Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece
This is the all time classic Maiden Album. Even the artwork is my favourite out of all their albums. The full spectrum of music from driving metal to entrancing harmonies create an incedible listening atmosphere. The entire band's performance is 5 star with the MVP being shared by Bruce and Nicko.
Published on Nov. 28 2002 by Scott Jeffery/Atumz Eve

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars One more step backward
This album follows Somewhere in Time by being another Somewhere in Time in that, just like it, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son is a concept album. Instead of releasing the best songs they could create, they put together the best group of songs, trying to make them larger than they were. This is not to say that there are no great songs here. No way! Infinite Dreams...
Published on Jan. 12 2004 by stephen hamel


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Masterpiece, Nov. 28 2002
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
This is the all time classic Maiden Album. Even the artwork is my favourite out of all their albums. The full spectrum of music from driving metal to entrancing harmonies create an incedible listening atmosphere. The entire band's performance is 5 star with the MVP being shared by Bruce and Nicko.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "There's A Time To Live,And A Time To Die,When Its Time To Meet The Maker "-The Clairvoyant, Dec 1 2007
By 
Tommy Skylar (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
After experimenting with synthetizers on 1986's "Somewhere In Time" a progressive album,Iron Maiden releases the last of their classic albums with "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" and goes even further in the progressive sound with this release.They were influenced by Rush on this one borrowing much of the progressive rock sound,and they fused it witth Heavy Metal beautifully.SSOASS is also a concept album based on Orson Scott Card's "Seventh Son" book,wich was released in 1987 since then the book has gotten many sequels and it takes much of the same story as the book and put them into their song lyrics and this is definatly an intellectual album,Steve Harris really chose a great story and made converted it into an album that can now be considered as some of his best work.Each song on the album tells a part of the story about a child born with clairvoyant powers and if you can understand what happens in each song you will be able to enjoy this album better.This is sadly the last of the classic lineup's 4 albums,four incredible albums that you have to get.

The songs on the album are generally great and some of them really stand out here is the songs and the story behind them that might not know about.First up is the incredible opener "Moonchild" is about the devil plaguing the seventh son's mother its a song with a chorus that will get stuck in your head and a fast tempo.Next is "Infinite Dreams" is about dreams and imagination that the father of the seventh son has,its slower nearly ballad song filled with tempo changes,a song that i didn't like at first but i have growned to love so much that its one of my favourite song on the album.Track three,"Can I Play With Madness",about once again the father of the seventh son,this time being angry at some prophet for not telling him his future,it was the comercial song on the album and was their hit at the time,but its actually the song that i consider to be the worst on the album!Its good but i beleve its not as great as the rest and i just don't like it much."The Evil That Men Do" is a gem,its about the making of the son and in my opinion Bruce really shines on vocals here,a simple chorus and a great strong structure."Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" is about the birth of the seventh son and his already written future,the title track of the album is a long epic song that is one of Maiden's most impressive songs and technically amazing."The Prophecy" is about the seventh son predicting a disaster to a nearby village that refuses to beleve him,now that the bad is done he can laugh at them."The Clairvoyant" is about the visions of the seventh son as they destroy his life,one of my personnal favourite Maiden songs and my favourite song on SSOASS.The closer "Only The Good Die Young" is about the seventh son commiting suicide as he can't take it anymore,underrated but good.

Overral its a very deep,dark and absolutely terrific album.Its my favourite Iron Maiden album and one that i would recommend to everyone even a newbie.Still if you are new to the band i would recommend you get either "The Number Of The Beast" or "Piece Of Mind",otherwise go ahed and get this album its extremely good and i just love it.Being a concept album some fans were against it,but Maiden made it work to their advantage to create one of their best albums.Its a brilliant piece of work in the history of rock and there have not been any album of its genre since,at least i think,the album itself is unerrated.This album has it all: a great story,terrific songs,talented musicians,intellectual lyrics and it gets the highest rating i can give 5 stars,i can't give it more unfortunaly...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seventh album is first on the list, July 26 2004
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden's first and only one true concept album. Every song is there for a reason and the album couldn't stand the loss of one of them. It's just one piece from the very beginning until the very end.
1-Moonchild : Great intro with keyboards. It just prepares you for the excellence. 10/10
2-Infinite dreams : In the same vein as Revelations. Brilliant. 10/10
3-Can I play with madness : The commercial song of the album. But still has its place on a "serious" album. Catchy, very 80's sounding but is still good today. 9/10
4-The evil that men do : A great rocker and a great chorus. 9/10
5-7th son of a 7th son : A 10 minute long epic that sums all of the best things in this album (and in Maiden). A masterpiece very close to Rime of the ancient mariner, great instrumental break. 10/10
6-The prophecy : A very heavy and dark chorus with great voices by Bruce and a beautiful acoustic outro. 9/10
7-The clairvoyant : The other "commercial" song of the album. Great guitar work during the verses. Catchy. 9/10
8-Only the good die young : Closes the album in a great way, as good as Moonchild did open it. 9/10
Individually not the strongest album. But you have to look at the ensemble to see how genius this is. The ultimate Iron Maiden album. The ultimate heavy metal album. The ultimate album. This is the one I would like to be buried with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Epic, May 11 2005
This review is from: Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( (Audio CD)
Not alot to say but a must for any iron maiden fan or any metal fan for that matter. Probably the most underrated cd maiden has released. It's title track is epic. One of my favorite songs ever and probably maidens most underrated song. The instrumental part at the end can't have been better. "The Evil That Men Do" is also a good song and has very interesting not very maiden lyrics. "Can I Play With Madness" is definitly the rocker of the bunch and probably the only song a regular maiden would've heard of on this cd.
DO NOT BE FOOLED BY THE LACK OF HITS. Though it might not be the most popular album it is right up there with number of the beast which I might add is also definitly worth looking at.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Maiden reach their limit for the first time, overall, June 12 2004
This was their best album overall when it was released, the most complete and also the best individuall songs.
The singer Bruce Dickinson have never been better than here, singing totally perfect through every song.
Maiden is a group so Dickinson isnt the whole music, but its true that hes voice lifts up the songs.. they would not be the same without him.
"Somewhere In Time" may have better guitar solos or "Powerslave" may have better riffs but this album is totally their most perfect work together with the newer "Brave New World".
Now you understand why I choosed the title "Maiden reach their limit for the First time".. they have done it again with "Brave New World" from 2000, but this was the first time they played so good that it couldnt be better.
Moonchild starts the album with some cool synths and the tempo is high and the atmosphere is great, and a great underrated guitar solo too.
The second song is "Infinite Dreams" which have the best beginning ive ever heard from Maiden.. im talking about the first verses and the chorus which is the best part of the album.
I dont like the instrumental middle part soo much but its okay.. the song would be better if they made one more chorus, its only two choruses, one in the beginning and one in the end.
"Can I Play With Madness" have a great chorus but its the verses is not good.
"The Evil That Men Do" is another song with a great atmosphere and the solo is good but too short..
The title track is almost 10minute with verses the first half and an instrumental part the second half.
"The Prophecy" is underrated and one of my absolute favourite songs with I.M
The album ends with "Clairvoyant" and "Only the good die young", fantastic atmospheres in the verses but not so extremly good guitar solos.
The sound on the album is dark, darker than all other Maiden albums, except Can I Play With Madness which is more a "happy" sound.. and with great (you guessed it) atmosphere in all songs
I cant get tired of this album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seriously underrated; this may be Maidens best ever, May 30 2004
By 
Cory G. (Vic, Australia) - See all my reviews
There was a bit of doubt in my mind when buying this, but seeming as though I'm a huge Maiden fan, I bought it over a Morbid Angel cd I was looking at on the same day. The band needs no introduction, but the musicianship on this cd really stands out above the other cds of the same era. Guitarwise, this is easily the most creative thing that Maiden has ever done, including Powerslave. Dave and Adrian play quite fast, the solos are fantastic and the riffs are leaning to a progressive side of things. They really excelled themselves with this release. The bass is, as always fantastic, but the bass is one of the instruments that really cane past efforts, Steve Harris is just awesome here, he plays extremely fast for a bassist. He also arranged the keyboard pieces for this album and did it quite nicely, they are not too evident, yet they create a nice backdrop for the guitar melodies. Vocally, Bruce is great, lyrically, he's amazing, writing a concept album about the powers of a child associated with the numbers 777 through being the seventh son of a seventh son. His voice is very good here as well. I can't remember too well, but I'm pretty sure it as Nicko on the drums here, they are excellent as well, very precise and impressive.
Songwise, the standout tracks would have to extend to the whole album, each and every track has something different and pleasing to offer, the more well known ones being Can I Play With Madness and Clairevoyance. Most of the songs are very epic, such as Infinite dreams and Seventh Son of a Seventh Son. Others are faster and riff based, such as The Evil That Men Do and Moonchild. I'm just so happy with this album. I listen to this at least once a week and I've had it for several years, I'm pretty sure it was Formulas Fatal to the Flesh that I had to put down for this cd. Lucky, FFttF was a big dissapointment.
Easily a 10/10, the seventh (is that a coincidence?) release from Iron Maiden, the original gods of metal. Very Highly recommended, this should be on the top of your list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the best Iron Maiden album, May 28 2004
By 
Ren "Ren" (michigan, USA) - See all my reviews
This is my favorite Iron Maiden album. The first time I heard it I loved every song. I love how every song connects to each other as a story. I think the cover art is the coolest.
1. MOONCHILD (10/10)
Another one of those great Maiden openers. The accoustic passage is awesome and adds feeling to the album. Then the keyboards come in amazingly. This is a great song with a great chorus.
2. INFINITE DREAMS (9.5/10)
This one's more slow paced. The guitar intro is sick. Great drumming towards the end. A great song throughout.
3. CAN I PLAY WITH MADNESS (10/10)
This song's got one of those chorus' that you can't get out of your head.
4. THE EVIL THAT MEN DO (9.5/10)
Sweet riffs and the keyboards come in well during the chorus. Chorus is great but does repeat too much towards the end.
5. SEVENTH SON OF A SEVENTH SON (10/10)
The intro keyboards and drums are solid. The calm part in the middle is cool which builds up to a great instrumental up to the end. Incredible epic!
6. THE PROPHECY (8.75/10)
My least favorite on here, but still great. The accoustic part at the end is sweet.
7. THE CLAIRVOYANT (10/10)
I think this is the best song on this amazing album. The guitars are great and the vocals are really good too.
8. ONLY THE GOOD DIE YOUNG (9.25/10)
This is another great song. Great solos and the chorus is catchy. It ends with the same accoustic passage that Moonchild started with which is a great way to end the album.
Every song here is amazing. If you don't own this masterpiece then I pity you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Seven deadly sins, seven ways to win, April 4 2004
By 
jeremy_up-the-irons (geelong, victoria, australia) - See all my reviews
Well i'll start off by saying how surprised i was when i saw there were only 5 customer reviews for this album! i like to hear different people's opinions on cds and im sure im not alone.
But anyway, i would have to say that this is one of maidens best albums to date! And for so many reasons too.
The highlight tracks are Moonchild, Infinate Dreams, The Evil That Men Do, the title track and The Clarivoyant.(taht's almost all the tracks anyway)
I find that all maiden fans love Can i Play With Madness, but personally i find it to be a bit of a weak track, but anything by maiden is good.
I think the Prophecy is an underrated song. I didnt put it in the highlight tracks but its still an outstanding track, especially the combination of the synth and guitar at the start and finish.
As for Only the good Die Young, well i think it an average maiden song at most. I think its the repeditiveness of the chorus that puts people off.
Now to the good songs.
The opening track Moonchild is great. And the way that album starts and end with the 'seven deadly sins....' thing is genius and it give the album a real theme.
Infinate dreams starts off soft and you get to hear the softer side of bruce's voice and then it plunger into yet anohter masterpeice.
For a long time i just couldn't get over the track the Evil That Men Do. It is a true classic, and sometimes underrated.
Now for the epic 10 minute title track. This is another amazing track. It gives you some background about the seventh son myth too, even though i still dont understand it too well, something about a clarivoyant who forsees disaster and noone believes him and i dont see where the whole seventh son thing fits in (if you know plaese email me at metal_mayhem01@hotmail.com)
Ahh the Clarivoyant. I especially like the chorus to this song, you can hear the agression in bruce's voice. Now that's music.
So in conclusion i highly reccomend this masterpiece of an album as well as most of maidens other stuff. now go out there and headbang your ass off!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An epic masterpiece, April 4 2004
Coming out in the year 1988, where disposable hair metal trash like Poison and Cinderella, Iron Maiden released what would be the pinnacle of their creative genius, Seventh Son of a Seventh Son. This epic concept album brings forth an onslaught of power and emotion.
RANKING OF SONGS (*=1 star, 1/2= half-star. Example- ****1/2 would equal 4 and a half stars)
1) Moonchild- incredibly powerful track to open up such an intense album, musically and lyrically. Easily ranks amongst previous openers for albums (Ides of March, Where Eagles Dare, Aces High, Caught Somewhere in Time, etc.)
***** stars out of 5
2) Infinite dreams- a melodic and solid follow-up to moonchild. Dramatic song that is just amazing.
***** out of 5
3) Can I Play with Madness- Maiden's attempt at a huge poppy single. Descent song, but at times embarassing. They tried too hard and ended up with a bit of a let down.
***1/2 stars out of 5
4) The Evil that Men Do- 2nd single off album that succeded where "Can I Play with Madness" didn't. Overall great song, but isn't powerful enough to be amongst the lines of classics like the trooper or hallowed be thy name. Just short of a classic.
****1/2 stars out of 5
5) Seventh Son of a Seventh Son- Every good maiden albums needs an epic track. Here is 7th son's, the title track. Dramatic and impactful epic track. Easily amongst the ranks of Rime of the Ancient Mariner and Alexeander the Great.
***** stars out of 5
6) The Prophecy- a highly underrated song. Nice chorus and guitar work. Like the evil that men do, just short of a maiden classic.
**** stars out of 5
7) The Clairvoyant- a true maiden classic that is a fast-paced rocker that has one of the most memorable choruses (it's hard to get out of your head). I think this song is better than The Trooper or 2 Minutes to Midnight. Favorite song on the album.
***** out of 5
8) Only the Good Die Young- an emotionally strong and moving close to one of Maiden's best albums. It brings forth the end and ends it on a powerful note. Incredible song. Literary expression does no justice to how great this song is.
***** out of 5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not quite a "Beast," but a hell of an album, Feb. 14 2004
By 
Chris G. Tyler (Louisville, KY United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
How come the only band to evolve with their music and their writing that wasn't criticized for it happened to be The Beatles? Iron Maiden had everything going for them: an all-star line up, great song writers and a legion of fans willing to support nearly anything they did. Unfortunately, many critics and fans have turned their backs on Maiden with the release of "Somewhere In Time" and "Seventh Son of a Seventh Son."
The album has a similar sound to that of it's predicesor, but had matured quite a bit. The synthesizer sound has improved, if not nearly disappeared, on this album. The solo's are solid and Dickinson's voice is as strong as ever. Opening with an accoustic sound that bleeds to an ethusing lead in to the rest of "Moonchild" is how the album kicks off. The Maiden boys couldn't have started on a stronger note.
The album keeps its strong feeling until about half way through the title track. From there it seems to have a problem mustering up enough power to end the album, but does end with "Only The Good Die Young" (not to be confused with Billy Joel). The best known single from the album, "Can I Play With Madness", is a great song, but not the strongest on the album. "Moonchild" and "The Evil That Men Do" are the stand out tracks, but all are good offerings that seriously blow away many other Maiden songs. This album could only be put behind "Number of the Beast" and "Powerslave"; a great CD for new Maiden fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Seventh Son of a Seventh Son (
Seventh Son of a Seventh Son ( by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews