Customer Reviews


73 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real metal-head metal The classic Maiden
I have, over the Last close to 20 years, worn out at least one vinyl and countless cassetts of this metal masterpiece. A must have for anyone who considers themself a metal lover. My 14 year old son heard for the first on vinyl and was hooked. Nikko, drives it home with some of the most solid precussion work ever heard. Great lyrics from Harris and Dickinson especially...
Published on Dec 9 2003 by lepp56

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful.
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Published 21 months ago by Brendan Shaw


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real metal-head metal The classic Maiden, Dec 9 2003
By 
"lepp56" (aiken, sc United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
I have, over the Last close to 20 years, worn out at least one vinyl and countless cassetts of this metal masterpiece. A must have for anyone who considers themself a metal lover. My 14 year old son heard for the first on vinyl and was hooked. Nikko, drives it home with some of the most solid precussion work ever heard. Great lyrics from Harris and Dickinson especially revelations. If you are new to metal, or just somehow missed out on this monument, this will change your play list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest albums EVER!, Aug. 12 2003
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Just when no one thought Bruce Dickinson would be able to fill the shoes of Paul Di'Anno's former lead vocalist position in Iron Maiden, he proved just about everyone who doubted him DEAD WRONG. With the release of Number Of The Beast, it was clear Bruce was more than a replacement frontman - he was giving the band a rebirth! And in 1983, a great year for heavy metal, the band released what is arguably its greatest album - Piece Of Mind. Read on for my review of this album, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Where Eagles Dare - An awesome hard rocker, this was the band's first song to explore one of Bruce's favorite lyrical themes - World War Two air combat. It's not quite as good as the more famous Aces High from Powerslave, but it's still excellent.
Revelations - This one's a little different than what can normally be expected from Iron Maiden, but it's still nothing short of excellent.
Flight Of Icarus - WHOA. Can anyone say "masterpiece"? This is by far the best track on the album. In addition to just being a great song, it proves just how flexible the band's themes can be.
Die With Your Boots On - A severely underrated track, this one deals with the classic theme that a captain should go down with his ship. A great song that never got the proper credit.
The Trooper - Many call this the best song on the album, and with very good reason. Dave and Adrian had never played guitars THIS GOOD before this song, and to date, THEY NEVER HAVE! This song is THAT GOOD, people.
Still Life - Although it's not called "Piece Of Mind", this one qualifies as the album's title track since it uses that phrase. Of all the songs on the album, this is probably the toughest one to get into, but once you get into it, you'll never want to let it go.
Quest For Fire - IF YOU CALL THIS SONG A FILLER, YOU MAY AS WELL SAY "I HATE IRON MAIDEN." This track features the band in its prime, doing an excellent song. Sure, it's no Flight Of Icarus or The Trooper, but it's still an excellent cut, and one of my faves from the band.
Sun And Steel - The most melodic rocker on the album, this one also gets severely underrated. Bruce's vocals are top notch on this one. WHEN YOU ARE LISTENING TO THIS ALBUM, DO NOT SKIP THIS SONG.
To Tame A Land - The first in a series of "lengthy album closers" by the band, this is a darker and harder rocker that is very often overlooked, due to the fact that it's the last song on the album. Don't make the mistake of overlooking it, or you'll regreit it for the rest of your life.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS. The total play time doesn't come too close to the eighty minutes that can fit on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include B-Sides (the band's cover of Jethro Tull's Cross Eyed Mary is priceless), interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Are you just getting into Iron Maiden? Start with Number Of The Beast, and get this one if you like it. Don't bother with hits compilations, as not one of them to date has captured the true essence of the band. Buy that one first, and if you like it, get the other albums with Bruce (Don't get the ones with Paul Di'Anno and/or Blaze Bayley unless you're a DIE HARD FAN.) Piece Of Mind is a true metal classic. You've gotta hear it for yourself to believe it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden's finest effort?, Aug. 12 2003
This review is from: Piece of Mind (Remastered CD) (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Just when no one thought Bruce Dickinson would be able to fill the shoes of Paul Di'Anno's former lead vocalist position in Iron Maiden, he proved just about everyone who doubted him DEAD WRONG. With the release of Number Of The Beast, it was clear Bruce was more than a replacement frontman - he was giving the band a rebirth! And in 1983, a great year for heavy metal, the band released what is arguably its greatest album - Piece Of Mind. Read on for my review of this album, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Where Eagles Dare - An awesome hard rocker, this was the band's first song to explore one of Bruce's favorite lyrical themes - World War Two air combat. It's not quite as good as the more famous Aces High from Powerslave, but it's still excellent.
Revelations - This one's a little different than what can normally be expected from Iron Maiden, but it's still nothing short of excellent.
Flight Of Icarus - WHOA. Can anyone say "masterpiece"? This is by far the best track on the album. In addition to just being a great song, it proves just how flexible the band's themes can be.
Die With Your Boots On - A severely underrated track, this one deals with the classic theme that a captain should go down with his ship. A great song that never got the proper credit.
The Trooper - Many call this the best song on the album, and with very good reason. Dave and Adrian had never played guitars THIS GOOD before this song, and to date, THEY NEVER HAVE! This song is THAT GOOD, people.
Still Life - Although it's not called "Piece Of Mind", this one qualifies as the album's title track since it uses that phrase. Of all the songs on the album, this is probably the toughest one to get into, but once you get into it, you'll never want to let it go.
Quest For Fire - IF YOU CALL THIS SONG A FILLER, YOU MAY AS WELL SAY "I HATE IRON MAIDEN." This track features the band in its prime, doing an excellent song. Sure, it's no Flight Of Icarus or The Trooper, but it's still an excellent cut, and one of my faves from the band.
Sun And Steel - The most melodic rocker on the album, this one also gets severely underrated. Bruce's vocals are top notch on this one. WHEN YOU ARE LISTENING TO THIS ALBUM, DO NOT SKIP THIS SONG.
To Tame A Land - The first in a series of "lengthy album closers" by the band, this is a darker and harder rocker that is very often overlooked, due to the fact that it's the last song on the album. Don't make the mistake of overlooking it, or you'll regreit it for the rest of your life.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS. The total play time doesn't come too close to the eighty minutes that can fit on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include B-Sides (the band's cover of Jethro Tull's Cross Eyed Mary is priceless), interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Are you just getting into Iron Maiden? Start with Number Of The Beast, and get this one if you like it. Don't bother with hits compilations, as not one of them to date has captured the true essence of the band. Buy that one first, and if you like it, get the other albums with Bruce (Don't get the ones with Paul Di'Anno and/or Blaze Bayley unless you're a DIE HARD FAN.) Piece Of Mind is a true metal classic. You've gotta hear it for yourself to believe it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Looks great. Sounds awful., Dec 9 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yuck, Nov. 16 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Really disappointed in all of the picture disc reissues. There is an insane amount of surface noise on these discs. There's a hiss throughout all of these discs that I first thought was my furnace malfunctioning in the background. The recordings sound incredibly flat overall.
Wish I never bought these.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Piece of Magnificence, March 24 2004
By 
Stingray Ramone (Los Angeles, CA United States) - See all my reviews
After Bruce Dickinson's vocalist debut on The Number of The Beast, Iron Maiden rose into further prominence and into their most glorious period of the band's history. Piece Of Mind had risen the bar in the heavy metal scene amidst a budding thrash scene (Anthrax, Metallica, and Slayer made its "baby steps", so to speak at the time this album was originally released). This album and Powerslave were influential in its musicianship, songwriting, and vocals as a measuring stick for serious heavy metal before (heyday) Metallica had arguably taken that designation later on. Here's a track-by-track rundown:
1. Where Eagles Dare: Right off the bat, the opener is a long, fast, rip-roaring track. There's not a whole lot of singing (only for the first minute and a half and the last minute or so), but the middle of the song being an awesome instrumental with all kinds of fancy riffs and rapid drumming. The song is based off the book and movie, "Where Eagles Dare". 5/5.
2. Revelations: A stark contrast from the opener in that the tempo and mood changes in this solo-laden song. Bruce's vocals are just simply outstanding, especially the first verse. 5/5.
3. Flight Of Icarus: If you're new to Maiden and are making the transition from 90's or contemporary metal, this song isn't the most ideal starting point. A rather steady rocker which some have said is overrated since the chorus is too hauntingly catchy and Bruce's vocals are most over the top in this one. Hands down, Bruce's vocals are the highlight of this, especially when he holds onto the last note. 5/5.
4. Die With Your Boots On: A flat-out fast, anthemic rocker, which starts off with awesome opening riffs and chorus riffs. Bruce's vocals are quite underrated here; you just have to love how this voice soars in the chorus. 5/5.
5. The Trooper: It doesn't take very long for this song to blow you away. The opening riff is absolutely divine and added with the drums, the tempo is a galloping one as if you're riding on horseback, as one reviewer put it. The visceral lyrics really do put you on the battlefield. 5/5.
The next three tracks demand a few listens to get a good reaction:
6. Still Life: Starts off awkwardly with a voice speaking backwards and a peaceful, low-line bass riff for the first minute or so, with Bruce's vocals at its most low-key. About after a minute and a half, you have a melodic rocker, which gives a majestic, airy feel especially at the chorus part. 5/5.
7. Quest of Fire: This track and the next one, Sun Of Steel, usually get the most injustice as being labeled "filler". It maintains that gallop of The Trooper, but it seems a bit bouncier. The chorus, although quite over the top, makes for a rather good sing-along. 4/5.
8. Sun of Steel: Melodic, has a faster gallop than Quest of Fire does. Bruce's vocals shine very well here and much like the previous track, the chorus is a fun sing-along. 4.5/5.
9. To Tame a Land: A surprisingly brooding, moody epic track, which just goes to show you the range of how heavy Maiden can play. I still think Rime of the Ancient Mariner is a tad superior over this, but the amazing solos are worth the listen. 5/5.
Piece Of Mind is nothing short of classic Maiden. If you're new to the band, I recommend you don't buy any of their CD's...yet. Try listening to individual tracks because Maiden is the type of band that you have to digest slowly in chunks, especially if you're raised in today's school of hard rock. I would start off by listening to tracks off Number of the Beast like "Hallowed Be Thy Name", "22 Acacia Avenue", "The Number of the Beast" and *sigh* "Run to the Hills". If you like that, you could buy Number of the Beast, or better yet, purchase Powerslave first, which is a lot like this album. Happy listening.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars classic Maiden = essential., March 17 2004
By 
Given how musical tastes change over the years, it's not uncommon for people to find that the music of their youth isn't quite so appealing anymore. Yet for me, even as I become absorbed by avant-garde, Rock-in-Opposition, 20th/21st century classical, modern jazz, and other wild n' crazy stuff, Iron Maiden remains very endearing. And it's not just nostalgia (distorting the past to fit the sensibilities of the present). Iron Maiden is just a great, great band, and _Piece of Mind_ remains my favorite album in their considerable catalogue (followed by _Seventh Son..._).
Although it will probably pain a lot of hardcore Maiden lovers to hear me say it, but I think Iron Maiden's music has always had a certain metal-pop quality to it. I do NOT mean that Iron Maiden should in any way be associated with pathetic pantywaists like Poison or Warrant (such bands justify the repeal of the First Amendment). But in addition to insatiable metal energy and carnivorous, immortal metal riffs & solos, Maiden has always placed an immense emphasis on vocals, hooks, melodies, and tight songs. Yeah, they're cheesy, but Maiden is comfortable with their intrinsic metal cheesiness, so it works for them rather than against them. (A worse crime than cheesiness is to be completely oblivious to your cheesiness -- for an empirical illustration of this theory, I refer you to the legions of horrible European power metal bands like Stratovarius and Helloween.)
_Piece of Mind_ is an amazing album with not a single weak track. Of course, some songs are still better than others, and those are veritably deserving metal classics. There's "Where Eagles Dare", with its choppy, spitfire riffing; "The Trooper" with its unforgettable, evocative metal gallop and lyrics; and "Flight of Icarus", with its classic chorus and anthemic reach. "Revelations" is an epic that surrounds lyrical moments of beautiful imagery with memorable metal riffing. There is also "Still Life", one of the most tragically underrated Iron Maiden songs, with a mysterious opening that kicks into one of the most infectious and catchy songs in their catalogue. Apparently a lot of people think "Sun and Steel" and "Quest for Fire" are crap or at best inconvenient filler, I really like those songs ("Sun and Steel" especially!). The final epic, "To Tame a Land", suggests the direction the band would take with _Seventh Son_, carefully building until its monumental, epic guitar harmony at the end -- it remains one of the highpoints of their formidable songwriting genius.
It's a classic, and it doesn't really need me saying so. But another positive review never hurt anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars One of Maiden's All Time Best, Feb. 24 2004
By A Customer
Becoming a Maiden fan when "Number of The Beast" first came out, my love for the band kept on growing with their successive albums up to "Somewhere in Time." 21 years after I first heard it, "Piece of Mind" sounds every bit as fresh as when it was first served.
Bruce Dickinson was at his prime and all the other members were full of creativity in Piece of Mind. Songs like "Flight of Icarus" and "The Trooper" would bring them to the top of the 80s metal scene. Unlike the brainless glam crap that was coming out about that time, Maiden's poetic melodies capture the listener while still rockin' hard core. The only song I never got into was "Quest for Fire" based on the movie of the same name: not only are the vocals an utter catastrophe, the whole caveman subject is just stupid. But, what the heck! 8 great songs out of nine is a worthy investment when most other albums only have 1 or 2 good songs out of 12.
Get this metal classic for your collection; you'll have great metal to listen to for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars An all-time Metal classic....but with some filler...., Feb. 1 2004
By 
Joseph Jorgensen "Pickledjoe" (Watertown, MA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How can I call an album a classic and yet give it 3 stars????
Well, I have to admit that I am a little inconsistant with the stars in my ratings, but with 5 stars an all time masterpiece, which only a few albums can rate and 4 stars in my book being a classic album that is a personal favorite and highlight of the bands career....I had to rate Piece of Mind just a little lower due to some filler material, the good but way overplayed songs, and some lyrics that are just plain stupid...here's a breakdown:
Where Eagles Dare - One of the best Maiden tracks of all time...This song has incredible drumming...great lyrics...awesome vocals...its one the best songs Maiden ever did...
Revelations - Another of Maidens all time gretest tracks....Once again great playing...vocals...lyrics...this song has it all...
Flight of Icarus .....One of Maiden's better known tracks and more widely played radio songs (At least in America)...The solo and the chorous are so good that I never tire of this song...no matter how often I here it..
After that great 1,2,3..howevre, the album begins to fade...
Die With your Boots On.....I know this is a fan facorite and it has a cool main riff and verse..but I always thought the chorus was kind of plain and uninteresting....Also...I can't figure out what the hell this song is suppossed to be about...
The Trooper - One of Maidens best known songs and it is good, but a bit like Sabbath's Paranoid...every teenager who picked up a guitar in the last 20 years learned this riff badly and that memory lingers when I hear the song...
Still Life - Musically this song rocks...very strong..Lyrically, although as a teenager I dug it...it sounds kind of ridiclus 20 years later...A guy having nightmares about his pool is like a bad Freddy Krueger movie...
Quest for Fire - A horrible song with stupid lyrics and uninteresting riff. The chorus is straight out of Spinal Tap...
Sunlight on your steel - This song is ok, but wayyy to bland..and once again the singing tries to make dumb sounding lyrics seem important...Very Spinal Tap...
To Tame a Land - The album concludes on an up-note with To Tame a Land, which is based on the novel Dune....It is one of the better Maiden epic closers, second maybe only to Rime of the Ancient Mariner and makes the previous two songs seem somewhat worth the effort once you get to it...
All and all I recomend this album and if your a Maiden fan you'll love it...Its one of their best...Personally...They have sevreal other releases that I find more complete, but the first 3 songs and To Tame a Land make it well worth the money...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, Nov. 29 2003
When my friend recommended Iron Maiden to me, I was a little skeptical. For some reason I had viewed Iron Maiden, before actually listening to it, as some sort of death metal band. Maybe I envisioned that because they like to put zombies/demons/whatever on the front of their albums. This was a case where I definitely made a mistake in judging the CD by its cover.
When I first listened to it, I wasn't that impressed. Sure, I liked the beginning of "Still Life", but after the first 2:44 it went downhill...or so I thought at the time. In truth, I just didn't listen to it enough to really appreciate the amazing guitar work. However, I can honestly say that I am not a big fan of Bruce Dickinson's vocals...it's not that they don't sound well with the music, it's just that I don't like that high pitched type voice (you see, I'm used to listening to James Hetfield of Metallica). Nevertheless, I didn't feel that not liking the vocals affected my enjoyment of this CD too much. There were several songs where I DID enjoy the lyrics as well as the guitar work.
I'd have to say that my favorite song on this CD is "To Tame A Land". It really demonstrates the right way to have a song over seven minutes that is interesting the entire time. The guitar work in that song is so varied that you often times forget you're still on the same song. I made that mistake the first few times I was listening to the song...I started falling asleep and then woke and thought that the CD started over again, but then I realized my CD player doesn't do that, and I was like, "What the...?", and then it dawned on me that I was still listening to the same song. It really is that varied.
Another of my favorites was "Flight of the Icarus". This was one of the few songs on this CD where I thought the vocals were absolutely astounding. I love midway through the song, when the lyrics start, "Just a babe in a black abyss/No reason for a place like this". That may be the best part of any song on the entire CD.
There were, however, a few songs I didn't care for. Number one on that list was "Quest for Fire". How can you take any song seriously that starts off with "In a time when dinosaurs walked the Earth"? I like songs that actually mean something to me, or can express in song what I feel emotionally. I don't think there is an emotion that would correspond with that.
The other song I didn't care for was "Sun and Steel". There really wasn't any one reason that I would pinpoint for not liking that song, it just didn't appeal to me. Maybe it's because, again, I couldn't really relate with things like "You killed your first man at 13", etc. It might also have been because I don't like hearing two or three voices singing at once, to me that sounds like I'm at my sisters middle school chorus concert, espcially when they are as high pitched as those in this band.
Overall though, I really liked this CD. It was definitely worth my money, and it also gave me something new to listen to now that I've heard every Metallica album. The friend that recommended this to me said he thought it was their best album. I can't be the judge of that since this is the only one that I've heard, but I can honestly say that this is one of the best albums I have heard in a long time, and I'm definitely going to be purchasing more Iron Maiden in the near future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Piece of Mind (Remastered CD)
Piece of Mind (Remastered CD) by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews