Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (363)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Best CD I own
I consider myself to have a wide variety of musical tastes. I like Bob Marley, The Clash, Rancid, the musical "Rent" as well as the soundtrack for Oh Brother Where Art Thou. Point is, if I like music, I don't try to hide it. N.W.A.'s "Straight Outta Compton" was the first rap album I bought, when I was in 7th grade. I got really into the N.W.A. family, regardless of feuds...
Published on July 4 2004 by Daniel M. Tuominen

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars THE bud BOMBS
I have heard alot about this album and finally decided to listen to it. I was very unsatisfied and only 3 songs on the album caught my attention. Dre utilizes a similar format for all his sounds. Considered by many to be the greatest rap producer of all time, Dre fails to live up to his billing. Misogynistic and explicit lyrics aside, the beats are pretty decent as with...
Published on April 25 2001 by mike rafter


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 554 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars Average, Sept. 2 2000
By 
WeSt SiDe RiDeR (west side, kalifornia...) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I'ma be real on this review. Dr. Dre as a producer, he excells, as a rap artist, he's average, but he's horrible a person. The album was decent. Although, u have to let most of the tracks grow on you. Songs like, Forget About Dre, What's the Difference?, and The Watcher, i enjoyed.
The thing that really brought this album down was his constant reference to how people are dissing him. He makes lies about why people disrespect him. The reason is because he did not testify for Snoop when he was on trial. Snoop brought Dre up, when he was getting dissed by tons of people. And Dre can't afford to help his rescuer in his time of need.
Dre needs to stop rapping about he's the one suffering, and how he's the one that deserves homeage. Dre produced about 5 albums in his about 20 years in music. Where as, 2pac released 9 albums, and has over 1000 songs total, and was only in the music industry for 4 years, excluding the time in jail.
Overall, this cd is not worh buying, it has some decent tracks, but just doesn't compare to other albums like, All Eyez On Me, or Snoop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars DreHead Fo Lyfe?, Aug. 25 2000
By 
TopNewbie (Frisko USofA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Damn! Nothings new! talks about how certain type of people are. Then talks about how he wants to beat them up. just like rest of his album in the past. Nothing new but the beat. "beat" is the only thing keeping "so called gangster rap" alive and this album is a good example. If it wasn't I guess he would have nothing to talk about and this would be an instrumental. LoL! songs more like fantasy stuff? Creates his own dummy and then beats it up. "this formula of Gangrap" is getting tired. this business tactic is starting to get irritating even coming from the East coast. He is good at being a "DJ," but lyrically no.. I stole this freaking album! damn! Now I wish I didn't. I listened to this album twenty times just find out the reason of this album. and wasted my time finding out there is nothing! Go get this album with no second thoughts if your a little ... wannabe gangster and like kiddish nonsense coming from adults, or if your a DJ and don't care what the lyrics are.. just get it for the Tight Beats. and If your a DreHead.... well I guess I have no say in that. If your passerbyer and just curious about this artist just wait for something better. or just go and get Eminem album. (reason why many people got this anyway.... like me!) I would of given this album a one star but Eminem came of tight! so... a two. peace!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dre is the MAN, Aug. 12 2000
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Dr. Dre came out with The Chronic in 1992, and since then has been producing great albums from Snoop to Eminem. With this cd he blew everything he has done out the water. Since his last solo effort, Dre has grown up but has not forgot to find a bangin beat for every song on the cd. First off any album that includes Snoop, Kurupt, Eminem and Nate Dogg needs no introduction, the fact that Dre finds the perfect beats to fit these perfomers is astounding. Dre stil brings the same ryhmes but it is the way the beats make you feel that makes this the best rap cd in a long time. All I got to say is look out for Hitman, whose talents of Explosive and Ackright are bound to spring him for a solo career backed up by Dre. There is rarely a rap cd that can be listened to from the first intro to the last song, but thats what I've done since I got it. Very few weakneses in this album, except the fact that it doesn't have a 30 tracks instead of 22. Still D.R.E wil be remembered as Dre's newest classic within a few years. I wouldn't we surprised to hear this cd make waves through the year 2001 even though it came out in November 1999. Don't come out for this cd to be the g-funk Dre once made famous... expect it to be what Dre will make famous next.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still Dre, Still Great, June 21 2000
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
This album is in one word awesome. I rarely come upon an album that from the first listen to I love and just keep playing it over and over again. But this album definitely does that. It is already one of my favorite rap albums of all time, maybe in my top 5 and quickly becoming one of my all time favorite albums period. Not all of the songs are spectacular but there is definitely enough here to make it worth it and there isn't a single one that I skip on a regular basis. Of course, "Still Dre" is a great song, with a catchy beat and nice flows. "What's The Difference?" is also one of my favorites on this album with some creative lyrics thrown in by Eminem. "Forgot About Dre" well if you haven't heard that by now where have you been? A really good song even after a 100 listens. "The Next Episode" is another great tune, and "Housewife" will have you cracking up. Overall this is probably the best rap album of this year and the past year, hard hitting with a lot of good rhymes and great beats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Chronic Of The New Millenium, June 19 2000
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Dr. Dre talks about many things on his new album. Drugs, gangsters, h*es and b*itches, and many other things. But he doesn't do it alone. Sometimes it's hard to tell what rapper is what on this album with so many guest appearances in every song except the second. The skits are good and funny. That would be Lolo, Bar-One, Pause For Porno, The Car Bomb, and Ed-Ucation. Well, I think there's more but I can't remember. If you are a kid don't buy this album, not even the edited version because it is all butchered up. I haven't heard it but I've heard this one and I guarentee you it will be. If you're a kid and like rap stick to Will Smith and Len, and even some edited Eminem. Even if you're parents don't care about profanity, they will take this away quicker then you can say "but mmmmmooooooommmmmm". Dre's rappng sounds different. The beats are cool. Dre sounds older. Well he hasn't released an album since when, 1998 or 1996? It doesn't matter. The whole album is great and and Dre does a great job, so buy this! The best song is The Next Episode but it is to short. Buy this if you are not underage!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dr.Dre still prooving to be one of the best of alltime, May 22 2000
By 
Big Bullet (Bellevue,Washington) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Dr.Dre as a producer elite,Dr.Dre the rapper more than holds his weight,Dr.Dre the business man elite,N.W.A. one of the best groups to touch the planet,and Dr.Dre is doubted why?His team is tight he as the w/c pioneer has set standards,trends,fads,and anything else that possibly could be done he's done it.I will not compare the Chronic and the Chronic 2001 (unlike everyone else) because it can only be decided by personal choice. For the time period that both records were released they have done the same thing, sell a lot of records and establish dre as one of the best 4 his time.I would like to make a point Ice Cube,Snoop Dog,Eminem,The D.O.C.,Eazy-E,M.C.Ren,Michel'e,and Dr.Dre.My point is that with these names you could put 15 years worth of rap and R&B's greatest hits, and it could could easily be a double or triple cd box set. This record is tight. I like the songs F*** you,Still Dre,What's the difference,Forget about Dre,House wife, and Bang bang to name a few.The production on this album is not only tight its creativly original. Coast 2 Coast this is must have for any rap fan,This will be a classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars XXPLOSIVE! As the West Coast rolls along..., May 18 2000
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
This album is a fierce as was described, I don't regret buying it one bit. Chronic 2001 is everything that it needed to be, and Dre had a tough act to follow after the original Chronic. The beats are SICK, especially "Xxplosive". All of the rappers are cool, and you'll be hearing joints from this album in the clubs and on the radio for years to come. If you want to turn your party out, bump "Let's Get High" through your speakers - trust me, the crowd just about lost their minds where I was at.
Let's face it, although it is one love when it comes to music, there are musical styles based on regions, and Chronic 2001 marks the 'return' of the West Coast to prominence. Dr. Dre has paved the way for acts like Xzibit and the other West Coast 'ridahs' to gain more national attention - and they will no longer be slept on back East. It's all love, cuz the beauty of this hip hop game right now is all the different flavas that represent it right now. I will now give thanks to Dre for giving us somethin to ride to.
By the way, the interlude about the mother with the kid born out of wedlock - that ain't right, but it is HILARIOUS.
I also got the censored version, so I can play it around more people...it's not that bad to listen to at all. Five stars, baby. Ya better get this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Bigger and Nastier than ever, April 11 2000
By 
Joe (Los Angeles) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Dr Dre is one of the most influential rap artists of our time. Back in the days of "The Chronic", he single-handedly gave rap music respect and mainstream success, but by the mid 90s, he was considered "irrelevant" when he started producing tracks for people like Blackstreet (that unforgivably commercial "No Diggity"). But Dr Dre, as usual, has new tricks up his sleeve. He discovered Eminem when the whole world thought white rappers were as stale as Vanilla Ice, and made him a superstar. And with this new album, "Dr Dre 2001", he is out to reconquer the hip hop world, which has since been tainted by the likes of Puff Daddy and Jay-Z. From the beginning of the album right to the end, the album is a fierce onslaught of catchy hip hop rhythms mixed with guest appearances from other prolific hip hop giants. Outstanding tracks include "What's the difference", "Still D.R.E" (featuring Snoop Doggy Dogg), the smash hit single "Forgot about Dre", and the final track, a heartrending duet with Mary J Blige, "The Message". "Dr Dre 2001" is the best hip hop album in years, and it will definitely stand as a classic, setting standards for future rap artists to follow. Go D.R.E!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great CD!, April 9 2000
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
First off, I love the fact that there's 22 tracks. They might not all be good, but in a world of 11 track pop "albums", this one stands out like Eminem's Slim Shady LP before it. I bet most of you guys are gonna buy this for Forgot About DRE, the catchiest piece of Rap since Naughty by Nature's JAMboree and 2PAC's Changes. It's a great song, and if you buy it based on that, you'll be satisfied with the rest. Before I go any further, I have to say that you must enjoy DRE's smooth delivery that accents Eminem's non-stop kiddie voice style to fully enjoy the album. Now, the best songs on this CD, besides FAD, are Still D.R.E., The Watcher, which is dedicated to DRE's baby bro who was killed by gunshot,The Message, and my absolute fav and the likely 3rd single, What's the Difference? Xzibit is somewhat of a find for DRE, because of his rough-voiced yet fluid delivery. There's alotta guestes on the CD, but you always know that DRE's presence is there. One of the best rap releases of 99, still one of the best in 2000.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best Cd of '99, March 5 2000
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I Am not just giving this cd 5 stars because I feel like it. Or just because I Like Dre. But it's because this cd blows all other rap cd's out of the water! With Some of the best beats I've heard in a long time. And he finds the greatest guest stars to accompany him like Mc Ren (Who only does an intro, but it's still nice to hear his voice), Eminem (who lights up the mic the greatest), Xzibit, Snoop (Dre & Snoop's Reunion on Still DRE), Newcomer Hittman Who raps Alot! And he is very very good. Also Kurupt appears on a couple of songs. While other newcomers Ms. Roq & Six-Two light it up as well. Devin comes on too. The Best Songs would have to be "Let's Get High", "Still DRE" "Forgot About Dre", "What's The Difference", "F#ck You" (wish i could swear on this review), "Some L.A. Niggaaz" "Murder Ink" w/The Halloween Movie Music playing in the backround, "Acrkite", "The Watcher" "Xxplosive", "Housewife" and all of them are good though!It's The Most Complete Album relesed in 99. Also buy Kurupt's-"Tha Streetz Iz A Mutha", 2pac + Outlawz's "Still I Rise" Those came out at this time too and really rocked in the 99!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 554 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronic 2001
Chronic 2001 by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews