Customer Reviews


91 Reviews
5 star:
 (70)
4 star:
 (14)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Although Iron Maiden's first three albums (and one live album) with vocalist Bruce Dickinson were wildly successful, they all followed a very similar sound. In 1986, the band was ready to try something new out. Around this time,...
Published on Aug. 18 2003 by Rocker_Man

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It Was All Downhill After That
The last good album with Bruce Dickinson. This is where Maiden goes mainstream with synthezers and uninspiring ballads. This album still rocks compared to their disastrous "Seventh Son.." Half the songs are great such as the title song, Stranger In A Strange Land, Wasted Years, and even Alexander The Great. Songs like Deja Vu and The Loneliness of The Long...
Published on Feb. 24 2004


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterpiece, Aug. 18 2003
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Although Iron Maiden's first three albums (and one live album) with vocalist Bruce Dickinson were wildly successful, they all followed a very similar sound. In 1986, the band was ready to try something new out. Around this time, guitar and bass synthesizers had arrived, and, you guessed it - the boys in Maiden wanted to try them out. With them, they created one of their masterpieces - the Somewhere In Time album. In 1998 and again in 2002, the band's entire CD catalogue was rereleased as part of a remaster series. Read on for track-by-track comments and grades, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Caught Somewhere in Time - The opener is a good strong track, with the band in perfect shape. The instrumental opener is priceless.
Wasted Years - A fellow Amazon reviewer considers this to be his all time favorite song from this band. I don't agree with him there, but I do agree with one thing - THIS SONG IS EXCELLENT! The chorus must be heard to be appreciated.
Sea of Madness - An excellent rocker, probably the hardest one on the album. Once again, Dickinson's vocals rule the show.
Heaven Can Wait - The biggest hit off of the album, and with good reason. This is fast-paced melodic rock at its very best! This is also the best version of this song (it puts the live versions availiable on early nineties live albums to shame.)
The Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner - An interesting bit of Maiden trivia - That's the longest title ever given to any of their songs! This one doesn't really stand out too much, but it's still an excellent rocker and not worth skipping.
Stranger in a Strange Land - Probably the second biggest hit on the album. This one deals with being lost, and the melodic rock sound couldn't be much better here.
Deja Vu - While TLOTLDR was the longest title ever given to a Maiden song, this is the shortest one. Though this one doesn't stand out a whole lot, the chorus is quite nice, even if it's a tad redundant.
Alexander the Great - The lengthy epic closer. THIS IS AN UNDERRATED MASTERPIECE! It's not quite up to the incredibly high standard of Rime Of The Ancient Mariner, but it's still arguably the finest song on this album.
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS.The total play time isn't even that close to eighty minutes. There were a plethora of B-Sides from this era that have never before been issued by the band (except for in the restrictively expensive box set.) that would have made this album even better.To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Iron Maiden's newfound progressive sound was something truly great, indeed. However, Somewhere In Time and Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son are NOT recommended for Maiden newbies. If you're new to the band, you need to start with Number Of The Beast. It's the best place to start. If you buy this album first, you may be left confused, so go with the sure thing if you're just getting into the band.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maiden, June 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time (LP Record)
what's there to say about the best band on record and their live performances ,its a must for everyone who enjoys the band....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden - Somewhere In Time picture disc., May 14 2013
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time (LP Record)
One of my favorite Iron Maiden albums, grew up listening to this. I am always wary of picture vinyl LP's as they can sometimes introduce artifacts into the surface that make it sound old (pops and cracks). This one was really well done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of their best art., May 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Somewhere In Time (LP Record)
Gathering together all 8 or the released picture disc vinyl commemorating the 2013 UK tour. Now I can finally have a completed collection of these fabulous pieces of art work on both the large album covers and the printed art on the vinyl itself. Great item for any Iron Maiden fan. Unfortunately I do not have a record player to play these at this time and enjoy their original sound as was intended at this time.

This album and Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son were some of their last great works with such amazing artwork that went with it. I like their older stuff as well but I have to admit these were two of my favorite albums they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not their worst.., Dec 23 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
But not Iron Maiden's best. Steve and Adrian experiment with guitar synth here. The result is ok, but I really prefer the pre-Powerslave stuff
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars YET ANOTHER MASTERPIECE BY THE MASTERS OF METAL!, Dec 9 2005
By 
trooper (HELL LISTENING TO MAIDEN) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden rules! in my opinion the best Heavy metal band ever,so many memorable songs with so many memorable albums, the songs in this album are listed here with a personal rating:
Caught somewhere in time: awesome opener! lighting fast drumming and great riffs.9/10
Wasted years:OH YEAH! this song is THE BEST! this defines classic heavy metal with it's amazing riffs, guitar work, drumming and the bass in this song kicks a$$! one of the best from Maiden and
one of the best of METAL ITSELF! 10/10
Sea of madness: awesome fast paced solid rocker, and a killer chorus!! 10/10
Heaven can wait: starts out slowly and builds up to a killers song, also a great sing-along chorus, awesome melody. 10/10
The lonelinesss of the long distance runner: awesome and very melodic song, also very powerful chorus and guitar work. 9,7/10
Stranger in a strange land: KICKASS BASS INTRO! awesome song, very emotional solo and awesome chorus, one of the highlights of the album 10/10
Deja-vu:powerful lighting fast song, for some retarded reason it never got the credit it deserved 10/10
Alexader the great: memorable melody,chorus and guitars that you cant get out of your head, this song tells the story of the Alexander the great (duh!), read the lyrics. 10/10
NOT MUCH TO SAY OTHER THAN , MAIDEN IS THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!
UP THE IRONS!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Somewhere in time...there was a great album !, July 26 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
Who would have thought that Iron Maiden would use guitar and bass synthetisers ? And who would have thought that the result would sound great and as heavy as it was on their previous albums ? Well, that's what happened with SIT.
1-Caught somewhere in time : A 7 minutes opener that just "lifts" you into the album. Listen to it with headphones, you'll be blown away. 10/10
2-Wasted years : Adrian Smith first try at a more pop song that would later drive him out of Iron Maiden. Great riff, great chorus, great song. 9,5/10
3-Sea of madness : Very underrated song. It's get better every day. Great display of emotion in the voice of Bruce. 9,5/10
4-Heaven can wait : Very nice melodic and fast song. Interesting lyrics. 9/10
5-The loneliness of the long distance runner : Again, very fast and melodic. The song resumes the near past of the band, especially during the world slavery tour. 9/10
6-Stranger in a strange land : It was chosen to be the 2nd single. Not the best of choices, the weakest song on the album but still a very good one. The solo performed by Adrian Smith is something. 8,5/10
7-Déjà-vu : Another fairly unknown and underrated song that, like Heaven can wait and the loneliness, is very fast and melodic. 9,5/10
8-Alexander the Great : Steve Harris the Great ! Once again, a masterpiece of an epic that is vintage Harris. 10/10
By some fans, this album is not well rated. It's hard to understand because it's one of their strongest efforts ever. The sound blew me away back in 86 and it still does almost 20 years later. One of my favourites Maiden album. A masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The zenith of Maiden's legacy, July 16 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
This record is incredible. When I listen to the songs on this disc, I almost feel as if I am experiencing what the songs are about. The title track is hands down the best opening song I have ever had the pleasure of listening to, which begins with a powerful melodic intro that grabs you by the throat and takes you for a 7 1/2 minute ride. "Wasted Years" is an excellent albeit somewhat pop-oriented song that is inspirational in its lyrical content and also contains a cool solo in the middle. "Sea of Madness" is the heaviest cut on here, with a memorable chorus and a Priest-esque solo. "Heaven Can Wait" often holds a place on Maiden's live setlist to this day, and rightly so; this song was made to be sung along to. "Loneliness of the Long Distance Runner" is a solid track that borders on thrash, but I would take off points because the lyrics are a tad banal. "Stranger in a Strange Land" is my favorite Iron Maiden song and must be heard to be believed. "Deja Vu" is a great tune with a powerful riff and yet another excellent solo. The closing track, "Alexander the Great" is an excellent epic, reminescent of the beloved "Rime of the Ancient Mariner". All in all, a FANTASTIC effort from the Maiden guys, and I would recommend their 21st century albums and *ALL* of their 80s records as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE TRUE BEST OF THE BEAST?, Sept. 26 2004
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
In my humble opinion - this truly is the greatest studio album, Maiden have ever produced (rivalled only by Piece of mind) - and i own all but 2 studio albums (Brave new world, and X factor) I am a big fan of Maiden's earlier work - pre 1990's - and for me this album is the epitemy of Iron Maiden's greatness - it combines technical brilliance - with fast, catchy metal riffs. songs like Caught somewhere in time, and Heaven can wait are great examples of what Maiden can do. This album also produces some brilliant but less typival iron maiden songs like Sea of madness and Wasted Years. A must own for any Iron Maiden fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pleasurable As Ever, Feb. 19 2002
This review is from: Somewhere in Time (Audio CD)
This is one of the most profound Iron Maiden records. It is the first album ever in which they use keyboards. Adrian Smith makes a supreme contribution by his unique songwriting represented by singles 'Wasted Years', 'Stranger In A Strange Land', and 'Sea Of Madness', while Steve Harris offers us one of his trademark opuses: a song called 'Alexander The Great' in which we can listen to some motives taken from Balkan folkmusic. Another hit is 'Heaven Can Wait'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Somewhere in Time
Somewhere in Time by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews