre fans. Well, I finally sat down with a Jean Rollin film, his 1979 effort "Fascination," and was pleasantly surprised with the results. As I viewed the film with a growing sense of intrigue, I began mentally composing a list of other films from this director that I should watch in the near future. First up is Rollin's 1982 gore opus "Living Dead Girl."
"La Morte Vivante," or "The Living Dead Girl," is a shocking tale of a girl raised from the dead against her will, her ravenous hunger for human blood, and the childhood friend who acts as her enabler. Catherine Valmont (Françoise Blanchard) unfortunately passed away at a young age and was buried in a crypt with her deceased mother. And there she lies still in the sleep that knows no time or space until two dolts looking for a convenient place to stash some leaky barrels of toxic waste discover the crypt and start robbing graves. Some element of the glowing green fluid has an unwholesome effect on Catherine's corpse, causing her to suddenly awake and attack the two ghouls. Valmont, barely capable of speech and deeply confused in the world of the living, begins rambling around the French countryside in an effort to relocate her old house. Initially, she only has two memories-of her house and of her childhood friend Helene (Marina Pierro). As she wanders through wide-open fields, a nosy American photographer notices her and takes a picture of the dead girl. The photographer and her goofy husband will soon play a big role in the horrific events to follow.
Catherine eventually stumbles over her house, which is obviously no longer the Valmont residence. The living dead girl starts killing off people who come to the house-a real estate agent, a couple of young kids fooling around on a couch, Jimmy Hoffa-you get the idea. It turns out Catherine must drink the blood of the living in order to remain animate. If she goes too long without quaffing the red stuff, she suffers excruciating aches and pains. Moreover, the more blood Valmont drinks, the more she remembers about her former life. She soon recalls more details about Helene and a strange blood pact the two made as children. By the time Helene appears, and after living dead girl's bestest friend expresses astonishment that her late pal is alive, the two team up to help Catherine cope with her newfound existence. Helene lures a series of people out to the house so Valmont can carve them up like a Thanksgiving turkey. Each encounter between Catherine and a hapless individual is truly gross, a bone crunching, sauce spraying adventure in graphic Technicolor. Then, tragedy strikes. Remember the photographer and her husband? They both arrive on the scene when they learn about Catherine Valmont's death and mysterious resurrection. At the same time, living dead girl begins to express a sense of remorse about the people she kills for food. The movie ends on an especially gory note.
"Living Dead Girl" is a great horror film. I liked nearly everything about Rollin's nasty little gorefest: the French scenery, the actors, and especially the squishy special effects. The director lets the camera linger over the carnage in super close-up, just so you don't miss out on any of the unpleasantness. And it is unpleasant, extremely so. The sound effects alone turned my stomach. Just in case you weary of living dead girl munching on yet another victim, Rollin throws in a hatchet in a head and a person on fire to liven things up. Even the plot going on between the gory horrors is interesting for a low budget Eurotrash horror flick. The acting isn't all that bad, although I can't completely confirm that for sure since most of the dialogue is in French. Sure, the whole thing's a bit contrived, but what horror film isn't? If you like bloody shriek cinema, you should pick this one up right away.
The DVD version of the film is an entry in Redemption's Jean Rollin Collection, which means you get to see a rather racy intro involving two female vampires before the gorefest starts in earnest. Extras on the DVD include a widescreen picture transfer, stills, and a French language trailer with the dialogue replaced by screams. I've only seen two Rollin films up to this point, but "The Living Dead Girl" is the better of the two. Apparently, this one is the best Rollin film, period. I hope not; I like to think more treasures from this director await me in the future. If not, I'll simply watch this one and "Fascination" again. "La Morte Vivante" is a must see for gorehounds specifically and horror fans in general.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars rollin's most commercial masterpiece, Sept. 8 2003
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
for those of you unfamiliar with rollin's works, living dead girl isn't a bad place to start. well, rollin's fans will love this too! although this is perhaps his most accessible or commercial work to date, this film may be a bit gory for those who are more accustomed to subdued, atmospheric horror films. the film starts out with a group of men who are dumping toxic chemical containers inside a vault where mother & daughter are both buried. surprisngly, both cadavers look quite fresh considering they've been dead for atleast a couple of years! for some strange reason, the chemical brings daughter back to life & she attacks the workers who've brought the chemicals & proceeded to rob their coffins. she then decides to return to her childhood home where inevitable memories flood her mind where she is overwhelmed with a great sadness. coincidentally, a childhood friend calls the house & the living dead girl picks up the phone. as the livng dead girl is unable to speak, she plays a music box for the friend on the other end. needless to say, the childhood friend comes running to the chateau in almost disbelief & suspense only to find two dead bodies when she arrives. as the film progresses, the friend makes a decision to help the livng dead girl become stronger by luring innocent victims back to the chateau or attempting to kill them herself. as one can easily assume, the murders here are quite gruesome in the fulci or romero style but should please fans of true zombie horror. unlike previous rollin films, living dead girl delves more into the pyschological or melodramatic & tends to avoid eroticism or gratuitous nudity/sex. on the other hand, rollin supplies more gore than you would normally see in his average film. in fact, there are only two or three scenes of nudity & one brief sex scene which isn't very graphic unlike other rollin endeavors. this is a great film for your next halloween party or maybe just a new dvd you can introduce to your cool friends who think they have seen it all (or better yet, seen it before everyone else.) long live the works of rollin!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decent but overrated, March 23 2003
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
This film was highly recommended by all reviewers so I bought it and tried it out. It was a good film overall but I was disapointed in a way. The film just didnt have a great climactic tone to just push it over the edge. The movie was however very different than the average zombie films I have watched over the years. One of the drawbacks to this film was it was just too slow paced. I have a sense that the director did it on purpose to give it an odd and chilling feel to the atmosphere. The director also tried very hard to make it sad and while it worked to some extent I just dont think he made his point across. You didnt really feel sorry for the "living dead girl" because you really didnt get to know her and why she was so sad. He tries to explain this with some flashbacks but were just ineffective to make his point across. I'm sure the translation and low budget always has a problem with this but the director should know this. Having said so, usually it must be done with good acting which it was somewhat effective but not really since it is a B film and high paying actresses are not affordable or done with a lot of action sequences in which there was but it was in spurts. So it sped up then slowed down at times to give you a few seconds of gore and excitement followed by long lulls in the film.
The storyline however is not totally original, so a good film must be made up with lots of action in which it was only in spurts as stated above. In fact, if you watch closely the storyline similarly follows the many zombie films that start with a toxic reaction that wakes the dead (in which after 2 yrs of being dead she, the living dead girl, looks pretty good--I also have to say she is actually goregeous for a B-flick zombie movie actress). Also, it resembles the first Hellraiser in a way where her friend lures people in to be killed so that her friend can stay alive. In that case in Hellraiser, the girlfriend/stepmom was luring men to her house and hammering them across the head so that her boyfriend could come back from hell by feasting on the people she killed.
I painfully gave this one a 4 star because it really deserves a 3.5 star for trying to be unique from the other zombie films. The director has to be given 2 thumbs up for trying very hard to make it a slick film in an artistic way. However it loses the 1.5 star because its just too slow and at times it just took forever for something to happen and is only mildly successful in creating a decent storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars From naked female vampires to naked female zombies..., July 18 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
Yet another well-done, beautiful-looking Jean Rollin film. Some workers storing chemical waste in a crypt decide to moonlight as grave-robbers and open a coffin containing an astonishingly well-preserved young woman. But oops, there's this earthquake, y'see, and chemicals spill and o' course this brings the girl back to life and she starts killing (sharp fingernails!). Then she wanders off to a large chateau, of which her undead brain contains vague memories. There she meets her best friend, who's so glad to see her back among the living (sort of) that she decides to help her get the blood she craves by luring in victims. This leads to some pretty heavy gore - more graphic than what you usually see from Rollin - and o' course there's plenty of nudity, all of it beautifully, poetically filmed. Pretty extreme in all counts, and has that dreamlike suspension-of-logic that'll make you not worry about details (like why didn't the girl decay at all? and is there anything worse than the accordian-rock of The Fireflies?). Another good 'un from Rollin.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great French Gore Romp, July 16 2000
By 
frankenberry (Los Angeles, CA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
THE LIVING DEAD GIRL is easily my favorite of the 7 Jean Rollin DVD's released thus far by IMAGE on DVD and it's the only one in my permanent collection. If you like your euro-horror a little sexier, a lot GORIER, and even quite humorous, you cannot go wrong here. From the opening scene with the graverobbers being disfigured by toxic vapors (hilariously fake) to later ultra-gory scenes as our tragic zombie-female-vamp dispatches one victim after another with her long sharp fingernails or devours their necks in extra-long munching scenes, this one DELIVERS the goods! It has a very euro-horror feel to it and is not as esoteric and heady as some of the other Rollin films. Although french, it easily would appeal to fans of italian horror as well...so if you're not a big Rollin fan, you may want to give this one a chance anyway. The DVD looks great and includes a trailer with ALL the highlights of the film in it (so watch the movie first). Check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You didn't tell me you were dead, April 25 2002
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
This is the first French horror movie I have seen and I must say ..wow. Director Jean Rollin really captures you with this film It begins with some guys going down a shaft to drop off some chemical waste (ilegally) when we see 2 coffins. Well these are mother and daughter, these guys then proceed to rob the corpses of their jewelry. All at once this poor shcmuk gets his eyes gouged out while the other one nearly **** his pants. Katherine (living dead girl) is supposed to have been dead 2 yrs
she looked quite beautiful to be dead that long. She then wanders around,thru this field where this busybody photographer starts snapping pix of her. (Wait till you see what happens to her!) Katherine's childhood friend Helene discovers her to be alive what happens next in the movie is bloodcurdling definitely a must see for all us horror fans topnotch enjoy! oh yeah The movie is French speaking but with English subtitles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Gory but Goody!, March 7 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
I can honestly say that this is one of the most... er... unusual films I have ever seen! When a chemical spill inadvertently resurrects a young woman who died two years before, she does not appear to be very happy to have been brought back as a "living dead girl". I suppose this would account for her disturbingly anti-social behavior (i.e. gouging out people's eyes, eating people, drinking their blood, et cetera)....P>This is a thoroughly enjoyable film, although I would strongly advise watching it on either an empty stomach or a full stomach. Unless you own stock in a barf bag company, I really do not think that you would enjoy washing down your Coke and Pizza with images of blood and guts emanating from your television screen.
Anyway, this is an A +++++ film! Enjoy, everybody!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars My favorite Rollin movie to date., April 16 2001
By 
Chadwick H. Saxelid "Bookworm" (Concord, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
The strange, surreal films of Jean Rollin are unique and addictive, and The Living Dead Girl is my favorite of the bunch. A chemical spill brings a recently deceased girl back to life as a vampire. She stumbles back to her childhood home, slaughtering and drinking the blood of any and all unfortunate enough to cross her path. Once home, her mind and memories slowly returning, she makes contact with a beloved childhood friend. So close and intense is this friendship that her friend willing entraps and tortures victims to keep the reluctant vampire well fed and healthy. The blood drinker suffers from such anguish that the viewer is sooned asking just who is the real monster in this sad and ultimately tragic tale. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A SAD AND HAUNTING FILM, July 20 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
A wonderful introduction to the films of Jean Rollin, The Living Dead Girl manages to be gory, sweet and sad all at once. Despite its low budget the film has an elegant gloss and the two leads are wonderful, their death pact revealed through flashbacks as the story progresses. Highly recommended. Marina Pierro, where are you?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible non computeranimated slay and cry movie, Aug. 15 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen) (DVD)
just bloody movie with lots of screaming. but it is a good old handmade and non animated film. it feels so good to see a movie without computer effects.
seems a bit like more screaming more horror, so they are screaming like hell all the time.

this is not a film for youngsters and kiddies.. ;)

just a few freaks will love it, i think.
i do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Living Dead Girl (La morte vivante) (1982) (Widescreen)
CDN$ 44.99 CDN$ 12.95
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews