summer boutiques-francophones snsflyout Pets All-New Kindle Music Deals Store sports Tools

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars79
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 17, 2013
I ordered this cd and the deliverly was very quick and effeicent, And i really liked this album I liked it so much i played alot since i got it and the whole service and everything else with it was worth evry dollar.So if are a iron maiden fan this one is you must have thanks.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2003
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Just when no one thought Bruce Dickinson would be able to fill the shoes of Paul Di'Anno's former lead vocalist position in Iron Maiden, he proved just about everyone who doubted him DEAD WRONG. With the release of Number Of The Beast, it was clear Bruce was more than a replacement frontman - he was giving the band a rebirth! And in 1983, a great year for heavy metal, the band released what is arguably its greatest album - Piece Of Mind. Read on for my review of this album, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Where Eagles Dare - An awesome hard rocker, this was the band's first song to explore one of Bruce's favorite lyrical themes - World War Two air combat. It's not quite as good as the more famous Aces High from Powerslave, but it's still excellent.
Revelations - This one's a little different than what can normally be expected from Iron Maiden, but it's still nothing short of excellent.
Flight Of Icarus - WHOA. Can anyone say "masterpiece"? This is by far the best track on the album. In addition to just being a great song, it proves just how flexible the band's themes can be.
Die With Your Boots On - A severely underrated track, this one deals with the classic theme that a captain should go down with his ship. A great song that never got the proper credit.
The Trooper - Many call this the best song on the album, and with very good reason. Dave and Adrian had never played guitars THIS GOOD before this song, and to date, THEY NEVER HAVE! This song is THAT GOOD, people.
Still Life - Although it's not called "Piece Of Mind", this one qualifies as the album's title track since it uses that phrase. Of all the songs on the album, this is probably the toughest one to get into, but once you get into it, you'll never want to let it go.
Quest For Fire - IF YOU CALL THIS SONG A FILLER, YOU MAY AS WELL SAY "I HATE IRON MAIDEN." This track features the band in its prime, doing an excellent song. Sure, it's no Flight Of Icarus or The Trooper, but it's still an excellent cut, and one of my faves from the band.
Sun And Steel - The most melodic rocker on the album, this one also gets severely underrated. Bruce's vocals are top notch on this one. WHEN YOU ARE LISTENING TO THIS ALBUM, DO NOT SKIP THIS SONG.
To Tame A Land - The first in a series of "lengthy album closers" by the band, this is a darker and harder rocker that is very often overlooked, due to the fact that it's the last song on the album. Don't make the mistake of overlooking it, or you'll regreit it for the rest of your life.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS. The total play time doesn't come too close to the eighty minutes that can fit on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include B-Sides (the band's cover of Jethro Tull's Cross Eyed Mary is priceless), interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Are you just getting into Iron Maiden? Start with Number Of The Beast, and get this one if you like it. Don't bother with hits compilations, as not one of them to date has captured the true essence of the band. Buy that one first, and if you like it, get the other albums with Bruce (Don't get the ones with Paul Di'Anno and/or Blaze Bayley unless you're a DIE HARD FAN.) Piece Of Mind is a true metal classic. You've gotta hear it for yourself to believe it!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2012
The subject says it all. The picture discs have fantastic visual artwork, but unfortunately the sound quality is absolutely atrocious.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2003
I have, over the Last close to 20 years, worn out at least one vinyl and countless cassetts of this metal masterpiece. A must have for anyone who considers themself a metal lover. My 14 year old son heard for the first on vinyl and was hooked. Nikko, drives it home with some of the most solid precussion work ever heard. Great lyrics from Harris and Dickinson especially revelations. If you are new to metal, or just somehow missed out on this monument, this will change your play list.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2003
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Just when no one thought Bruce Dickinson would be able to fill the shoes of Paul Di'Anno's former lead vocalist position in Iron Maiden, he proved just about everyone who doubted him DEAD WRONG. With the release of Number Of The Beast, it was clear Bruce was more than a replacement frontman - he was giving the band a rebirth! And in 1983, a great year for heavy metal, the band released what is arguably its greatest album - Piece Of Mind. Read on for my review of this album, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Where Eagles Dare - An awesome hard rocker, this was the band's first song to explore one of Bruce's favorite lyrical themes - World War Two air combat. It's not quite as good as the more famous Aces High from Powerslave, but it's still excellent.
Revelations - This one's a little different than what can normally be expected from Iron Maiden, but it's still nothing short of excellent.
Flight Of Icarus - WHOA. Can anyone say "masterpiece"? This is by far the best track on the album. In addition to just being a great song, it proves just how flexible the band's themes can be.
Die With Your Boots On - A severely underrated track, this one deals with the classic theme that a captain should go down with his ship. A great song that never got the proper credit.
The Trooper - Many call this the best song on the album, and with very good reason. Dave and Adrian had never played guitars THIS GOOD before this song, and to date, THEY NEVER HAVE! This song is THAT GOOD, people.
Still Life - Although it's not called "Piece Of Mind", this one qualifies as the album's title track since it uses that phrase. Of all the songs on the album, this is probably the toughest one to get into, but once you get into it, you'll never want to let it go.
Quest For Fire - IF YOU CALL THIS SONG A FILLER, YOU MAY AS WELL SAY "I HATE IRON MAIDEN." This track features the band in its prime, doing an excellent song. Sure, it's no Flight Of Icarus or The Trooper, but it's still an excellent cut, and one of my faves from the band.
Sun And Steel - The most melodic rocker on the album, this one also gets severely underrated. Bruce's vocals are top notch on this one. WHEN YOU ARE LISTENING TO THIS ALBUM, DO NOT SKIP THIS SONG.
To Tame A Land - The first in a series of "lengthy album closers" by the band, this is a darker and harder rocker that is very often overlooked, due to the fact that it's the last song on the album. Don't make the mistake of overlooking it, or you'll regreit it for the rest of your life.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS. The total play time doesn't come too close to the eighty minutes that can fit on a CD. There were a plethora of rare tracks from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set. These rarities include B-Sides (the band's cover of Jethro Tull's Cross Eyed Mary is priceless), interviews, BBC session tracks, and others.) To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Are you just getting into Iron Maiden? Start with Number Of The Beast, and get this one if you like it. Don't bother with hits compilations, as not one of them to date has captured the true essence of the band. Buy that one first, and if you like it, get the other albums with Bruce (Don't get the ones with Paul Di'Anno and/or Blaze Bayley unless you're a DIE HARD FAN.) Piece Of Mind is a true metal classic. You've gotta hear it for yourself to believe it!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Gathering together all 8 or the released picture disc vinyl commemorating the 2013 UK tour. Now I can finally have a completed collection of these fabulous pieces of art work on both the large album covers and the printed art on the vinyl itself. Great item for any Iron Maiden fan. Unfortunately I do not have a record player to play these at this time and enjoy their original sound as was intended at this time.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 6, 2013
I chose this rating because when the album arrived at my door, it was in mint condition. I like this item because i am able to finally own a picture disc version of this album at a descent price.
I recommend this item to all new and old Iron Maiden fans.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 24, 2004
After Bruce Dickinson's vocalist debut on The Number of The Beast, Iron Maiden rose into further prominence and into their most glorious period of the band's history. Piece Of Mind had risen the bar in the heavy metal scene amidst a budding thrash scene (Anthrax, Metallica, and Slayer made its "baby steps", so to speak at the time this album was originally released). This album and Powerslave were influential in its musicianship, songwriting, and vocals as a measuring stick for serious heavy metal before (heyday) Metallica had arguably taken that designation later on. Here's a track-by-track rundown:
1. Where Eagles Dare: Right off the bat, the opener is a long, fast, rip-roaring track. There's not a whole lot of singing (only for the first minute and a half and the last minute or so), but the middle of the song being an awesome instrumental with all kinds of fancy riffs and rapid drumming. The song is based off the book and movie, "Where Eagles Dare". 5/5.
2. Revelations: A stark contrast from the opener in that the tempo and mood changes in this solo-laden song. Bruce's vocals are just simply outstanding, especially the first verse. 5/5.
3. Flight Of Icarus: If you're new to Maiden and are making the transition from 90's or contemporary metal, this song isn't the most ideal starting point. A rather steady rocker which some have said is overrated since the chorus is too hauntingly catchy and Bruce's vocals are most over the top in this one. Hands down, Bruce's vocals are the highlight of this, especially when he holds onto the last note. 5/5.
4. Die With Your Boots On: A flat-out fast, anthemic rocker, which starts off with awesome opening riffs and chorus riffs. Bruce's vocals are quite underrated here; you just have to love how this voice soars in the chorus. 5/5.
5. The Trooper: It doesn't take very long for this song to blow you away. The opening riff is absolutely divine and added with the drums, the tempo is a galloping one as if you're riding on horseback, as one reviewer put it. The visceral lyrics really do put you on the battlefield. 5/5.
The next three tracks demand a few listens to get a good reaction:
6. Still Life: Starts off awkwardly with a voice speaking backwards and a peaceful, low-line bass riff for the first minute or so, with Bruce's vocals at its most low-key. About after a minute and a half, you have a melodic rocker, which gives a majestic, airy feel especially at the chorus part. 5/5.
7. Quest of Fire: This track and the next one, Sun Of Steel, usually get the most injustice as being labeled "filler". It maintains that gallop of The Trooper, but it seems a bit bouncier. The chorus, although quite over the top, makes for a rather good sing-along. 4/5.
8. Sun of Steel: Melodic, has a faster gallop than Quest of Fire does. Bruce's vocals shine very well here and much like the previous track, the chorus is a fun sing-along. 4.5/5.
9. To Tame a Land: A surprisingly brooding, moody epic track, which just goes to show you the range of how heavy Maiden can play. I still think Rime of the Ancient Mariner is a tad superior over this, but the amazing solos are worth the listen. 5/5.
Piece Of Mind is nothing short of classic Maiden. If you're new to the band, I recommend you don't buy any of their CD's...yet. Try listening to individual tracks because Maiden is the type of band that you have to digest slowly in chunks, especially if you're raised in today's school of hard rock. I would start off by listening to tracks off Number of the Beast like "Hallowed Be Thy Name", "22 Acacia Avenue", "The Number of the Beast" and *sigh* "Run to the Hills". If you like that, you could buy Number of the Beast, or better yet, purchase Powerslave first, which is a lot like this album. Happy listening.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 17, 2004
Given how musical tastes change over the years, it's not uncommon for people to find that the music of their youth isn't quite so appealing anymore. Yet for me, even as I become absorbed by avant-garde, Rock-in-Opposition, 20th/21st century classical, modern jazz, and other wild n' crazy stuff, Iron Maiden remains very endearing. And it's not just nostalgia (distorting the past to fit the sensibilities of the present). Iron Maiden is just a great, great band, and _Piece of Mind_ remains my favorite album in their considerable catalogue (followed by _Seventh Son..._).
Although it will probably pain a lot of hardcore Maiden lovers to hear me say it, but I think Iron Maiden's music has always had a certain metal-pop quality to it. I do NOT mean that Iron Maiden should in any way be associated with pathetic pantywaists like Poison or Warrant (such bands justify the repeal of the First Amendment). But in addition to insatiable metal energy and carnivorous, immortal metal riffs & solos, Maiden has always placed an immense emphasis on vocals, hooks, melodies, and tight songs. Yeah, they're cheesy, but Maiden is comfortable with their intrinsic metal cheesiness, so it works for them rather than against them. (A worse crime than cheesiness is to be completely oblivious to your cheesiness -- for an empirical illustration of this theory, I refer you to the legions of horrible European power metal bands like Stratovarius and Helloween.)
_Piece of Mind_ is an amazing album with not a single weak track. Of course, some songs are still better than others, and those are veritably deserving metal classics. There's "Where Eagles Dare", with its choppy, spitfire riffing; "The Trooper" with its unforgettable, evocative metal gallop and lyrics; and "Flight of Icarus", with its classic chorus and anthemic reach. "Revelations" is an epic that surrounds lyrical moments of beautiful imagery with memorable metal riffing. There is also "Still Life", one of the most tragically underrated Iron Maiden songs, with a mysterious opening that kicks into one of the most infectious and catchy songs in their catalogue. Apparently a lot of people think "Sun and Steel" and "Quest for Fire" are crap or at best inconvenient filler, I really like those songs ("Sun and Steel" especially!). The final epic, "To Tame a Land", suggests the direction the band would take with _Seventh Son_, carefully building until its monumental, epic guitar harmony at the end -- it remains one of the highpoints of their formidable songwriting genius.
It's a classic, and it doesn't really need me saying so. But another positive review never hurt anyone.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2004
Becoming a Maiden fan when "Number of The Beast" first came out, my love for the band kept on growing with their successive albums up to "Somewhere in Time." 21 years after I first heard it, "Piece of Mind" sounds every bit as fresh as when it was first served.
Bruce Dickinson was at his prime and all the other members were full of creativity in Piece of Mind. Songs like "Flight of Icarus" and "The Trooper" would bring them to the top of the 80s metal scene. Unlike the brainless glam crap that was coming out about that time, Maiden's poetic melodies capture the listener while still rockin' hard core. The only song I never got into was "Quest for Fire" based on the movie of the same name: not only are the vocals an utter catastrophe, the whole caveman subject is just stupid. But, what the heck! 8 great songs out of nine is a worthy investment when most other albums only have 1 or 2 good songs out of 12.
Get this metal classic for your collection; you'll have great metal to listen to for a long time.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse