Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scary, Funny, Disturbing, EXTREMELY WEIRD, yet good!
I'm trying to figure this film out. The more you watch it the more you understand it. It keeps it's power each time you watch. Is it scary? YES. Is it funny? YES. Is it good? Well, it's not for everyone. Only for the intellectual person who loves horror that not only scares you, disturbes you, and makes you laugh, but also one that makes you think. Fans of this should...
Published on June 15 2003 by Tom Servo

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Ummmmm...what am I looking at?
While at some point in the film I did get a Twilight Zone feel, most of the time I was just wondering what the heck I was looking at. This is more of an art film than entertainment. Essentially weird for the sake of weird. I spent most of the film waiting for something, anything, to happen.
When something did sorta kinda happen it made no sense. Maybe that's the...
Published 2 months ago by Mayor Maynot


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4.0 out of 5 stars DVD details, Sept. 22 2011
This review is from: Eraserhead (DVD)
-> ONLY applies to DVD released by 'raro video' ASIN: B004LW5W1U

Film: 7.5/10
Picture quality: 8.5/10
Aspect ratio: 1.78:1 (1.37:1 orig.)
black and white
Run time PAL 50Hz: 1 23'10"
Audio: GB
ST: Ital. o/-
RC 2
Chpt.: 13
Bonus: 3 early David Lynch shorts
- "Six Men Getting Sicks" 3'55"
- "The Alphabet" 3'45"
- "The Grandmother" 33'48"
Studio: raro video
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Just creepy, April 14 2011
By 
Kevin Macpherson (Vancouver, B.C.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Eraserhead (DVD)
Some films try to be odd or bizarre, but Eraserhead is just strange and creepy without trying. Don't try to figure out what David Lynch is trying to say with this film, it's just plain out of left field. It's just wacked! I love it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nightmarish world..., Sept. 24 2010
By 
Edmonson (Canada) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Eraserhead (DVD)
This is perhaps David Lynch's best film. Eraserhead came out in 1978 and has been a cult favourite ever since. It is a surreal story filmed in haunting black and white. It is a horrific and funny story. It is a nightmare.

My impression was that the film is a depiction of a possible dark future with warnings about the dangers of an industrial society gone off track. There are deformed monstrous babies, and people living scared in their dark apartments not knowing their neighbours, surrounded by noisy industrial complexes where no trace of nature seems to exist anymore, only railway tracks, dirt and gravel. A picture in a room doesn't show a tranquil beautiful landscape, but an atomic explosion. People are living in the shadow of this industrial world which has overtaken everything, and has even darkened the sky with its soot.

Whether taken as a movie with a message or as just the representation of a surreal, nightmarish world, this film in truly unique and is one of the most perfect cinematic films ever made.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 19 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars pencilneck, June 12 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Eraserhead [DVD] (DVD)
A mess. Don't waste your time. Two of the most overrated film directors of all time are Stanley Kubrick and David Lynch--oh yeah, Hitchcock is another one.
Jack Nance did a nice turn in Bukowski's Barfly, though. Check it out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Eraserhead [DVD]
CDN$ 66.84
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews