Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Why all the hate?
I've noticed a lot of people badmouthing this album, but I think it is GREAT! What is everybody's problem? The only thing a little different about this album from other Maiden albums is that it is more raw and direct. The songs are shorter (most are between 4 and 5 minutes long), and there is very little presence of synths or layered tracks. The other thing that people...
Published on March 24 2003 by J. Wesley Townsend

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No prayer
I was 10 when this album came out, my brother and I put the c.d. on, we thought, wow, what a good rocker album. As i grew older, i realised what a difference in sound from SSOASS to no prayer. In fact, i heard that the change in sound was the reason (or at least one of) that adrian smith (guitarist----for non fans) had left the band. I guess that is my greatest...
Published on Dec 7 2003 by danny


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No prayer, Dec 7 2003
By 
danny (montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
I was 10 when this album came out, my brother and I put the c.d. on, we thought, wow, what a good rocker album. As i grew older, i realised what a difference in sound from SSOASS to no prayer. In fact, i heard that the change in sound was the reason (or at least one of) that adrian smith (guitarist----for non fans) had left the band. I guess that is my greatest complaint with this album. the sound is not good at all. with SSOASS, maiden hit their peak with that beautiful sound and on this album, first song we see is holy smoke. ok song but the sound sounds real sloppy. I do like quite a few songs on this album and i still don't understand why maiden refuse to play some songs from this album. give it a chance, it is definately not ssoass part 2. sound is different and writing is different too but it is a solid rocker album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A tough follow-up, July 26 2004
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
At the peak of their career, Iron Maiden decided, in 1990 with No prayer for the dying, to return to the roots. They were looking to recapture the sound of Killers and the Number of the beast. So they went back to shorter songs, drifting away from epics that made them famous. The result is disappointing, yet the album is not bad. The follow-up to a masterpiece like 7th son is always hard and No prayer suffered a lot from that. Also the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith who was replaced by Jannick Gers hurt the band. Gers's fast and furious style is 180 degres from Smith's style who is more of a technician.
1-Tailgunner : Very good opener. Another song that has war as the main inspiration. 8,5/10
2-Holy smoke : A critic of the televangelists. The 1st single after 7th son. The sound and the structure of the song are very "basic". A tough start. 7/10
3-No prayer for the dying : A very nice song with a great riff that followed the chorus. Should be more recognized. 9 /10
4-Public enema number one : With a better chorus it could have been a very good song. 7,5/10
5-Fates warning : Same as above with a slow intro that you wonder what it's doing. 7/10
6-The assassin : The killers of the 90's. Entertaining. 8,5/10
7-Run silent, run deep : Overall, the voice of Bruce Dickinson on the album is very average. On this song he's pushing a bit more. Good chorus for an OK song. 8/10
8-Hooks in you : The continuing story of Charlotte the harlot. It should have ended at the 22, Acacia Avenue. 7/10
9-Bring your daughter...to the slaughter : Originally performed and written by Bruce Dickinson on the OST of Nightmare on Elm Street 5, this song was re-done by Maiden. Was it because of a lack of material or just to please Dickinson who was aiming at a solo career ? Anyway, this a very good catchy song but it is not Iron Maiden ! It should have stayed a Bruce Dickinson solo song, even though it's the only Maiden song that reached the #1 chart position in the UK. 7/10
10-Mother Russia : A try to end the album on an epic. It fails, it's a very cheap version of Alexander the great. It's not an epic. 7/10
The album was a big disappointment and was the first step into the 90's who were very tough for Iron Maiden. The departure of Adrian Smith was the first step of many changes that would mark the history of Iron Maiden over the next 10 years. It's not a bad album but there are no classics. Some songs are very good while the others are just average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Severly Underrated Maiden Outing, June 20 2004
By 
Ed (Mofo Central, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
As the 80s closed and Grunge loomed in the horizon, many Metal bands were quickly losing the mainstream attention they had been recieving throughout the decade. However, since Maiden never aligned themselves with either the Hair Metal camp or the Thrash Metal camp, they weren't particularly affected by the changing musical climates. However, they decided (for whatever reason, we'll never know) to strip down their progressive Metal approach and go back to the more straight ahead thrashy punk of their early career. Don't get me wrong, this album is certainly not simplistic at all, and guitar-wise it's one of the most dominant of the bunch, but it did sacrifice the very complementing keyboards of their past albums.
Regardless of the "black sheep" status of the album, it is clear this is a guitar-oriented Rock N Roll album, and when so it should be listened and reviewed as such. Taking this into acount, No Prayer for the Dying is a strong album. It features plenty of great harmonies and memorable choruses and it should definately please the average Rock/Metal fan that's not expecting a huge magnum opus..
Opener "Tailgunner" is an appropriate track, but it's not very memorable as far as Maiden goes, and is not on the same level as Aces High, Caught Somewhere in Time and the like. "Holy Smoke" is a humorous tune, followed by the intense power-ballad-styled Title Track, one of the finer cuts. Public Enema Number One and Fates Warning are simple, average songs. "The Assassin" you could say is the stinker of the album, the song goes nowhere and simply adds nothing to the album. However, after its lowest point, the closing 4 tracks are all very strong and are on par with the previous Maiden. "Running Silent, Running Deep" is an underrated gem, while "Hooks In You" keeps the high quality of the "Charlotte the Harlot" saga, being the 3rd in the series. Maiden's biggest hit single "Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter" is probably the best of the bunch, a classic. Closing epic "Mother Russia" is also a great song and an underrated cut.
All in all, No Prayer's downfall is the fact that it's a Maiden album, and it has much too many average tracks and not enough of the Maiden "epic" sound of the previous albums. As a "Return to Roots" album, however, it fares much better than most of its peers and at the end of the day, while it's not increadibly impressive, it will not dissappint the ardent fan.
Tailgunner- 8/10
Holy Smoke- 8/10
No Prayer For the Dying- 9/10
Public Enema- 7/10
Fates Warning- 7/10
The Assassin- 5/10
Running Silent, Running Deep- 9.5/10
Hooks in You- 9/10
Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter- 10/10
Mother Russia- 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unpolished gem., June 14 2004
By 
C. Garces (Plantation, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
1990 was an awkward year for Metal. It was a new decade and some of the great Metal bands were starting to look tired and boring. I waited with anticipation for the release of this album, I knew that no matter how the music ambient was changing, Maiden would not let me down. At first, the album didint sink into me. I gave it a few spins, but after a quick listen, I would quickly slip in "Piece of Mind" or "Somewhere in Time". But some years back, I put it on and gave the album a chance. It was mind blowing to hear the power in this Maiden album. The songs are perfectly constructed, the production is crisp and the band just sounds very energetic. The title track is a true gem. "No prayer for the dying" is a song that hardly ever gets talked about, but it is beautifull "ballad". Other standout tracks in the true Maiden fashion are "Tailgunner", "Bring your daughter to the slaughter", and "Hooks in you". I have talked to many Maiden fans and they dont seem to enjoy or like this album, but considering the albums that came after this one, I think this album is to often over looked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Pray for this dying band...., Sept. 30 2003
By 
e5150 (United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
I did give this album a chance...I really did, but there was a musical vacancy in the band that could not be filled. The guitarist position was filled (*ahem*), but the musical vacancy was not.
I just didn't "feel" it this time. You know, that spark that hits you when a really inspired piece of metal hits your ears.
I think that Bruce was doing his humor book "Iffy Boatrace" about this time period, and transferred some of that humor into his lyrics here. Some folks don't seem to recognize the tongue-in-cheek nature of 'Holy Smoke', but I think the hammy video they made for this explains their point: not to be taken seriously. 'Tailgunner' did absolutely nothing for me....'The Assassin'...ugh....'Bring Your Daughter' has more of Bruce's perverted humor, but 'Hooks in You' is a great rockin ditty with some S & M lyrics, and pretty much has the most energy out of any of the other songs. 'Run Silent Run Deep' is probably the best song on offer here, though. And 'Mother Russia', Comrade Harris's tribute to Communism or Marxist philosophy or whatever it is, has some dramatic music, but he did it better in 'To Tame a Land'. Davey shines on his solos for 'Holy Smoke' and 'Public Enema', I must say.
I just wasn't catching a vibe from this music, but I honestly tried. There are a few good moments, but not enough for me to keep this in my collection. As a HARDCORE fan of their heavier, pre-synth days, even the lack of synthesizers on here didn't warm me up to it enough. I'd rather have synthesizers and a melodic guitar player than no synthesizers and some noisy wannabe. The absence of Adrian's melodic riffs and solos is painfully palpable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden had released five excellent albums with lead vocalist Bruce Dickinson, four of which featured the band's classic line-up. In 1990, Dickinson even released a solo album as a side project. Unfortunately, with his eyes on a potential solo career, Dickinson's focus on his Maiden work began to slide. Also, guitarist Adrian Smith had left the band, and was replaced by ex-White Spirit and Gillan guitarist Janick Gers. The band's progressive/creative era was over. These things aside, the band released its eighth studio album, No Prayer For The Dying, in 1990. Read on to see how it measures up, and for my comments on the remastering.
Tailgunner - The opener is a typical Maiden rocker, which deals with Dickinson's favorite musical theme - World War II air combat. Good track.
Holy Smoke - What's everyone's problem with this song? Sure, it's not the best thing the band has ever done, but it isn't bad either.
No Prayer for the Dying - The title track is pretty good. It's not exactly a stand-out track, but it's still worthwhile listening.
Public Enema Number One - That title is NOT a typo. I'm not sure what the title has to do with the song, but that doesn't subtract from the overall quality of the song.
Fate's Warning - An often overlooked track, the chorus of this one is just priceless. Listen and see what I mean.
The Assassin - Another good track, this one does accomplish anything extraordinary, but it's still excellent. The chorus is very good.
Run Silent Run Deep - BY FAR THE BEST SONG ON THIS ALBUM. Dickinson's vocals are top-notch, as is the playing by the rest of the band. DO NOT SKIP THIS TRACK!
Hooks in You - Part Three in the Charlotte The Harlot series. This isn't a bad track, but it helps to establish a point - ONE Charlotte track was enough.
Bring Your Daughter... To the Slaughter - This hard rocker is the closest thing you'll ever hear Maiden do to a "fun" track. It sounds like a cross between Can I Play With Madness and Problems (by the Sex Pistols.) This was the band's first number one single in their native U.K.
Mother Russia - Cold War-themed rock songs never really caught on, but here Maiden tries their hand at one, and succeeds beautifully. This is what I call an underrated masterpiece.
This remaster series is, sadly, very disappointing. The enhanced CD footage is nice, but the sound quality isn't improved too much over the original. Likewise, there aren't any audio bonus tracks, and this album could've used some. But my biggest complant about this individual remaster is the cover - IT'S BEEN EDITED! On the original cover, Eddie was strangling a grave robber, but here he's just grabbing air! Yeah, right.
It's a shame this album goes unappreciated. Even though it's obviously the weakest album with Dickinson, it's still quite good. However, it's not a good album to start with, and is, therefore, recommended only to true fans of the band.
Oh, and one other thing - Janick Gers is a good guitarist, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't deserve to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden had released five excellent albums with lead vocalist Bruce Dickinson, four of which featured the band's classic line-up. In 1990, Dickinson even released a solo album as a side project. Unfortunately, with his eyes on a potential solo career, Dickinson's focus on his Maiden work began to slide. Also, guitarist Adrian Smith had left the band, and was replaced by ex-White Spirit and Gillan guitarist Janick Gers. The band's progressive/creative era was over. These things aside, the band released its eighth studio album, No Prayer For The Dying, in 1990. Read on to see how it measures up, and for my comments on the remastering.
Tailgunner - The opener is a typical Maiden rocker, which deals with Dickinson's favorite musical theme - World War II air combat. Good track.
Holy Smoke - What's everyone's problem with this song? Sure, it's not the best thing the band has ever done, but it isn't bad either.
No Prayer for the Dying - The title track is pretty good. It's not exactly a stand-out track, but it's still worthwhile listening.
Public Enema Number One - That title is NOT a typo. I'm not sure what the title has to do with the song, but that doesn't subtract from the overall quality of the song.
Fate's Warning - An often overlooked track, the chorus of this one is just priceless. Listen and see what I mean.
The Assassin - Another good track, this one does accomplish anything extraordinary, but it's still excellent. The chorus is very good.
Run Silent Run Deep - BY FAR THE BEST SONG ON THIS ALBUM. Dickinson's vocals are top-notch, as is the playing by the rest of the band. DO NOT SKIP THIS TRACK!
Hooks in You - Part Three in the Charlotte The Harlot series. This isn't a bad track, but it helps to establish a point - ONE Charlotte track was enough.
Bring Your Daughter... To the Slaughter - This hard rocker is the closest thing you'll ever hear Maiden do to a "fun" track. It sounds like a cross between Can I Play With Madness and Problems (by the Sex Pistols.) This was the band's first number one single in their native U.K.
Mother Russia - Cold War-themed rock songs never really caught on, but here Maiden tries their hand at one, and succeeds beautifully. This is what I call an underrated masterpiece.
This remaster series is, sadly, very disappointing. The enhanced CD footage is nice, but the sound quality isn't improved too much over the original. Likewise, there aren't any audio bonus tracks, and this album could've used some. But my biggest complant about this individual remaster is the cover - IT'S BEEN EDITED! On the original cover, Eddie was strangling a grave robber, but here he's just grabbing air! Yeah, right.
It's a shame this album goes unappreciated. Even though it's obviously the weakest album with Dickinson, it's still quite good. However, it's not a good album to start with, and is, therefore, recommended only to true fans of the band.
Oh, and one other thing - Janick Gers is a good guitarist, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't deserve to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Why all the hate?, March 24 2003
By 
J. Wesley Townsend "westknife" (new york) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
I've noticed a lot of people badmouthing this album, but I think it is GREAT! What is everybody's problem? The only thing a little different about this album from other Maiden albums is that it is more raw and direct. The songs are shorter (most are between 4 and 5 minutes long), and there is very little presence of synths or layered tracks. The other thing that people complain about is the replacement of guitarist Adrian Smith by Janick Gers.
However, despite what you may hear, this is a great set of 10 songs! If I had to, I would pay the price of the whole album just for "Tailgunner." It is my favorite song on the album, and from its opening riffs, it is entrancing. The two singles are "Holy Smoke" and "Bring Your Daughter to the Slaughter." They are also very good; they have a tongue-in-cheek humor that is rarely present in Iron Maiden's music. These, and the others of this great album, rock in a straightforward fashion.
That is not to say that there are no classic-sounding masterpieces! The title song is brilliant, and the main riff is one of Maiden's best ever. "Run Silent Run Deep" and "Mother Russia" are two more of my favorites.
So what's this about Janick Gers being so terrible! I think he is great, and honestly, he's not as good as Adrian Smith, but that doesn't mean he's a bad guitarist. The only real fault that I can find in this record is in "The Assassin." This is a great song, until the chorus comes along. I will admit, the chorus is rather flat. But the rest of the song is brilliant!
It saddens me that so many Maiden fans will dis this album so terribly. It is great. Take it from a REAL Iron Maiden fan.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Raw sound with dead singles, Jan. 22 2003
By 
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
This is not one of Maiden's best albums. I would put it near the bottom of the barrel. It seems that they got rather lazy in trying to produce good music, and settled for a more raw style. There is nothing wrong with a raw sound, and I prefer a raw sound to production. Unfortunately, the song listing here is rather subpar. The band seems layed back, and not really putting forth as much effort as their previous releases. The album really has no central theme, and the track listing seems disorganized.
"Tailgunner" is a catchy tune, with the bass line, and mid-paced guitar. "Hooks In You" isn't bad, and the title track is a good slow-paced rocker that kind of shows Maiden's soft side. "Bring You Daughter...to the Slaughter" in horrible, and was voted the worst heavy metal song of the year. The opening guitar riffs are great before the song goes into its repetitive, clunky chorus. "Holy Smoke" is a terrible song and the video is even worse. I can't believe that both of those horrid songs were actually singles too! These two songs are why I only give this album 3 stars. If you are a collector, like me, that buys every album from a band you like, get it. But if you are after Maiden's best work, go after "Seventh Son Of A Seventh Son" or "Brave New World."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not great., Oct. 15 2002
By 
"apollo5710" (Chicago, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
No Prayer for the Dying is Iron Maiden's 1990 follow-up album to the Seventh Son album, a hugely successful album. Steve Harris wanted to take a step back to the basics and produce more of a "Garage" type sound, instead of expanding on the huge and progressive nature of their last two albums, "Somewhere in Time" and "Seventh Son". Adrian Smith disagreed with this approach and left the band. Janick Gers was brought in, and indeed brought a much more raw and hard edge to the rhythm and overall sound. The contrast between Gers and Dave Murray on guitar is extremely big. The two styles are extremely different, almost two much so. Harris' vision is understood, but the result is a rather poor and lackluster effort from a band that we came to expect so much from. Not that it's a bad album in anyway, just not up to the calibur of their previous seven albums. The first three songs are actually pretty good. "Tailgunner" is this albums fast paced energetic opener, followed by "Holy Smoke" one of the two singles from this album, a very good song with a great back to back solo where you can clearly hear the differences in style of the two guitarists. The title track follows and is a more melow but good song, similar to "Children of the Damned" from the "Number of the Beast" album. The album now proceeds to descend into a series of songs not worth mentioning. Assasin is just not a good song, not up to Maiden calibur. It does, however, pick up towards the end with the last three songs. "Hooks in you" is indeed a catchy song, with a cool chorus, and characteristic creepy vocals from Bruce Dickinson. Great guitar work as well. "Bring your Daughter to the Slaughter" in next, and was the other single released. A very catchy chorus with hysterical lyrics. "Mother Russia" is a descent attempt to end the album with a Maiden characteristic epic finale, but it falls short compared to "Alexander the Great" or "Hallowed be thy name". In general, it's a good album as far as Rock and Roll goes, but the worst Maiden album up until that point.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Prayer for the Dying
No Prayer for the Dying by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews