Customer Reviews


77 Reviews
5 star:
 (53)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Valour
Director Cy Endfield and actor Stanley Baker created a box office winner with this stirring account of a small British garrison's defence of the Rorke's Drift mission station against an overwhelming force of Zulu warriors in colonial South Africa.

Misconceptions about such a very fine movie are easy in our era of political correctness. So be assured, a...
Published on Feb. 7 2012 by Argus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boxed screen
The dvd movie specified a wide screen. I got a smaller box format, loosing about 1/3 of sceen. Otherwise the movie was good and I enjoyed story. I got the movie within two weeks.
Published 8 months ago by Dark Ink


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Valour, Feb. 7 2012
By 
Argus - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Director Cy Endfield and actor Stanley Baker created a box office winner with this stirring account of a small British garrison's defence of the Rorke's Drift mission station against an overwhelming force of Zulu warriors in colonial South Africa.

Misconceptions about such a very fine movie are easy in our era of political correctness. So be assured, a jingoistic, flag-waving paean to colonialism it most certainly is not. There is a strong anti-war message here. From the young private who asks, "why us," to the garrison commander asserting that he came to "build a bridge," the British soldiers are shown to be homesick outsiders in a strange country they find at once fascinating and perilous. For their part, the Zulus are splendid. Their chilling war chants and shield beating ("...it's that damn train again") are so effective that both Peter Jackson and Ridley Scott later borrowed the idea for their own work ("The Two Towers" and "Gladiator").

Above all this is a film about valour. The heroes are warriors who share a common bond forged in battle. At its climax the surviving defenders grapple desperately with the proud and mighty Zulu army as each side comes to respect the bravery and prowess of the other. Driven by John Barry's inspiring score, this is a magnificent and unforgettable cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Review of a Review by Lauren (8 June 2003), June 16 2003
By 
Zeitsev (Washington DC) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
It obviously doesn't take much effort to write a movie review here. The reviewer of "Zulu" on June 8th proves my point.
She entitles her piece "Not very realistic." She goes on to say "I expected to see some kind of standoff and battle that might have taken place in the real world. Instead, I was treated to a spectacle that had no relation to reality." After making a comment like that, you'd expect to hear why the movie has no bearing to the real world. We'd then be treated to a point by point refutation of where "Zulu" erred, backed by the author's foray into historical research.
Instead of this however, we are treated to inanities like: "The whole premise of this movie was absurd. The British contingent was on a mission to build a bridge across a "stream" the flow of which was no wider than if you drained your bathtub. My first question was, "Why are they building a bridge there?" No sane person would build a bridge there. You don't need a bridge to cross a trickle of water you could walk across without getting your shoes wet."
The river in question is the Buffalo River, dear. It formed the border between Natal and Zululand. While the river as shown may have been a "trickle" at the time, rivers DO flood. Ah, well. A little mistake, you say. But wait, there's more...
"Then, the Brit commander was totally dense. Everyone was telling him to pack up and pull back; but no, he had to make a stand. Against all odds. What was the principle involved? Sheer stupidity. Anyone with half a brain could see there was no value in making a stand. Is there value in watching a half wit do something that any sane person would reject outright? That's what this movie is all about. Watching some dense military commander risk the lives of his troops for no good reason. You want to jump out of your seat, grab him by the throat, and ask him why he's being such a dumba--. In Viet Nam, he would have been fragged by his own troops for pulling a stunt like that."
Here, in delivering her opinion of standing fast versus retreating, the reviewer shows her total absence of military skill. The commander of the garrison at Rorke's Drift had about 140 men total; 105 effectives and 35 sick men. Even if they loaded the wounded into wagons and marched off smartly at the first inkling of trouble, they wouldn't have gotten far. The rate of wagon movement was about that of the normal British march rate: c. 2 1/2 miles per hour or 12-15 miles/day. Contrast that with the normal Zulu movement rates (circa 5 mph or 40 miles per day), and its easy to see that the Zulus would have quickly caught the fleeing column and massacred them.
So perjoratively accusing dead heroes like Chard and Bromhead leaders of the garrison) of being "stupid" and 'insane' is not only unkind, it's downright foolish. In this case having "half a brain" might be better than having a whole, unused one.
'Standing fast' behind fortifications (however makeshift) where the barriers offered protection from shot and spear was the only prudent thing to do. It ultimately saved the small garrison, and allowed them to hold over about 40 times their number. In real life this course of action was recommended to the commander by Commisary Dalton, a veteran retired NCO who quickly recognized the 'sanity" behind digging in. For the key role he played at the battle in offering this advice and for other actions, Dalton was later specially recognized by the Crown. (Alas, in the movie he was reduced to a somewhat weak characterization.)
Are there historical inaccuracies with "Zulu?"
Yep, plenty. There's no evidence the British troops sang, for example. Some of the tactics are flawed. There was no cattle stampede. But what movie has ever been made that's been totally realistic?
Is Zulu a great war movie? Yes, it is. Can information on the battle at Rorke's Drift be easily researched on the internet? Yes, as this rebuttal review proves.
Is Lauren a seemingly lazy, self-absorbed reviewer who fails to properly research a topic before offering her staggeringly ignorant opinion?
You decide.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't bug me about the silly shit., Sept. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
I liked It ok? I bought it; I paid for it; I watched it and I liked it ok? I gave it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent portrayal of the Zulu and the British soldier without ..., July 19 2014
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
An excellent portrayal of the Zulu and the British soldier without any justification for them being there. There was an almost international opinion that Europeans should occupy the territories of the world now held by ignorant savages and educate them.
Now more enlightened people just keep quiet about the whole business.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great old movie, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie has a great story line and is based on real situations. Great for history buffs. in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boxed screen, Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
The dvd movie specified a wide screen. I got a smaller box format, loosing about 1/3 of sceen. Otherwise the movie was good and I enjoyed story. I got the movie within two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good movie.., Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
Piece of history, excellent actors, very good weft (?). I don't get tired to watch movies like that once or twice.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE STORY OF THE ZULUS, March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
This is an action-packed and factual account of Stanley Baker and his men during a major battle with the Zulus. Amazing photos and an incredible story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie & battle scenes, Feb. 9 2013
By 
Filmfan - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zulu [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Great movie whose battle scenes inspired Peter Jackson when he made LoTR (he mentions this in his audio commentary for Two Towers). The Blu-ray transfer is top notch...amazing. Too bad the blu-ray hasn't been released in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous scenery and Battle Scenes But Silly Scenes of shot Zulus who Look Obviously like pretend dying, Dec 5 2012
By 
David McKenzie "David McKenzie, Ph.D." (Langley, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
Great historical movie on this famous battle. It is a nvery old production and lacks realism. The soldiers and Zulus supposedly being killed look like kids playing pretend cops and robbers, faking dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Zulu [Import]
Zulu [Import] (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 5.40
Usually ships in 1 to 2 months
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews