Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, Funny, Disturbing, EXTREMELY WEIRD, yet good!
I'm trying to figure this film out. The more you watch it the more you understand it. It keeps it's power each time you watch. Is it scary? YES. Is it funny? YES. Is it good? Well, it's not for everyone. Only for the intellectual person who loves horror that not only scares you, disturbes you, and makes you laugh, but also one that makes you think. Fans of this should...
Published on June 15 2003 by Tom Servo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ummmmm...what am I looking at?
While at some point in the film I did get a Twilight Zone feel, most of the time I was just wondering what the heck I was looking at. This is more of an art film than entertainment. Essentially weird for the sake of weird. I spent most of the film waiting for something, anything, to happen.
When something did sorta kinda happen it made no sense. Maybe that's the...
Published 4 months ago by Mayor Maynot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Experience, Nov. 4 2003
By 
This review is from: Eraserhead [DVD] (DVD)
Many viewers of David Lynch's Eraserhead have exhausted all avenues of erudition to decipher the complex pandoras box of Lynch's debut film. I too, belonged to this cogitative elite. Many have tried to implicate the intimation of theosophical reference or cosmological theory or refutation of deities as the main focus of the picture. However, it occured to me sometime ago that Eraserhead is not that complicated. Not as much as Lost Highway or Mulholland Drive , but certainly there is a trick to it all. If you know even the most cavil of facts regarding Mr. Lynch, you probably are aware that he despises Philadelphia. Viewing the film with this in mind, I became somewhat inculcated with the situation that Lynch was in. In the duration of the five years in which Eraserhead was made, Lynch was living in a penurious and violent area of Philadelphia. He was also facing the arrival of his prodigy-his daughter (born with clubbed feet). It began to arise in my consciousness, that Henry is thrown into the forlorn world of Eraserhead by a malefic preternatural pater familias (a malevolent God). This being continually interjects elements into Henry's life to prolong his suffering. As Henry peers into the demarcating radiator, the only source of warmth in the film, death (in the form of the Lady in the Radiator) tries to convince Henry to commit suicide. Many have misconstrued the ending of the film as Henry murdering the baby. This is not so. Regardless, Henry dies in the process. Vilifying the control of the omnipotent being and evading the wretched world he has been rooted in. Henry gains solace from his tormenters by taking his own life. Read this however you would like. As Catholic allegory (though Lynch is Hindu), or whatever interpretation works for you. Either way, Eraserhead is the most profoundly beautiful and curious film of all time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars DVD details, Sept. 22 2011
By 
mickey_one - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eraserhead (DVD)
-> ONLY applies to DVD released by 'raro video' ASIN: B004LW5W1U

Film: 7.5/10
Picture quality: 8.5/10
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1 (1.37:1 orig.)
black and white
Run time PAL 50Hz: 1 23'10"
Audio: GB
ST: Ital. o/-
RC 2
Chpt.: 13
Bonus: 3 early David Lynch shorts
- "Six Men Getting Sicks" 3'55"
- "The Alphabet" 3'45"
- "The Grandmother" 33'48"
Studio: raro video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just creepy, April 14 2011
By 
Kevin Macpherson (Vancouver, B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eraserhead (DVD)
Some films try to be odd or bizarre, but Eraserhead is just strange and creepy without trying. Don't try to figure out what David Lynch is trying to say with this film, it's just plain out of left field. It's just wacked! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pencilneck, June 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Eraserhead [DVD] (DVD)
A mess. Don't waste your time. Two of the most overrated film directors of all time are Stanley Kubrick and David Lynch--oh yeah, Hitchcock is another one.
Jack Nance did a nice turn in Bukowski's Barfly, though. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eraserhead [DVD]
CDN$ 95.22
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews