Customer Reviews


307 Reviews
5 star:
 (265)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect
It was perfect! It was exactly as it was described. Came in the time that it said it would. Will be ordering again,
Published 14 months ago by Angela

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars More for the kids...
As an anime fan, I found this movie mildly entertaining but the kids love it.
Published on Oct. 5 2001 by J. Schweitzer


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, April 18 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It was perfect! It was exactly as it was described. Came in the time that it said it would. Will be ordering again,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Iron Giant, Sept. 7 2012
By 
Scoopriches (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Waaaay back in 1999, a movie came out that flew under everyone's radar, a modern classic which blossomed in my heart into one of an absolute favourites. It is sweet, it is touching, and it is filled with a wonderful messages. It is called the Iron Giant.

The Plot:
Set in the 1957, during the height of Cold War paranoia, a lonely boy in a small town discovers and befriends something stranded here from the stars. It is a giant childlike robot who chomps down on anything metal lying around. Cars are nice. But a government agent is hot on their trail, all while the boy helps his new pet robot recover it's memory. And everything comes together in the end!

The Characters:
We start off with the giant, who conveys so much emotions to us with so little facial features, and with a mechanized voice provided by Vin Diesel, we love and care for this strange visitor. Next is the boy Hogarth, who is smart and likeable, but with a loneliness so palpable you yearn to give him a hug. Dean is a beatnik, an artist, and the coolest dude you could ever want to hang out with. But he should never have given Hogarth coffee. These three are magnificent together!

The Theme:
As Hogarth tells the Giant, you can choose who you want to be. And this critical idea propels us all through the movie, and is especially important at the conclusion. Take this message to heart, see the wonderment of the ending, and try to keep your eyes dry. The Iron Giant chooses. And chooses wisely.

The Iron Giant is a charming, touching movie that will cause you to think. Loosely based on the children's book by Ted Hughes, filmmaker Brad Bird from The Incredibles provides us with something mesmerizing. It is simply beautiful.

Scoopriches
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie, May 26 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A boy with a big heart for a big giant, and the giant has a gentle heart for the boy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars IRON GIANT!, March 9 2014
By 
C. Akin "cjewel" (Alberta, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Who doesn't love an endearing story about a boy and his robot? This movie will make you laugh and pull at your heart strings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Iron Giant, Feb. 28 2014
By 
Jennifer S. Lebel "Isaron" (Cobourg, Ont, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Excellent movie! This one did not get the accolades it deserved. Great for the family and one for the classic library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love this, now and always., Aug. 9 2013
By 
The Transformer (Vancouver, BC Canada) - See all my reviews
I love this movie! Brad Bird is a genius. Great story. Charming, touching, fun. Even Vin Diesel pulls off fantastic voice work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars It's a shame this enchanting animated film never found a bigger audience, March 13 2012
By 
K. Gordon - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
While the story is familiar (kid meets alien/ monster/ outsider, and
befriends them, understanding they're not the threat the grown up world
thinks), Brad Bird brings humor, freshness and heart to the sub-genre
that lets this transcend into a terrific movie.

Set in a cold-war paranoid U.S. of 1957, the titular creature cash
lands from outer- space, with a knock on his giant metal head leaving
him with amnesia about his purpose or history. After being saved by a 9
year old boy, a series of at first comic, then later more serious
adventures begin.

There's some very funny jabs at the cold war mentality, and some
terrific, unusual supporting characters, including a mom more
interesting and complex than you find in most cartoons, and a local
wanna-be beatnik artist who joins in to take the giant iron man's
cause.

I love the look they designed for the Iron Giant himself, there's
something wonderfully retro and almost art deco about him, and they do
a great job of bringing heart and emotion to this gigantic metal
creature.

By the end I was shocked at how moved I found myself. A lovely, well
told, fun fairy tale that is as much for adults as for kids.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They don't make them like this any more, Dec 3 2010
By 
C. Gaebel (Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
One of the best animated works to come out of any of the major film studios. Just over 10 years old, it still speaks to both children and adults. Excellent humour, though it doesn't overpower the story. The animation is definitely 'cartoonish', but it doesn't hinder the characters from becoming very real. It's a poignant reminder of simpler times, yet set against the backdrop of cold war anxieties. It doesn't pull any punches in its portrayal of small-town life in the late-50's, irrepressible youth, "national security paranoia", the answers to some timeless life-questions including the importance of actually chewing one's food.
It's just so "on target" with so many of it's portrayals. Hogarth 'super-stuffing' twinkies and watching 50's horror movies off the aerial just makes me laugh and laugh.
The ending doesn't pull any punches either. Superbly done. Pass the tissues.
It's too bad it didn't get better press in the theatres. It could have easily been a runaway blockbuster, setting the standard for animated stories for years to come instead of being mostly overlooked.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Destined to be a classic!!!!!, Dec 19 2004
By 
abdur (Toronto, Ontario) - See all my reviews
I have just loved The Iron Giant after seeing it in theatres 5 years ago. With it's heart, wit and engrossing story, it far surpasses anything to come out of Disney or Dreamworks. It truly is a pity that Warner Bros. did not promote it better than they did. A definite must for any DVD collection with tons of enjoyment for both the kids and the parents.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Man-datory viewing, Feb. 9 2011
There are very few movies today that require the attention of men, sure every few months a new title comes out insulting our intelligence and forcing us to relive the same 4 actions scenes time and time again but is that what we as a collective audience want to be known for. We should be demanding more substance. In a time where computer graphic saturated 3D eye orgasms are a weekly release occurrence, we should be demanding movies with thick plots and deep characters.

The Iron Giant delivers what we need in cinema, it delivers what our sons and daughters should also learn to demand as future movie goers. This hand drawn animation isn't just for kids though, the themes present are extremely complex and the humour is sometimes too subtle for a much younger audiance, but... Giant robots for the kids (and inner children) and heavy complex plot points for the adults.

This movie is a classic, we should all have it somewhere on our shelves and kept in our hard drives, and preserved. It's a story about going against what you are designed to do, it's about sacrifice and taking responsibility for who we are, it's about growing up and it's about staying youthful enough to always believe in the impossible and the unlikely.

I recommend this movie to anyone who enjoys the 3D and heavy visual effects of the mainstream blockbusters, and at the same time misses the substance heavy children's movies of yesteryears.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Iron Giant
The Iron Giant by Brad Bird (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 45.02
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews