Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in time...there was a great album !
Who would have thought that Iron Maiden would use guitar and bass synthetisers ? And who would have thought that the result would sound great and as heavy as it was on their previous albums ? Well, that's what happened with SIT.
1-Caught somewhere in time : A 7 minutes opener that just "lifts" you into the album. Listen to it with headphones, you'll be blown away...
Published on July 26 2004 by Jean-François Lévis

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, but not great
After the highly successful 'World Slavery Tour' Iron Maiden had their work cut out for them for a follow-up. 'Somewhere in Time' is not a bad album, in fact it has some great songs on it, but I don't think it stands up well against the likes of 'Piece of Mind', 'Number of the Beast', or 'Powerslave'. The cover also portrays one of the strangest incarnations of Eddie...
Published on Sept. 29 2003 by Johny Bottom


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in time...there was a great album !, July 26 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that Iron Maiden would use guitar and bass synthetisers ? And who would have thought that the result would sound great and as heavy as it was on their previous albums ? Well, that's what happened with SIT.
1-Caught somewhere in time : A 7 minutes opener that just "lifts" you into the album. Listen to it with headphones, you'll be blown away. 10/10
2-Wasted years : Adrian Smith first try at a more pop song that would later drive him out of Iron Maiden. Great riff, great chorus, great song. 9,5/10
3-Sea of madness : Very underrated song. It's get better every day. Great display of emotion in the voice of Bruce. 9,5/10
4-Heaven can wait : Very nice melodic and fast song. Interesting lyrics. 9/10
5-The loneliness of the long distance runner : Again, very fast and melodic. The song resumes the near past of the band, especially during the world slavery tour. 9/10
6-Stranger in a strange land : It was chosen to be the 2nd single. Not the best of choices, the weakest song on the album but still a very good one. The solo performed by Adrian Smith is something. 8,5/10
7-Déjà-vu : Another fairly unknown and underrated song that, like Heaven can wait and the loneliness, is very fast and melodic. 9,5/10
8-Alexander the Great : Steve Harris the Great ! Once again, a masterpiece of an epic that is vintage Harris. 10/10
By some fans, this album is not well rated. It's hard to understand because it's one of their strongest efforts ever. The sound blew me away back in 86 and it still does almost 20 years later. One of my favourites Maiden album. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The zenith of Maiden's legacy, July 16 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
This record is incredible. When I listen to the songs on this disc, I almost feel as if I am experiencing what the songs are about. The title track is hands down the best opening song I have ever had the pleasure of listening to, which begins with a powerful melodic intro that grabs you by the throat and takes you for a 7 1/2 minute ride. "Wasted Years" is an excellent albeit somewhat pop-oriented song that is inspirational in its lyrical content and also contains a cool solo in the middle. "Sea of Madness" is the heaviest cut on here, with a memorable chorus and a Priest-esque solo. "Heaven Can Wait" often holds a place on Maiden's live setlist to this day, and rightly so; this song was made to be sung along to. "Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner" is a solid track that borders on thrash, but I would take off points because the lyrics are a tad banal. "Stranger in a Strange Land" is my favorite Iron Maiden song and must be heard to be believed. "Deja Vu" is a great tune with a powerful riff and yet another excellent solo. The closing track, "Alexander the Great" is an excellent epic, reminescent of the beloved "Rime of the Ancient Mariner". All in all, a FANTASTIC effort from the Maiden guys, and I would recommend their 21st century albums and *ALL* of their 80s records as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUE BEST OF THE BEAST?, Sept. 26 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion - this truly is the greatest studio album, Maiden have ever produced (rivalled only by Piece of mind) - and i own all but 2 studio albums (Brave new world, and X factor) I am a big fan of Maiden's earlier work - pre 1990's - and for me this album is the epitemy of Iron Maiden's greatness - it combines technical brilliance - with fast, catchy metal riffs. songs like Caught somewhere in time, and Heaven can wait are great examples of what Maiden can do. This album also produces some brilliant but less typival iron maiden songs like Sea of madness and Wasted Years. A must own for any Iron Maiden fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, Aug. 18 2003
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Although Iron Maiden's first three albums (and one live album) with vocalist Bruce Dickinson were wildly successful, they all followed a very similar sound. In 1986, the band was ready to try something new out. Around this time, guitar and bass synthesizers had arrived, and, you guessed it - the boys in Maiden wanted to try them out. With them, they created one of their masterpieces - the Somewhere In Time album. In 1998 and again in 2002, the band's entire CD catalogue was rereleased as part of a remaster series. Read on for track-by-track comments and grades, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Caught Somewhere in Time - The opener is a good strong track, with the band in perfect shape. The instrumental opener is priceless.
Wasted Years - A fellow Amazon reviewer considers this to be his all time favorite song from this band. I don't agree with him there, but I do agree with one thing - THIS SONG IS EXCELLENT! The chorus must be heard to be appreciated.
Sea of Madness - An excellent rocker, probably the hardest one on the album. Once again, Dickinson's vocals rule the show.
Heaven Can Wait - The biggest hit off of the album, and with good reason. This is fast-paced melodic rock at its very best! This is also the best version of this song (it puts the live versions availiable on early nineties live albums to shame.)
The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner - An interesting bit of Maiden trivia - That's the longest title ever given to any of their songs! This one doesn't really stand out too much, but it's still an excellent rocker and not worth skipping.
Stranger in a Strange Land - Probably the second biggest hit on the album. This one deals with being lost, and the melodic rock sound couldn't be much better here.
Deja Vu - While TLOTLDR was the longest title ever given to a Maiden song, this is the shortest one. Though this one doesn't stand out a whole lot, the chorus is quite nice, even if it's a tad redundant.
Alexander the Great - The lengthy epic closer. THIS IS AN UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE! It's not quite up to the incredibly high standard of Rime Of The Ancient Mariner, but it's still arguably the finest song on this album.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS.The total play time isn't even that close to eighty minutes. There were a plethora of B-Sides from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set.) that would have made this album even better.To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Iron Maiden's newfound progressive sound was something truly great, indeed. However, Somewhere In Time and Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son are NOT recommended for Maiden newbies. If you're new to the band, you need to start with Number Of The Beast. It's the best place to start. If you buy this album first, you may be left confused, so go with the sure thing if you're just getting into the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YET ANOTHER MASTERPIECE BY THE MASTERS OF METAL!, Dec 9 2005
By 
trooper (HELL LISTENING TO MAIDEN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden rules! in my opinion the best Heavy metal band ever,so many memorable songs with so many memorable albums, the songs in this album are listed here with a personal rating:
Caught somewhere in time: awesome opener! lighting fast drumming and great riffs.9/10
Wasted years:OH YEAH! this song is THE BEST! this defines classic heavy metal with it's amazing riffs, guitar work, drumming and the bass in this song kicks a$$! one of the best from Maiden and
one of the best of METAL ITSELF! 10/10
Sea of madness: awesome fast paced solid rocker, and a killer chorus!! 10/10
Heaven can wait: starts out slowly and builds up to a killers song, also a great sing-along chorus, awesome melody. 10/10
The lonelinesss of the long distance runner: awesome and very melodic song, also very powerful chorus and guitar work. 9,7/10
Stranger in a strange land: KICKASS BASS INTRO! awesome song, very emotional solo and awesome chorus, one of the highlights of the album 10/10
Deja-vu:powerful lighting fast song, for some retarded reason it never got the credit it deserved 10/10
Alexader the great: memorable melody,chorus and guitars that you cant get out of your head, this song tells the story of the Alexander the great (duh!), read the lyrics. 10/10
NOT MUCH TO SAY OTHER THAN , MAIDEN IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!
UP THE IRONS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasurable As Ever, Feb. 19 2002
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
This is one of the most profound Iron Maiden records. It is the first album ever in which they use keyboards. Adrian Smith makes a supreme contribution by his unique songwriting represented by singles 'Wasted Years', 'Stranger In A Strange Land', and 'Sea Of Madness', while Steve Harris offers us one of his trademark opuses: a song called 'Alexander The Great' in which we can listen to some motives taken from Balkan folkmusic. Another hit is 'Heaven Can Wait'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nice, nice...nice feel to an extraordinary album!, June 17 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
It's very smart of Iron Maiden to start changing their music's sound because the old Heavy Metal style would probably make some people think "these guys are old". Fortunatly for you Maiden fans who loved the old sound, you probably already know, but Iron Maiden have returned to their Heavy Metal sound. Anyway this great album is more progressive than heavy, and also begins the use of synthesizers, but it's still cool.
Caught Somewhere In Time: 5/5 - The title-track opens the album with a melodic instrumental beginning, a very cool one I might add. Soon the song would be blasting your poor stereo to death with an unexpected shock-wave of fast-paced music. The chorus is also very interesting since not many people enjoy it. A must-listen-to opener.
Wasted Years: 5/5 - The first track I actually heard from this album was my favourite. It begins with a pretty good solo before turning progressive, also includes a very catchy rythem. I'm glad this song was a single because I'm sure that many people would argue that this song was extremely underated. A great song, deserves to be on this album.
Sea Of Madness: 5/5 - Why, why, why wasn't this song a single? It's one of the best on the album, has a great chorus and I can imagine what a video of this song would be like. This is perhaps the heaviest song on the album, the intro is spectacular and I don't think I've heard Nicko give the drums such a brutal beating, but that seems to be a good thing. The solo and acoustic sounds through the midway on this song are awesome. Bruce sings the chorus beautifully, and I finally hear a rough bass from Steve.
Heaven Can Wait: 3.7/5 - Pretty good track, has everything a song should have, including a lousy chorus. I'm serious, I really don't like the chorus! Thank god it has a great midway and cool solos.
The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner: 4.9/5 - Perhaps Iron Maiden's only song with a really long title, an excellent track with an awesome intro, I mean just hear it! The sound is the best sound than can be used for an intro. I only knocked off 0.1 points because I couldn't understand the lyrics.
Stranger In A Strange Land: 5/5 - The first great bass intro I've heard since the album Killers. A very interesting song with awesome lyrics. The only unmarked flow is that it's not too long because with a solo and rythem to a song like this, the song should be a bit longer than 6 minutes. Still, this is a must-hear by any Iron Maiden follower.
Deja Vu: 5/5 - Another cool intro but I think I should give my comments on the whole song, so here we go: WOW! WOW! WOW! Maybe the 5th best song on the album and might deserve higher.
The music rocked my innocent stereo out almost immediately like dropping a hot potato on your reproductive system(no offense!). If you haven't heard it, I demand that you either get the album or download the song, it's worth it.
Alexander The Great: 5/5 - Take some time to appreciate the intro(music, not words), cool beginning solo, almost made me
cry(honestly), but The Loneliness Of The Long Distance Runner has the better solo intro.
This song is over 8 minutes long, the longest track on the album followed by the 7+ minutes title-track. The song tells just about everything you really need to know about Alexander, except I don't think I heard any thing about his death throughout the song. Still, this song is more worthy than the entire album itself! Hear this song or wasted your chances of of being an ex-Maiden loser.
Rare tracks from this era:
Reach Out: 5/5 - Great, solid B-Side. Could've been on the album if their weren't many long songs. Download!
The Sheriff Of Huddersfield: 5/5 - Amazing track, very comedic when the Sheriff(I think)talks about how strong and dangerous he is. Must be heard by fans only.
That Girl: 5/5 - I really love this song, it has some of the best guitar, bass and drum work ever! This really made feel more desperate for my girlfriend's saftey.
Juanita: 4/5 - Weird title for a strange track. Not an excellent track because of the way it's sung, but the chorus and music save it from crapiness.
Lineup:
Steve Harris - Bass Guitar
Nicko McBrain - Drums
Adrian Smith - Guitar
Dave Murray - Guitar
Bruce Dickinson - Vocals
Overall: Awesome album, deserves a chance to be one of Iron Maiden's top 5 albums of all-time. Also the rare tracks should have been included because they're all great, including Juanita.
GO! GO! GO get this album if ya ain't ownin' it because I couldn't find it and I ended up downloading every song on this album.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars another great album, May 28 2004
By 
Ren "Ren" (michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
In this album Maiden starts to use synths and keyboards which is perfectly ok because they do such a good job with it you can't help but love it.
1. CAUGHT SOMEWHERE IN TIME (9.5/10)
Great way to start the album. This song has sweet use of guitars and keyboards do well. The chorus does get a bid repetitive which is the only reason I didn't give it a 10.
2. WASTED YEARS (10/10)
Now this song is great! The guitar intro is cool, and sounds futuristic. The chorus is the best part. Can't get enough of this song. It's my favorite on the album.
3. SEA OF MADNESS (8.5/10)
Pretty decent song with great vocals. Chorus is good too.
4. HEAVEN CAN WAIT (8.5/10)
The intro is great and all but I get annoyed by the repetitive chorus.
5. THE LONELINESS OF THE LONG DISTANCE RUNNER (9.5/10)
Man, this song is cool. It has a galloping feel to it, like you're there running too. The lyrics are the only bad part, which are kind of goofy. Still a great song anyway.
6. STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND (10/10)
This song has a slower pace than the others. Great riffs and keyboards. I love the guitar solo after the chorus, beautiful!
7. DE JA VU (8.5/10)
Another decent song. Starts off good but then when he starts saying "it feels prearranged" and stupid things like that it, sounds goofy. The chorus is goofy too.
8. ALEXANDER THE GREAT (9.5/10)
A nice epic but doesn't live up to Hallowed Be Thy Name or Rime of the Ancient Mariner. The guitars sound great and the drums are done well. The thing I don't like is that Bruce sounds like he's reading the lyrics from a text book like some reviewer said before. The chorus is good. Great instrumental part towards the end.
All in all this is another Maiden classic that you should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars coming down the mountain, May 28 2004
By 
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Well... Iron Maiden hit its peek with POWERSLAVE and so after that there is nowhere to go but down and that is where this album was headed, but that's not to say the band didn't have a few good punches to throw, but after such a powerful record, the fans expected more but many fans feel the delivery failed, but I think it was one of the last great albums of the time, before this band and the genre became washed-up.
During the mid-80's a phenomenon was sweeping the music scene globally and locally; synthesizers. It seemed every band had a synth player, even Van Halen and The Ramones were using synths in nearly every song by 1984. So now came Maiden's turn, but what set them apart from the others is that they didn't over do it. The synths are faint at the most and overall complement the music rather than date it.
CAUGHT SOMEWHERE IN TIME- Normal Maiden opener but this time with synths! Hah? Right! 5/5
WASTED YEARS- This has to be one of the most powerful "get off your ass and do something with your life songs" I've ever heard. Definate influence on 90's Power-metal. 5/5
SEA OF MADNESS- Pretty heavy song, great guitar and vocals. 5/5
HEAVEN CAN WAIT- Ehh... i've heard better from Maiden, not too bad, but I think the lyrics need work. 4/5
THE LONELINESS OF A LONG DISTANCE RUNNER - Great song but the lyrics are bad just plain awful. 4/5
DEJA VU- The album takes a little turn and mellows it out and this is another strong track up there with STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND and WASTED YEARS. 5/5
STRANGER IN A STRANGE LAND - best song on the album! just listen to that solo!! and take in those lyrics baby! 5/5
ALEXANDER THE GREAT - I'm a History major and when I was in high school this is the song that pretty much got through a chapter in History and influenced me to study. I think this song maybe a poor attemt to recreate THE RIME OF THE ANCIENT MARINER. 5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Underrated!!!, May 25 2004
By 
Hermer Arroyo (Ponce, Puerto Rico) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Somewhere in Time is by far the most underrated album of Iron Maiden, and frankly I don't know why? I like it better than Powerslave and Seventh Son of a Seventh Son.Contrary to popular believe i think that this is the best and ranks up there with Piece of Mind and Number of the Beast. This album its viewed as the futuristic album of Maiden and it shows in the way the instruments were recorded. They used synths on guitars and drums to make it sound different. But by being different it doesn't mean that is bad or terrible, because this album is filled with brilliant songwriting. Unlike St. Anger by Metallica or any album by a nu-metal band especially Slipknot. Bruce Dickinson voice is as good as it gets and he deliveres a solid vocal effort but that is expected coming from him. Highlight of this album are: EVERYTHING, although Heaven can Wait could have been a lot better but overall is a good song.
The bottomline is that this album is worthy of being on a metalhead or a music fan collection. But i am sure that every Iron Maiden fan has this album by now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews