Customer Reviews


60 Reviews
5 star:
 (41)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Multimedia CD!
This is my first Maiden enhanced CD. Unbelievable extras!! The multimedia studio did a top notch job. The menu system and layout are extremely well done and the graphics are everything you'd expect from a Maiden production. Derek Riggs would be proud!

I particularly enjoyed the video clips, though the resolution was a little low. Phantom has always been a...
Published on April 12 2002 by MO

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful.
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Published 20 months ago by Brendan Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful., Dec 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Multimedia CD!, April 12 2002
By 
MO (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
This is my first Maiden enhanced CD. Unbelievable extras!! The multimedia studio did a top notch job. The menu system and layout are extremely well done and the graphics are everything you'd expect from a Maiden production. Derek Riggs would be proud!

I particularly enjoyed the video clips, though the resolution was a little low. Phantom has always been a personal favorite.

I also really appreciated that they included everything you need to view the multimedia portion of the disk, right on the disk. I only have dial-up access so it's painful when you have to wait a while to see something because the download takes forever.

Otherwise all the audio trimmings you'd expect from the original Iron Maiden album.

My only complaint, and thus the 4 stars instead of 5, is my old Sony Discman refuses to recognize this as an audio CD. So I can't listen to it outside of my computer. I haven't experimented further with that yet to see if it's the disk or my player, but I would guess it's my player. It's only 7 years old...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Debut Album, June 11 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden started of pretty well with a punk-sounded album. Compared to today's Iron Maiden sound, the band has changed but I'll get to that story someday. Below are my thoughts on each song:
Prowler: 4.8/5 - Good, solid opener for the album, really shows what's yet to come. The music is awesome as well as the lyrics.
Sanctuary: 5/5 - The first of this album's best songs. Fast, catchy and awesome lyrics(though I had trouble understanding them at first). Has a sort of heavy feeling but I can't seem to figure out what it is!
Remember Tomorrow: 5/5 - My favourite slow song of this era. Not really a ballad as it goes from soft to heavy, but it's an incredible song.
Running Free: 5/5 - Three straight full-mark songs already? This is the punkest song on the album, a favourite to many fans, and my second favourite song on this album.
Phantom Of The Opera: 5/5 - The longest and greatest song on this album. My favourite track features an opera-like intro which sets the tone for this masterpiece. The first of two masterpieces actually(from this era).
Transylvania: 4.9/5 - The full-mark streak ends with my favourite instrumental. Like one reviewer(who earned my respect) said, it has a transylvanian sound to it. This song would've gotten full marks if it was a bit longer, just in case Metallica's Orion might have wanted to compete.
Strange World: 4/5 - Not my favourite track but deserves some recognition for being a good, slow song.
Charlotte The Harlet: 5/5 - The full marks return with Dave Murray's first(and I think only)solo written song. The start of four amazing songs in the Charlotte The Harlot series. DO NOT skip this song! Also has a cool instrumental sound in the middle.
Iron Maiden: 5/5 - The album ends with the band's 'street theme'. An incredible song with perhaps THE best rythem I've ever heard.
Rare tracks from this era:
Burning Ambition: 5/5 - Cool track, worthy of a place on the album.
Lineup:
Steve Harris - Bass
Dave Murray - Guitar
Paul Di'Anno - Vocals
Clive Burr - Drums
Dennis Stratton - Guitars
Overall: Awesome album, must NOT be missed by any Iron Maiden fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's debut is a boiler, May 27 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Note that THIS is the Iron Maiden CD that I started with. No Number of the Beast, folks. It took a little bit to get used to the Maiden sound, but it was an absolute grower and now I can't get enough of it.
After a much-requested (by the fans) Soundhouse Tapes release, Maiden knew they had their work cut out for them to make their debut LP. So they did, recording it in 1979 and making it ready for release by early 1980. It was an awsome fusion of melodic rock, punk, and heavy metal, and it certainly showed what was to come for Maiden- if their debut was this good, what could come next? This lineup was one of Maiden's earliest album-wise, it had the rough and tumble Paul Di'Anno vocals (no high pitched stuff here- well, maybe a little, hehe) and original guitarist Dennis Stratton and drummer Clive Burr. Sadly this would be Stratton's last LP with Maiden. I usually don't do track-by-track reviews, but since this album is so good, I think I will.
Prowler- An awsome opener! Wouldn't think of anything else opening off this terrific CD. It's fast, tough, and has good guitar licks courtesy of Dave Murray and Maiden's old guitarist Dennis Stratton. Features some ripping solos in the middle. Funny but questionable lyrics, has a good song title though. Maiden hooks you with this song, and sets the tempo for the rest of the record. Greatness. 5/5
Sanctuary- Originally released shortly after this album as a single, Sanctuary is sometimes cut down by fans, but I, for one, love it. It just chugs along with some good backbone by drummer Clive Burr and bassist (our man!) Steve Harris. I like the lyrics alot- ("Out of the winter came a warhorse of steel, I'd never killed a woman before but I know how it feels"). Don't know why this song is so cut down by some people. The only bonus track on this reissue CD. 5/5
Remember Tommorow- Whoa. This is a knockout- you just have to hear it! Sometimes melodic, sometimes hard, but it rocks like no other. Memorable track. 5/5
Running Free- Don't like this too much- I think it is overrated, but that's just my opinion. It just dosn't rock that hard to me and dosn't go along at nice pace. Sort of boring too me, but still OK. Live staple, still to this day. 2.5/5
Phantom of the Opera- Best song off the album, and with good reason. Unbelieveable composition by Harris, it goes through alot of tempo changes and also features some firing and melodic guitar solos by Murray, plus the mean intro riff. Essential listening- you just have to hear the live version on Live After Death- awsome! 5/5
Transylvania- Fairly memorable instrumental track- it's great and I think the album wouldn't feel complete without a burning instrumental. Follows up Phantom of the Opera very well. 4/5
Strange World- MOST UNDERRATED TRACK OF THE ALBUM! Simply love this song- just because it's not heavy dosn't mean it isn't great- full of beautiful solos by Murray, great singing by Paul Di'Anno and solid bass by Harris. One of my favorites off the album. 5/5
Charlotte the Harlot- The sole Dave Murray composition off the album- he did the lyrics and the music. Starts off heavy and fast with funny lyrics, then has a tempo change, and what- back to the original opening riff! Can't help but like this song. 5/5
Iron Maiden- Pretty overrated too, but it's Maiden's signature track, and they do it at almost every concert. It is very memorable with the chorus, but not a very good long term song. Good, but not great. 3.5/5
As for the new 2002 remaster/reissue, well, I haven't heard the old one but as far as sound quality (it was remastered by Simon Heyworth at Chop 'em Out in 1998, and he, with Robert Fripp, also remastered the entire King Crimson catalogue in SACD and they sound unbelieveable. He does an excellent job) and packaging, it is great. It comes with some slightly informative notes (major dates in for the band in 1980) and full lyrics, plus some great photos. Also contains original album and singles artwork and comes with a slipcase. No complaints. It is well done and the Enhanced CD portion comes with two live videos (from 1981 I think- Live at the Rainbow, with Adrian Smith) plus complete tour dates and some more rare photos and info.
I would say this Maiden CD is simply essential and will be in my head (and CD player) for a long time. It is certainly one of metal's all-time best debuts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Most Awesome Debuts this side of Rock n Roll, May 22 2004
By 
Ed (Mofo Central, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
The Maiden formed in 1976, and for 4 years they toured the underground English club circuit before signing on to a majro label and releasing their fantastic self-titled Debut album, IRON MAIDEN. Along with Never-Say-Die members Steve Harris and Dave Murray, who have stayed with the group during it's entire life-span, this album features the sole appearance of guitarris Dennis Straton and drummer Doug Samson, plus original vocalist Paul Di'Anno. Right from the start, Iron Maiden were more than just a promising band, they delivered the goods on every one of the album's 9 tracks.As a debut it's one of the best in all of metal, and as a Maiden album it's among their best work.
Opener "Prowler" sports one of the most awesome guitar riffs of their career, a police car siren attack that sets high standards for the rest of the album. "Sanctuary" is a famous maiden track with good bass and a catchy chorus, not my fave, but still pretty good. "Remember Tomorrow" alternates between calm acoustic passages and loud instrumental heaviness, an awesome track. Following is the fun and anthemic hit single "Running Free", plus the sprawling 7-min masterpiece of "Phantom of the Opera". "Transylvania" is a fast and hard-hitting instrumental that transforms into the beautiful atmospheric "Strange World". "Charlotte the Harlot" is the first of a 4-part series, and is one of the best of the lot. Their namesake closer is one of the most memorable Maiden songs; there's just something breathtaking about the first guitar riff, which would provide the blueprint for many other great Maiden riffs to come.
All in All, Iron Maiden leaves nothing to be desired save for more Maiden. While most think Maiden hit their Stride with Dickinson & Number of the Beast, Paul Di'Anno and both of his Maiden albums are nearly as exceptional as that "Beast" of an album.
Prowler- 10/10
Sanctuary- 8/10
Remember Tomorrow- 9/10
Running Free- 9.5/10
Phantom of the Opera- 9.5/10
Transylvania- 9/10
Strange World- 9/10
Charlotte the Harlot- 8.5/10
Iron Maiden- 10/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars 4.5 stars - Life before Dickinson, May 20 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden (1980.) Iron Maiden's first album.
In 1979, the New Wave Of British Heavy Metal took England by storm. Hundreds of hard-rocking bands emerged overnight, and every one of them was excellent. Unfortunately, very few of these bands found success in their music, and an even smaller number of them found success outside their native United Kingdom. Iron Maiden is a rare example of one of the genre's bands that achieved worldwide success. Through the course of the mid and late seventies, Iron Maiden had a number of line-up changes. They had recorded a demo collection and several tracks for compilations. Finally, come 1980 and the band was ready to release it's first full-length LP. With vocalist Paul Di'Anno, guitarists Dave Murray and Dennis Strattion, drummer Clive Burr, and bassist Steve Harris, their debut was recorded. How does their 1980 self-titled debut, recorded before legendary metal vocalist Bruce Dickinson joined the band, measure up? Read on and find out.
The first thing I need to state about this album is that it is NOTHING like the material that the band recorded with their most famous vocalist, Bruce Dickinson. The Di'Anno era of the band differs from those days drastically, but that doesn't mean the musical quality from this era was any worse. One of the band's finest early songs, Prowler, kicks off the album. Fast-paced punk-metal rock never sounded better, and the rather comical lyrics only add to the experience. Remember Tomorrow comes next. It slows things way down in the verses, but the chorus is the kind of hard and heavy stuff you'd expect from Maiden. The instrumental interlude between the second and third verses is particuarly memorable. Next comes the classic mid-paced hard rocker Running Free. I think this song is overrated by a lot of Maiden fans, but I remain confident that it IS a good song. It was also released as a single. The best track of all, Phantom Of The Opera, comes next. This is a lengthy and heavy epic, which served as a premonition to what was to come for Iron Maiden in their future days with Bruce Dickinson at the helm. The guitar solo is particuarly excellent. Following that, we get the classic metal instrumental Transylvania. Although not my personal favorite instrumental that the band has ever recorded, it's solid nonetheless. It fades right into the ultra slow and melodic cut Strange World. This song is VERY different than what you're used to hearing from Maiden, but it's actually a very good song. Charlotte The Harlot, the next track, is the most punk-sounding thing on the album, and this serves the band well. The lyrics here are some of the band's most memorable of all. Closing out the album is the song Iron Maiden on the album Iron Maiden by the band Iron Maiden. That doesn't happen too often! This track is a bit repetitive as far as the lyrics go, but that doesn't keep it from being excellent. And this is the best version ever recorded, period (Dickinson never could do this one right.) In the end, the band's debut album is a damn fine punk-metal hybrid that is worth listening to.
THE TEXT IN THIS PARAGRAPH REFERS EXCLUSIVELY TO THE 2002 STANDARD REMASTERED SERIES OF THE BAND'S ALBUMS. As a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED WITH THESE REISSUES. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs - BONUS TRACKS. We get one bonus cut (Sanctuary), but that just isn't enough. The total play time is about forty-five minutes, and you can fit eighty minutes on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include demos, compilation tracks, B-Sides, interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) Another problem is the alterations of the covers of some albums. The band's debut album has had two alterations - Eddie's eyes now glow, and the band's name has been removed from the top of the album cover. Likewise, the No Prayer For The Dying album cover completely removes the grave robber that Eddie was strangling! And don't get me started on the slipcases. Sure, they look cool, but it's a pain to take them off and put them back on every time you listen to the album. To put it simply, if you already own earlier issues of these albums on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remasters.
Iron Maiden's debut album was the start of something great. They hadn't yet found the sound that would bring them worldwide success, but their sound was still nothing short of excellent. If you're new to Maiden, take my advice and start with The Number Of The Beast, and stick to buying the albums with Dickinson on vocals. Even though this is a great album, I recommend the Di'Anno and Bayley albums to true fans only, as they don't really capture the band in its prime. Put simply, this is a great album, it's just not a great album to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars sign of things to come, May 8 2004
By 
Ren "Ren" (michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Oh yeah! Iron Maiden's first album, not the best but one of the best. A lot of great songs.
1. PROWLER (10/10)
Damn! This has got to be the best opener ever! Even better than Aces High and The Wicker Man which are awesome. Guitar riffs and solos are really good and and the lyrics are funny which are about some pervert. Really great song and a classic!
2. SANCTUARY (9/10)
Some people say this song sucks or its overrated. I think its pretty good. Its a fast rocker and the chorus is good.
3. REMEMBER TOMORROW (8/10)
This is actually my least favorite song on here. I still like it and the guitars are great, but I just could never really get into this song that much. I don't like that its five and a half minutes long, which is too long for this song. Still a decent song though.
4. RUNNING FREE (9/10)
This song rocks. It has a punk style to it. The chorus is catchy and drums are great.
5. PHANTOM OF THE OPERA (11/10)
Here we go! This song has everything. The vocals,drums,bass, and especially the guitars (which are absolutely freaking incredible!) are all outstanding!!! It really shows Dave's and Dennis' skills. There's an instrumental part during the middle which really shines on the guitars! Its also Maiden's first epic (7 minutes) which you should enjoy every minute of.
I love this song, its easily the best one on this album and one of Iron Maiden's greatest songs!
6. TRANSYLVANIA (9.25/10)
Iron Maiden's first instrumental. Its really fast. I still think Genghis Khan is the best instrumental that Maiden has to offer.
7. STRANGE WORLD (10/10)
This one is really incredible too. The guitars and Paul's voice are really great! Much slower than the other songs, but damn its good!
8. CHARLOTTE THE HARLOT (9/10)
The first part out of the four Charlotte songs. I think its actually the best one and 22 Acacia Avenue running up. Vocals and chorus are great.
9. IRON MAIDEN (9.5/10)
I don't understand why some people don't appreciate this song more. Sure its simple but the guitar riffs and drums rock. Chorus is great too.
Well thats the first album that starts a whole chain of great albums. One of my favorites for sure!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-have for any self-respectful metalhead, May 4 2004
By 
Adonis (Dominican Republic) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
I listened this album after listening some albums from the metal gods, Iron Maiden. When I listened this album first time I was enchanted, even when I found kinda weird the new vocalist (all of the albums I heard before this was in the Dickinson era) Iron Maiden is a very focused and talented effort made by such young musicians that by them they showed a very big maturity since their first release, something very rare to find in the rock scene even nowadays. Iron Maiden's self-tittled album is powerful, raw, headbanging inducing, sometimes sound a little bit punky but definitely years light above punk rock. I've lost and bought this album 3 times (which means that it must be very good and essential if I spend the money again for hearing songs I know by heart) Since the begginning of the album to the ending ALL the tracks are amazing, and you can appreciate it better if you listen it in the order that it has (that means without shuffling) The first track prowler is a very hard and rythmic rocker, with GREAT guitar sound that you can almost touch it, the solos, everything seems to make a conspiration for keeping you hearing it. Then comes Sanctuary which is basically a punk-metal rock song and one of my favorites specially live, then comes the more mellow, and melodic remember tomorrow which in some point rocks hard but basically is a melodic song which evokes a lot of nostalgia to me. Running free is a very catchy song, with a very nice drums intro. Phantom of the opera is the most elaborate of the songs, very ambitious, complex, that's up to me the song that shows the superiority of Iron Maiden above all the other debuting bands of their time, a band that can make such a delicious masterpiece in their first effort is something really extraordinary. Not many bands make a 7 minutes epic song in their first recording and do it so... well done as Iron Maiden, and believe me Phantom of the Opera is not a boring song, and has no fillers all the parts of that song are essential part of it. After that comes Transylvania, a shocking instrumental that shows again the prodigiousity of Iron Maiden, since their first stages. Transylvania fuses with the slow and sometimes Pink-Floydesque(?) Strange World creating up to me the most spiritual momentum of the album. Then comes Charlotte the Harlot, with very good lyrics, that talk about a subject that will be always vigent, prostitution. Charlotte is a very hard rocker that in some part becomes a little bluesy. And the closure is by the energetic Iron Maiden, which leaves you with the feeling of waking from a dream or something, definitely a very smart way of finishing an album. All of the songs of this album kick-ass, and they can be heared separately or between a various artist heavy metal set of songs, but I recommend you that someday take the time and hear it completely and in order, trust me you won't repent.
Warning: This album is not recommended for hip-hoppers, casual Iron Maiden fans, NU-Metal posers, Poppers, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The start of a dynasty of great metal albums, April 10 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
the album released in 1980 was the start of the longest running streak of classic metal albums in history. Sorry to black sabbath, metallica, and judas priest but you cant touch maidens consistency. This band made classic albums( by classic i mean albums that rocked from beginning to end, no filler) from 1980 till 1988. Absolutely incredible streak. This first album is a little different but incredible new sound for the time. and id say one of the best first albums in metal history. Right up there with Black Sabbaths self titled debut. I happen to be a fan of Paul Diannos voice as well. Hes no Bruce, but his voice fit the sound of the band at the time. Its also cool, to hear such an early stripped down maiden sound. These tracks are the roots of such great metal albums as number of the beast, piece of mind, and powerslave. Hearing maiden progress from album to album is absolutely astonishing and to hear how it all started is mandatory. Running Free sounds like a punk song. Phantom of the opera is their first epic. Prowler is amazing. Charlotte the Harlet is as classic as any. Mandatory for any hardcore maiden fan. up the irons!!!!! buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars As Classic A Debut As One Will EVER Find, April 6 2004
This review is from: Iron Maiden (Audio CD)
Ahhh...a very familiar beginning to one of metal's most revered giants. Iron Maiden was, is and always will be absolutely legendary for many reasons and this album is a perfect reason why: because with the release of this lone, self-titled album, they were one of the select few bands who were to usher in the new era of rock music. They were the bridge. While Led Zepellin was ending due to the death of John Bonham, Black Sabbath was gonig through a roster change, Kiss was toying around with the sounds of disco and 70s rock was being shown the door, Iron Maiden came along with a sound that embraced both the sounds of the bands that influenced them such as Jethro Tull and Yes while adding the aggressiveness of punk and early heavy metal and the result was the phenom that is their self-titled debut. Blending a healthy mix of the sounds of Pink Floyd and Black Sabbath along with their own now-famous trademark style, Iron Maiden laid the foundation for an alter that would be worshipped at for years to come.
Much like Iron Maiden's entire 1980's catalog recordings, there isn't a whole lot of music that would ring a bell with your average rock radio afficienado but any loyal Maiden fan, the gems are many and to this day, still round out Maiden's live tracklist. Songs like "Sanctuary" and the absolute masterpiece "Iron Maiden" (which I contend to be one of the best heavy metal songs ever written) are some of the more familiar content that are often found in Maiden's live set but other classics are to be found within as well. "Charlotte The Harlot", the pre-cursor to TNOTB track "22 Acacia Avenue", is one of my personal favorites along with the very melodic Floyd-esque "Remember Tomorrow". Other songs that have been hailed as metal mainstays amongst Maiden's minions would be "Phantom Of The Opera", "Running Free" and "Transylvania".
This album, for all intents and purposes, is the beginning of absolute greatness in music. While recent interviews with today's musicians finds the singer from Disturbed praising Iron Maiden as an influence and Kirk Hammett from Metallica (as if his opinion matters) claiming Iron Maiden to be no longer relevant, ask any Iron Maiden fan and it is near unanimous what the ultimate verdict will be. Iron Maiden are as legendary as Led Zepellin, Black Sabbath and The Beatles and this album was responsible for starting it all. Up the Irons, indeed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Iron Maiden (Remastered CD)
Iron Maiden (Remastered CD) by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 2 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews