Customer Reviews


536 Reviews
5 star:
 (362)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD I own
I consider myself to have a wide variety of musical tastes. I like Bob Marley, The Clash, Rancid, the musical "Rent" as well as the soundtrack for Oh Brother Where Art Thou. Point is, if I like music, I don't try to hide it. N.W.A.'s "Straight Outta Compton" was the first rap album I bought, when I was in 7th grade. I got really into the N.W.A. family, regardless of feuds...
Published on July 4 2004 by Daniel M. Tuominen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE bud BOMBS
I have heard alot about this album and finally decided to listen to it. I was very unsatisfied and only 3 songs on the album caught my attention. Dre utilizes a similar format for all his sounds. Considered by many to be the greatest rap producer of all time, Dre fails to live up to his billing. Misogynistic and explicit lyrics aside, the beats are pretty decent as with...
Published on April 25 2001 by mike rafter


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD I own, July 4 2004
By 
Daniel M. Tuominen "Culturist" (Minneapolis, MN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I consider myself to have a wide variety of musical tastes. I like Bob Marley, The Clash, Rancid, the musical "Rent" as well as the soundtrack for Oh Brother Where Art Thou. Point is, if I like music, I don't try to hide it. N.W.A.'s "Straight Outta Compton" was the first rap album I bought, when I was in 7th grade. I got really into the N.W.A. family, regardless of feuds and such, who was more popular or not. I was big into oldschool rap for awhile, not really giving the new school a chance, as I could hear it on the radio and it jsut wasnt the same as the good old school stuff.
Public Enemy, Run D.M.C., Wu Tang, N.W.A., and then the solo's from all Eazy-E, Ice Cube, Dr Dre and MC Ren were all great. I loved Dr. Dre's "The Chronic" so much, that I picked this up from eBay for $6, and it changed my views on new school rap. As I've said, I own albums of Bob Marley, The Clash, Rancid, Korn, Rage Against the Machine, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Sex Pistols,...a wide variety. This album is just so honest and personal that you can't not like it. The beats are sick as well, but I like the whole family aspect of Dr Dre best. He brought Snoop Dogg into the industry, and he revolutionized rap with The Chronic, as well as Straight Outta Compton, and now, a 3rd time, with 2001.
Friends of his died, Eazy-E, Tupac... this CD is a tribute to them. Best CD in existance
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars NOT crap... AWSOME, May 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I was shocked when someone gave this CD the worst review then said to get Eazy E... i like Eazy E too but the point is that Dre made Eazy E famous in the first place... this album is one of those CDs you can just put in and listen to and rap along to even if its the first time you've heard the song. Eminem and Dre in "Forgot About Dre" are the perfect combination, followed by the next track "The Next Episode" a great classic. Dre is the master of beats and although some lyrics are slow in a few verses they still flow evenly with the beat and prove a point...
My Favorite tracks are:
The Watcher (like how eminem did the chorus and dres rhymes just mix perfectly with his beats)
Still DRE (just a great song)
Forgot About Dre (know the song by heart and the beat is a masterpiece. eminems speed and perfect rhyme scheme make it excelent. my fav dre verses are in this song dre definatly shows full talent in this one)
The Next Episode (great beat awsome finish on this one, snoop and dre def hav great verses... just a classic to rap along to)
One more thing, i love Kurrupts verses i think hes got alot of skills but just not the full fame he deserves, would like to see more of him in the future along with his little brother Roscoe that released his album "Philaphornia" which i think was awsome and one of my best buys.
Definatly get this album not only does it show the rapper that started this game it shows the tru talent of many other artists out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The greatest hip-hop producer of all-time returns, May 16 2004
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Though Eminem's debut THE SLIM SHADY LP was incredibly witty and funny and gave some hints of greater things to come, the real sign that good, real hardcore hip-hop was coming back was this: Dre's awesome, criminally underrated sequel to THE CHRONIC. In this album, Dre accomplishes too many things to list: He let's Death Row-loving haters know he's still the same old Dre in "Still D.R.E.", he reunites with his legendary sidekick Snoop Dogg (who does his best post-DOGGYSTYLE work in the banging "F!#% You" and "The Next Episode"), makes it clear he still loves to have his sidekicks make you "forget about dre" (Eminem's verses in that song and "What's The Difference" are among his illest and most quotable lyrics ever), let's a bunch of supporting mc's get their chance to rip the mic for a couple of minutes in tracks like "Housewife" and "Bang Bang", breaks the gangsta mood at the end of the album to deliver a deep and heartfelt eulogy to his murdered younger brother with the help of Mary J. Blige's hallmark vocals in "The Message", and, throughout THE WHOLE ALBUMm with kickass beat after kickass beat proves why he is almost unanimously accepted as The Greatest Hip-Hop Producer Of All-Time, regardless how much time had passed between "The Chronic" and this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Not The Chronic, but CERTAINLY not bad!!!!!, Feb. 14 2004
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
"They said Dre fell off; how n***a? My last album was The Chronic"
___ Dr. Dre, " Still D.R.E"
Come on now,Dre;be honest! For a while, you DID fall off; and if I recall(and note I recall it regretfully), your last album was Dr. Dre Presents The Aftermath. Dre left Deathrow records in 1996, not only himself proclaiming gangsta rap dead, but looked to forge in a new direction. But when he found that being a solid citizen didn't work for him,he decided to return to what he knows best, and that the hardcore G-funk that he helped pioneer a decade earlier. Speaking of that,how many people do you know that have changed the face and direction of hip hop or any music THREE times? Dr. Dre is that good, and that influential.On his "comeback" album(remember, he says that people forgot about him), he looks to the past and the future to build this momentum of this album. Old Deathrow friends Nate Dogg and Kurupt show love on Xsplosive and Ho's A Housewife respectively;and what would anything Dre does be without Mr. Snoop Dogg! Snoop and Dre keep the aforementioned Still D.R..E and The Next Episode funky enough,even his old N.W.A bandmate MC Ren shows up on Some L.A. N****s. Dre has also apparently forged new relationships on the way;Xzibit, who has always been one of my favorite lyricists, drops some s**t on What's The Difference, but a certain blonde haired, pale skin wunderkind not only steals the show on that song, but on the album's best song, Forgot About Dre. This album is a absoute winner form top to bottom; his next album, reportedly called Detox, is supposedly supposed to be his last album(how many times have you heard a rapper say that?!), and is supposed to be the most advanced hip hop album ever.I don't doubt that for a second; now if he could only get that long awaited N.W.A reunion going.......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Simply Awesome, Dec 16 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
The greatest thing about this CD are the many different rappers featured, nearly every song features somebody, that's amazing. I won't even name everyone, but you must know that's a great thing about the CD.
"The Watcher" tells us about how time flows in rap business, "F*** You" is a sexual song featuring Snoop Dogg and Devin The Dude, "Still D.R.E." tells us he hasn't changed since The Chronic CD, "What's The Difference" features Eminem and XZibit, the lyrics don't tell much, but it's a great song. "Forgot About Dre", featuring Eminem, has one of the best lyrics of this CD, "The Next Episode" features old friend Snoop Dogg, no need to say they both kick ass, "Let's Get High" is hot, "B**** N****" tells us a little about people in the streets, wrong people. Every track in here is highly enjoyable, but the best ones are above.
This CD has the Clean and the Instrumental version too, but the explicit one is obviously the best. Clean rap CDs aren't rap, you loose so many things during the Clean process...
Overall, this is one of the 10 best rap CDs ever, a must for any music fan, absolutely worth your money. Great beats, great lyrics. That makes a great CD.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He truly is still the Dr. Dre we all know and love., Oct. 23 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Here's what pisses me off: People (mostly pop fans) calling this album "2001", or "Dr. Dre 2001". What the hell? It's "Chronic 2001"!! Come on peeps. I mean, even Amazon named it "2001". Damn, how I really fu* king hate novices of rap.
Anyways... let's get down to the review.
¡°Things just ain¡¯t the same for gangstas, times is changing, young ni** az is agin'...¡±
That is how Dr. Dre begins his highly anticipated album. This represents the more contemplative side that this album brings. The Watcher serves as a fitting intro to the new Dr. Dre. He¡¯s still cool, but he¡¯s thinking more now.
I wasn¡¯t sure if I was buying the new Dre when I first got Chronic 2001. Of course I was sure I would love it, for it was the artist who released "The Chronic" back in '92. It turned out that he really takes a lot risks on 2001, and that most of them pay big dividends and sound awesome.
That said, ¡°Still D.R.E.¡± really is the best song on the album. It creates the same magical feelings that "Let Me Ride", "Nuthin' But A G Thang", and "Dre Day" did and still do. It just makes you bob your head and feel him. It¡¯s such a relief! Whatever has happened in 10 years, he is still Dr. Dre. When I heard this song on MTV before the album was released, I almost broke down and cried. It's so well done and perfect. It¡¯s Dre circa 1991. It's so not Jay-Z and Ja Rule. He's representin' for the gangstas all across the world - flat out.
The next time the album hits rare air is "What¡¯s the Difference". There are good songs in between but this is the next time Dre strikes gold, or should I say, platinum. Dre gives a nod to the classic Renzo in a Benzo line, and the song just takes off from there. Dre is real, Em is insane and crazy, and X to the Z is hard core. It¡¯s a great blend with a nice edge and a somewhat bouncy beat.
"Forgot About Dre" is also very good. Dre spits some real sh *t. It's also the second appearance of Eminem. Em does what Dre tells him to do, and he pulls it off very well. The orchestra beat and the weird keyboard sound awesome, too. ¡°The Next Episode¡± completes the cycle of top shelf songs. Wow, it truly is the next episode. Dre and Snoop put on a clinic and it is a beautiful experience. My only complaint is that it¡¯s too short. We need another verse here. I won¡¯t dwell on it, because the song is as good and pure as rap music gets. Also, I have to give a nod to Nate Dogg here. Any rap song can be improved with a dash of Nate Dogg.
The downside of this album is that the second half of the album is remarkably weaker than the first. You can probably tell that by realizing that all of album's singles are pulled from first half. HOWEVER, don't get me wrong - I don't skip any tracks. It's just that the first half is SO great and classic that it's hard for even Dre to keep that through 22 tracks.
Overall, the second real Dr. Dre album is a success. It has a lot of good songs, and a few CLASSIC songs. Although this album is not as great and magical as its predecessor "The Chronic", it's sinfully close. He truly is still the Dre we all know and love.
The bottom line? If you don't own this album, you need to get your head checked - this belongs to Hall of Fame of top 20 rap albums EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A MUST HAVE!!!, Oct. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Hell Yeah!!! Dr. Dre is my favorite Rapper and Producer!!!
His Rap is Nice[okay, I know he is not the best but I love him anyway!]
but I'm fu*kin' sure that he is the best Producer EVER!!!
He can Produce Ton of DOPE BEAT!
One of the most important artist in Rap Biz!!!
Dr. Dre First album Chronic is no doubt a TIMELESS CLASSIC, it's a classic whenever you hear it!
and this one, 2001, is another CLASSIC!!!!
Start with a Intro "Lolo"
"The Watcher" Dre let you know that he is The Watcher of this Rap Game! Great Lyrics and Great Beat! 4.5/5
"FXXX YOU" a song talk about Hoes, nothing special but worth listen anyway! 3.5/5
"Still D.R.E." One of da Best in this album! DOPE BEAT featuring Snoop Dogg sing the Hook! 5/5
"Big Ego's" I think this is not a bad song, but after listen this album couple times, I start to skip this one! 3/5
"XXplosive" this one without Dre Raps, but featuring a guy called Hittman! [He even raps more than Dre in this album, not a bad rapper!] The Beat is Simply but extremely GREAT! DOPE and BANGIN' One!!! 4.5/5
"What's The Difference" Featuring Xzibit and Eminem, all guys drop a GREAT verse in here and the BEAT is one of the best in this album! 4.5/5
"Light Speed" Not really a GREAT song but I like this one personally 'cause I love the beat and the outer space-like sample! The beat is DOPE!!! 4.5/5
"Forget About Dre" THIS IS MY FAVORITE SONG!!! featuring Eminem, DRE drop two verse in here which is EXTREMELY GREAT! I really love this song and Always rap along when I hear this one PLUS THE BEAT is DOPE as fu*k!!! 5/5
"The Next Episode" another my FAVORITE, one of the best Beat I ever hear! featuring Snoop D.O. double G and Nate Dogg!
"Let's Get High" seems many guys like this one but I'm not! 3/5
"Bit*h Ni__a" um, another DOPE BEAT featuring Snoop, six-two and Hittman! nice one! 4.5/5
"Murder Ink" that Hittman verse with voice effect is really agony and the Chorus keep yellin' MURDERER is agony too! don't like this one! 3/5
"ED-UCATION" the BEST SKIT I EVER HEAR! I always skip skit but I never skip this one, this one is REALLY Great and Humor plus the background music is great at the same fu*kin' time! 5/5
"SOME L.A. Ni__a" this one is nice too, another Simply but Great beat, featurin' MC REN BUT He Haven't drop a verse in here which is TOO bad!!! 4/5
"Housewife" Great Music, Great Bass Line with Funky Guitar Sample, Nice Chorus 2!!! 4.5/5
"Ackrite" this one is Hittman Solo, a good one! 4/5
"Bang Bang" THE BEAT IS GREAT! THE CHORUS IS GREAT! one of my favorite! 4.5/5
"The Message" The Last song featuring Mary J. Blige, a sad song about Dre lost one of his Hommie! 4/5
A MUST HAVE!!!!!
If you said you are Rap Fan and you haven't get this,
you're jokin' with me muthafu*ka!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dre's Crowning Achievment, Sept. 28 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Dr Dre, one of the most influential figures the rap industry for the past decade has unleashed a masterpiece that rivals "The Chronic" as one of the greatest rap albums ever put together. Dre brings out a host of guests onto this collaberation, such as Xzibit, Snoop Dogg, Hittman, Kurupt, Eminem, Knoc-turn'al, and a nice visit by Mary J Blige in "The Message." This amazing cast really brings the album to life, with Dre's simple yet amazingly deep beats truly make this album a classic.
This album is so deep it is incredible. 22 tracks make up the mammoth of a project, with a few interludes scattered here and there. Besides the unnecessary "Pause 4 Porno," they are all relevant and really express on the gangsta theme that is somewhat lightened up from "The Chronic." No filler songs are present, as they are all of extremely high-quality. It is a testament to how much work was put into this when it could be said that the album would still be a great album even without the top 5 songs on it. Amazing job by Dre.
Top 5 Songs:
1) Still Dre (featuring Snoop Dogg)
2) The Next Episode (featuring Snoop Dogg)
3) Forgot About Dre (featuring Eminem)
4) Let's Get High (featuring Hittman, Kurupt, and Ms Roq)
5) What's The Difference (featuring Eminem and Xzibit)
All in all, an incredibly feat brought forth by one of rap's all time greatest. Dre has created a masterpiece, one that will stay in the halls of rap's finest.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr. Dre's Comeback by Kathi's Son, July 21 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
After Dr. Dre dropped the sorry presents album he came back with an attitude with hot fire guests like Snoop, Em, Kurupt, Hittman, Six-Two, Xzibit, Ms. Roq, Knoc-Turn'al, Mary J. Blige, Rell,MC Ren, Time Bomb and Nate Dogg this album but Dre back in to the game. I loved this album all of the songs were perfectly produced but I'm not saying it to be on his nuts but he is the best producer out there. The Intro bought the low riders back in style. The Watcher brought back his Death Row gangsta image from 1995. F_ You was one of those songs that you could do a lot of things with and Devin made a good appearance. Still Dre bought his clean image out from the sequel to nuthin' but a G thang. Big Ego's with Hittman and a funny a_ interlude told about how the Ego gets you killed Xxplosive which was Royce Da 5'9"s written song was another 1992 sound. What's the differnce bought a millenium sound 2 it and Em was crazy in that song. Bar One was a funny skit. Light Speed was one of the tracks that you could've put Biggie on. It had a Bad Boy 2 it. Forgot about Dre was a fast paced song for 2000 which really put EMinem on the map. The Next Episode Pt. 2 was tighter than the original verson that was cut from Doggystyle. Let's Get High bought a little back from the Chronic 1. B_ N_s was one of Dre's hard songs off a touchy beat. The Car Bomb a stupid skit. Murder Ink bought back memories of N.W.A. Ed-Ucation Eddie Griffin made me pee my pants laughing. Some L.A. N_s was hot but MC Ren should've flowed. Pause 4 Porno speaks for itself. Housewife a boring track but hot with a tight interlude. Ackrite Hittman's solo put him down. Bang Bang also bought back N.W.A. days. The Message a great deep song. Dre has so much to look forward to he's gonna die a producer He's got an album Detox with Eminem, 50 Cent on over half the tracks, Snoop Dogg, N.W.A., and Eve. Don't expect 2 see Kurupt and possibly Obie Trice, Jay-z Rakim and Truth Hurts., Also an N.W.A. album (hopefully). I hope u sign Ice Cube 2 Aftermath!, 1
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chronic 2, July 5 2003
By 
"i_am_canadian0003" (Oakville, Ontario, Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
2001
2001 was a perfect comeback to Dr. Dre's The Chronic(1993). T here was not a track on this CD that was not worth of Aftermath. Songs like The Watcher and Still DRE have the funky G funk that dre is know for. And the Timbgaland like Forgot About Dre makes way for Eminem who KILLS on the hook and on his verse. B**** N***** exposes us to The D.O.C.(the longlost member of NWA)'s protege, Six-Two. Some L.A. N***** is a fabolous track which lets the world meet some more westcoast heros such as Defari, Knoc-turn'al, and King T. The murderous Murder Ink tells of a murder, inronically featuring Hittman. Let's Get H*** talk about doing drugs and getting high. The beats are well produce and the lyrics are well thought out and well delivered. Overall I Give This Album a 5.
Track Ratings
Track Name Rating
1. Lolo feat. Xzibit & Tray-Dee 3
2. The Watcher 5
3. F*** You feat. Devin The Dude 3
4. Still DRE feat. Snoop Dogg 5
5. Big Egos feat. Hittman 3
6. XXplosive feat. Hittman, Kurrupt, Nate Dogg & Six-Two 3.5
7. What's the Difference feat. Xzibit & Eminem 4.5
8. Bar One feat. Traci Nelson, Ms. Roq and Eddie Griffin 2.5
9. Lightspeed feat. Hittman 3
10. Forgot About Dre feat. Eminem 5
11. The Next Episode feat. Snoop & Nate Dogg 5
12. Let's Get H*** feat. Ms. Roq & Hittman 4.5
13. B**** N***** feat. Snoop Dogg, Hittman & Six-Two 3
14. The Car Bomb feat. Mel-Man & Charis Henry 3.5
15. Murder Ink feat Hittman & Ms Roq 4.5
16. Ed-Ucation feat. Eddie Griffin 5
17. Some L.A. N***** feat. Defari,King T,Timebomb,MCRen, 5
Knoc-tur'al & Kokane
18. Pause 4 P**** feat. Jack Steed 3
19. Housewife feat. Kurrupt & Hittman 3
20. Ackrite feat. Hittman 4
21. Bang, Bang feat. Knoc-turn'al & Hittman 4.5
22. The Message feat. Mary J. Blige & Rell 4
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 254 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronic 2001
Chronic 2001 by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews