Customer Reviews


98 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an Important Film
Every reviewer who has commented on the dated-ness of this film is accurate. However, just because the film cannot be enjoyed in its original context does not mean that it cannot be enjoyed in another -- especially by people who did not live during or do not remember the late '60s. There are different battles to be fought, but the film is still pertinent in this current...
Published on June 21 2004 by M

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow but interesting
easy rider is basically just about two hippies going on a road trip through red neck country with a really good soundtrack. Nothing interesting happens besides learning about the hippies back in 70s and different predjudices sourounding them. There is a scene with a crazy acid trip that seemed to totally miss its mark and jsut serve as a distraction but is still memorable...
Published on March 3 2012 by Corpse


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still an Important Film, June 21 2004
By 
M (new jersey) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Every reviewer who has commented on the dated-ness of this film is accurate. However, just because the film cannot be enjoyed in its original context does not mean that it cannot be enjoyed in another -- especially by people who did not live during or do not remember the late '60s. There are different battles to be fought, but the film is still pertinent in this current era of engaging the amorphous "war on terror" and its subsequent erosion of our civil rights, and the continued corporatization of America. Everybody who said that this film doesn't really have a plot is also accurate, but so what? The point isn't to give the viewer a story with a bunch of twists and turns, but to simply show the lives of two cultural rebels (who probably seem quite tame by contemporary standards) as they trek across the southwest to New Orleans for Mardi Gras. The cinematography is excellent, especially considering the age of the film and its budget. The acting is really good and Jack Nicholson gives one of the best performances of his long career. He would have completely stolen the show had his character's screen-time not been cut short.
Here's why the film is still important: despite there no longer being a widespread, vicious divide in the nation between people like Fonda and Hopper and mainstream America, the themes of the film (freedom, freedom of expression, and how some are more free than others) remain totally relevant and Fonda and Hopper's characters can be seen as even more iconic than they were in 1969, because now that they don't actually represent you or me (as they could in 1969) they achieve larger-than-life status.
The scenes at the commune may elicit confusion or even a giggle from younger members a contemporary audience, but hopefully these people will look a bit deeper than the long hair and the funny clothes to realize that these characters represented a very real subculture in the late '60s; a movement that not only decided that the ballooning consumer culture was eroding their freedoms, but who also decided to do something about it. How many people today would be brave enough leave behind most of their possessions and live off the land, to protect the values they hold dear? Virtually none.
"They're gonna make it," declares Fonda about the food-strapped commune, and in 1969 it was possible for this line to be legitimately optimistic and to have enough strength and resonance to encompass the entire countercultural movement. Today, we know that they didn't make it. What did America lose by Fonda, Hopper, Nicholson and the commune not making it? That is for the viewer to decide, and that is why the film remains very important. In its day, the tragedy that befalls Fonda and Hopper could have been intended as a rallying cry. Today, it is reason to pause for introspection on the larger issues: What is important to us? What has been taken away? How much have we willingly sold away? And, most importantly, what would we sacrifice to get it back?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-see, March 29 2002
By 
Jeffrey Leeper "kem2070" (Seattle, WA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Rider (VHS Tape)
Although I am not a motorcycle rider and I have never used psychedelic drugs, I still found this to be a great movie. If you have allowed these two elements of the film to keep you from watching it, I highly recommend putting those thoughts aside and viewing this.
The main idea of the film is freedom. Peter Fonda and Dennis Hopper take a motorcyle trip across the USA while heading for Mardi Gras. Although this is the destination, Peter Fonda (is looking for something. This something could be America, but you feel it is more profound than that. You receive hints from the things he says to others.
For instance, he and Hopper have stopped at a farm to fix one of the bikes and to eat. After talking with the farmer, Captain USA comments about how great it is to be here on the land doing your own thing.
Jack Nicholson has the best lines of the movie when he explains that we love to talk about freedom, but we are scared to death of people who actually live it. A very important idea considering the war that was going on at the time of this movie.
Again, I highly recommend watching this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Rider (blu- ray review) : iconic film with great acting & pulsating music, & lots of nostalgia & sweet memories!, Feb. 21 2014
By 
Dr. Joseph Lee (Toronto, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 10 REVIEWER)    (#1 HALL OF FAME)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VIDEO:

The 40th Anniversary Edition of Easy Rider arrives on blu-ray with MPEG-4 AVC 1080p 1.85:1 encode. The transfer is quite spectacular, retaining its natural grain. During the Mardi Gras sequence which was shot with 16 mm camera, the grain was a little too heavy, thus diminishing video quality somewhat. The colours are amazing. The red, white, and blue of the American flag pop off Wyatt’s bike and gear. The Southwestern countryside looks marvelous as the natural light constantly changes the hue of the majestic landscape. The blue of Fonda's eyes and of the sky reflecting off the choppers' chrome is vibrant. Flesh tones are accurate and consistent throughout. The images are sharp with well-rendered textures and details that contribute to the 3-D dimensionality. The blacks, which are normally strong, suffer from crush as some detail gets lost in them. (4.0/5)

AUDIO:

Easy Rider revs up on blu-ray with a quality Dolby TrueHD 5.1 lossless soundtrack. Dialogue is clear as it comes out through the front center. There is good directionality as planes roar through the soundfield during a drug deal at an airport. Still, Easy Rider's soundtrack is all about the music, and its delivery here is exceptional. Born to be Wild by Steppenwolf features superb clarity through the entire range, including a solid low end. It sounds so good that it is almost worth watching the opening title sequence twice just to revel in the exceptional delivery afforded by this blu-ray disc. The other tracks - The Weight and I Wasn't Born to Follow, for instance - are, likewise, wonderfully presented. All in all, Easy Rider sounds fantastic. (4.0/5)

AWARDS:

Easy Rider was nominated for 2 Oscars in 1970: Best Supporting Actor (Jack Nicholson) and Best Screenplay.

PACKAGING:

This 40th Anniversary Edition comes with a 36-page digi-book, with wonderful photographs and essays about the movie and actors. I personally prefer this type of digi-book type, like Jaws, Cleopatra, Deliverance, The Right Stuff and Chariots Of Fire. There is no DVD and Digital Copy, which I personally do not mind.

FINAL THOUGHTS:

After the box-office failure of Cleopatra that nearly bankrupt 20th Century-Fox, a new business model, dubbed The New Hollywood era, emerged, with new artists and directors emerging. In this case, we see the emergence of actor Dennis Hopper turned director. Easy Rider became a landmark film due to its accurate counterculture portrayals and French New Wave influence, ultimately roaring off down the road to great box-office success. This New Hollywood era ended when other movie blockbusters re-emerged, like Jaws and Star Wars.

Easy Rider is well known for two breakthrough performances: Jack Nicholson, and famed cinematographer Laszlo Kovacs. Nicholson is memorable in his brief role, as Hansen bridges the two worlds of the straights and the hippies with humour and insight. The work of Kovacs and his team, paired with a brilliant soundtrack of then-current music, surely motivated a number of people to trek out on the open road to bask in the beauty he captured.

Easy Rider presents a great historical snapshot of America and Hollywood as both were in a state of flux in the late '60s, and this blu-ray accentuates that look back with very good technical aspects in terms of video and audio. This set is highly recommended.

After you finished watching this iconic film with the volume turned up high, you will feel like that “Your Motor Is Running,” and “You’re Born To Be Wild.” Again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Slow but interesting, March 3 2012
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
easy rider is basically just about two hippies going on a road trip through red neck country with a really good soundtrack. Nothing interesting happens besides learning about the hippies back in 70s and different predjudices sourounding them. There is a scene with a crazy acid trip that seemed to totally miss its mark and jsut serve as a distraction but is still memorable non the less. The ending as well was kind of a highlight as well as a wtf moment that is just kind of out of the blue. I wasnt sure what i thought about this movie at first but the more i think about it the more i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Live to Ride, Sept. 14 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Ride to live
Easy rider was the best bike show ever, But SOA is awesome too and Im sure will be very good in season 6
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Dated, but an important film about social change, Sept. 8 2013
By 
Steven Aldersley (Oshawa, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
The 1960s saw a lot of social change. The hippie movement, the increased exposure of recreational drugs, and the idea of freedom were all on the rise. Easy Rider captures that time and tries to depict a feeling. For the most part, it succeeds.

Wyatt (Peter Fonda) and Billy (Dennis Hopper) star as two bikers who are riding across America on their choppers. We see them buying and selling drugs, and meeting up with other like-minded people. They are determined to leave behind the established system and make their own way in life. In a way, this is a road movie, but it's also much more.

The biggest source of conflict in the movie comes in the form of people who see Wyatt and Billy as dangerous non-conformists. They are arrested on dubious grounds and receive verbal abuse from some of the townspeople they meet along the way.

The story itself is actually pretty thin. This is a movie that is more about the lifestyle than the plot of its characters. The idea of communes and free love are not as shocking as when they first appeared, but imagine watching the ideas portrayed in this movie when it was released.

Jack Nicholson shows up as lawyer George Hanson, who helps out our rebellious heroes when they find themselves locked up in jail. Nicholson's role is brief, but memorable. Hopper and Fonda do a great job of portraying the free-spirited bikers.

Music plays a big part in the movie and helps to establish the 60s feel. Be ready for Hendrix, Steppenwolf, The Byrds, The Band, Roger McGuinn, and many other performers from the era. The other star is the American scenery. The mountain locations are particularly spectacular.

The movie is dated now, but I found it enjoyable nonetheless. I would recommend it for people born in the 50s or before, as well as younger people who are curious about what life might have been like at the end of the 60s.

The Blu-ray presentation from Criterion (in the America Lost and Found set) does a good job of restoring this important movie, and comes with commentaries and a choice of audio options.

Overall score 3.75/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gotta like motorcycles and the 60's, July 31 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
I really didn't see a big plot, I found the movie more of a portrayal of a biker's treatment from others on a road trip. It will, or it should, make you think about situations that you have witnessed the treatment of someone that was different. The end was abrupt and you really don't see it coming, it really surprised me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Old one., April 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
Can't beat this one .. Always a favorite. Nicely revamped.. clear and sharp! Great movie , Everyone should watch this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars tres satisfait, April 4 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) (DVD)
j'ai recu le produit en quelques jours et j'en suis satisfait le film etait en excellent etat tout etait ok
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars a classic, Oct. 20 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
real classic movie . fonda and hopper a real boomer generation hero .really did like the blue-ray version .
always nice to re-run this in winter time when you have the blues
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb2648240)

This product

Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual)
Easy Rider (Special Edition) (Bilingual) by Dennis Hopper (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 43.55
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews