Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good
This cd is rally about 4.5 stars but I think i's worth 5 stars. To begin with I don't know why people don't like this album. As long as I have liked Maiden I have liked this album. I think most of the songs are really good, Tail gunner,Fates warning, Holysmoke, No prayer for the dying, Public enema number one and Bring your doughter... are the best songs but the others...
Published on June 7 2004 by Johnny Danell

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars It's just that. OK.
Not a great offering from this stellar band. There were some definite signs of fatigue after spending the 80's building up an enormous international fan base. The songs aren't bad they're just not great. There are 2 maybe 3 standout tracks. The lead in "Tailgunner" is a great kick off but we've been over the subject matter before (in a roundabout way) in the form...
Published 12 months ago by Sir Steven


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3.0 out of 5 stars It's just that. OK., April 19 2013
By 
Sir Steven (Newfoundland, Canada) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
Not a great offering from this stellar band. There were some definite signs of fatigue after spending the 80's building up an enormous international fan base. The songs aren't bad they're just not great. There are 2 maybe 3 standout tracks. The lead in "Tailgunner" is a great kick off but we've been over the subject matter before (in a roundabout way) in the form of "Aces High".
"Hooks In You" is a catchy song that won't dissappoint. "Bring your Daughter..." is a good tune as well. If you're a maiden fan you'll want to have it in your collection. If you're more selective you may want to listen to it first before you buy (if you can do so). Then you'll know if this album is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A tough follow-up, July 26 2004
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
At the peak of their career, Iron Maiden decided, in 1990 with No prayer for the dying, to return to the roots. They were looking to recapture the sound of Killers and the Number of the beast. So they went back to shorter songs, drifting away from epics that made them famous. The result is disappointing, yet the album is not bad. The follow-up to a masterpiece like 7th son is always hard and No prayer suffered a lot from that. Also the departure of guitarist Adrian Smith who was replaced by Jannick Gers hurt the band. Gers's fast and furious style is 180 degres from Smith's style who is more of a technician.
1-Tailgunner : Very good opener. Another song that has war as the main inspiration. 8,5/10
2-Holy smoke : A critic of the televangelists. The 1st single after 7th son. The sound and the structure of the song are very "basic". A tough start. 7/10
3-No prayer for the dying : A very nice song with a great riff that followed the chorus. Should be more recognized. 9 /10
4-Public enema number one : With a better chorus it could have been a very good song. 7,5/10
5-Fates warning : Same as above with a slow intro that you wonder what it's doing. 7/10
6-The assassin : The killers of the 90's. Entertaining. 8,5/10
7-Run silent, run deep : Overall, the voice of Bruce Dickinson on the album is very average. On this song he's pushing a bit more. Good chorus for an OK song. 8/10
8-Hooks in you : The continuing story of Charlotte the harlot. It should have ended at the 22, Acacia Avenue. 7/10
9-Bring your daughter...to the slaughter : Originally performed and written by Bruce Dickinson on the OST of Nightmare on Elm Street 5, this song was re-done by Maiden. Was it because of a lack of material or just to please Dickinson who was aiming at a solo career ? Anyway, this a very good catchy song but it is not Iron Maiden ! It should have stayed a Bruce Dickinson solo song, even though it's the only Maiden song that reached the #1 chart position in the UK. 7/10
10-Mother Russia : A try to end the album on an epic. It fails, it's a very cheap version of Alexander the great. It's not an epic. 7/10
The album was a big disappointment and was the first step into the 90's who were very tough for Iron Maiden. The departure of Adrian Smith was the first step of many changes that would mark the history of Iron Maiden over the next 10 years. It's not a bad album but there are no classics. Some songs are very good while the others are just average.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars unfortunetly average, June 29 2004
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
I love maiden they really do rock, but this album really does need more variety, unlike most maiden albums these songs sound very samey and tiresome. I love the title track however a great opening guitar riff, and public enema no1 is another great track, plus hooks in you, but that bout it, and janicks solo in bring your daughter.. is cool, but thats about it. A very weak album from an amazing rock band. Not the best, get seventh son of a seventh son or powerslave instead
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I tryed, but..., June 27 2004
By 
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
Some good guitar riffs, but just plain sub-par work from the boys. I theorize that they got burned out from doing 7th Son..., but this is just...I can't stand to say this about Maiden, but bad. : (
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Severly Underrated Maiden Outing, June 20 2004
By 
Ed (Mofo Central, USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
As the 80s closed and Grunge loomed in the horizon, many Metal bands were quickly losing the mainstream attention they had been recieving throughout the decade. However, since Maiden never aligned themselves with either the Hair Metal camp or the Thrash Metal camp, they weren't particularly affected by the changing musical climates. However, they decided (for whatever reason, we'll never know) to strip down their progressive Metal approach and go back to the more straight ahead thrashy punk of their early career. Don't get me wrong, this album is certainly not simplistic at all, and guitar-wise it's one of the most dominant of the bunch, but it did sacrifice the very complementing keyboards of their past albums.
Regardless of the "black sheep" status of the album, it is clear this is a guitar-oriented Rock N Roll album, and when so it should be listened and reviewed as such. Taking this into acount, No Prayer for the Dying is a strong album. It features plenty of great harmonies and memorable choruses and it should definately please the average Rock/Metal fan that's not expecting a huge magnum opus..
Opener "Tailgunner" is an appropriate track, but it's not very memorable as far as Maiden goes, and is not on the same level as Aces High, Caught Somewhere in Time and the like. "Holy Smoke" is a humorous tune, followed by the intense power-ballad-styled Title Track, one of the finer cuts. Public Enema Number One and Fates Warning are simple, average songs. "The Assassin" you could say is the stinker of the album, the song goes nowhere and simply adds nothing to the album. However, after its lowest point, the closing 4 tracks are all very strong and are on par with the previous Maiden. "Running Silent, Running Deep" is an underrated gem, while "Hooks In You" keeps the high quality of the "Charlotte the Harlot" saga, being the 3rd in the series. Maiden's biggest hit single "Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter" is probably the best of the bunch, a classic. Closing epic "Mother Russia" is also a great song and an underrated cut.
All in all, No Prayer's downfall is the fact that it's a Maiden album, and it has much too many average tracks and not enough of the Maiden "epic" sound of the previous albums. As a "Return to Roots" album, however, it fares much better than most of its peers and at the end of the day, while it's not increadibly impressive, it will not dissappint the ardent fan.
Tailgunner- 8/10
Holy Smoke- 8/10
No Prayer For the Dying- 9/10
Public Enema- 7/10
Fates Warning- 7/10
The Assassin- 5/10
Running Silent, Running Deep- 9.5/10
Hooks in You- 9/10
Bring Your Daughter... To The Slaughter- 10/10
Mother Russia- 9/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unpolished gem., June 14 2004
By 
C. Garces (Plantation, Florida United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
1990 was an awkward year for Metal. It was a new decade and some of the great Metal bands were starting to look tired and boring. I waited with anticipation for the release of this album, I knew that no matter how the music ambient was changing, Maiden would not let me down. At first, the album didint sink into me. I gave it a few spins, but after a quick listen, I would quickly slip in "Piece of Mind" or "Somewhere in Time". But some years back, I put it on and gave the album a chance. It was mind blowing to hear the power in this Maiden album. The songs are perfectly constructed, the production is crisp and the band just sounds very energetic. The title track is a true gem. "No prayer for the dying" is a song that hardly ever gets talked about, but it is beautifull "ballad". Other standout tracks in the true Maiden fashion are "Tailgunner", "Bring your daughter to the slaughter", and "Hooks in you". I have talked to many Maiden fans and they dont seem to enjoy or like this album, but considering the albums that came after this one, I think this album is to often over looked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really Good, June 7 2004
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
This cd is rally about 4.5 stars but I think i's worth 5 stars. To begin with I don't know why people don't like this album. As long as I have liked Maiden I have liked this album. I think most of the songs are really good, Tail gunner,Fates warning, Holysmoke, No prayer for the dying, Public enema number one and Bring your doughter... are the best songs but the others come really close after. If you like songs with great choruses, great guitar riffs and cool texts you should really buy this album, it's really that good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Not bad at all, Aug. 23 2003
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
Iron Maiden had released five excellent albums with lead vocalist Bruce Dickinson, four of which featured the band's classic line-up. In 1990, Dickinson even released a solo album as a side project. Unfortunately, with his eyes on a potential solo career, Dickinson's focus on his Maiden work began to slide. Also, guitarist Adrian Smith had left the band, and was replaced by ex-White Spirit and Gillan guitarist Janick Gers. The band's progressive/creative era was over. These things aside, the band released its eighth studio album, No Prayer For The Dying, in 1990. Read on to see how it measures up, and for my comments on the remastering.
Tailgunner - The opener is a typical Maiden rocker, which deals with Dickinson's favorite musical theme - World War II air combat. Good track.
Holy Smoke - What's everyone's problem with this song? Sure, it's not the best thing the band has ever done, but it isn't bad either.
No Prayer for the Dying - The title track is pretty good. It's not exactly a stand-out track, but it's still worthwhile listening.
Public Enema Number One - That title is NOT a typo. I'm not sure what the title has to do with the song, but that doesn't subtract from the overall quality of the song.
Fate's Warning - An often overlooked track, the chorus of this one is just priceless. Listen and see what I mean.
The Assassin - Another good track, this one does accomplish anything extraordinary, but it's still excellent. The chorus is very good.
Run Silent Run Deep - BY FAR THE BEST SONG ON THIS ALBUM. Dickinson's vocals are top-notch, as is the playing by the rest of the band. DO NOT SKIP THIS TRACK!
Hooks in You - Part Three in the Charlotte The Harlot series. This isn't a bad track, but it helps to establish a point - ONE Charlotte track was enough.
Bring Your Daughter... To the Slaughter - This hard rocker is the closest thing you'll ever hear Maiden do to a "fun" track. It sounds like a cross between Can I Play With Madness and Problems (by the Sex Pistols.) This was the band's first number one single in their native U.K.
Mother Russia - Cold War-themed rock songs never really caught on, but here Maiden tries their hand at one, and succeeds beautifully. This is what I call an underrated masterpiece.
This remaster series is, sadly, very disappointing. The enhanced CD footage is nice, but the sound quality isn't improved too much over the original. Likewise, there aren't any audio bonus tracks, and this album could've used some. But my biggest complant about this individual remaster is the cover - IT'S BEEN EDITED! On the original cover, Eddie was strangling a grave robber, but here he's just grabbing air! Yeah, right.
It's a shame this album goes unappreciated. Even though it's obviously the weakest album with Dickinson, it's still quite good. However, it's not a good album to start with, and is, therefore, recommended only to true fans of the band.
Oh, and one other thing - Janick Gers is a good guitarist, and anyone who says otherwise doesn't deserve to live.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars No prayer, Dec 7 2003
By 
danny (montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
I was 10 when this album came out, my brother and I put the c.d. on, we thought, wow, what a good rocker album. As i grew older, i realised what a difference in sound from SSOASS to no prayer. In fact, i heard that the change in sound was the reason (or at least one of) that adrian smith (guitarist----for non fans) had left the band. I guess that is my greatest complaint with this album. the sound is not good at all. with SSOASS, maiden hit their peak with that beautiful sound and on this album, first song we see is holy smoke. ok song but the sound sounds real sloppy. I do like quite a few songs on this album and i still don't understand why maiden refuse to play some songs from this album. give it a chance, it is definately not ssoass part 2. sound is different and writing is different too but it is a solid rocker album
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Average Maiden, Aug. 22 2010
By 
Tommy Sixx Morais (The Great White North) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: No Prayer for the Dying (Audio CD)
After 1988's Seventh Son of a Seventh Son Steve Harris decided it was time for the band to go back to the sound of the early days and because of this guitarist Adrian Smith left the band unhappy with this direction. Guitarist Janick Gers makes his debut with Iron Maiden replacing Smith.The result No Prayer for The Dying was rawer and not as epic as some of their past albums, because of the sound it can be considered as a step backward for the band. As a result No Prayer for The Dying received mixed reactions from fans. Some fans of the band think they should have continued or expended on the more epic and progressive sound of albums like Somewhere In Time and Seventh Son of a Seventh Son instead of attempting to go back to the band's earlier sound. Going back to the sound of the first few albums was not totally a bad idea, after all I love those albums, but perhaps it was not the right time or maybe that idea was not executed as well as it could have been. Sadly for me, NPFTD has the distinction of being one of Maiden's worst albums. Don't get me wrong I don't hate the album; it's just that I don't find it as strong as other releases by this band even if there are still some enjoyable moments here and there.

The album opens with Tailgunner which is basically a different perspective on Aces High, solid intro to NPFTD. Holy Smoke follows and it's a great song as well. The title song is a slower and more melodic one, I really like this one. I could live without ever hearing Public Enema Number One and Fates Warning again, not that they're unlistenable but The Assassin is definitely a low point for me. The album gets considerably better with Hooks In You and Bring Your Daughter To The Slaughter, both catchy tunes and memorable ones. The last song Mother Russia is a failed attempt at finishing the album with an epic song like they did on Somewhere In Time with Alexander The Great, it falls short and doesn't achieve anything it sets out to be.

Maiden had quite a few struggles in the 1990's, Adrian Smith was replaced by Janick Gers, NPFTD and Fear of the Dark received mixed reactions, Bruce left the band to do a solo career and their albums with replacement singer Blaze Bailey were generally not well received. No Prayer For The Dying is certainly not an album that I often play, there are some very good songs but overall I find it to be one of the weaker Maiden albums. It sounds a little uninspired and dull. Plus there doesn't seem to be any chemistry between Dave Murray and Janick Gers, at least not like Adrian and Dave had. It's surely not a high point of Maiden's career and back catalog, it's still enjoyable to some degree but don't expect a classic here. 3 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc21d2330)

This product

No Prayer for the Dying
No Prayer for the Dying by Iron Maiden (Audio CD - 2013)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews