Customer Reviews


288 Reviews
5 star:
 (206)
4 star:
 (60)
3 star:
 (13)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4.0 out of 5 stars a floyd must-get
this album is your great all around rock album! but it is more like four and a half stars instead of a rating of five stars.. I like Seamus,pillow of winds & One of these days
Published 24 days ago by marketminutdave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Half of This Albums Material Is Worth Of Saying Classic !
Meddle has said to be Pink Floyd's best album after the Syd Barrett's time and before the Dark Side of the Moon. Maybe it is because I have heard only Meddle and Atom Heart Mother on this period. Meddle could be a classic album if you found more interesting and terrific songs as One of These Days and epic Echoes on this album. Unfortunaly, rest of the songs are a quite...
Published on March 12 2004 by Juha Ylinen


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars a floyd must-get, June 30 2014
By 
This review is from: Meddle 2011 - Remaster (Audio CD)
this album is your great all around rock album! but it is more like four and a half stars instead of a rating of five stars.. I like Seamus,pillow of winds & One of these days
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect serenity, Oct. 18 2003
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
Here's a track by track breakdown:
One of These Days: A nice bouncing bass line, Dr. Who Synth lines, and wicked lyrics make this one a 5/5
Pillow Of Winds: A sentimental favorite of mine, and of the prettiest songs ever. Listening to this reminds one of a falling feather. 5/5
Fearless: Amazing!!! Life Changer!!! Holy moly!!! The accoustic guitar is so clear and perfect and the singing is so amazing!! It's so well thought out and delivered with a level of sensitivity that is only achieved by the greats.This one is written from deep within. 5/5
San Topez: Catchy song. One that you may not like at first but just you wait you'll find that you'll have "As I reach for a peach...' stuck in your head. 4/5
Seamus: Seamus is pronounced Shamus. It's kind of like Sean/Shawn. On this one Floyd plays some deep blues with a real dog adding a nice effect. Not a life changing song, but short and pleasant. 4/5
Echoes: Pure genius!!! This song foreshadowed some of the greater themes to come on Dark Side of The Moon, Wish You Were Here, and so on. This song is a well orchestraded psychadelic masterpiece. 5/5
Final note, the genius of Fearless and Echoes makes up for any blemishes (as tiny as they are) that this album may have. This album is up there with the greatest albums ever made in my opinion and should be a part of any serious CD collection for a fan of rock music.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Nearly Symphonic Magnum Opus, Aug. 24 2003
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
Before The Wall, before Dark Side of the Moon, Pink Floyd created a very different kind of masterpiece. While their later albums were a triumph of concept, it is on Meddle where one can hear the *musical* peak of Pink Floyd's career. This is not a concept album--it is a musical journey showing off a variety of musical styles. The lyrics do not demand--they suggest, and allow the music to do the rest of the talking. Perhaps the most wonderful thing about Meddle is the fact that the band was truly functioning as a *band* here. Everyone's talents can be clearly heard, and no one shouts anybody else down.
There is no such thing as filler, on Meddle. Bookended by the mindblowing tracks "One of These Days" and "Echoes", the four "interior" tracks are severely underrated. "A Pillow of Winds" and "Fearless" are both pleasant, leisurely guitar-driven songs, and seem fairly well appreciated by fans. However, I believe that the much-maligned "San Tropez" and "Seamus" are also deserving of appreciation. "San Tropez" is particularly notable for some very unique Roger Waters vocals--rather optimistic and even a touch bluesy...a style he unfortunately never pursued after that point. "Seamus" gives a rare glimpse of the fun side of Pink Floyd, as well as a flashback to the band's origins as a blues cover band. This was never a song meant to be taken so seriously as some do. "One of These Days" is an explosive, energetic instrumental that perhaps foreshadows the angry, driven rock of Animals, but with only one lyric--a rare appearance by Nick Mason, whose processed vocals growl menacingly, "One of these days, I'm going to cut you into little pieces!"
The album's final piece, "Echoes", may be Pink Floyd's greatest work ever. From first to last "ping", this brilliant near-symphony is fantastic. Each bandsman's talents are clearly audible, even the simple-yet-effective contributions of Nick Mason and Roger Waters. The vocal harmony of David Gilmour and Richard Wright is mesmerising. Without question, this song contains the best verse Mr. Waters ever wrote: "Strangers passing in the street, by chance two separate glances meet, and I am you and what I see is me. And do I take you by the hand, and lead you through the land, and help me understand the best I can?"
Unfortunately, this reminder to walk a mile in the other man's shoes was a lesson Mr. Waters forgot in later years, at the price of devastating consequences to the band's output and to the members themselves. This moment in Pink Floyd's history is therefore one-of-a-kind, completely irreplaceable. The entire album can be summed up by the "jam" sequence in "Echoes". Never before, never again do the pieces fit together so seamlessly, each a joy on its own and in combination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes, March 22 2008
By 
David T. Mathias (Red Deer, Alberta Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
The extravagant piece, Echoes, remains brilliant to this day because it stretches the listening ear and imagination of the listener. The opening riff and subsequent lyrics soon explode into a totally mind-expanding, improvisational set that is totally absorbing and slightly unsettling. Then the piece gradually returns to a more melodic sound and the listener is set gently down on the ground to the sound of the original echo. To this day I have never heard such a brilliant piece of "rock" music, and when I first heard it in 1970 it was THE radical sound.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the all-time timeless great albums, March 20 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
I could listen to this album all day, and I often do!! It's seamless, timeless, and ethereal music will get you through that rough day at work without a hitch! LOVE IT! This and "Wish You Were Here" are my two all-time fav Pink Floyd albums. I saw them several times in concert in my youth (those darn YUTS!@) and wow, if only we could turn back time..........buy this one, you won't regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it immediately, if not sooner, Dec 22 2002
By 
"toughguytim" (Hamburg, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
Do you ever wonder what it would feel like to experience sonic perfection? I don't either...but if such a thing existed, this would be it. The album's highlight is the 23-minute "Echoes," considered by many to be the band's crowning achievement. Somehow, the song is able to keep your attention for the full duration...even though it's mostly instrumental. Also on this album are the (absolutely hilarious!) track "Seamus," about a dog who would howl when he heard blues music, and the hard-hitting "One Of These Days," in which Nick Mason's growling vocals make you wonder if you're in danger of being chopped "into little pieces." If you don't own this album, I must apologize profusely for not asking you to buy it sooner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Experimental Floyd, July 11 2004
By 
David (somewhere, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
I wouldn't recommend getting this as your first Floyd album just cause it might throw you off track. This is a great CD but not quite up to par with Dark Side or maybe Wish you were Here. But the closer "echoes" makes it a close call. It is an astonishing 23 minutes of great lyrics, musicianship and interesting soundscapes and moods. Another highlight is the sleepy "A Pillow of Winds" and "Fearless". Hell, every song on the album is great except for Seamus, which seems a little out of place.
But If you're a Floyd fan and dont own this album, do yourself a favor and buy it NOW.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars disregard the one star girl,this is terrific, June 19 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
please dont pay any attention to that spiteful one star girl who slams this great band everyday in her biased,pointless reviews.she writes under different names everyday to give this band one stars and has more aliases than a person wanted by the law.this is a masterpiece and is very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Echoes - the peak of symphonic rock, June 11 2004
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
It's to say that the album has two very separate halfs. One is very early 70's sounding, with the heavy-rocker 'One of this Days' and the soft 'A Pillow of Winds' as highlights, really a very experimental and unique side, if not reaching the standards for a Pink Floyd's album side, and the other half.
This one contains an only track, 'Echoes' which is for me the biggest achievement from Pink Floyd as a track, maybe along with 'Shine on You Crazy Diamond'. Not only that, but maybe it's one of the long tracks that will have to be exhibited in the future to explain people what "was" symphonic rock. The theme starts with a submarine-radar sound lost in the immensity of the ocean's silence. Some sonsensy keyboards start to groove and a beautiful guitar from mister Gilmour draws a slow and sinuous melody, and the band starts playing over Nick Mason's lazy drum beating. So the vocal part appears with a nice and sensitive harmony between Gilmour and Wright. Everything develops to an almost pre-funky jam and after that the music starts disappearing under a scary and breathtaking sinfony of what is like underwater screaming creatures. That lasts for some minutes, and so a muted electric guitar leads the way gradually from silence to what is one of the most beautiful, energetic and full of emotion musical crescendos a band has ever achieved. Find out the rest of it for yourselves!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Echoes!, June 10 2004
By 
Levi Stofer (Lawrenceville, GA USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Meddle (Audio CD)
If nothing else, Meddle is essential just for their 23-minute masterpiece "Echoes" which melds sonic experimentation with classical, blues, rock, and sound effects... if this sounds familiar, you're right. Guitarist David Gilmour admits that "Echoes" led them toward the classic "Dark Side of the Moon".
Echoes is not the only reason to buy Meddle though. Floyd fans will appreciate the rare playfulness of "San Tropez" and "Seamus". The brooding opener "One of These Days" is classic Floyd as well. Really, there are no weak tracks on this album. I would honestly rate this as their 2nd best cd. A must have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Meddle
Meddle by Pink Floyd (Audio CD - 1994)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews