Customer Reviews


75 Reviews
5 star:
 (52)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Valour
Director Cy Endfield and actor Stanley Baker created a box office winner with this stirring account of a small British garrison's defence of the Rorke's Drift mission station against an overwhelming force of Zulu warriors in colonial South Africa.

Misconceptions about such a very fine movie are easy in our era of political correctness. So be assured, a...
Published on Feb. 7 2012 by Argus

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Boxed screen
The dvd movie specified a wide screen. I got a smaller box format, loosing about 1/3 of sceen. Otherwise the movie was good and I enjoyed story. I got the movie within two weeks.
Published 5 months ago by Dark Ink


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Story of Valour, Feb. 7 2012
By 
Argus - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Director Cy Endfield and actor Stanley Baker created a box office winner with this stirring account of a small British garrison's defence of the Rorke's Drift mission station against an overwhelming force of Zulu warriors in colonial South Africa.

Misconceptions about such a very fine movie are easy in our era of political correctness. So be assured, a jingoistic, flag-waving paean to colonialism it most certainly is not. There is a strong anti-war message here. From the young private who asks, "why us," to the garrison commander asserting that he came to "build a bridge," the British soldiers are shown to be homesick outsiders in a strange country they find at once fascinating and perilous. For their part, the Zulus are splendid. Their chilling war chants and shield beating ("...it's that damn train again") are so effective that both Peter Jackson and Ridley Scott later borrowed the idea for their own work ("The Two Towers" and "Gladiator").

Above all this is a film about valour. The heroes are warriors who share a common bond forged in battle. At its climax the surviving defenders grapple desperately with the proud and mighty Zulu army as each side comes to respect the bravery and prowess of the other. Driven by John Barry's inspiring score, this is a magnificent and unforgettable cinematic experience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't bug me about the silly shit., Sept. 30 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
I liked It ok? I bought it; I paid for it; I watched it and I liked it ok? I gave it five stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars great old movie, March 13 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
This movie has a great story line and is based on real situations. Great for history buffs. in my collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boxed screen, Nov. 8 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
The dvd movie specified a wide screen. I got a smaller box format, loosing about 1/3 of sceen. Otherwise the movie was good and I enjoyed story. I got the movie within two weeks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another good movie.., Sept. 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
Piece of history, excellent actors, very good weft (?). I don't get tired to watch movies like that once or twice.
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE STORY OF THE ZULUS, March 17 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
This is an action-packed and factual account of Stanley Baker and his men during a major battle with the Zulus. Amazing photos and an incredible story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great movie & battle scenes, Feb. 9 2013
By 
Filmfan - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Zulu [Blu-ray] [Import] (Blu-ray)
Great movie whose battle scenes inspired Peter Jackson when he made LoTR (he mentions this in his audio commentary for Two Towers). The Blu-ray transfer is top notch...amazing. Too bad the blu-ray hasn't been released in North America.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous scenery and Battle Scenes But Silly Scenes of shot Zulus who Look Obviously like pretend dying, Dec 5 2012
By 
David McKenzie "David McKenzie, Ph.D." (Langley, BC, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu (Widescreen) (DVD)
Great historical movie on this famous battle. It is a nvery old production and lacks realism. The soldiers and Zulus supposedly being killed look like kids playing pretend cops and robbers, faking dying.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Speedy service, Nov. 27 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
Excellent service. The product was as described, although we haven't watched the movie yet, as it's a gift for my son.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Just a great movie, Oct. 30 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Zulu [Import] (DVD)
I had this movie on VHS Tape was faded so I ordered on DVD. It is just a very good movie!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xc056c768)

This product

Zulu [Import]
Zulu [Import] (DVD - 1999)
CDN$ 5.42 CDN$ 4.01
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews