Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maiden
iron maiden is the greatest band ever live and on record this is a must for all maiden fans and first time maiden fans.
Published 13 months ago by mike rogers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Not really as good as Somewhere In Time
This album is OK in my book, but some songs lack the energy used in all past Iron Maiden albums. Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son has some great songs but lacks energy and power.
Moonchild: 2/5 - OK, I really can't stand this song for some reason, but that's just my opinion. The music really saved this song's ass.
Infinite Dreams: 5/5 - The first of very few great...
Published on June 17 2004 by Ironman


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars maiden, June 10 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
iron maiden is the greatest band ever live and on record this is a must for all maiden fans and first time maiden fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Maiden -- Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son -- Vinyl, May 14 2013
By 
Joel Andrews - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
One of my favorite Iron Maiden albums, grew up listening to this. I am always wary of picture vinyl LP's as they can sometimes introduce artifacts into the surface that make it sound old (pops and clicks). This one at the first track 'Moonchild' had a lot of imperfections which caused it to have pops and clicks, but they stopped about a 3rd into the first song. Picture LP's are awesome, but you have to expect issues sometimes. I have many versions of these, these are the best so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Some of their best art in my opinion, May 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Gathering together all 8 or the released picture disc vinyl commemorating the 2013 UK tour. Now I can finally have a completed collection of these fabulous pieces of art work on both the large album covers and the printed art on the vinyl itself. Great item for any Iron Maiden fan. Unfortunately I do not have a record player to play these at this time and enjoy their original sound as was intended at this time.

This album and Somewhere In Time were some of their last great works with such amazing artwork that went with it. I like their older stuff as well but I have to admit these were two of my favorite albums they did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventh album is first on the list, July 26 2004
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden's first and only one true concept album. Every song is there for a reason and the album couldn't stand the loss of one of them. It's just one piece from the very beginning until the very end.
1-Moonchild : Great intro with keyboards. It just prepares you for the excellence. 10/10
2-Infinite dreams : In the same vein as Revelations. Brilliant. 10/10
3-Can I play with madness : The commercial song of the album. But still has its place on a "serious" album. Catchy, very 80's sounding but is still good today. 9/10
4-The evil that men do : A great rocker and a great chorus. 9/10
5-7th son of a 7th son : A 10 minute long epic that sums all of the best things in this album (and in Maiden). A masterpiece very close to Rime of the ancient mariner, great instrumental break. 10/10
6-The prophecy : A very heavy and dark chorus with great voices by Bruce and a beautiful acoustic outro. 9/10
7-The clairvoyant : The other "commercial" song of the album. Great guitar work during the verses. Catchy. 9/10
8-Only the good die young : Closes the album in a great way, as good as Moonchild did open it. 9/10
Individually not the strongest album. But you have to look at the ensemble to see how genius this is. The ultimate Iron Maiden album. The ultimate heavy metal album. The ultimate album. This is the one I would like to be buried with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Un must, Nov. 18 2003
By 
Kevin Voyer (Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
La première cassette que j'ai achetée, je devais avoir 12 ans. C'est une oeuvre maîtresse. La qualité et l'effervescence qui ressort en écoutant cet album vous fera apprécier encore plus Iron Maiden. Je vous le conseil, c'est un bijoux de Heavy Metal.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece, Nov. 28 2002
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
This is the all time classic Maiden Album. Even the artwork is my favourite out of all their albums. The full spectrum of music from driving metal to entrancing harmonies create an incedible listening atmosphere. The entire band's performance is 5 star with the MVP being shared by Bruce and Nicko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Progressive masterpiece, Aug. 22 2003
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
[Before you start reading this review, I want to apologize for making it so long. I had a lot to say, and there was no short way to do it.]
Iron Maiden has always been a band that was willing to experiment with new styles, even if it meant risking their entire fan base. 1986's Somewhere In Time proved this beautifully - but the experimental/progressive sound succeeded in making them more popular than ever! Before the band fell down to earth, they would shell out one more progressive masterpiece - 1988's Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son. This would be the last Maiden album for twelve years to feature the classic Dickinson/Smith/Murray/McBrain/Harris line-up (Smith left after this album.) Read on for track comments, as well as my comments on the remaster series.
Moonchild - An excellent melodic rocker, they simply could not have started the album better.
Infinite Dreams - This one starts slow and melodic, but soon enough it becomes a lengthy (and damn good) instrumental session. Another good track.
Can I Play With Madness - This is the band's most overrated song, period (Running Free is second), but it's still very good. It's a solid melodic rocker with the band in tip top shape. Need I Say More?
The Evil That Men Do - An excellent rocker that captures the band in its prime. It's no wonder it's become a fan favorite!
Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son - The title track of the album often goes unappreciated for some unknown reason. Why? This is quite possibly the best song on the album!
The Prophecy - Possibly the weakest track here, but also the most underrated. The chorus to this one must be heard to be appreciated.
The Clairvoyant - Another fan favorite. Once again, the band serves up a winner. I don't think anything else needs to be said about this one.
Only The Good Die Young - THIS IS NOT THE BILLY JOEL SONG. The band ends the album with a gloomy melodic rocker that often goes unappreciated due to the fact that it's the last track. Don't make that mistake!
Now for my comments on the remasters series - as a die-hard Maiden fan, I AM SEVERELY DISAPPOINTED. Sure, the sound quality is improved over the original CD issues and there is some cool enhanced CD footage (all the remasters before the X Factor have this), but this reissue is lacking the most important thing a remaster needs: BONUS TRACKS! To put it simply, if you already own the original issue of this album on CD, it's really not necessary to get the new remaster.
Maiden's two progressive albums from the mid-late eighties are excellent albums, no questions asked, but they aren't recommended for novices of the band. If you're new to the band, start with The Number Of The Beast (DO NOT BUY A HITS COMPILATION!) Put simply, this is an excellent album, it's just not great to start with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's A Time To Live,And A Time To Die,When Its Time To Meet The Maker "-The Clairvoyant, Dec 1 2007
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
After experimenting with synthetizers on 1986's "Somewhere In Time" a progressive album,Iron Maiden releases the last of their classic albums with "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" and goes even further in the progressive sound with this release.They were influenced by Rush on this one borrowing much of the progressive rock sound,and they fused it witth Heavy Metal beautifully.SSOASS is also a concept album based on Orson Scott Card's "Seventh Son" book,wich was released in 1987 since then the book has gotten many sequels and it takes much of the same story as the book and put them into their song lyrics and this is definatly an intellectual album,Steve Harris really chose a great story and made converted it into an album that can now be considered as some of his best work.Each song on the album tells a part of the story about a child born with clairvoyant powers and if you can understand what happens in each song you will be able to enjoy this album better.This is sadly the last of the classic lineup's 4 albums,four incredible albums that you have to get.

The songs on the album are generally great and some of them really stand out here is the songs and the story behind them that might not know about.First up is the incredible opener "Moonchild" is about the devil plaguing the seventh son's mother its a song with a chorus that will get stuck in your head and a fast tempo.Next is "Infinite Dreams" is about dreams and imagination that the father of the seventh son has,its slower nearly ballad song filled with tempo changes,a song that i didn't like at first but i have growned to love so much that its one of my favourite song on the album.Track three,"Can I Play With Madness",about once again the father of the seventh son,this time being angry at some prophet for not telling him his future,it was the comercial song on the album and was their hit at the time,but its actually the song that i consider to be the worst on the album!Its good but i beleve its not as great as the rest and i just don't like it much."The Evil That Men Do" is a gem,its about the making of the son and in my opinion Bruce really shines on vocals here,a simple chorus and a great strong structure."Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" is about the birth of the seventh son and his already written future,the title track of the album is a long epic song that is one of Maiden's most impressive songs and technically amazing."The Prophecy" is about the seventh son predicting a disaster to a nearby village that refuses to beleve him,now that the bad is done he can laugh at them."The Clairvoyant" is about the visions of the seventh son as they destroy his life,one of my personnal favourite Maiden songs and my favourite song on SSOASS.The closer "Only The Good Die Young" is about the seventh son commiting suicide as he can't take it anymore,underrated but good.

Overral its a very deep,dark and absolutely terrific album.Its my favourite Iron Maiden album and one that i would recommend to everyone even a newbie.Still if you are new to the band i would recommend you get either "The Number Of The Beast" or "Piece Of Mind",otherwise go ahed and get this album its extremely good and i just love it.Being a concept album some fans were against it,but Maiden made it work to their advantage to create one of their best albums.Its a brilliant piece of work in the history of rock and there have not been any album of its genre since,at least i think,the album itself is unerrated.This album has it all: a great story,terrific songs,talented musicians,intellectual lyrics and it gets the highest rating i can give 5 stars,i can't give it more unfortunaly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, May 11 2005
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
Not alot to say but a must for any iron maiden fan or any metal fan for that matter. Probably the most underrated cd maiden has released. It's title track is epic. One of my favorite songs ever and probably maidens most underrated song. The instrumental part at the end can't have been better. "The Evil That Men Do" is also a good song and has very interesting not very maiden lyrics. "Can I Play With Madness" is definitly the rocker of the bunch and probably the only song a regular maiden would've heard of on this cd.
DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE LACK OF HITS. Though it might not be the most popular album it is right up there with number of the beast which I might add is also definitly worth looking at.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars 5+, June 27 2004
By 
Maiden went up and down(very slightly) and up, and way up(7th Son) and stayed there until there dissappointing follow up albums(F.O.T.D., and N.P.F.T.D.). The atmosphere of this album, and the visions it prevokes, makes it one of the best metal albums ever, maybe even the best. I don't like to get long winded so: This album simply stated is Maiden's Crown Jewel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son (
Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Click for more info
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews