Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (43)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (24)
1 star:
 (42)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lord of the Flies, for adults
"The Beach" reminds me of "Lord of the Flies" but instead of boys being stranded on a deserted island, it is about young adults that live on an island that has an idyllic secluded beach and communal lifestyle. One side of the island is home to a 60s type of "hippie" commune, and the other side is occupied by a large scale pot growing operation that is watched over...
Published on May 1 2010 by mocha

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Beaching
Not bad, not bad, this movie would have been better had we seen more rock pools, or crabs, or ice-creams, or fat middle-aged women trying to squeeze into a bikini 4 sizes too small for them, or a seabird staggering around, covered in oil from a Spanish tanker, or some sewage, or a dog having a poo, or a sun burnt fat man.
Published on Dec 3 2002 by nickunt


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars probably the best Leo film out there, Nov. 6 2003
By 
Michael Bolts (superior, wiusa) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Beach, the (VHS Tape)
I'm not a big fan of Leo but this has got to be his best work. Titanic was ok but this one captures his acting singlehanded. the video game style of Leo is awesome and when he goes crazy its cool. Tilda Swinton has never been more cooler and that hot girl Virgilene is hot hot hot, like I said shes hotl The Beach sparks another great direction from Danny Boyle(Trainspotting, 28 Days Later, A Life Less Ordinary and Shallow Grave). a big pic for Leo fans and he worked really hard and out for this role, good for him
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very enjoyable, Sept. 27 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
I don't understand why everyone rags on this movie. I never get sick of it and everytime I watch, I'm hooked from beginning to end. It's a fascinating story and the characters are all likeable in their own ways. I couldn't help but think that this movie was somewhat like an adult version of "Lord of the Flies." DiCaprio is a brilliant actor and this a 5-star movie in my mind.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Visually stunning, experimentally inquisitive masterpice, Aug. 7 2003
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
Visually stunning cinematography, experimentally inquisitive masterpice.
Leonardo DiCaprio delivers one of his best performance so far.
Equally charming to see talented Virginie Ledoyen.
Highly under rated movie of recent times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Beach a perfect vehicle for Utilitarianism, Aug. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Beach is a great artistic manifestation of the ethics of Utilitarianism.
Utilitarianism is based on the teachings and writings of Jeremy Bentham and John Stuart Mill. Their basic moral axiom, "Principle of Utility" or " The Greatest Happiness Principle". The first of the simplified formulations, involves how Utilitarians determine what is morally correct. "The morally best (or better) alternative is that which produces the greatest (or greater) net utility, where utility is defined in terms of happiness or pleasure". Utilitarians believe that pleasure and happiness is an intrinsic good, and anything that promotes this is perceived as positive. I think this film shows the strengths and weakness of Utilitarianism quite well in a setting that Bentham and Mill would be hard pressed not to think of a better context for their ideas and philosophy to take place in. I think this film takes a fair postmodernist critique of Utilitarianism, by showing the positives and negatives but leaving the final judgements on Utilitarianism to the viewer. We see many great things with Utilitarianism like its democratic foundation, universality, optimism, and fun. Yet we also see the dark side with its complexity to apply and its unjust nature. Mill wrote in Utilitarianism, "all the grand sources of human suffering are in a great degree, many of them almost entirely, conquerable by human care and effort" The Beach seems to say that the seductive power of hedonism will drive us further and further away from "human care and effort", only to a realm of questionable moral and ethical inconstancy to keep us from pain.
Danny Boyle films seem to repeat this theme often in excellent manners. In "Transpotting" the chemical paradise of Heroin leads the characters down deadly and destructive roads. In "28 Days Later" the false protection and society of the Military Compound in Manchester leads the main characters to an even scarier world. As humans we are in constant search for this earthly "paradise". Boyle and Garland seem to say forget about trying to search for this "paradise" because it is false and maleviolent. And look elsewhere--where ever that may be. I love this film, and I am glad that Garland and Boyle have rebounded successfully "In 28 Days Later". I still think The Beach is a smarter film though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but easy on the eyes, July 25 2003
By 
Matthew Gladney (Champaign-Urbana, IL USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
"The Beach" is nearly devoid of any real worthwhile content, but visually it is a great film.
Leonardo DiCaprio (the best actor under 40 working today) plays Richard, a bored American with adventure and excitement on his mind. While on holiday in Bangkok, Richard finds a map left by a strange man who has commited suicide (creepily portrayed by Robert Carlyle). The map shows how to get to a secret island. Richard decides to follow the map and see where fate takes him. Along for the ride are a French couple who have befriended Richard, Francoise and Etienne.
Once the trio reaches the island, the movie quickly disintegrates into an odd, irritating, bewildering montage of strange people, conflicts, death, and danger. I won't give away anything for those who haven't seen it, not that it matters much. Needless to say, I wasn't much impressed with anything that happened.
There are a few plusses to "The Beach", however, which warrant giving it 3 stars. It is, visually, a beautiful film. The dark and mysterious locations in Bangkok provide a nice mood in the first part of the movie. The soundtrack (which is worth getting just on its own) is extremely well incorporated into the film, providing a great background to the events transpiring on-screen. The beach locale is gorgeous. There are many shots of the water lapping-up onto the sand, and the sights beheld are exquisite. The cast is nice to look at, too. You may be bored, or even annoyed, by the story unfolding, but at least you'll have some beautiful people to watch. Virginie Ledoyen, who plays Francoise, is quite gorgeous. Leonardo DiCaprio is stunningly attractive as Richard. He is muscular, tan, and without his shirt for most of the film. If for no other reason, you can enjoy "The Beach" for this alone.
I saw "The Beach" in 2000, when it was released in theaters. It was the first major Leonardo DiCaprio film since the Titanic phenomenon, and I was quite anxious to see what it had to offer. As stated earlier, the movie quickly disappointed. Do I recommend it? Not really. But would I suggest it if you were in the mood to watch an odd film which features a good usage of rock and chill-out music, beautiful scenery, and good looking actors? That would be a yes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Could have been alot better., July 25 2003
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
The beach just didnt do Alex Garlands book justice, i know it's a hard thing to do getting everything right from a 5 star book but there was no real feeling in the film as there was in the book the story line did'nt develop no where near as well as it should have, the thing is this had the potential to be so much more than it became, i think that all the actors and actress's acted well but the main thing that lacked and seemed to lag in this was the over all development and character progression, i dont have a problem with Leonardo di caprio and his acting as the titanic which may have shown a few leaks in his acting profession was one of his only bad performances in my opinion, gangs of new york and catch me if you can are two great films with some good acting by Leo in so i would personally give this film a miss if i had a second chance or maybe get it as a rental or on VHS if your still intrigued.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good soundtrack nevertheless, July 8 2003
By 
Gerald Sioco "jigsss" (Manila, Philippines) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
I guess the main reason why this movie is quite okay for me is because I am a beach lover. And watching movies as such makes me realize what paradise I'm missing. Unfortunately, the only achievement of the movie is probably the art direction, cinematography,production design (something that will lead you to the beauty of the beach).
I was quite disappointed with the story though because it really meant nothing. I did think that it had a good start but dragging you all the way for 2 hours is just not easy to take. Nevertheless, the soundtrack of the movie keeps you on. I haven't seen Trainspotting or Shallow Grave so I have no basis of comparison but I think Danny Boyle has a good vision in his direction. Almost everyone are disappointed with this Danny Boyle film. I will have to see Trainspotting why so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok., July 7 2003
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
I liked this film for it's absurdity, locations and ....something. DiCaprio, 27, plays a guy who's presumably 17 or so. To be honest, he doesn't do it all that well, but the other actors are fine, though none of them are very involving.
It felt like some scenes were missing, a character asks DiCaprio why he all of a sudden went crazy and the audience never found out why either. The movie could have been directed in a deeper style, esp. for the end scenes. I could see it being a book, but they should have adapted it much better than this!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Leo, Aug. 4 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
See this movie for Leonardo DiCaprio. His body is the best ever. He has abs, muscles, and his usual hot face. I heard that he had to train hard for this film and that he got together with several thai guys during the making of this film. Look for him to get with several of the ladies in this film, as usual. Great scenes of the islands and filled with action.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Read the book, Jan. 21 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Beach (Bilingual) (DVD)
The Beach, directed by Danny Boyle and based on the book written by Alex Garland, is one of the most dissapointing movies I have ever seen. I have read the book three different times, and the movie does this novel no justice. I love Danny Boyle as a director, and to his credit, the cinematography, music, and style of this film is great. However, the character development, symbolism, and much of the scenes in the book do not come across in the movie. As usual, the book is better than the movie, and this movie is worse than most.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 118 19 20 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb161f39c)

This product

The Beach (Bilingual)
The Beach (Bilingual) by Danny Boyle (DVD - 2004)
CDN$ 16.98 CDN$ 13.98
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews