Customer Reviews


537 Reviews
5 star:
 (363)
4 star:
 (99)
3 star:
 (31)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars DRE at his best
people are crazy saying that chronic 2001 is bad, this is definitly a cd that can been known as one of the greatest rap albums ever made. you can tell that dr.dre put all his effort into making the beats and the lyrics in the album.
Published on Jan. 5 2006 by redeyez420

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Dr.Dre 2001
I think that this album is ok, but for sure, Dr.Dre can't touch Eazy E. I like the songs F*** You, Still Dre, and the next episode, but if you want some real gangsta rap, than just pick up an Eazy E album.
Published on July 10 2004 by Cold 187um


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 554 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Never gets boring! Best CD EVER!!!, Nov. 12 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I've had this CD for like 2-3 years. I'm like the only guy in my country to listen to Dre (rap generally), so I can claim being the guy with the greatest taste of music.
I can't say that "Aftermath" was such a bad CD, but after the great "Chronic", "Aftermath" really disappointed many people out there. Then Dre released greatest CD ever (for me), "Chronic 2001" (why do people just call it "2001"???).
If you are a rap fan, you SO VERY MUCH HAVE TO get this CD.
(By the way: I'm listening to the CD right now; "Still DRE" specifically)
If you have reached this point (of my review) and still haven't hit "BUY THIS CD", I'll be surprised... :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dre's best yet!, Nov. 8 2003
By 
Katie Moran (San Francisco, ca United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
I got this CD back in 2000 and it still kicks ass. I listen to it all the time and the songs never get old. Dre shows his rap as well as production talents in one of his best CDs of all time. This is a "must have" for any collection and I highly reccomend it to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars He truly is still the Dr. Dre we all know and love., Oct. 23 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Here's what pisses me off: People (mostly pop fans) calling this album "2001", or "Dr. Dre 2001". What the hell? It's "Chronic 2001"!! Come on peeps. I mean, even Amazon named it "2001". Damn, how I really fu* king hate novices of rap.
Anyways... let's get down to the review.
¡°Things just ain¡¯t the same for gangstas, times is changing, young ni** az is agin'...¡±
That is how Dr. Dre begins his highly anticipated album. This represents the more contemplative side that this album brings. The Watcher serves as a fitting intro to the new Dr. Dre. He¡¯s still cool, but he¡¯s thinking more now.
I wasn¡¯t sure if I was buying the new Dre when I first got Chronic 2001. Of course I was sure I would love it, for it was the artist who released "The Chronic" back in '92. It turned out that he really takes a lot risks on 2001, and that most of them pay big dividends and sound awesome.
That said, ¡°Still D.R.E.¡± really is the best song on the album. It creates the same magical feelings that "Let Me Ride", "Nuthin' But A G Thang", and "Dre Day" did and still do. It just makes you bob your head and feel him. It¡¯s such a relief! Whatever has happened in 10 years, he is still Dr. Dre. When I heard this song on MTV before the album was released, I almost broke down and cried. It's so well done and perfect. It¡¯s Dre circa 1991. It's so not Jay-Z and Ja Rule. He's representin' for the gangstas all across the world - flat out.
The next time the album hits rare air is "What¡¯s the Difference". There are good songs in between but this is the next time Dre strikes gold, or should I say, platinum. Dre gives a nod to the classic Renzo in a Benzo line, and the song just takes off from there. Dre is real, Em is insane and crazy, and X to the Z is hard core. It¡¯s a great blend with a nice edge and a somewhat bouncy beat.
"Forgot About Dre" is also very good. Dre spits some real sh *t. It's also the second appearance of Eminem. Em does what Dre tells him to do, and he pulls it off very well. The orchestra beat and the weird keyboard sound awesome, too. ¡°The Next Episode¡± completes the cycle of top shelf songs. Wow, it truly is the next episode. Dre and Snoop put on a clinic and it is a beautiful experience. My only complaint is that it¡¯s too short. We need another verse here. I won¡¯t dwell on it, because the song is as good and pure as rap music gets. Also, I have to give a nod to Nate Dogg here. Any rap song can be improved with a dash of Nate Dogg.
The downside of this album is that the second half of the album is remarkably weaker than the first. You can probably tell that by realizing that all of album's singles are pulled from first half. HOWEVER, don't get me wrong - I don't skip any tracks. It's just that the first half is SO great and classic that it's hard for even Dre to keep that through 22 tracks.
Overall, the second real Dr. Dre album is a success. It has a lot of good songs, and a few CLASSIC songs. Although this album is not as great and magical as its predecessor "The Chronic", it's sinfully close. He truly is still the Dre we all know and love.
The bottom line? If you don't own this album, you need to get your head checked - this belongs to Hall of Fame of top 20 rap albums EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 2001, Oct. 18 2003
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
A Great Return back to da game with Snoop Dogg this album
a classic.pick this up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This CD is F*ckin' Great!, Oct. 15 2003
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
To this day, I still have not come across a rap CD that tops Dre's Chronic 2001! I can listen to this CD from beginning to end and not need to skip tracks. It's just remarkable. I don't know what else to say. But this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, All HITS, Oct. 12 2003
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
At first, i thought Dr. Dre would be like many rapper who fall of their game on their sophomore album. But Dr. Dre was still doing his thing. The production on this album is amazing, even better than The Chronic's. Dr. Dre's lyric is also well put together not just some rushed albums that the DOWN SOUTH record labels produces and all you hear is CAsh, Money, Hoes, Cars, Chains, Chrystal, and stuff like that...Dr. Dre is also good at bringing young game into rap (Snoop DOgg, WArren G, Kurrupt, Daz Dilliger, Nate Dogg) and now the WHITE AMERICAN DREAM EMINEM. They guest apperances are also superb on this album. Unlike NO LIMIT, Dr. Dre picks his guest apperances wisely eventhough they both have alot. The quality of this CD is definitely worth the money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS A MUST HAVE!!!, Oct. 11 2003
By 
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Hell Yeah!!! Dr. Dre is my favorite Rapper and Producer!!!
His Rap is Nice[okay, I know he is not the best but I love him anyway!]
but I'm fu*kin' sure that he is the best Producer EVER!!!
He can Produce Ton of DOPE BEAT!
One of the most important artist in Rap Biz!!!
Dr. Dre First album Chronic is no doubt a TIMELESS CLASSIC, it's a classic whenever you hear it!
and this one, 2001, is another CLASSIC!!!!
Start with a Intro "Lolo"
"The Watcher" Dre let you know that he is The Watcher of this Rap Game! Great Lyrics and Great Beat! 4.5/5
"FXXX YOU" a song talk about Hoes, nothing special but worth listen anyway! 3.5/5
"Still D.R.E." One of da Best in this album! DOPE BEAT featuring Snoop Dogg sing the Hook! 5/5
"Big Ego's" I think this is not a bad song, but after listen this album couple times, I start to skip this one! 3/5
"XXplosive" this one without Dre Raps, but featuring a guy called Hittman! [He even raps more than Dre in this album, not a bad rapper!] The Beat is Simply but extremely GREAT! DOPE and BANGIN' One!!! 4.5/5
"What's The Difference" Featuring Xzibit and Eminem, all guys drop a GREAT verse in here and the BEAT is one of the best in this album! 4.5/5
"Light Speed" Not really a GREAT song but I like this one personally 'cause I love the beat and the outer space-like sample! The beat is DOPE!!! 4.5/5
"Forget About Dre" THIS IS MY FAVORITE SONG!!! featuring Eminem, DRE drop two verse in here which is EXTREMELY GREAT! I really love this song and Always rap along when I hear this one PLUS THE BEAT is DOPE as fu*k!!! 5/5
"The Next Episode" another my FAVORITE, one of the best Beat I ever hear! featuring Snoop D.O. double G and Nate Dogg!
"Let's Get High" seems many guys like this one but I'm not! 3/5
"Bit*h Ni__a" um, another DOPE BEAT featuring Snoop, six-two and Hittman! nice one! 4.5/5
"Murder Ink" that Hittman verse with voice effect is really agony and the Chorus keep yellin' MURDERER is agony too! don't like this one! 3/5
"ED-UCATION" the BEST SKIT I EVER HEAR! I always skip skit but I never skip this one, this one is REALLY Great and Humor plus the background music is great at the same fu*kin' time! 5/5
"SOME L.A. Ni__a" this one is nice too, another Simply but Great beat, featurin' MC REN BUT He Haven't drop a verse in here which is TOO bad!!! 4/5
"Housewife" Great Music, Great Bass Line with Funky Guitar Sample, Nice Chorus 2!!! 4.5/5
"Ackrite" this one is Hittman Solo, a good one! 4/5
"Bang Bang" THE BEAT IS GREAT! THE CHORUS IS GREAT! one of my favorite! 4.5/5
"The Message" The Last song featuring Mary J. Blige, a sad song about Dre lost one of his Hommie! 4/5
A MUST HAVE!!!!!
If you said you are Rap Fan and you haven't get this,
you're jokin' with me muthafu*ka!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Dre is the Man, Oct. 9 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
Once again Dre proved why he is the man. This album is packed with hot tracks top to bottom. Instant classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty Decent, Oct. 9 2003
By 
vladimir petrov (Aurora, CO United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
This Dre Cd is decent. It is very good at the beginning lyrically and musically......up until song # 12. Then...it still comtinues to be good musically,but the lyricall quality starts to fade. the whole cd starts going downhill after song #12. I still say dont skip this one. Buy it. Its worth your money. Best songs : #2 The Watcher #4 Still D.R.E #7 Whats The Difference #10 Forgot About Dre #11 The Next Episode. Buy It. Its worth the money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Rap white guys like, Oct. 7 2003
By 
Dan Klimke "The two most abundent things in t... (Tempe, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Chronic 2001 (Audio CD)
This was the first Rap CD to really catch my ear and turn me onto a style of music I thought wasn't for me. Dre knows what we all want to hear and he gives to us ten fold on this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 554 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Chronic 2001
Chronic 2001 by Dr. Dre (Audio CD - 1999)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews