Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done re-issue.
If you're going to re-issue a catalog on vinyl, these guys figured out how to do it well. I was an Iron Maiden fan from back in hte day and still have all my original records in mint shape. The only one missing was this one. Sounds good. Good packaging. Picture Disc to boot. If you're a fan...what's the problem? Get it.
Published 11 months ago by LC9000

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful.
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Published 19 months ago by Brendan Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful., Dec 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well done re-issue., Aug. 7 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you're going to re-issue a catalog on vinyl, these guys figured out how to do it well. I was an Iron Maiden fan from back in hte day and still have all my original records in mint shape. The only one missing was this one. Sounds good. Good packaging. Picture Disc to boot. If you're a fan...what's the problem? Get it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pre Dickinson Pre Birch record Rocks!, July 15 2012
By 
Stephen Bieth (Mississauga/ Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
This is the first Iron Maiden record. Martin Birch would not start producing until the next one and Bruce Dickinson would not join until the one after that. This album with Paul Di'Anno on vocals has a few of Maidens signature songs on it like Iron Maiden and Running Free. But the album is strong over all. One of the great debut Metal records of all time. The production is good but the guitars are much thinner sounding then the Birch albums. Di'Anno's vocals do not have the rang that Dickinson's have but he still sounds great. His vocal style made these songs and even Dickinson has not messed with the vocal arrangements even now over twenty years later he still sings them like Di'Anno.
This is one of the few Band's where you can start at the beginning and you won't be waiting to get to the later records. A classic all round!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent debut LP, Aug. 8 2003
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
In 1979, the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal took England by storm. Hundreds of hard-rocking bands emerged overnight, and every one of them was excellent. Unfortunately, very few of these bands found success in their music, and an even smaller number of them found success outside their native United Kingdom. Iron Maiden is a rare example of one of the genre's bands that achieved worldwide success.
Through the course of the mid and late seventies, Iron Maiden had a number of line-up changes. They had recorded a demo collection and several tracks for compilations. Finally, come 1980 and the band was ready to release it's first full-length LP. With vocalist Paul Di'Anno, guitarists Dave Murray and Dennis Strattion, drummer Clive Burr, and bassist Steve Harris, the band served up an awesome punk-metal hybrid record. Though this obviously wasn't the sound that would bring the band its later success, it was still nothing short of excellent (though many Dickinson loyalists may disagree. In 1998 and again in 2002, the band's entire CD catalogue was rereleased as part of a remaster series. Read on for track-by-track comments and grades, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Prowler - An excellent all-out punk-metal rocker about a sexual predator. Excellent early song. 4.5/5
Remember Tomorrow - Weird hybrid track featuring slow and melodic verses with a hard rocking chorus. An underrated song that never got the proper credit. 4.5/5
Running Free - The most overrated song on the album. It's a good track, but just pales in comparison to the album's other tracks. 3/5
Phantom Of The Opera - The album's best track by far. It's an epic rocker that exceeds seven minutes in length. You'd have to be a fool not to love the guitar in this song. 5/5
Transylvania - Instrumental. Not their best track of this type, but still excellent nonetheless. 3.75/5
Strange World - A very weird (but very enjoyable) Maiden track. This sounds more like gloomy new wave than metal, but it shows us something: Iron Maiden doesn't have to be heavy to be cool. 4/5
Charlotte The Harlot - Another severely underrated track. Here Di'Anno sings the tale of a \/\/hore who has thrown her life away. How can you not love this song? 4.5/5
Iron Maiden - The track that bares the band's name. As you've probably guessed, it's excellent. And Di'Anno's version puts Dickinson's numerous versions to shame (sorry Bruce, but no one does Di'Anno's songs like him!) 4/5
BONUS TRACK:
Sanctuary - A rocker. Not as heavy as the other tracks on the album, but still excellent. 3.5/5
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS. We get one bonus cut (Sanctuary), but that just isn't enough. The total play time is about 45:00, and you can fit 80:00 on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include demos, compilation tracks, B-Sides, interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Iron Maiden's debut album was the start of something great. They hadn't yet found the sound that would bring them worldwide success, but their sound was still nothing short of excellent. If you're new to Maiden, take my advice and start with The Number Of The Beast, and stick to buying the albums with Dickinson on vocals. Even though this is a great album, I recommend the Di'Anno and Bayley albums to true fans only, as they don't really capture the band in its prime. Put simply, this is a great album, it's just not a great album to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Sadly Underrated Masterpiece", Dec 5 2007
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
Just because Iron Maiden were mostly succesfull with Bruce Dickinson as their signer and that the albums were huge hits and all,it doesn't neccesarily mean that the previous signer Paul Di'Anno didn't do great albums with Maiden.In 1979-1980 the New Wave Of Brittish Heavy Metal exploded and Maiden were amongst the best of them and one of the surviving ones.Actually the two albums he did with the band "Iron Maiden" and "Killers" in 1980 and 1981 respectively can be considered as very good albums and influential ones as well,this first album especially.This album is actually a "chef d'oeuvre"(yeah a big word or two never hurts anybody)of the heavy metal genre.Well actually this album is showing their Punk-Rock roots and Di'Anno did have a pretty good voice for the genre of music they played at the time and has a special that i have grown to appreciate and its too bad that the band didn't make any other albums with him,even if i consider the Bruce era to be my favourite and the best.The songs on this one are classics of metal and are still great today,like the praised "Phantom Of The Opera" and the excellent "Prowler" that have a very classic sound and a good appeal with most Maiden fans.

Iron Maiden have been around since 1975(Christmas day,heheh)and all i have to say is why?Why didn't they release an album sooner but anyway the songs on here are some of the ones they had been playing since the debut of their careers and became some of their early hits."Prowler" was in fact on the band's 3 demo songs on their first LP,"Soundhouse Tapes" issued in 1978,and Iron Maiden caught attention from their beggenings as they sold five thousand copies in weeks.The lineup on this first album is the lineup of Steve Harris on bass,Paul Di'Anno as vocalist,Dennis Stratton as guitarist,Dave Murray on guitar and drummer Clive Burr.What's impressive is that the album reached # 4 in the UK charts in its first week of release!This album may not be considered as their best but this was a very influential album back then and it was the seed that would help generate many bands and most notably the "Trash-Metal" genre.

The songs on this one are very Punk-Rock inspired as i saud but with an element of metal in it that makes it a true Iron Maiden album.The songs are very good and my personnal favourite and it shouldn't be a surprise is the much praised "Phantom Of The Opera",its an amzing piece of metal with terrific guitar playing and great vocals by Di'Anno,this is the masterpiece od the Di'Anno era and its worth hearing as this is one of Maiden's best songs ever.Prowler is a song from earlier days and has a nice wah-wah guitar intro and a catchy chorus that will get stuck in your head.Transylvania is a solid instrumental song but not much more,its good tought.Running Free is one of the famous songs of the album and with good reasons,as this is a great song with solid lyrics and a great guitar riff and a solid song overral,one of the best on the album.Remember tommorrow is nearly an instrummental and shows each musician's capacities and the guitar solos and the riffs are amazing!It has great harmonies going from a slow part to fast one and from fast to slow.Strange World is a ballad,yes a heavy band doing a ballad and there is nothing wrong with it if its as good as this,very good track.Charlotte The Harlotte And Iron Maiden are both very good songs tought the album's finnisher may seem weaker overral.And last,the unreleased song "Sanctuary"(i don't know if it really is an unreleased song)is excellent with a great rebelion feeling that can be felt while listening to it and its one of the best tracks on the album!

This album is very good and is actually a solid album but its also must i say,the most underrated.Its full of classics and any fans should get this as every fans from every band in the world should get the opportunity to hear the debut and the basic idea of the band,if not just to compare how good they've comed.If you don't like Maiden with Bruce you might like this more as it sounds like classic Punk Rock but a metal and more harmonic touch in it and with with very solid lyrics."Iron Maiden" is a great album well deserving of a place in any metal fans's musical library.Its a great album but not a great one to start with,at least in my opinion if you are starting then as your first move get a Bruce era album as with those you are sure of liking them.If you are an older fan and have listened to most of the Bruce stuff then this is recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Multimedia CD!, April 12 2002
By 
MO (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
This is my first Maiden enhanced CD. Unbelievable extras!! The multimedia studio did a top notch job. The menu system and layout are extremely well done and the graphics are everything you'd expect from a Maiden production. Derek Riggs would be proud!

I particularly enjoyed the video clips, though the resolution was a little low. Phantom has always been a personal favorite.

I also really appreciated that they included everything you need to view the multimedia portion of the disk, right on the disk. I only have dial-up access so it's painful when you have to wait a while to see something because the download takes forever.

Otherwise all the audio trimmings you'd expect from the original Iron Maiden album.

My only complaint, and thus the 4 stars instead of 5, is my old Sony Discman refuses to recognize this as an audio CD. So I can't listen to it outside of my computer. I haven't experimented further with that yet to see if it's the disk or my player, but I would guess it's my player. It's only 7 years old...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Paul Di Anno REAL Iron Maiden., June 27 2004
By 
SEYDLITZ (Gig Harbor, Washington United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
The last of the great Metal bands from the early 70's to the early 80's. Both Iron Maiden and Killers feature the non commercial radio play band that Bruce Dickinson turned them in to. Paul Di Anno made the music. Explosive riffs, Steve Harris' unbelievable bass work, and Di Anno's powerful singing make for two of the best metal albums ever made. Wrathchild is a masterpiece. Buy it NOW!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Debut Album, June 11 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden started of pretty well with a punk-sounded album. Compared to today's Iron Maiden sound, the band has changed but I'll get to that story someday. Below are my thoughts on each song:
Prowler: 4.8/5 - Good, solid opener for the album, really shows what's yet to come. The music is awesome as well as the lyrics.
Sanctuary: 5/5 - The first of this album's best songs. Fast, catchy and awesome lyrics(though I had trouble understanding them at first). Has a sort of heavy feeling but I can't seem to figure out what it is!
Remember Tomorrow: 5/5 - My favourite slow song of this era. Not really a ballad as it goes from soft to heavy, but it's an incredible song.
Running Free: 5/5 - Three straight full-mark songs already? This is the punkest song on the album, a favourite to many fans, and my second favourite song on this album.
Phantom Of The Opera: 5/5 - The longest and greatest song on this album. My favourite track features an opera-like intro which sets the tone for this masterpiece. The first of two masterpieces actually(from this era).
Transylvania: 4.9/5 - The full-mark streak ends with my favourite instrumental. Like one reviewer(who earned my respect) said, it has a transylvanian sound to it. This song would've gotten full marks if it was a bit longer, just in case Metallica's Orion might have wanted to compete.
Strange World: 4/5 - Not my favourite track but deserves some recognition for being a good, slow song.
Charlotte The Harlet: 5/5 - The full marks return with Dave Murray's first(and I think only)solo written song. The start of four amazing songs in the Charlotte The Harlot series. DO NOT skip this song! Also has a cool instrumental sound in the middle.
Iron Maiden: 5/5 - The album ends with the band's 'street theme'. An incredible song with perhaps THE best rythem I've ever heard.
Rare tracks from this era:
Burning Ambition: 5/5 - Cool track, worthy of a place on the album.
Lineup:
Steve Harris - Bass
Dave Murray - Guitar
Paul Di'Anno - Vocals
Clive Burr - Drums
Dennis Stratton - Guitars
Overall: Awesome album, must NOT be missed by any Iron Maiden fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's debut is a boiler, May 27 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Note that THIS is the Iron Maiden CD that I started with. No Number of the Beast, folks. It took a little bit to get used to the Maiden sound, but it was an absolute grower and now I can't get enough of it.
After a much-requested (by the fans) Soundhouse Tapes release, Maiden knew they had their work cut out for them to make their debut LP. So they did, recording it in 1979 and making it ready for release by early 1980. It was an awsome fusion of melodic rock, punk, and heavy metal, and it certainly showed what was to come for Maiden- if their debut was this good, what could come next? This lineup was one of Maiden's earliest album-wise, it had the rough and tumble Paul Di'Anno vocals (no high pitched stuff here- well, maybe a little, hehe) and original guitarist Dennis Stratton and drummer Clive Burr. Sadly this would be Stratton's last LP with Maiden. I usually don't do track-by-track reviews, but since this album is so good, I think I will.
Prowler- An awsome opener! Wouldn't think of anything else opening off this terrific CD. It's fast, tough, and has good guitar licks courtesy of Dave Murray and Maiden's old guitarist Dennis Stratton. Features some ripping solos in the middle. Funny but questionable lyrics, has a good song title though. Maiden hooks you with this song, and sets the tempo for the rest of the record. Greatness. 5/5
Sanctuary- Originally released shortly after this album as a single, Sanctuary is sometimes cut down by fans, but I, for one, love it. It just chugs along with some good backbone by drummer Clive Burr and bassist (our man!) Steve Harris. I like the lyrics alot- ("Out of the winter came a warhorse of steel, I'd never killed a woman before but I know how it feels"). Don't know why this song is so cut down by some people. The only bonus track on this reissue CD. 5/5
Remember Tommorow- Whoa. This is a knockout- you just have to hear it! Sometimes melodic, sometimes hard, but it rocks like no other. Memorable track. 5/5
Running Free- Don't like this too much- I think it is overrated, but that's just my opinion. It just dosn't rock that hard to me and dosn't go along at nice pace. Sort of boring too me, but still OK. Live staple, still to this day. 2.5/5
Phantom of the Opera- Best song off the album, and with good reason. Unbelieveable composition by Harris, it goes through alot of tempo changes and also features some firing and melodic guitar solos by Murray, plus the mean intro riff. Essential listening- you just have to hear the live version on Live After Death- awsome! 5/5
Transylvania- Fairly memorable instrumental track- it's great and I think the album wouldn't feel complete without a burning instrumental. Follows up Phantom of the Opera very well. 4/5
Strange World- MOST UNDERRATED TRACK OF THE ALBUM! Simply love this song- just because it's not heavy dosn't mean it isn't great- full of beautiful solos by Murray, great singing by Paul Di'Anno and solid bass by Harris. One of my favorites off the album. 5/5
Charlotte the Harlot- The sole Dave Murray composition off the album- he did the lyrics and the music. Starts off heavy and fast with funny lyrics, then has a tempo change, and what- back to the original opening riff! Can't help but like this song. 5/5
Iron Maiden- Pretty overrated too, but it's Maiden's signature track, and they do it at almost every concert. It is very memorable with the chorus, but not a very good long term song. Good, but not great. 3.5/5
As for the new 2002 remaster/reissue, well, I haven't heard the old one but as far as sound quality (it was remastered by Simon Heyworth at Chop 'em Out in 1998, and he, with Robert Fripp, also remastered the entire King Crimson catalogue in SACD and they sound unbelieveable. He does an excellent job) and packaging, it is great. It comes with some slightly informative notes (major dates in for the band in 1980) and full lyrics, plus some great photos. Also contains original album and singles artwork and comes with a slipcase. No complaints. It is well done and the Enhanced CD portion comes with two live videos (from 1981 I think- Live at the Rainbow, with Adrian Smith) plus complete tour dates and some more rare photos and info.
I would say this Maiden CD is simply essential and will be in my head (and CD player) for a long time. It is certainly one of metal's all-time best debuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars First one!, May 25 2004
By 
Lotus Scrum (Phoenix, Az United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
I still love to pop this in to hear "Transylvania". I love this record and find it still gets some rotation in the ol deck. Its not as good as "Killers" but still holds a special place in my heart. This is the album that started Maiden out as the rock gods they are!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Maiden (Remastered CD)
Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews